Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Teen Seeking Help After Car Accident Rang Doorbell, Was Shot In The Head

• 07-11-2013 8:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,506 ✭✭✭✭

Renisha McBride, 19, went looking for help in the middle of the night after she got into a car accident last weekend, but was shot dead after ringing the doorbell at a nearby home.
    When Renisha McBride, 19, crashed her car in the middle of the night in the Detroit suburb of Dearborn Heights, her phone was dead, her family says. So she went to the nearest home in and knocked on the door.

It was the last thing she did.

The person who answered the door shot McBride in the head, The Detroit News reported. Police confirmed that she died moments later on the suspect’s front porch. The wound was to the back of the head, leading investigators to believe she was leaving the porch when the shot was fired.

McBride’s aunt Bernita Spinks believes it was a case of racial profiling.
    “He shot her in the head … for what? For knocking on his door… If he felt scared or threatened, he should have called 911.” Spinks said on Tuesday.

The Dearborn Heights Police Department released a statement on the shooting that said they had identified the person who fired the shot and killed McBride. The statement added that a final report will be forwarded to the Wayne County Prosecutor’s Office for review in the near future. The race of the shooter has not yet been released.

http://www.buzzfeed.com/alisonvingiano/teen-seeking-help-after-car-accident-rang-doorbell-was-shot?bffb

Just another is a long line of mindless slayings, the perpertator will probably get off scott free as well.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

****ing hell.

There really is only one thing to say here.

'Murika.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 401 ✭✭theblaqueguy

Thats crazy why would you shoot someone that just knocked on your door its not as if she was trying to break into the house
    Hope whoever did it gets locked up for the rest of their life

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭pharmaton

Knew a couple in Vegas who had a caller knock on their door in hysterics one night having been chased down the street by a junked up bf, they let her in and whatever happened (their story goes) she went and took a carving knife from the kitchen drawer so the hubby shot her at point blank and killed her. She was 21 and had a young child. The cops arrived and he got a pat on the back, was offered counselling and that was the end of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,868 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

I remember reading about this other case in September. The police shot a man after a traffic accident.

http://www.theguardian.com/world/2013/sep/16/charlotte-north-carolina-car-crash-victim-shot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Seaneh wrote: »
    ****ing hell.

'Murika.

Only one thing to say when you have vision that selective. I failed to find AH threads on these stories...

http://www.independent.ie/world-news/europe/child-shooting-eightyearold-fired-gun-29728247.html

http://www.rte.ie/news/2013/1103/484354-ballymun-shooting/

http://www.independent.ie/videos/world-news/teenage-girl-shot-in-sydney-29731764.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

MadsL wrote: »

Do you have some sort of alarm that goes off every time someone posts a gun thread on AH?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,477 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Kind've Reminds me of Oscar Pistorius, when he shot his girlfriend. The guy who shot Renisha McBride probably got spooked out at someone ringing his doorbell in the middle of the night. I mean Detroit does have a high crime rate so some people are probably a bit edgy. Just like in South Africa which has a high crime and murder rate too, and people over there are almost always armed with a weapon.

But I don't know, it's just a theory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭SparkySpitfire

That's what happens in a country where guns are NOT freely available.

This story from the US is the tip of the iceberg and those links are not helping your cause.

EDIT: To elaborate, they're not available to the public here and those awful things happened, they're available to the American public (after getting licences obvs) and we're seeing story after story of senseless murders like this one.

****ing hell.

'Murika.

You just had to do the MadsL batsignal, didn't you?

That's what happens in a country where guns are NOT freely available.

This story from the US is the tip of the iceberg and those links are not helping your cause.

Those three links were from countries with strict gun controls, from the past few days. No-one starting threads on them. Someone gets shot in the US...'Merika.
    Change the record ffs. Really old now.

Those three links were from countries with strict gun controls, from the past few days. No-one starting threads on them. Someone gets shot in the US...'Merika.
    Change the record ffs. Really old now.

