Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Skoda superb 1.9 vs1.6

• 06-11-2013 9:57am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭

Well lads,

I know this has been covered slightly before but I just can't make my mind up. I want to buy a superb. The ones ive been looking at have come down to between two
    1: 2010 superb 1.9 ~€13900 say 30k miles

2:2011 superb 1.6~€ 15000 say 15k miles

The spec suggests that both are the same power but instinct says and previous threads say that the 1.9 is much better. But id be buying a year newer and half the mileage.

Which do ye think I should go for?

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

do you do enough mileage to justify the diesel?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Get the 2.0 litre instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 993 ✭✭✭bf

What type of driving do you do? I'm on my second 1.6 superb and haven't had any problems with the engine or heard of any horror stories (a few about the 2.0 140bhp model). Obviously acceleration isn't the quickest but it sits happily at 2200 rpm at 120 km/h

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭lanber man

do you do enough mileage to justify the diesel?

The classic question. Ive done 20k in the last year. Motorway or back road driving. Think its justifiable

bf wrote: »
    What type of driving do you do? I'm on my second 1.6 superb and haven't had any problems with the engine or heard of any horror stories (a few about the 2.0 140bhp model). Obviously acceleration isn't the quickest but it sits happily at 2200 rpm at 120 km/h

Yeah I currently have a 1.9 octavia and dont want to lose too much power thats what im worried about. Superb is a bit heavier and has a 'smaller' engine. Thats what I'd be worried about

The classic question. Ive done 20k in the last year. Motorway or back road driving. Think its justifiable

wasn't being smart, just thought it would help make your mind up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

Depending on budget, i would look out for the 2.0ltr

Both 140 & 170hp versions offer a nice drive & perform well on economy.

However if not. I'd pick the 1.6 over the 1.9.

Ah no I understand. The amount of peiple doing the shopping once a week buying a diesel is stupid

you could probably justify the diesel at that mileage.

have you test driven either yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

I dare say there are very few petrol Superbs around anyway.

Haven't driven the 1.6 thats why I was askin. Must book a test in one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

I'd go for the 1.6tdi. My grandparents bought a new superb this year 1.6tdi and it's fairly good power wise probably quicker than you would expect a 1.6 to be in a car if it's size. It actually feels quicker than an octavia 1.6tdi to drive this is due to the superb having a different turbo set up.

Bpmull wrote: »
    I'd go for the 1.6tdi. My grandparents bought a new superb this year 1.6tdi and it's fairly good power wise probably quicker than you would expect a 1.6 to be in a car if it's size. It actually feels quicker than an octavia 1.6tdi to drive this is due to the superb having a different turbo set up.

Yeah the price difference isn't too much for a year newer so at the moment im going to go for the 1.6

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

A 1.6 in a car of that size is just not appropriate. Try your best to find a 2.0 liter mate.

That's just my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

Id get the 1.9tdi. While it may be a bit noisy it's a very reliable and well proven unit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 190 ✭✭Matt406

Well lads,

I know this has been covered slightly before but I just can't make my mind up. I want to buy a superb. The ones ive been looking at have come down to between two
    1: 2010 superb 1.9 ~€13900 say 30k miles

2:2011 superb 1.6~€ 15000 say 15k miles

The spec suggests that both are the same power but instinct says and previous threads say that the 1.9 is much better. But id be buying a year newer and half the mileage.

Which do ye think I should go for?

Cheers

Do you mind me asking where you are getting a 2010 Superb with 30k mile for €13,900 or a 2011 one for €15,000. These prices seem very good to me or am i wrong!!

Matt406 wrote: »
    Do you mind me asking where you are getting a 2010 Superb with 30k mile for €13,900 or a 2011 one for €15,000. These prices seem very good to me or am i wrong!!

