Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leisure Centre Dressing Room Problem

• 09-11-2013 9:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭

My friend who carries her boy swimming in the local leisure centre is getting sick of two twins who are in there mid 50s prancing around the dressing room naked as the day they were born, my friend brings her son in to the dressing rooms to get changed along with other parents and they are really getting sick of seeing the nudies as they are currently named, they have been reported to reception several times, they behave for a while but back to there normal carry on again, they strip off as soon as they come back from the gym or pool and its full nudity for as long as they can, they think they are models. What can my friend do or say, her and her friends are really getting sick of this and is not appropriate in front of kids, she said if there was something good she could say to them to stop it, she said even though they are in there 50s they are fit but starting to head south.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

My friend who carries her boy swimming in the local leisure centre is getting sick of two twins who are in there mid 50s prancing around the dressing room naked as the day they were born, my friend brings her son in to the dressing rooms to get changed along with other parents and they are really getting sick of seeing the nudies as they are currently named, they have been reported to reception several times, they behave for a while but back to there normal carry on again, they strip off as soon as they come back from the gym or pool and its full nudity for as long as they can, they think they are models. What can my friend do or say, her and her friends are really getting sick of this and is not appropriate in front of kids, she said if there was something good she could say to them to stop it, she said even though they are in there 50s they are fit but starting to head south.

Drinking again?
    This will not end well!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,691 ✭✭✭michellie

Down with that sort of thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

Dear diary......jackpot!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭Vinz Mesrine

It's a changing room, what's the problem here?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

Naked people?

In a dressing room?

Well I never :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Get one of those cigar cutters and give the two boys a demonstration on how it functions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

wexie wrote: »
    Naked people?

In a dressing room?

Well I never :eek:

Ah, beat me to it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

Yuck, naked people!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,902 ✭✭✭✭ted1

How old is her son? I don't see the two doing anything wrong and what has there appearance got to do with it? If they were not fit would it matter?

It's perfectly natural for people to be naked in changing areas, most countries don't have any issues with it, lots if countries even have naked saunas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭username123

What's wrong with nudity in gym changing rooms :confused:

The age limit for opposite sex children in changing rooms is usually very low, it's 6 in my local pool, so I can't see how it's inappropriate for a child of that age to see opposite sex nudity in a changing room environment?

Your comment about the attractiveness of these women's bodies is juvenile. All ages, shapes, body sizes etc use leisure centres. It says more about you that you would be commenting on someone's body in such a manner and is reflective of a generally unhealthy attitude to nudity IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

It may seem far fetched, and you can shoot me down at any time, but maybe, just maybe.. You could go at a different time?

I mean most leisure centres are open from 8am till 10pm, they hardly sit around naked for the whole day do they?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Mariasofia

I regularly see things I should not see in the dressing room of my gym. People should practice more discretion.........bare chests, bottoms hanging out ......

or maybe I should go straight to the ladies instead of peeking in the mens......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Dear diary......jackpot!

There's quagmire.

Howya Quagmire? How's things?

There's quagmire.

Howya Quagmire? How's things?

G-g-g-g-giggiddy gooood

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

My friend who carries her boy swimming in the local leisure centre is getting sick of two twins who are in there mid 50s prancing around the dressing room naked as the day they were born

two twins :pac: :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭BabysCoffee

Your friend should send her son in to the gents if she is bothered about seeing naked ladies. It's perfectly normal for ladies to be naked in the ladies changing room.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

Have you tried pointing and giggling loudly? A snort of derision or two might also help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭Cycling Dumbasses

What's wrong with nudity in gym changing rooms :confused:

The age limit for opposite sex children in changing rooms is usually very low, it's 6 in my local pool, so I can't see how it's inappropriate for a child of that age to see opposite sex nudity in a changing room environment?

Your comment about the attractiveness of these women's bodies is juvenile. All ages, shapes, body sizes etc use leisure centres. It says more about you that you would be commenting on someone's body in such a manner and is reflective of a generally unhealthy attitude to nudity IMO.
    Whats wrong is when my friend was sitting down drying off her son and changing and one of the nudies came over and started conversation and was at eye level to her box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea

how does she get changed without flashing? towel fort?

Is the main issue the nudity, the heading south, or the fact they're unashamed of either?

She should turn her back to the rest of the changing room population if she wants to avoid conversation. Or maybe she could just say she's sorting out her son if they try to chat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Whats wrong is when my friend was sitting down drying off her son and changing and one of the nudies came over and started conversation and was at eye level to her box.

What kinda box?

Why does she take it to the swimming pool?

What kinda box?

Why does she take it to the swimming pool?

