Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin Zoo

• 13-11-2013 12:42am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,158 ✭✭✭

So I've not been in over 10 years but am considering going tomorrow, what can I expect?? will most of the animals be out or will the weather be too ****e?

Last time I was there was great, got a shift in the place with the bats. Anyone else have any memories??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Last time I was there I only went to see the penguins and they weren't there. There was no Gorillas either, or Tigers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Arawn wrote: »

Last time I was there was great, got a shift in the place with the bats. Anyone else have any memories??

Fornication with the animals isn't actually allowed as far as I know. Open to correction though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭ollie1

I remember the Orangutan who used to smoke ciggies and the crazy polar bears.

Been a long time since I have been to Dublin Zoo hope its better now then it used to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Well in fairness a vampire bat will suck the............. Ah never mind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭Absoluvely

For anyone considering going to the zoo this month, be aware there are €5 tickets available. Info here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 686 ✭✭✭DieselPowered

Did you get a discount ticket to the Zoo (advertised on Boards last week) was there at the weekend and it was ok, weather held up and there was plenty to see.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

I've not been since I was bitten by a prairie dog there in the 90s.

Until they get some giant pandas I refuse to acknowledge it as a proper zoo. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I was there in September with my nephews. They've done a really good job on improving enclosures etc in my opinion. Worth a visit

The only thing I don't like about it is how depressed and fed up the gorillas look, it's kinda sad actually.. but that's the same with any zoo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,158 ✭✭✭Arawn

Mint Aero wrote: »
    Fornication with the animals isn't actually allowed as far as I know. Open to correction though?
    Well in fairness a vampire bat will suck the............. Ah never mind
    well done the pair of ye, made me chuckle
    Absoluvely wrote: »
    For anyone considering going to the zoo this month, be aware there are €5 tickets available. Info here.

I had not seen this, fecking delighted I posted or would of cost 22e extra, thanks!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

So.....

Stopped reading after that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Was there in April! Only really wanted to see the elephants, and one came up really close and it was great!!!

Love the zoo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,242 ✭✭✭liliq

Love the zoo, well worth a visit.
    The 'elephant encounters' ( not *that* kind of encounters) at 1230 is my favourite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

liliq wrote: »
    Love the zoo, well worth a visit.
    The 'elephant encounters' ( not *that* kind of encounters) at 1230 is my favourite.

?! Tell me more??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Last time I was at the zoo was 1986 so due a visit again soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,158 ✭✭✭Arawn

Lapin wrote: »
    Stopped reading after that.

Except I didn't type that. So your attempt to be a grammar **** failed didn't it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭tosspot15

One of the best zoo's in the world. Been to zoo's in America, London, Asia, and more major cities.

Nothing beats dublin in terms of size, quality of life for the animals, and general education/quality of displays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭Jack Daniels I

I was there in September with my nephews. They've done a really good job on improving enclosures etc in my opinion. Worth a visit

The only thing I don't like about it is how depressed and fed up the gorillas look, it's kinda sad actually.. but that's the same with any zoo.

you wouldnt want to see the big cat enclosure in Berlin Zoo,disgrace for such a major city.they are basically kept in shop windows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,201 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

So I've not been in over 10 years but am considering going tomorrow, what can I expect?

Dolphins, Ravens, Jaguars, Eagles, Lions, Bears, Panthers, Falcons, Seahawks and Cardinals. Maybe even some Patriots. And even Vikings, but no Packers. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

At the risk of sounding like a big girl's blouse, the red panda is the cutest thing I've ever seen. Well, that and the tiny monkies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,255 ✭✭✭✭Esoteric_

At the risk of sounding like a big girl's blouse, the red panda is the cutest thing I've ever seen. Well, that and the tiny monkies.

Red pandas are the ONLY reason I go to the zoo. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭ElleEm

I went during the summer for the first time since I was a kid, and was pretty disappointed.
    The reason could have been my visit to Fota Island a month or so before. Fota is amazing, and is a Wildlife Park, so the animals are way less enclosed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

They had babies a few weeks ago.

Cutest. Things. Ever!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

The zoo is brilliant now. Especially when you think about what it was like back in the 80s when the most exciting thing was the penguins. The food is still sh*t though.

My favourite are the red river hogs, I could watch them all day.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

All the animals are naked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,063 ✭✭✭Hitchens

Is it de azoo yiz are on about? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Auschwitz for animals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,482 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

I go a fair bit.

The gorillas are not in an enclosure anymore, they have their own island type spot in the African Plains I think. Last time I was there I only saw the juveniles and the females, no sign of the silverback.

