Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why do people get bent out of shape over ID?

• 05-11-2013 11:37pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 519 ✭✭✭

I've spent many a year working in customer service and shops of all sorts (not at the minute, and hopefully never again) and one thing that I could never fathom was the unadulterated rage that some people display when asked to present ID for alcohol/cigarette purchases. Why is it so difficult to carry ID with you? I generally always tried my best not to ask anyone unless necessary but some people (especially women) could be anywhere from 16 to 30 years of age depending on size, make-up, lack of facial hair etc.. A co-worker of mine was fired on the spot for selling wine to an under-age girl that the Gardaí sent in, and the company was also fined so I always erred on the side of caution.

Do people have hang ups about carrying ID around with them?
    I have had my Garda ID or my driver license with me at all times since I was 18. I don't think it is an inconvenience as I just keep them in my wallet, which I always have with me anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭pharmaton

is it because you get to see their ugly pic? people like to hide those photos away in places where they can't be discovered mostly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 519 ✭✭✭thecatspjs

pharmaton wrote: »
    is it because you get to see their ugly pic? people like to hide those photos away in places where they can't be discovered mostly.

The sour look on their face when asked in the first place doesn't do them any favours either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭cmore123

I worked in an industry which required ID to be shown on a regular basis, and not just that but photocopied. Few complained because they expected it and they knew we were simply not allowed to have any dealings with them at all otherwise. If shops which sell drink and fags rigidly insisted on ID all the time maybe people might have a greater expectation of it...? I know some are very meticulous about this, but it must vary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

I found growing a beard is an acceptable form of ID for most places. Tesco is a pain for ID, they want passport or garda ID. Wont accept student card like everywhere else or even a driving licence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭Gee Bag

I found growing a beard is an acceptable form of ID for most places. Tesco is a pain for ID, they want passport or garda ID. Wont accept student card like everywhere else or even a driving licence.

True, no one ever asks a bearded lady for ID.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

I come from an age group where there was no garda id. Unless you're driving, there's no obligation in this country to carry any id with you on a daily basis, and not everyone has a driving license anyway. Few adults carry passports around.

In your example of women looking anywhere between 16-30, that means a 30 year old gets a call from her husband saying he's invited some people for dinner, asks her to pick up a bottle of wine on her way home. She's already stressed and tired, runs into the first place she sees to buy a bottle, and is then foiled, due to not having ID. She understands that you're just doing your job, but on the other hand she's 30 years old and can't even buy a bloody bottle of wine on a whim.

As someone who is over 30, I'd feel weird getting a garda ID, as I see it as something for people who've just turned 18.

I think some of the problem as well is that it's a bit random. I was asked for ID about 2 years ago, having never been asked before in my life - not even when I was a teenager. As it happens, I had some ID outside in the car, but if I hadn't I'd have been a bit peeved, as it's not something I usually have to plan for.

Men are only tricky if they have no facial hair (as in they can't grow it, I don't mean clean shaven). A good beard gets you places. I can understand a shop not accepting student ID and driving licenses tbf. They are easy to forge in many cases (Driving licenses are a joke, the sooner everyone is equipped with the newer design, the better imo).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭Nabber

Why do people say they worked in an 'industry'... Is it a fooking secret?

People obsessed with their role/position in work are more annoying than people who don't carry ID.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

Nabber wrote: »
    Why do people say they worked in an 'industry'... Is it a fooking secret?

People obsessed with their role/position in work are more annoying than people who don't carry ID.

It's just a turn of phrase. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

I'm in my late thirties. I nearly kissed the young one at the till who asked me for ID last month. (I didn't have any on me; I'd say my incredulous laughter proved my age.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭poundapunnet

I occasionally still get ID'd even though I'm in my mid twenties, it is annoying if it's for cigarettes because I'm a dirty addict and I need my fix. My biggest problem is when I have ID on me but because I'm not asked for ID that often it might just be a work or college one (I don't drive) and they can't take it, even though it has my photo on it and says I'm 24. That said I know it's not the fault of the person behind the counter, I'll just go somewhere else. Have no idea where people think they're going to get roaring and shouting.

Thoie wrote: »
    I come from an age group where there was no garda id. Unless you're driving, there's no obligation in this country to carry any id with you on a daily basis, and not everyone has a driving license anyway. Few adults carry passports around.