An english import. Won't find them here for that money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭sparkynash

did you buy the skoda after,i too am after a superb and today drove a 1.6 passat 2011 then drove a 2012 2.0 superb,omg the passat was soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo slow and no pick up and a massive flat spot,the skoda pulled very well..

sparkynash wrote: »
    did you buy the skoda after,i too am after a superb and today drove a 1.6 passat 2011 then drove a 2012 2.0 superb,omg the passat was soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo slow and no pick up and a massive flat spot,the skoda pulled very well..

Yeah got the 170 Bhp superb in the end. Fairly happy. Have drove the 140 passat since. It is far faster at responding but wouldn't be as quick as the superb in the end. That'd be about the only complaint. Very smooth ride

Well for yis lads. I did Galway to Dublin yesterday in a 1.6 petrol and to be honest, it wasn't a comfortable drive. Had to rag the sh*t out of it. Had the radio up nearly full blast to drown out the sound of the engine.

Not to mention the guzzling of juice :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Mister Jingles

Jesus. wrote: »
    Well for yis lads. I did Galway to Dublin yesterday in a 1.6 petrol and to be honest, it wasn't a comfortable drive. Had to rag the sh*t out of it. Had the radio up nearly full blast to drown out the sound of the engine.

Not to mention the guzzling of juice :(

Try Tralee to Dunboyne non stop in a 1.0 Micra, heartbreaking wouldn't be a strong enough word. Any 1.6 would of been luxury to me. :pac:

LOL! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Old diesel

lanber man wrote: »
    Yeah got the 170 Bhp superb in the end. Fairly happy. Have drove the 140 passat since. It is far faster at responding but wouldn't be as quick as the superb in the end. That'd be about the only complaint. Very smooth ride

Is it DSG or manual???

manual

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 190 ✭✭Matt406

I bought a 2012 2.0tdi (140) at the start of the year. Very happy with car so far – although she did get a new turbo (under warranty) about 2 weeks ago with 47,000km on the clock!

Ah Christ a new turbo already,your lucky it was under warranty i bet 1500/2000 euro would be the cost of a new one fitted,remember over 90% of all turbo failures is due to incorrect oil or starvation of oil,buy the correct oil always.Im on the look out for a superb or Passat but which is the best buy,1.6/2.0 or 1.9 pre 2011,my concerns being a 1.6 in a large car figures show it makes the same power but it does it at higher rpms,history shows us that over engineered is better so for me the bigger engine would have to work less than the smaller one.I wont buy untill in happy with the choice ive made.

sparkynash wrote: »
    Ah Christ a new turbo already,your lucky it was under warranty i bet 1500/2000 euro would be the cost of a new one fitted,remember over 90% of all turbo failures is due to incorrect oil or starvation of oil,buy the correct oil always.Im on the look out for a superb or Passat but which is the best buy,1.6/2.0 or 1.9 pre 2011,my concerns being a 1.6 in a large car figures show it makes the same power but it does it at higher rpms,history shows us that over engineered is better so for me the bigger engine would have to work less than the smaller one.I wont buy untill in happy with the choice ive made.

Obviously if you want a decent amount of power a 2.0tdi 140bhp is the best to go for. But putting that aside the 1.6tdi engine has actually proven to be a very reliable engine from what I see. My parents have one in an octavia. It doesn't feel underpowered but it's not quick. My golf 1.9tdi would feel faster to drive than the octavia even though there the same on paper. The passat superb are bigger and heavier cars though.

But as for reliability I know of a guy who just traded his 2010 roomster 1.6tdi in. 350,000 km on the clock and it still drove perfect small things like egr was changed but the engine was completely original, turbo, gearbox etc all original. He also never had an breakdowns or anything. To add that car was on a longlife interval so only serviced every 30k km which wouldn't be doing the engine any favours either. If it was me I'd go for a 2.0 for the extra power but I'd have no reserves when it comes the the reliability of the vag 1.6tdi engine. Their a great engine from that point of view.

Bpmull, my sister has a 1.6TDI Octy and I agree with you. Not fast but grand out on the road all the same.

I can't imagine the 1.6 in a barge like the Superb though. Fu*k me that would be slow.

Bpmull, my sister has a 1.6TDI Octy and I agree with you. Not fast but grand out on the road all the same.

