Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

dont want to join gym with man boobs

• 10-11-2013 4:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6

hello im nervous about joinging a gym as i have big man boobs i want to loose weight and build muscle and im very fat. what r yer opinions on it - would people laugh when i run and in shower etc how would i b treated etc?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

Only idiots would do that.

Most people are too self conscious about their own bodies to care about anyone elses.

Go, don't let it hold you back :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,368 ✭✭✭The_Morrigan

Do it.

I joined my gym earlier this year at a whopping 16 & a half stone (at 5'6 :(), I was very self conscious but I worked with a trainer and once I saw my fitness level rising and my dress size shrinking I got my confidence back.

Nobody really cares what anyone else is doing in the gym, you have to go do this for you and not care what others there think about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Maybe buy some weights and and an exercise bike and train at home, thats what I did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭amazingemmet

No one will notice. All the sh!t you think they'll say or do is all in your head. Just join and go if its your very first time in the gym you're going to feel awkward and out of place that is ok you're doing something outside your comfort zone. Every time you go it will get easier. Every time you go you will feel a bit less sh!t. Don't expect instant results enjoy the process as much as the changes.

Comfort-Zone.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,351 ✭✭✭Littlehorny

As the other lads are saying only a cock would laugh at you, everyone has had to enter a gym for the first time. Maybe you could do brisk walking or jogging outside if you are concerned about people looking at you on the threadmills. Lads in gyms love giving advice and tips to newbies so make an attempt to be friendly and you will learn what exercises to be doing. My advice to you is get your diet right, it is the most important thing. If you follow a diet you will lose weight without even going to the gym but obviously you wont build muscle. Best of luck to you anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭Mr.Fred

I'd have more respect for you simply by the fact that you're in the gym doing something about your weight.

Get signed up man. Good things come to those that put in the hard yards.

Good Luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Lucena

Yes of course one or two people might look at you funny, but honestly I think most people would be supportive or admirative of someone who's doing something to improve themselves instead of just feeling sorry for themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,088 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

It's a gym, not secondary school PE. Nobody would react at all.

You get everyone from super fit people to old people who are getting over heart attacks at the gym.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭bohsboy

If I saw a big guy/girl at the gym I'd say fair play to them for trying to change things. Tough to do without people making comments.

Don't worry, no one cares.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

Maybe buy some weights and and an exercise bike and train at home, thats what I did.

That's exactly what I did too. Saved a fortune. :) I live in the back of beyond so there's not many gyms out here anyway. Most fellas around here do turf throwing to keep fit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,323 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

There's a guy in my gym who is pretty huge and every time I'm in there I see him sweating buckets and putting effort in. And I tell ya, he's always there before me and is still there after I leave. I'd never laugh at him, in fact, I should be asking him for tips.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭The_Mask

A journey of 1000 miles begins with a single step.
    Take it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 352 ✭✭Go Native

Dude, the gym isn't a place for people to look good, it's a place where you work to get yourself looking good, during that process there are some horrific looking sights from all sorts, so trust me you won't be on your own. I really wouldn't worry about it. If anything 99% of people will think to themselves "fair play" if they see you working out hard with "man boobs"...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Midlife Crashes

No one would laugh or judge. I started at the gym very skinny and was intimidated by the massive older dudes at the gym. Turns out they were the most helpful and would always offer advice and correct me on poor form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭Tefral

Go do it man!

Honestly, there is alot of people that go to the gym that just like to be seen to be going to the gym. If you go and you have an aim and a goal, you'll be flying it.

I am assuming your sorting the diet side of things, but just go do it.

The gym is the one place where I clear my mind and just knuckle down and get on with it, its like a sanctuary and to really dedicated people they think the same, they only care about themselves. If its anyone's opinion that might influence you then theirs are the only ones you can care about and they will only have nothing but massive respect for you.

Remember man just by going your lapping the people on the couch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭fiacha

Been there and done the walk of shame into the shower :D.
    I had a fine pair of moobs and a gut to match when I went back to the gym last year. I was self conscious the first couple of sessions, but after that I was too tired to worry about it.

Nobody ever made a comment within my earshot in the gym or changing rooms. If it happens to you, look them in the eye and laugh....and them forget about it. Their opinions don't matter.

Get stuck in and enjoy the rewards.