In your example of women looking anywhere between 16-30, that means a 30 year old gets a call from her husband saying he's invited some people for dinner, asks her to pick up a bottle of wine on her way home. She's already stressed and tired, runs into the first place she sees to buy a bottle, and is then foiled, due to not having ID. She understands that you're just doing your job, but on the other hand she's 30 years old and can't even buy a bloody bottle of wine on a whim.

As someone who is over 30, I'd feel weird getting a garda ID, as I see it as something for people who've just turned 18.

I think some of the problem as well is that it's a bit random. I was asked for ID about 2 years ago, having never been asked before in my life - not even when I was a teenager. As it happens, I had some ID outside in the car, but if I hadn't I'd have been a bit peeved, as it's not something I usually have to plan for.

I know what you're saying and I understand but it really is just the way things seem to be going. My generation turned 18 around the time when garda ID's were becoming more common so I take your point on that issue. The garda ID is a bit juvenile looking but if there was some way to get a professional looking ID in the same way as you get your passport (but quicker obviously) I don't think there would be too much of a problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,323 ✭✭✭Brego888

I read the thread title - why do people get bent out of shape over one direction.

Cos they are ****e that's why!

Brego888 wrote: »
    I read the thread title - why do people get bent out of shape over one direction.

Cos they are ****e that's why!

Great bunch of lads, always have their ID's handy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I think everyone should be microchipped. No need for carrying ID, cash, or passport, make life a whole lot easier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,885 ✭✭✭Stabshauptmann

I doubt Tesco refuse drivers license. One staff member might of at one time, but its not their policy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,885 ✭✭✭Stabshauptmann

thecatspjs wrote: »
    I can understand a shop not accepting student ID and driving licenses tbf.

Driving license must be accepted as proof of age for the purpose of selling alcohol in Ireland.
    The Intoxicating Liquor Act of 1988 section 34 A.

I think everyone should be microchipped. No need for carrying ID, cash, or passport, make life a whole lot easier.

When I become the supreme dictator of Ireland that will be one of my first moves, right after I ban pineapple on pizzas and just before enlist everyone into the military.

Driving license must be accepted as proof of age for the purpose of selling alcohol in Ireland.
    The Intoxicating Liquor Act of 1988 section 34 A.

I see, I have heard that Superquinn don't accept them so that's interesting. That is baffling though, considering they are possibly the most easily tampered with forms of identification in existence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,660 ✭✭✭COYVB

Thoie wrote: »
    there's no obligation in this country to carry any id

And there's no obligation for anywhere to serve you something with an age limit, or let you into their licensed premises, without id

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭Eutow

The problem here is that if people don't have a driving licence, the only other form of ID is a passport, and who wants to carry a passport with them to buy cigs or beer.

Ireland should have a national ID card system like most other European countries. It will be small like a credit card, so it fits easily into a wallet. It will come in handy if you are asked for ID going into pubs or clubs and off-licences both here and abroad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭R.D. aka MR.D

I'm just back from the US and they would say 'Help me keep my job today and show me your ID' when buying alcohol. It's a lot harder to get annoyed when some one phrases it like that.

However, i agree that it's annoying to get asked for ID past a certain age but maybe a better way of approaching the customer about it would be better. I've worked in retail for years and understand that an irate customer is worse than hell and the only time that i've ever lost my temper in a shop is when some wagon in Tesco asked me for Id and made a big song and dance about it and then wouldn't accept my driving licence. i felt bad afterwards but she was just being rude about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭looking_around

Eutow wrote: »
    The problem here is that if people don't have a driving licence, the only other form of ID is a passport, and who wants to carry a passport with them to buy cigs or beer.

There's the garda card. There's no max age to get that, just have to be over 18.

I totally understand not wanting to carry around a passport, but the age card is just a tenner, it's credit card size, no reason not to get one, unless you're one of those who "believe" it's just for the "young 'ns". :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭Eutow

There's the garda card. There's no max age to get that, just have to be over 18.

I totally understand not wanting to carry around a passport, but the age card is just a tenner, it's credit card size, no reason not to get one, unless you're one of those who "believe" it's just for the "young 'ns". :rolleyes:

The Garda card looks amateurish. I think a national ID card is better because you could use it to prove your age, open bank accounts, etc, and you can also use it abroad if you want to go into a club, by drink etc, something you can't do with a Garda card.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭Uaru

I have never carried ID. Who brings around their passport/drivers licence when they're on the lash? I have also never had problems getting served since I was 15 though so it's never been a problem. It has also got me out of a couple of Garda fines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,561 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

I doubt Tesco refuse drivers license. One staff member might of at one time, but its not their policy.

it's at least 7 years ago now that I worked in a Tesco offo but it certainly was policy then to point blank refuse driving licences.