I can't imagine the 1.6 in a barge like the Superb though. Fu*k me that would be slow.

The turbo is set up differently on the superb so it seems to boost faster and harder. My grandparents have one and it's certainly no slower than the octavia if anything quicker. But still the 2.0tdi would be nicer to drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Herselfs parents have one. It's grand, but it does need more power. Not particularly economical mind which would be the only reason you'd buy one. They've high enough miles on theirs and haven't had an issue though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

The turbo is set up differently on the superb so it seems to boost faster and harder. My grandparents have one and it's certainly no slower than the octavia if anything quicker. But still the 2.0tdi would be nicer to drive.

Have you a link for that? I've never seen that anywhere but here. Curious to know as the figures are the same.

Not particularly economical mind.

Its a small engine to be hauling around such weight. Probably have to work it harder

Have you a link for that? I've never seen that anywhere but here. Curious to know as the figures are the same.

I can't say I have a link. But I have an uncle who is a mechanic and a huge skoda fan. And he was telling me how there different and he's never to far wrong when it comes to anything skoda related :pac: it's either that it has a different model turbo. Or that the turbo was tweaked so it boosts at different revs and works differently. It does seem logical because if you drive a 11 octavia 1.6tdi and then get into a 2011 superb 1.6 tdi you will think the superb is quicker they just seem to pull quicker through the gears. I don't have a clue how the new model is set up as that has 6 speed gearbox so has been tweaked.

That 1.6tdi is no rocket and the 2.0 is a nicer drive but it's adequate you don't feel like the engine struggles as such. The biggest problem is overtaking at around 90-100 kmh thats when you feel the lack of power really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

I don't know about the Superb, but that 1.6 TDI in the Passat is absolutely dreadful with the six speed gearbox. Totally over-geared, and as a result, no acceleration of any description whatsoever.

Thanks lad,ive owned a vw back in the early 90s and at that it was a 1981 golf and load of rubbish.i own a 2001 corolla with 500000 km and its the same clutch ,gearbox and engine fitted in the factory.the cars too reliable and i know there will be no car i pick that's going to live up to that cars reliability.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭Dia1988

A friend is thinking of buying a 2009 1.9 TDI PD 103Bhp Skoda Superb in the U.K.

However the mileage is 141,000 miles with service history and replaced Clutch/Flywheel.

Questions:

1. Is this too much mileage if he intends to re-sell it?
    2. What would be a reasonable price for the above in Ireland on Irish plates?

$_80.JPG

It'd be fairly slow mate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭ROSSKI

I got an 2010 estate Superb 2.0 tdi 170 Bhp about 4 months ago and I absolutey love it - At the time of looking I drove a 2011 1.6 tdi passat and I think it's completely underpowered for a big car. The superb I have now is very good I fuel as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,626 ✭✭✭✭vectra

Looked like he already had his mind made up without being questioned about it.
    One thing I can never understand with Boards members. When someone suggests a diesel you can be assured a member will ask this damn question.
    If there is anything more annoying on a forum it has past me over.

On topic

The 1.6 will "feel" less powerful as it is the CR engine.
    Will also be much quieter.
    It will drive more like a petrol engine rather than having the short lived surge you have right now.

If it were me I would get the 106 and take a trip to Joe Power for a dpf delete and a remap.
    You should see close to 130/140 bhp and a good jump in torque as well.
    You would have a nice motor then.

ROSSKI wrote: »
    I got an 2010 estate Superb 2.0 tdi 170 Bhp about 4 months ago and I absolutey love it - At the time of looking I drove a 2011 1.6 tdi passat and I think it's completely underpowered for a big car. The superb I have now is very good I fuel as well

Off topic,
    Talking about fuel,

I went to Limerick yesterday and stuck to the speed limits and no overtaking on the way.
    I managed 52.3 mpg which I was happy with, That was until I met Muppetcheck with his 184bhp Leon FR,
    He stuck to the limits as well and no overtaking.
    He got over 61 mpg.