Best of luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭moc moc a moc

The_Mask wrote: »
    A journey of 1000 miles begins with a single step.
    Take it

Agreed. Walking 1000 miles will burn a lot of calories; then you'll be in good shape for the gym!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

Headphones in, and go into you own world, nobody give a **** about others in the gym.

No one would laugh or judge. I started at the gym very skinny and was intimidated by the massive older dudes at the gym. Turns out they were the most helpful and would always offer advice and correct me on poor form.

Yeah in the gym I used to go to I was a bit intimidated by the big muscular guys. Although I noticed most of the big guys had poor form. A lot of rocking back and forth, shouting ad groaning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭kingQuez

I was (and sometimes still am) very self conscious when I'm in the gym, but the reality is nobody's paying any attention to you. This really sums it up... http://theoatmeal.com/comics/gym Everyone is there because they want to improve on their current fitness. Knowing that wont make you any less self conscious, but if you want to change you need to accept that you'll be going outside your comfort zone...

Sounds like you want to make a change, but have reservations about following through on it because you don't yet have your ideal physique for going to the gym.. so if you're in the gym you'll be in a mindset where you're *looking* for people looking in your direction, or checking if you are infact the person who seems to be struggling most or whatever. It can be distracting or become a barrier to actually going to the gym (which sucks if you've paid upfront for it!). If you're in a position to get a personal trainer to help you with exercises and diet for the first couple of weeks and then every few months to give you an update on your plan it can help keep you focussed and motivated when you are there, gives you dates when you have to be there (whether you like it or not :) ), and independent honest appraisal of how you're doing. The idea of a PT sounds like its only for rich/very fit people, but it can work out pretty reasonable and gives you an expert to get advice from and hold you accountable each week. Inbetween meeting up with them you'll have a plan that someone else has given you, so you wont have to figure out what's going to work or if you're doing the right things. If that's not an option (price/no local PTs etc.), a training log on here might be worthwhile... gives you somewhere to keep track of what you do, get some feedback, and get some motivation/encouragement when things aren't going great or some kudos when you hit some of your goals. As others have said, other people in a gym are generally friendly and will usually be happy to give advice/help with showing you equipment/exercises etc. too.

Good luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Daveysil15 wrote: »
    Although I noticed most of the big guys had poor form. A lot of rocking back and forth, shouting ad groaning.

You sure it was the gym you were in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 519 ✭✭✭thecatspjs

Made me think of this post.

6jEWN.png

You sure it was the gym you were in?

Jasus I fecking hope so anyway. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

No one will say boo. Most lads in the gym have their own hangups now matter how well you think they look

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,694 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

No one in the gym started there looking like they do now. The only time anyone will pass any remarks on what you're doing is if you do something seriously impressive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 939 ✭✭✭chriity139

Dont let that stop you man. Most of the big, toned people in the gym all had a starting point too. Either overweight or very skinny. About 99.99% of gym goers will be delighted to see you in the gym doing something to change your life which will earn you respect. As for the .01% that judge other people on how they look, let them judge most of them look crap anyway.

Enjoy your journey in the gym and best of luck on your success :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭connollys

OP, tell us where you are located and what gym you would potentially join, Im sure someone here will be close by and wouldn't mind going with you for yer first session as an intro, maybe not as intimidating if heading in with someone more familiar with the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,084 ✭✭✭✭Stark

scabby1 wrote: »
    hello im nervous about joinging a gym as i have big man boobs i want to loose weight and build muscle and im very fat. what r yer opinions on it - would people laugh when i run and in shower etc how would i b treated etc?
    In the shower you'll probably have guys slapping your ass with their towels and trying to tweak your nipples.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭Stone Deaf 4evr

Just go, I dont look at fat people out running and laugh, I think "theres a guy / girl who,s doing something about it."

most of the naysayers have never accomplished anything themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭CM24

Get yourself a simple, progressive program and stick to it. I work in a gym and find people feel way less awkward in the gym when they go in knowing exactly what they have to do. Just focus on increasing the weights on your training log each workout. Throw in some stretches or mobility work in between sets. Don't stand around, not knowing what to do with yourself, that's when you notice people glancing at you.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,899 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Stark wrote: »
    In the shower you'll probably have guys slapping your ass with their towels and trying to tweak your nipples.