The record will change when a new song comes out. So far, hearing nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭KwackerJack

And we call ourselves Civilised :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Riddle101 wrote: »
    I mean Detroit does have a high crime rate so some people are probably a bit edgy.
    She could have gotten quite aggressive if he told her to F-off ringing his doorbell in the middle of the night. Even so, she was shot in the back of the head, I don't think there's any way of defending that.

You just had to do the MadsL batsignal, didn't you?

What can I say, I'm very sensitive to kneejerk idiotic reactions. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

When we shoot people, they're gangsters, not people involved in road traffic accidents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,506 ✭✭✭✭Xenji

It was in a very affluent suburb of Detroit as well, as her mother said, if the person felt threatened he could of called 911 and the cops would be there in 2 or 3 minutes.

ScumLord wrote: »
    She could have gotten quite aggressive if he told her to F-off ringing his doorbell in the middle of the night. Even so, she was shot in the back of the head, I don't think there's any way of defending that.

Even if he was on the "defensive" and fearful of whatever threat he thought she posed, a shot in the head is no warning shot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭pharmaton

Riddle101 wrote: »
    Kind've Reminds me of Oscar Pistorius, when he shot his girlfriend. The guy who shot Renisha McBride probably got spooked out at someone ringing his doorbell in the middle of the night. I mean Detroit does have a high crime rate so some people are probably a bit edgy. Just like in South Africa which has a high crime and murder rate too, and people over there are almost always armed with a weapon.

But I don't know, it's just a theory.
    I had the privilege (if you could call it that) of meeting the hubby I described above on a couple of occasions. Had a run in with him on one of those occasions and he went ape over something trivial about people who believed in God. I would have described him as a very very angry person before hand. Granted it was Vegas and it can be a crazy place itself but I genuinely don't think that man was an innocent victim at all.
    He went all religious after it though which I thought was the best kind of karma.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭Nabber

America has a large population. These things are bound to happen when you combine large population with easy access to guns.

Good luck to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Right I do understand that things are meant to be a bit on the Mad Max side of things in Detroit but surely people aren't so frightened of things that they answer a knock of the door in the middle of the night with a loaded shotgun.

To elaborate, they're not available to the public here and those awful things happened, they're available to the American public (after getting licences obvs) and we're seeing story after story of senseless murders like this one.

Almost everything about that sentence is factually incorrect.
    There are 220,000 firearms in Ireland.
    And Detroit, Illinois remains the only state in the US with no provision to let private citizens carry guns in public.

So, of course all four new stories totally reflect each countries attitude to gun control. Could you all just try thinking for a minute?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭Timmyctc

So in order to counter them... you form some idiotic reactions of your own... quite the cunning plan young MadsL.

I think the reason this one has a thread is because the girl was purposely shot in the back of the head as she sought aid after finding herself in a car accident. Not two scummers getting shot over heroin or a nissan micra in ballymun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,477 ✭✭✭Riddle101

ScumLord wrote: »

Maybe you're right. Maybe she just knocked at the wrong house that night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

the perpertator will probably get off scott free as well.
    Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,665 ✭✭✭Tin Foil Hat

Like when someone blows a hole in someones head for ringing a doorbell?

Even if he was on the "defensive" and fearful of whatever threat he thought she posed, a shot in the head is no warning shot.

He's a marksman too as well as disoriented and scared homeowner.

I'm not justifying this at all, but lets not bring movie antics into this...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,506 ✭✭✭✭Xenji

Why?

George Zimmerman has set a precedent, plus they will go with the whole self defense angle regardless of what actually happened.

And Detroit, Illinois remains the only state in the US with no provision to let private citizens carry guns in public.

So, of course all four new stories totally reflect each countries attitude to gun control. Could you all just try thinking for a minute?

1. Didn't know that, I still don't hear of people getting shot on doorsteps. (Apart from in gangland of course, but every country has their own version of that)

2. Nope, didn't know that either, but it's hardly relevant in this case since the girl was shot on the man's property?

I'm not justifying this at all, but lets not bring movie antics into this...