Seriously looking at an FR next time or even an ST FR.

Vectra, what do you think of doing a couple of hours Motorway driving (say Dublin to Galway) in a petrol car that you have to rev hard? Do you find it a bit uncomfortable?

I don't do much Motorway driving so I'm grand but last week I did that trip and I was revving hard (and loud!) for the whole trip and I didn't find it all that pleasant. I wished I'd had the diesel car to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭comongethappy

vectra wrote: »
    Off topic,
    Talking about fuel,

I went to Limerick yesterday and stuck to the speed limits and no overtaking on the way.
    I managed 52.3 mpg which I was happy with, That was until I met Muppetcheck with his 184bhp Leon FR,
    He stuck to the limits as well and no overtaking.
    He got over 61 mpg.

Seriously looking at an FR next time or even an ST FR.

I dare say the Leon is lighter, lower & more aerodynamic.
    That and the 170ps engine has been around a few years now.
    The new 184ps variant is probably more fuel efficient.

Vectra, what do you think of doing a couple of hours Motorway driving (say Dublin to Galway) in a petrol car that you have to rev hard? Do you find it a bit uncomfortable?

I don't do much Motorway driving so I'm grand but last week I did that trip and I was revving hard (and loud!) for the whole trip and I didn't find it all that pleasant. I wished I'd had the diesel car to be honest.

I don't drive petrol. My one is diesel. ( though I do very small miles but prefer it )

I cruise at motorway speeds at around 2k revs so very quiet on the engine side of things.
    I recently was in my sons e46 320ci at motorway speeds and as smooth as the 6 cyl is I thought it was very loud on the revs side of things.
    I had forgotten what that was like.
    Just did not feel right to me.

I dare say the Leon is lighter, lower & more aerodynamic.
    That and the 170ps engine has been around a few years now.
    The new 184ps variant is probably more fuel efficient.

Still.
    almost 10 mpg is quite a gain.

I had forgotten what that was like.Just did not feel right to me.

Yeah, me neither. Some people like revving a petrol hard but its not for me.

Looked like he already had his mind made up without being questioned about it.
    One thing I can never understand with Boards members. When someone suggests a diesel you can be assured a member will ask this damn question.
    If there is anything more annoying on a forum it has past me over.

On topic

The 1.6 will "feel" less powerful as it is the CR engine.
    Will also be much quieter.
    It will drive more like a petrol engine rather than having the short lived surge you have right now.

If it were me I would get the 106 and take a trip to Joe Power for a dpf delete and a remap.
    You should see close to 130/140 bhp and a good jump in torque as well.
    You would have a nice motor then.

I can understand your frustration with the question Vectra - but I think the mileage issue is something that FAR too many people don't consider with diesels.

On the topic of Superbs - how cheaply do we think a 170 tdi with DSG* can be purchased these days - especially from the Uk WITH VRT paid.

*non negotiable im afraid - would have to be an auto - car isn't for me

Old diesel wrote: »
    I can understand your frustration with the question Vectra - but I think the mileage issue is something that FAR too many people don't consider with diesels.

On the topic of Superbs - how cheaply do we think a 170 tdi with DSG* can be purchased these days - especially from the Uk WITH VRT paid.

*non negotiable im afraid - would have to be an auto - car isn't for me

Galvins in Bandon took a trade in only last Thursday of a 09 Octavia vRS combi with dsg.
    I think around 140k on it.

Might be worth ringing them?

Galvins in Bandon took a trade in only last Thursday of a 09 Octavia vRS combi with dsg.
    I think around 140k on it.

Might be worth ringing them?

Thank you

Im afraid it hasn't been decided whether they will change or not.

the figures aren't working out in terms of while the Superb is competitive on running costs vs their current car - reduced running costs are the reason for change.

Depreciation is the killer and means at 21 k purchase price - a car with 570 euro tax and 46 mpg - is still costing the same as an LS 430 at 31 mpg (yes his REALLY does do that much) and 1800 euro tax.

Hes going to try some hybrids I think