Mod warning: no more silly comments like this

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,223 ✭✭✭Michael D Not Higgins

I'm annoyed at the gym rat who does 5 reps on a machine then doesn't wipe it down (despite having a towel with him) then struts around the gym floor. The overweight guy on the treadmill has my respect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 352 ✭✭Go Native

Not wiping is rotten alright. No excuses bar bad manners/poor hygiene.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,233 ✭✭✭shamrock55

Go for it mate,everyone who goes to a gym is there to improve their physique or fitness you will be no different and people wont treat you that way,in fact any time i see a larger person (and im not exactly small myself) sweating buckets in the gym ive nothing but admiration for them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 358 ✭✭johnfaul

Only a c**t would laugh at you, most people would admire your courage and motivation,
    Try having a plan to do when you go in and watch videos on youtube on how do do each movement so you know what to do going in.
    Or ask sn instructor to show you the exercises most would be happy to help

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭Mimojo

GO FOR IT! I felt the same (well with woman issues!) and felt like everyone would judge me. I joined a gym 2 months ago and havent looked back since. Everyone is so wrapped up in themselves no one will look crocked at you. I generally look A STATE after about 5 minutes of working out but now I dont care, I am there to do my own workout not anyone elses. Also there are people of all shapes and sizes, with vastly different fitness levels, and everyone is just there to better themselves. Any if anyone is sad or pathetic enough to look crocked at you, that is their problem not yours!! I find I am concentrating so hard on my own stuff I hardly notice the people around me anymore.

SERIOUSLY, just go for it, if you want to do it dont let your inhibitions stop you, I can guarantee you wont regret it, what you will regret is NOT joining!!

Very best of luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 tomtt

You'd be surprised at how many of the people in the gym are probably thinking the exact same thing. Most of the people in the gym are going to be far more focused on getting in, working out and getting home.

Its difficult to make that first step and get started in the gym and loosing the weight but you'll feel much better for it very quickly as you start getting fitter.

My advice would be to just get into the gym and focus on what you're doing and the benefits you'll get from it. You're likely to find lots of friendly people. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭turbot

OP,

Absolutely go for it-and you'll feel so good as the weight disappears and you get into shape. Don't let anyone with a negative attitude hold you back from feeling healthier and more alive.

Here are some tips to accelerate your progress:

1) Always make sure your gym bag is ready the night before… So you can grab it and go.

2) Losing weight is 80% diet... and has very little to do with taking expensive supplements, and everything to do with eating smart.

Eating smart is all about being organised and creating conditions where its easy to eat well - like having lots of chicken breasts in your freezer, so you can throw them in the oven and mix them up with salad.

I have personally found that "bullet-proof intermittent fasting" while drinking lots of water has seen me losing bodyweight consistently & sustainably.
    http://www.bulletproofexec.com/bulletproof-fasting/

I lve bulletproof coffee, and if yu just drink that for breakfast, it ill make a big difference:
    http://www.bulletproofexec.com/how-to-make-your-coffee-bulletproof-and-your-morning-too/
    (I use grumpy mule coffee and unsalted butter you can get in Fallon & Byrne along with MCT oil you can buy in Nourish)

I really like all of David Aspreys ideas on getting into shape... along with David Attia.

The breakthrough for me was discovering nutritional ketosis, whereby avoiding / minimising concentrated carbs drives rapid fat loss & balanced blood sugar.
    If you watch the 1st 1/3 of this video, it might just change your whole life:
    http://youtu.be/NqwvcrA7oe8

Make sure you drink lots of water... As you detox when you lose fat.

3) I suggest you hire a personal trainer for a few sessions to show you how to train. I thought I knew but I didnt at all. Hint: You only need to train for 30 to 45 minutes, a couple of times a week, albeit very intensely, to boost your resting metabolism and burn fat fast. Dont bother with cardio... Just do "high intensity interval training" according to whatever maxes out your heart rate. If you cant afford a personal trainer, start with some of Vinny Gough's workouts using light weights (youtube.com/superpowerfitness)

Alternatively, consider going to circuit training classes / crossfit classes.

4) If you can afford it, get a FitBit (digital pedometer) and try to walk 5 to 10k steps a day.

