Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Worst area/place you ever lived?

• 10-11-2013 8:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42

I guess I'd have to say Baltimore MD. I was stuck for a place to stay a few years ago and was let down by another landlord who promised me a house in another destination but then changed his mind....bit of a long story actually.

So (over the phone) a different landlord told me that he had a place in a safe area. So I believed him and met him the next morning only to be clearly mistaken....I had found myself in the middle of a ghetto. (Funny lookin back on it now actually)

So I spent about a week and a half there (being one of the few white people) until I had gotten my first pay check. My roommates were a hazard...they kept me up every night playing loud music and there were always guys in her room. Then they were constantly picking arguments over small stuff.

I remember hearing gun shots the odd night and I remember feeling uncomfortable and edgy walking around the streets. The houses on the other side of the road were mostly burnt down and abandoned. The shop across the road from me had bulled proof glass separating me from the cashier

Thankfully nothing bad actually happened to me but I'm almost certain if I would have stayed there I would have been targeted. For 75 dollars a week I guess I should have known better lol :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Paris,
    rude people,expensive,stink of piss everywhere.

Paris,

I went into this thread to type pretty much what you just said. Paris is a kip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Hootanany

Black rock full of wannabes

Paris,

That's a pity, I love Paris. Really really love it. I'd like to live there some day, when I'm older.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭The Aussie

Dublin.

Beat me to it, full of pretentious wannabes, before when they had money and now when they pretend to have money, I dred having to go within the M50

DUMP

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

St Priest, Lyon for me. Shíthole full of Algerian **** who would cut you in half for a cigarette.
    Paris,
    I went into this thread to type pretty much what you just said. Paris is a kip

What Part of Paris?

I lived in the 5th and loved the place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭Red_Dwarf

Longford

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,520 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

Portarlington in the late 80s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,634 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Brussels. Longest 6 weeks of my life. Couldn't wait to get home.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 326 ✭✭Savoir.Faire

I spent three extremely long months in Amsterdam as a younger man. I was working on a paper with some fellow researchers at the UvA. It was a wretched place, and I literally punched the air with joy when my tenure was up and I could return to the joys of London.

The food was almost routinely awful, the Dutch are loud, abrasive and crass; the streets smelt faintly of urine and the place was crawling with the worst type of stoner-zombie tourists if visiting the city centre.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Miss Lockhart

UCD is where I hated the most (residences - not the college in general).

Absolutely loved living in Paris.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 401 ✭✭theblaqueguy

The ghetto

I've worked my way out of there
    Hopefully I'll never have to live there ever again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Mount joy, couldn't wait to get out :-)

Lapin wrote: »
    St Priest, Lyon for me. Shíthole full of Algerian **** who would cut you in half for a cigarette.

What Part of Paris?

Choisy le roi. The tallaght of Paris. Didn't care for the city centre either. I'll probably never set foot there again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭Kettleson

Forest Gate, East London...mind you there are plenty worse places. Seeing very young mothers walking around before noon, pushing babies in prams and slurping from cans of Carlsberg Special Brew was quite a sobering sight...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,768 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Portarlington in the late 80s. any decade.

Fixed that. A truly depressing excuse for a town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 595 ✭✭✭ElvisChrist6

O'Devaney Gardens, in Dublin for 16 years. Still keep my eyes on all sides of me from living there. It's like if Finglas and Ballyer were merged and concentrated into a few blocks of flats.

Kettleson wrote: »
    Forest Gate, East London...mind you there are plenty worse places. Seeing very young mothers walking around before noon, pushing babies in prams and slurping from cans of Carlsberg Special Brew was quite a sobering sight...

Not for them, obviously :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,014 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

realies wrote: »
    Mount joy, couldn't wait to get out :-)

What and give up your menus at feeding time and playstaion in your cell?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭jjbrien

Waterford City could not wait to leave it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Never lived in France but I found Paris extremely disappointing and a dirty, uncomfortable place to visit, bar the usual tourist attractions. Brussles can be a bit like that too but I really liked living in Belgium, although I was outside Brussels to be fair. The problem with both (IMO) is the shifty Algerians / Moroccans that come out of the woodwork at night and make everyone feel uncomfortable. I guess that's what you get for colonising a country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 438 ✭✭xXxkorixXx

arklow. full of anti dublin inbreds

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,520 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

Fixed that. A truly depressing excuse for a town.
    Didn't have a car and the feckers stole my bike! Stayed in a flat where you had to walk around the edge of the room ,since the middle of the floor was sagging and likely to fall in at any time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭pauliebdub

jjbrien wrote: »

Agreed, lived there whilst in college, a complete and utter ****hole.

jjbrien wrote: »

Not the worst place in the world, but the natives would drive you daft. Complaining is the primary pastime down there. Everything is someone elses fault.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

Belgravia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Not the worst place in the world, but the natives would drive you daft. Complaining is the primary pastime down there. Everything is someone elses fault.

