Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

There's a new qashqai

• 07-11-2013 10:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,522 ✭✭✭✭

That is all
    mzu6.jpg
    jl6s.jpg
    br9p.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,373 ✭✭✭ongarite

Where are the photos of the Irish base model 1.5D?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,522 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

ongarite wrote: »
    Where are the photos of the Irish base model 1.5D?

1.6D now.
    Mad altogether!

Also 1.6 turbo petrol...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Thats not bad - if you were into that type of thing.
    Go like hot cakes yet again no doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,262 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

When is it going to be sold here??

Arse will fall out of the old model prices by Saturday.

It'll be Rav4 all over again...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

Coming to a primary school parking area near you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

New model Qashqai
    -
    Old Model Qashqai
    -
    Slightly used old model Qashqai
    -
    Well used old model Qashqai
    -
    -
    -
    -
    -
    -
    -
    -
    -
    -
    -
    -
    -
    -
    Dacia Duster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

hey let's call it the Cashcow

*awaits applause*

BMJD wrote: »
    hey let's call it the Cashcow

*awaits applause*

Its like 2007 all over again....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,262 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Will they have the +1 version.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

That's actually not bad. Much better than the current one even alloying for 6 or 7 years time passing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,294 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

All the ones you'll see in Ireland won't have those lights, alloys or fogs. Or the leather interior.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

Should see it towards the end of Feb 2014.

Dont think the old model's value will be hit too bad either - its almost like the golf at this stage.

A qashqai is a qashqai.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 701 ✭✭✭carsfan

looks exactly like a shrunken version of the new x trail they revealed in September. even the same wheels and interior

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,364 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

carsfan wrote: »
    looks exactly like a shrunken version of the new x trail they revealed in September. even the same wheels and interior

Well the new X-Trail will replace the old Qashqai+2 so that would make sense. In reality they just changed the name of the new +2 and give it a more rugged image.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 977 ✭✭✭Wheelnut

Is it a bit Pew-Joe-esque at the rear, especially the tail-lights?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Looks tough, I like it.

If the 1.6 petrol is the MR16DET (it is, I'll put money on it), that's the engine from the new Clio RS and the Juke Nismo.

There's also a 1.2 turbo, as seen in the renault grand scenic.

Think the engine code is M12ERY

What's the world coming to...

Now that's just too small for the car. :(

Can't bate 200bhp from the 1.6 though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

Thought the only petrol engine in the Cashcow now is a 1.2 turbo lump? Not that anyone in Ireland will buy the petrol model anyway, in fact will they even bother offering a petrol engine in Ireland? Also, as far as I know, the entry level diesel is still the 1.5, with 110 bhp, the 1.6 dCi is the more powerful model only and has 130 bhp.

Also, they've ditched the proper independent multi link rear suspension in the new car unless you order one with four wheel drive... not that the average Qashqai buyer even knows that there's different types of suspension in the first place....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

800px-Challenger_2_Tank_During_Amphibious_Demonstration_MOD_45152080.jpg

I'd love to get my hands on one of these and go around blowing these qashqai's and the idiots who buy them from here to kingdom come. Idiots in a total crapbox.

Stinicker wrote: »
    800px-Challenger_2_Tank_During_Amphibious_Demonstration_MOD_45152080.jpg

I'd love to get my hands on one of these and go around blowing these qashqai's and the idiots who buy them from here to kingdom come. Idiots in a total crapbox.

And what would you choose in this segment? An i3?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭Moses7

I kind of like it. Nothing revolutionary, but a good evolution compared to the first gen model.

the interior looks much nicer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

That looks very similar to a Santa Fe Imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,100 ✭✭✭muckwarrior

Yeah, looks like they had a meeting and decided "Lets make it look like a Hyundai".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 jcoll688

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,921 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

what is the point of these cars?
    Its not for transport as they have useless boot space, or cross country as they just cant.
    And they arent a status symbol either

so whats the point except "high driving position" which could be offered in a less "fake cross country" manner by an smax or cmax or bmax etc.

i dont get it

what is the point of these cars?
    Its not for transport as they have useless boot space, or cross country as they just cant.
    And they arent a status symbol either

so whats the point except "high driving position" which could be offered in a less "fake cross country" manner by an smax or cmax or bmax etc.

i dont get it

What's the point?
    People like them and they sell well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 SEAGF

Which looks like the old Qashqai

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,226 ✭✭✭Stallingrad

Far more generic now, could be anything, Toyota, Kia, Hyundai, etc. The previous model was distinctive and original, this is not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 SEAGF

jcoll688 wrote: »

Not even close to the Scross and it's what...10 grand more?

Far more generic now, could be anything, Toyota, Kia, Hyundai, etc. The previous model was distinctive and original, this is not.
    It's definitely looks like a Hyundai from the sides, a little bit of Toyota from the front and has rear tail light akin to a ford Imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,127 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

http://www.autoexpress.co.uk/nissan/qashqai/63524/2014-nissan-qashqai-pictures
    Looks very Impressive. I hope they get the pricing right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

I like it. It's def donning a cap in the direction of a Kia/Hyundai though - which is not necessarily a bad thing btw.

1.6 petrol turbo auto w/leather please, tks. Ye can keep yer Demon fuel ones.

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

When can we expect to have info on prices?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭pippip

I like the rear lights. You'd know it was a Ford from those lights alone, very similar to the mondeo. Nice style to them. Much better than the last versions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,593 ✭✭✭Northern Monkey

Looks like the love child of a Ford Kuga and Saab 95.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

Coming to a primary school parking area near you.

Coming badly-parked-on-the-kerb-on-double-yellow-lines-blocking-any-view-of-kids-crossing-the-road outside a primary school near you.
    Stinicker wrote: »
    [I

They're not crapboxes from what I gather, I know at least 3 people who have them, two families and one elderly couple, none of whom I'd describe as idiots. All are more than happy with them, seem to be well built and reliable which is what a lot of people want.

You might not like them, doesn't mean that everybody who buys the mis an idiot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭CGI_3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,294 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Haha you can get it with a 1.2! How much does it weigh I wonder???

Some of those top end models are too expensive for the irish market. For a top spec Diesel your looking at €30k and upwards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

MadYaker wrote: »
    Haha you will only get it in the bog spec 1.2 here

FYP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 977 ✭✭✭Wheelnut

Puncture repair kit €100-00 ! :eek:

I presume that means there is no spare and they're charging €100 for a can of goo, I think I've lost interest in the Qashqai already!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Looks like a Toyota Avensis mated with an old one with a mix of Kia back in thrown in there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 168 ✭✭Malcolm.

Looks like a cross between the Nissan Puke and the Nissan Queef.

Hyundai should do well out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭veetwin

Quite telling on the price list that they concentrate on the emissions and tax bands and no mention of bhp. Suggests they think their target audience don't care.

They'd be right to be fair. Nissan can't put a foot wrong as far as the Qashqai is concerned, its like a modern day second gen Rav4, its the one people want. As seen with the Rav though, Nissan need to keep listening to the people that are buying them as something else will come along to woo those buyers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

ryanf1 wrote: »
    Some of those top end models are too expensive for the irish market. For a top spec Diesel your looking at €30k and upwards

They are broadly similar to their competitors for price.

The top end Skoda Yeti is more expensive.

The government take so much of the purchase cost in tax, anything half good costs 30k.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

That 1.2 would be absolutely gutless in that yoke. I'm still waking up in cold sweats at night having dreamt of one liter Mondeos being flogged to Paddy in their thousands.

Thankfully such a frightful thing could never happen in real life...................................could it?