If you do the above, your body will transform quickly & you'll feel amazing. You could lose a stone a month... and make sure you put some money aside to buy new clothes because very quickly, your old clothes will be too big. Even doing the above very imperfectly will make a huge difference.

GO FOR IT, for your future, for everyone who cares about you, to feel more alive, to live well, because life is too short. If you encounter any gym bullies, realise they are insecure and not worth listening to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Go for it man , you'll get respect from the regulars because you're doing something about your obvious weight problem. It takes a lot of guts to do what you're about to do and and any normal person recognises that.

Turbot while I agree that weight loss is 80% diet, bulletproof may be a tad extreme for someone starting out.
    I'm still a newbie gym goer and if I didn't eat something before going to the gym I'd faint and have done on a few occasions with my trainer, when I didn't eat enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭muletide

Anytime I see someone who is overweight in the gym all that ever crosses my mind is fair play to him/her.

Too many heavy people who would rather sit on their arse. Go for it and I guarantee you after one or two visits your confidence will be sky high and you will be bulletproof.

Good luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

Turbot while I agree that weight loss is 80% diet, bulletproof may be a tad extreme for someone starting out.
    I'm still a newbie gym goer and if I didn't eat something before going to the gym I'd faint and have done on a few occasions with my trainer, when I didn't eat enough.
    agreed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭turbot

The_Morrigan,

Have you actually tried the bulletproof diet and/or bulletproof intermittent fasting - following the exact protocol?

If you havent actually done this, you may be making assumptions based upon the wrong data / what you imagine will happen based on things you've tried before that are actually very different.

BP Principles have a markedly different effect on your biochemistry than "just not eating for hours before a workout".

If you faint during a workout due to chronically low blood sugar on account of not eating, then BP principles may actually be really helpful to become "fat adapted" to better enable your body to balance your blood sugar using fat reserves. Even if you're not diabetic, you might benefit from getting a glucometer so track your blood glucose relationship with what & how you eat.
    I am a fan of BP approaches because they work really well for me - to keep blood glucose very balanced.

turbot wrote: »
    The_Morrigan,

Have you actually tried the bulletproof diet and/or bulletproof intermittent fasting - following the exact protocol?

If you havent actually done this, you may be making assumptions based upon the wrong data / what you imagine will happen based on things you've tried before that are actually very different.

BP Principles have a markedly different effect on your biochemistry than "just not eating for hours before a workout".

If you faint during a workout due to chronically low blood sugar on account of not eating, then BP principles may actually be really helpful to become "fat adapted" to better enable your body to balance your blood sugar using fat reserves. Even if you're not diabetic, you might benefit from getting a glucometer so track your blood glucose relationship with what & how you eat.
    I am a fan of BP approaches because they work really well for me - to keep blood glucose very balanced.

I have not tried it and have no intention of doing so either after I read the links you provided. I think having no food other than the morning coffee/butter combo until 2pm is dangerous for someone starting out. A new gym regime for some people can be a serious shock to the system. I know for the first few weeks of mine I was constantly hungry as I was burning a lot more calories than before I started and my body just went nuts.

I have a nutritional plan that suits my goals and training schedule and it has worked for me. Having been in the OPs position a few months ago I would suggest baby steps first otherwise you are likely to give up as it could be too extreme and hard on the system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭Katgurl

Far from people laughing at you, you could actually be inspirational.

I remember my first time stepping into a gym as a slightly overweight 20 year old. I was terrified thinking I'd be laughed out of the place for not looking like an athlete.

When I walked in for my first session with the trainer he was working with a female client at least three or four stone heavier than me. I was filled with admiration for her going in there and sorting herself out.

I have been in tons of gyms over the years, in loads of countries and I have never seen members to be anything but helpful and supportive.

You're there to get in shape. People will admire you. Book in to have a programme done though so you are doing things right - it also keeps you accountable.

Read the stickies in the nutrition & diet forum too so you are getting full benefit of your exercise regime.

Good luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭Budawanny

We go to the Gym , We work hard, Our brains produces and endorphins and all sorts of nice rewarding chemicals and no one gives to flying f*cks about anyone else. big small or indifferent . The gyms hard work in a good way, but way too hard to be caring what other people look like even if one was inclined that way. Definitely go, you will kick ass and enjoy it.