Make sure to check out the rhinos, amazing and irritable, always a chance of a melee!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 816 ✭✭✭dr strangelove

Hope it's better than that petting zoo in Longford that only had pigs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Hope it's better than that petting zoo in Longford that only had pigs.

Hmmm, bacon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭ZiabR

Well worth the visit, I was there last year, loved it. It had been 14 years since I was there. Some changes, its a great day out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Yeah its not a bad day out. Bring a picnic, the food is very pricey. Plenty of spots for a la carte dining. Try time your visit around a feeding time of a zookeeper talk. The sealion feeding at 2pm is worth seeing. The little petting zoo at the end is good fun too, although my 3 year old was only interested in the playground beside it.

All in all its a good day out.

SV wrote: »
    Last time I was there I only went to see the penguins and they weren't there. There was no Gorillas either, or Tigers.

Same here. The polar bear was not there either when we went. In fact my memory of my last trip there (about 18 months ago) was of thinking I had spent a lot of money to look in empty cages and areas.

I was thinking what a great business model. Buy land - erect loads of empty sealed off areas - put an A4 print out of information about different animals on each different empty area - and charge people high rates to get in to read them.

I feel no compulsion to go back. Ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭ericl

I went to a Zoo once and it only had one dog in the entire place.

It was a Shih-tzu.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,638 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

When the kids were a bit younger we would take out annual membership. We'd visit a few times a month. Great place for impromptu picnics. The real benefit was that we didn't have to charge around the place trying to see everything in a mad rush but could pick and choose what we would like to go and see, one or two enclosures per visit.
    Personally I love the old aviary - Roberts House. It the quietest (humanwise) place in the zoo.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

SV wrote: »

I went earlier this year in the basking heat.

The pengi's were the biggest let down as they were flaked out in the sun.

Seals however were rocking it !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭dockleaf

We went last weekend and had a great time. Brought a picnic and the weather was great, cold but sunny. The red pandas are gorgeous but it is so interesting to see all the different animals. Would love to go again soon.

Paul O'Connell was there, really nice guy, was posing for pictures with people. Made the day even better!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

The silver back gorilla v lion cage fight is a sight to behold

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

Go to Fota Wildlife Park. You wont be disappointed. My favourite are the Ring Tailed Lemurs roaming free.

Same here. The polar bear was not there either when we went.

They polar bears never recovered after losing the plot in their tiny enclosure and were sent to a zoo in Hungary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭vitani

Was there a few months ago. One of the lions was lying close to the window so got to see him quite close-up. It was amazing, although I had a strange urge to cuddle him. Had to remind myself that not all lions are like Aslan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Davidth88

OldGoat wrote: »
    When the kids were a bit younger we would take out annual membership. We'd visit a few times a month. Great place for impromptu picnics. The real benefit was that we didn't have to charge around the place trying to see everything in a mad rush but could pick and choose what we would like to go and see, one or two enclosures per visit.
    Personally I love the old aviary - Roberts House. It the quietest (humanwise) place in the zoo.

agreed.

We have an annual tkt , and living within a 20 min drive we go there quite a bit . We usually pick 1-2 animals we want to see and have a picnic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 876 ✭✭✭RiverOfLove

Foto Wildlife Park in Cork is much better then Dublin zoo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,201 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

My first girlfriend still lives at the zoo. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

Foto Wildlife Park in Cork is much better then Dublin zoo.

I don't think it is actually. It used to be alright, but the zoo has improved so much I don't think that's still the case. And the zoo has way more variety. Fota is brilliant, but they don't have the diversity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Last time I was there as a kid the polar bear was swimming in a dirty pond in a small enclosure, hope things have improved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,123 ✭✭✭eviltimeban

Its much better. Great for kids. We go regularly as we have a yearly pass and treat it more like going to the park, with the added bonus of some animals to look at. :)

The African Plains section is worth going alone for, its really big and open and the animals can roam around. Giraffes and hippos and zebras etc.

The indoor parts are great too, there's a reptile house and a "learning" centre too, about elephants.

The petting zoo is good too, if you have kids they can interact with them.

Overall its clean and tidy and modern and well staffed, and it looks like they really look after the animals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

OldGoat wrote: »

I'm a member at the Phoenix Zoo in Arizona. It's f'kin class! I actually think Dublin Zoo is better but being a member is great. When I feel like it I'll go all around the Zoo but most days I just go hang out by the Cheetahs, Lions, Tigers, Bears, Rhino etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,063 ✭✭✭Hitchens

pet away but don't trust the tapirs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Bertie Ahearn saved Dublin Zoo. FACT!