Microcosm for the whole country so?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,372 ✭✭✭LorMal

I spent three extremely long months in Amsterdam as a younger man. I was working on a paper with some fellow researchers at the UvA. It was a wretched place, and I literally punched the air with joy when my tenure was up and I could return to the joys of London.

The food was almost routinely awful, the Dutch are loud, abrasive and crass; the streets smelt faintly of urine and the place was crawling with the worst type of stoner-zombie tourists if visiting the city centre.

Hooray to you. Totally agree. Lived with those f--kers for 5 years. Loud, abrasive, crass...tight fisted, boorish, selfish, aggressive and arrogant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭denlaw

I lived in longsight in Manchester till I was 15 which is as tough a place as any council estate in Ireland, parents moved back here back in 1983 to a smallish town in Kildare which was like stepping back to the 1950's, people were still wearing platforms and flares while I was fred perry/fila tacchni tops skinny drain pipe jeans and Adidas trainers and a Flicky wedge haircut, it was only after being out of it for a few yrs you realise how ****ty the place was and I'd never go back ( only to see some mates who still live there ) ..and utd !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭denlaw

denlaw wrote: »
    I lived in longsight in Manchester till I was 15 which is as tough a place as any council estate in Ireland, parents moved back here back in 1983 to a smallish town in Kildare which was like stepping back to the 1950's, people were still wearing platforms and flares while I was fred perry/fila tacchni tops skinny drain pipe jeans and Adidas trainers and a Flicky wedge haircut, it was only after being out of it for a few yrs you realise how ****ty the place was and I'd never go back ( only to see some mates who still live there ) ..and utd !
    haha the 1950s ..get me
    I ment the early 1970's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

You just know this thread will be full of students boasting about their 1-3 years on tame ghetto holiday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 996 ✭✭✭HansHolzel

18, Parson's Street, Maynooth

• Closed Accounts Posts: 402 ✭✭The Big Smoke

Dungannon, Co.Tyrone. Awful kip, lived in a mice infested bedsit for about a year at 17. Good times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

I lived in Hillbrow (Joburg) for 18 months in the late 80's. I still struggle to sleep due to the lack of constant gunfire in the background at night. It's got a lot worse since apparently.

Microcosm for the whole country so?

Think thejournal.ie comments section multiplied to infinity

HansHolzel wrote: »
    18, Parson's Street, Maynooth

last man out tried to torch it but his lighter wouldn't light the damp blankets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

O'Devaney Gardens, in Dublin for 16 years. Still keep my eyes on all sides of me from living there. It's like if Finglas and Ballyer were merged and concentrated into a few blocks of flats.

Lived near here, just off Infirmary Road, for a while when I was in college. Grim place all round and the house I was living in was grim as well. Used to play football with a gang of lads from there, though, and they were grand lads.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

"Worst" as in sketchiest, Portoviejo, Ecuador or La Paz, Bolivia, if I had to pick between the two I think Portoviejo despite being a fraction the size of La Paz was probably a more dangerous place, that said, I loved the place and the people and the food was unfeckingreal. The best, freshest, fish and fruit I've ever had and just fantastic cuisine.

I think Dublin's a bit of a ****ing ****hole though, it's not unsafe but it's as rough as a bears arse and the amount of ****ing junkies and general scobes in the city centre is ridiculous.

HansHolzel wrote: »
    last man out tried to torch it but his lighter wouldn't light the damp blankets

Looks like someone finished the job http://goo.gl/maps/QMtLc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Henrietta Street in Waterford.

Looks like someone finished the job http://goo.gl/maps/QMtLc

looks like the haunting has spread to next door

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭Starscream25

Templars hall Waterford when I was there in 2004/05, it's cleaned up a bit lately tho.

Lapin wrote: »

What Part of Paris?

Meaux and Noisy le Grand,both suburbs of Paris.
    Used to head into the city centre on weekends drinking but found the place to be full of knife wielding scummy sand naggers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭bohsboy

North circular road for 3 months. Truly depressing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Beirut in 1988 was pretty rough... But we'd a bit of a civil war on our hands at the time :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭Endless Nameless

bohsboy wrote: »
    North circular road for 3 months. Truly depressing.

I lived on the North Circular and I thought it was great

What Bohs fan hates the north circular road?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

The streets/rough.

What streets?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭Endless Nameless

Oh, and the worst place I ever lived was a small town in rural Kildare

still hate that place