What are you on about? A reasonable reaction is NOT to shoot someone in the head, even if you are scared! there's nothing film-eqsue about that!

And (hands up I don't know all the facts) if he shot her in the back of the head, that suggests she was leaving, so the shot doesn't seem to be a "quick defend myself before she can attack me" action. But you probably are gonna just disagree with everything I'm saying now cos you took that stance at the start.

If you're not trying to justify him, I dunno why you made that comment in the first place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

Shot in the back of the head?
    The homeowner was defending himself and his property. Its in the constitution.
    From reading these threads week after week I'm learning how to call it the way middle 'Merica calls it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Inb4 manicmoran although it seems madsl has taken over for him..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I'm not justifying this at all

Really..? coz that's exactly what it sounds like you're doing, in this and in every single other thread which involves a gun being used in the US.

1. Didn't know that, I still don't hear of people getting shot on doorsteps. (Apart from in gangland of course, but every country has their own version of that)
    I linked to that earlier, but guess what -no AH thread, I guess gangland shootings aren't 'real' shootings.
    2. Nope, didn't know that either, but it's hardly relevant in this case since the girl was shot on the man's property?

Has some bearing on preconceptions of the gun laws in the US, which in Illinois are nearly as strict as Ireland.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gun_laws_in_Illinois

Detroit is in Michigan.

So what the **** do irrelevant Illinois gun laws have to do with this thread about a girl being shot in the ****ing head after knocking on a strangers door while seeking help after crashing her car?

Really..? coz that's exactly what it sounds like you're doing, in this and in every single other thread which involves a gun being used in the US.

Nope. Way to put words in my mouth. In every single gun thread on boards I have argued for the personal responsibility of the gun owner and for them to face the full legal consequences of their actions.

That is different to the kneejerk 'Merika nonsense posted on every single damn shooting thread regardless of even reading the circumstances nor the laws in the state where the shooting took place.

Like I said, could you stop and actually think for a minute.

Illinois are nearly as strict as Ireland.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gun_laws_in_Illinois

No, no they are not.

Not even ****ing close.

In Illonois you can:
    Buy a hand guy, without registration.

In Ireland it's near impossible to get a handgun licence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

P_1 wrote: »
    Right I do understand that things are meant to be a bit on the Mad Max side of things in Detroit but surely people aren't so frightened of things that they answer a knock of the door in the middle of the night with a loaded shotgun.

hmmm.....I don't actually own a gun, but I'll tell ya if I did; and I was woken up in the middle of the night by someone banging on my frontdoor; then the gun wouldn't be far away when I went downstairs to open the door.

and just to point out, depending on what article you read there is actually no confirmation of her actually having been shot in the BACK of the head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Xenji wrote: »
    George Zimmerman has set a precedent, plus they will go with the whole self defense angle regardless of what actually happened.
    Well, none of that is a guarantee.
    Zimmerman had more cause for self defence than this person also.

Hate America-bashing and that "Murica" thing myself, but it's disingenuous to say easy access to guns in that country isn't a problem that leads to incidents like this.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

What? :confused:

Detroit is in Michigan.

Sorry apologies. I'm on pain meds at the moment.

Detroit still has some of the strictest gun laws in the US.

And the second highest murder rate in the US.
    So what the **** do irrelevant Illinois gun laws have to do with this thread about a girl being shot in the ****ing head after knocking on a strangers door while seeking help after crashing her car?

What do Ireland's gun laws have to do with scobies shooting each other up? What do the UK's gun laws have to do with a kid shooting another kid?
    What do Australia's gun laws have to with a girl who was shot in Sydney?

But your intelligent analysis = 'Merika. Well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

wexie wrote: »
    hmmm.....I don't actually own a gun, but I'll tell ya if I did; and I was woken up in the middle of the night by someone banging on my frontdoor; then the gun wouldn't be far away when I went downstairs to open the door.

and just to point out, depending on what article you read there is actually no confirmation of her actually having been shot in the BACK of the head.

