Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Naked artist nails himself to Red Square in protest

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

i ****ing hate artists

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

show off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,414 ✭✭✭✭flazio

show off

He had some balls, I'll give him that.

This too shall pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭fedor.2.

Stupid

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

what an eejit, lets just hope he's made sure he now can't procreate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

Hasn't he heard of No More Nails?http://fun.marinov.net/show.php?id=1614

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Dermighty

flazio wrote: »
    He had some balls, I'll give him that.

had being the operative word

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭dilallio

A genuine thanks to the OP for not giving all the horrible details in the thread title.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Too many people do not know
    Bondage is over the human race
    They believe slaves always lose
    And this fear keeps them down

And then you'll get your balls to the wall, man
    Balls to the wall
    You'll get your balls to the wall, man
    Balls to the wall,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

Makes a change from the lads who paint themselves in metallic paint and pretend to be statues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭fedor.2.

dilallio wrote: »
    A genuine thanks to the OP for not giving all the horrible details in the thread title.

He just nailed his ball sack to the ground

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

Bambi wrote: »
    Too many people do not know
    Bondage is over the human race
    They believe slaves always lose
    And this fear keeps them down

And then you'll get your balls to the wall, man
    Balls to the wall
    You'll get your balls to the wall, man
    Balls to the wall,

I'm just looking for one divine hammer
    I'd bang it all day
    oh the carpenter goes bang
    bang bang
    I'm just looking for one divine hammer
    one divine hammer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,733 ✭✭✭weisses

Just a fan who didn't like the latest "nine inch nails" album

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

its odd, the fact that he nailed it to cobblestone just seems worse.

the vibrations and the fact that he couldn't have got a great swing on it means it can't have been a quick thing either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Must be a participant of the BME Pain Olympics. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

danniemcq wrote: »
    its odd, the fact that he nailed it to cobblestone just seems worse.

the vibrations and the fact that he couldn't have got a great swing on it means it can't have been a quick thing either

He should have drilled them first with a masonry bit, shove in a couple of rawlplugs and screwed them down for a more professional job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

Wheres the art in that, he's just being an idiot thats looking for attention.

The only thing thats going to happen is the world will move on and he'll have a scar on his balls.
    hows that for apathy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,426 ✭✭✭✭josip

Ooooooowwwww.

I crossed my legs reading that article.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

I genuinely thought the thread title said "Naked artist nails himself to Red Squirrel in protest".

humanji wrote: »
    I genuinely thought the thread title said "Naked artist nails himself to Red Squirrel in protest".

http://wadesaid.wordpress.com/2013/01/27/panic-stricken-squirrels-uh-oh-moment/

humanji wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭delw

A bit much to go to this extent in protest,ouch......but would any of you AH peeps do this or something as extreme outside the Dail :D,i know i wouldn't

http://news.sky.com/story/1166999/protester-nails-scrotum-to-red-square-cobbles

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

They wouldn't have the balls to do it here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

What a ballbag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

I'm not going to go the obvious route and tell you that that takes balls or that he really hammered his point home or that he nailed that protest... actually that's exactly what I'll do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭loubeelou

Well he achieved attention for his cause, so job well done.
    I wouldn't do it, but thats only cause i don't have any balls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Could he not have done a powerpoint presentation or something?

Has anyone really been far even as decided to use even go want to do look more like?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Ah we don't have the weather for that sort of carry-on here so we don't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Did they give him the snips?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 429 ✭✭Neutronale

He's got to be taking the mickey :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

God you don't understand the deep meaning of his art. tosses hair back

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

In Soviet Russian Prison.......Balls nail him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

Threads Merged

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,928 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

Just spotted this. Holy crap.
    Red Square has seen a lot over the centuries, from public executions to giant military parades, but a performance artist broke new ground on Sunday when he nailed his scrotum to cobblestones in a painful act of protest.

Pyotr Pavlensky said the protest was his response to Russia's descent into a "police state" and was timed to coincide with Police Day, which Russia's law enforcement officials celebrated on Sunday.

"The performance can be seen as a metaphor for the apathy, political indifference and fatalism of contemporary Russian society," Pavlensky said in a statement. "As the government turns the country into one big prison, stealing from the people and using the money to grow and enrich the police apparatus and other repressive structures, society is allowing this, and forgetting its numerical advantage, is bringing the triumph of the police state closer by its inaction."

Pavlensky has a history of self-harming art, including sewing his lips together to protest against the jail sentences given to members of Pussy Riot and wrapping himself in barbed wire outside a Russian government building, which he said symbolised "the existence of a person inside a repressive legal system".

The leading Russian theatre director Kirill Serebrennikov wrote on his Facebook page that the performance was a "powerful gesture of absolute despair".

Pavlensky walked on to Red Square on Sunday lunchtime, stripped off and nailed his scrotum to the cobblestones of Russia's most famous public space. He was taken to hospital an hour later and given basic treatment for his injuries but declined to be admitted. He was later taken to a police station.

Pavlensky is due to appear before a district court in Moscow on Monday over the stunt and could be jailed for up to 15 days.
    Source
    http://www.theguardian.com/world/2013/nov/11/artist-nails-testicles-red-square-pyotr-pavlensky
    Video (pixel vid)
    http://www.theguardian.com/world/video/2013/nov/11/russian-artist-nails-testicles-red-square-cobbles-video

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭Spike Witwicky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Performance art me bollix.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

The bleedin little bollox

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Nailed it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭lukesmom

What a dick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

Mr Soup wrote: »
    Ah he was the famous Russian with 3 balls......Yuri Nickabollikov?

I thought he was Yuri Ikutabolikov:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

kupus wrote: »
    Wheres the art in that, he's just being an idiot thats looking for attention..

What's the point in a protest that ISN'T seeking attention?

Russia will have being gay an executable offence in 5 years at the rate they are going...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,288 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

Another one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

must been drunk..
    ..or should i say.. hammered

*leaves coat as don't deserve one*

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

Ha ! take that Putin...nailed my balls to the ground - that'll make you think next time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

I could see those Russian policemen just pulling him away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Hate these w@nkers who go around calling themselves "artists"

F*ckin' dopes

kneemos wrote: »
    I could see those Russian policemen just pulling him away.

OWWW! Im a woman, and that hurt me to read....:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭ollaetta

I crossed my legs reading that article.

Imagine if he missed the head of the nail with the hammer!