A box like an open beef sandwich being held together with a toothpick

**3 In 1 halfway back up **:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Go to Germany OP and be properly outraged. I hear unisex changing rooms and saunas are not uncommon.

Or y'know, get over it.

Everyone obviously has to get get naked while changing but walking around fully nude talking to other parents and there kids looking at there naked body aint on, come on put on a towel.
    Anyway i have told my friend to tell them to put on a towel because their child has been awake all night with nightmares of dinosaurs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

All important point here is whether or not these twins are lookers.

Some wominz in their 50s are fine to look at...

Everyone obviously has to get get naked while changing but walking around fully nude talking to other parents and there kids looking at there naked body aint on, come on put on a towel.
    Anyway i have told my friend to tell them to put on a towel because their child has been awake all night with nightmares of dinosaurs.

You need new friends

Flangesaurus is a terrifying beast. :pac:

Anyway i have told my friend to tell them to put on a towel because their child has been awake all night with nightmares of dinosaurs .

Bet they're dyathinkhesawrus.

I hope the doyalickalotofpus doesn't turn up!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

she said even though they are in there 50s they are fit but starting to head south.
    Very important detail... if you're 12.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Don't bring the kid in. Solved. Magic.
    ted1 wrote: »
    How old is her son?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 816 ✭✭✭dr strangelove

All important point here is whether or not these twins are lookers.

Some wominz in their 50s are fine to look at...

Agreed - pics or GTFO

Billy86 wrote: »
    Don't bring the kid in. Solved. Magic.

So where is she going to get her son changed?

Send him into the mens if it's that big an issue for her. What age is he, 2? 3? If he's too young to dress himself, he's too young to know or remember what he's seeing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Fiery mutant

I LOL'ed hard at that.

Seriously your friend needs to grow up. It's a changing room, it's the one public place in the world where it's normal to be naked. The child is not going to be scarred for life or anything just because he see's some milf flashing her box to the whole room. If anything he'll just end up with a raging boner.

We should defend our way of life to an extent that any attempt on it is crushed, so that any adversary will never make such an attempt in the future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

Send him into the mens if it's that big an issue for her. What age is he, 2? 3? If he's too young to dress himself, he's too young to know or remember what he's seeing.

That's exactly it, if they're still so young they need help getting dressed then the kid itself will have no issues whatsoever with seeing nekked people.

If the mother wants to **** up her child by giving him hangups at quite such an early age well then I guess that's up to her.

Just don't blame it one someone else who's comfortable with their own nudity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,227 ✭✭✭The Highwayman

MadsL wrote: »
    Go to Germany OP and be properly outraged. I hear unisex changing rooms and saunas are not uncommon.

Or y'know, get over it.

Yup over here in der Vatherland we have all girl, all boy and mixed saunas & steam rooms all naked.
    Bit strange the first few times when a fairly hot 20-30yr old woman comes in but hey you get used to it fast. Then again over here on the mainland we are not so hung up on bodies.
    During the summer at the open air pool 1000's of people every girl from 16 to 60 is wearing a bikini, ah the wonder of sunglasses.

Op if its such a problem and the gym does not provide changing stalls use the bathroom.

So send a two year old into a mens dressing room on his own? problem solved, thanks will pass on vital information to the problem.

Read my post again.

What is your solution?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

I don't agree with people who say "Oh it's repressed and childish and prudish not to have public nudity", but it's a changing room. She can try to shield the child.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,793 ✭✭✭FunLover18

He's only 2!? Jesus this mother needs to cop on. Nudity is perfectly acceptable in a changing, it's who we are. He's going to find out eventually.

FunLover18 wrote: »
    He's only 2!? Jesus this mother needs to cop on. Nudity is perfectly acceptable in a changing, it's who we are. He's going to find out eventually.
    So would you send in your child into their appropriate changing rooms on their own at 2 years of age?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,793 ✭✭✭FunLover18

So would you send in your child into their appropriate changing rooms on their own at 2 years of age?

No I have no problem with her bringing him into the female changing room. But she shouldn't be "protecting" him from the nudity. Does his dad ever bring him?

The nudity should not be an issue at 2 years of age. He doesn't know what he is seeing and won't remember any of it. You really misread my post pretty badly, it seems.

FunLover18 wrote: »
    No I have no problem with her bringing him into the female changing room. But she shouldn't be "protecting" him from the nudity. Does his dad ever bring him?
    His dad works, they dont depend on mickey money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭BabysCoffee

No. Obviously the child should be with the mother in the ladies changing room. The mother needs to cop herself on and understand that no harm will come to the child from being exposed to naked ladies in the changing room. End of.