You can look out of most doors to see what is going on the other side though. Initial reading on it suggests that the homeowner decided to shoot first and ask questions later

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

If she had any cop on she would have had a gun herself to shoot him in the head back with. Would've saved her life. Yes, I'm being sarcastic obviously.

Do you have some sort of alarm that goes off every time someone posts a gun thread on AH?

Odd how those gun threads are never about shooting incidents in Ireland. AH is careful to be quiet about those.

Well, none of that is a guarantee.
    Zimmerman had more cause for self defence than this person also.

Hate America-bashing and that "Murica" thing myself, but it's disingenuous to say easy access to guns in that country isn't a problem that leads to incidents like this.

We don't really know yet do we? When the whole Zimmerman thing first broke all the articles seemed to indicate that Trayvon Martin was a little angel, top student yada yada yada.

Problem with cases like this is that the early news is very heavily influenced by the family of the victim as the police aint talking yet, they're investigating and they've learn the hard way that releasing information before they're sure of it can go badly wrong.

The 'real story' doesn't tend to get out until later on in the process.

Agree with you on the gun issue though, mostly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭metaoblivia

I found this recent article from the Detroit Free Press which seems to call into question some of the stated facts so far:

http://www.freep.com/article/20131107/NEWS05/311070119/Renisha-McBride-shot-in-face-not-back-of-head-Dearborn-Heights

The chief detective said she wasn't shot in the back of the head, but in the face, the gun owner is claiming it was an accidental discharge, and they said several hours went by between the accident and the shooting, and they don't know what was going on during that time.

Haha who's factually incorrect now? :P

C'mon man, if people weren't so rash in their use of lethal weapons then a lot of deaths like these could've been avoided. It just happens to be frequently reported that these things happen in America. No one's saying it doesn't happen elsewhere.

Taking a (small :P ) step back:

Regardless of gun laws, if someone knocks on your door late at night unexpectedly, you're gonna want to take precautions. This man happened to have a gun as his.

I'm interested now to hear more about what went on between her knocking on his door, and him shooting her dead.

But it seems as though this death could have been avoided because of a rash decision.

P_1 wrote: »
    You can look out of most doors to see what is going on the other side though. Initial reading on it suggests that the homeowner decided to shoot first and ask questions later

This definitely sounds like there may be something fishy here.
    Just saying that I don't think it'd be too unreasonable to get a bit over excited if there is someone banging on your door in the middle of the night.

Especially in a city with crime rates like Detroit.

Sorry apologies. I'm on pain meds at the moment.

Detroit still has some of the strictest gun laws in the US.

And the second highest murder rate in the US.

What do Ireland's gun laws have to do with scobies shooting each other up? What do the UK's gun laws have to do with a kid shooting another kid?
    What do Australia's gun laws have to with a girl who was shot in Sydney?

But your intelligent analysis = 'Merika. Well done.

And how many people per 1000 are killed by firearms in Ireland/Australia per year?
    How many people per 1000 are unlawfully killed in ireland/Australia, period, per year?

Now compare both figures to the US.

Now, in what percentage of Irish/Australian unlawful killings are a firearm used?

What percentage of unlawful killings in the US are a firearm used?

Because once you compare these numbers your retarded straw-man argument falls to ****e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 402 ✭✭The Big Smoke

You must hate yourself then...

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Odd how those gun threads are never about shooting incidents in Ireland. AH is careful to be quiet about those.

There's obviously a big difference between fatal and non-fatal shootings in terms of their exposure and people's reactions.

There's a hell of a lot more fatal shootings in the US, particularly amongst those not involved in drug gangs. It might seem like the US is being picked on, but it's not, and there's no conspiracy here.

The number of gun murders in the US that get mentioned on Boards is far less than 1%. I'd say far more than 1% of gun murders in Ireland get mentioned.