The new credit card style licences should make it much handier all round, fit in your wallet so you'll always have it when paying for drink anyway and don't look near as amateur

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

I'm just back from the US and they would say 'Help me keep my job today and show me your ID' when buying alcohol. It's a lot harder to get annoyed when some one phrases it like that.

If a staff member in a shop/pub in Ireland said that, most customers here would just laugh and say 'wud ya fuk off outa that and don't be talkin shíte with yourself - how much for the naggin'?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

Only started to carry ID on me at all time due to the new driver licence. Only every been asked for ID when buying over 18 games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭Talula_d

Generally I don't mind being asked for ID but what really took the biscuit with me lately, I was in an off license to pick up a bottle of baileys for a neighbour of mine, and was asked for ID... What got me was I'm in my 20's and I was 38 weeks pregnant, I know I surely didnt look like a 17 year old almost 9 months pregnant person and I was actually disgusted with the cashier as she looked delighted with herself asking me for ID!

How dare she do her job responsible

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

^^
    ^^

Maybe she read this and was just letting your bump know what to expect in about 16 years time. ;)

Jester252 wrote: »

What I meant really was that she seemed to take great joy in asking me for ID for the sake in asking me rather than for the responsibility of her job.

Lapin wrote: »
    ^^
    ^^

Maybe she read this and was just letting your bump know what to expect in about 16 years time. ;)

Haha! Well right now the little bump is up and parched for her bottle of milk longer it stays like this the better!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

In the States you have to provide ID to get a drink in a bar however old you are.
    My mate and myself were working in Baltimore and we couldn't get served in quite a few bars because our passports were back at the hotel.
    We were both thirty at the time and believe me, we both looked every bit of it.
    They wouldn't serve us even though they said that we were over the legal age, no ID, no drink.If the Liquor Commision spot checked them and found customers drinking without proof of age they would get their asses whooped.
    Continental Europeans carry ID all the time, it's just common practice. As said before, if more shops/pubs keep on asking for proof it will become no big deal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,493 ✭✭✭long range shooter

Ill show my id when the person who asks for it, shows his

:confused::rolleyes:
    why would they need to show you any ID, you are the one who wants to buy alcohol / fags

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

I don't mind, I always carry my passport around with me anyway.

Being a student, as a default, I just hand my passport and student card if I'm asked. What grinds my gears even more is if I'm asked for a third type..Happened to me recently trying to buy a bottle of wine in an off license. Showed the passport and student card, and after a lengthy inspection, I was asked if I had anything else on me with my name on it. Luckily I had a few bank cards and my boots card on me as extra proof but jesus, at 22 I would have thought 2 forms was enough!

Aldi/Lidl is even more irritating. My boyfriend was buying drink there not too long ago and I picked up a few bits for the fridge while we were there too. I had no cash on me so my boyfriend was paying for all of it with his card. They wouldn't sell the alcohol to him because I didn't have any ID on me, even though he had an age card and a passport on him :rolleyes:

No issue with showing ID but this ridiculous business of everyone accompanying you having to have ID too is seriously annoying.

I don't get it either. Get a guards ID. What are they? 10 or 15 quid?

Mine's always in my purse, I still get asked for it (although the instance of that is reducing :() and I'm over 30. It's very handy for when you're in other countries (America!) too.

WhiteRoses wrote: »
    They wouldn't sell the alcohol to him because I didn't have any ID on me, even though he had an age card and a passport on him :rolleyes:

I really really hate that :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭April O Neill

thecatspjs wrote: »
    I have had my Garda ID or my driver license with me at all times since I was 18.

I don't drive and have never had a Garda ID. I'm not going to go to the hassle of getting one at this stage seeing as I'm pushing 30, and I'm not comfortable carrying my passport with me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭April O Neill

I read this in a Southern US accent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

At 26, with 2 kids pulling out of me, I am more at risk of losing my passport/ it being stolen. I am above the required age to be asked so why should I be worrying about that. Though I love the compliment it implies!

Talula_d wrote: »
    What I meant really was that she seemed to take great joy in asking me for ID for the sake in asking me rather than for the responsibility of her job.

So you got to dealt with a joyful shop assistant who was doing her job. Is that really worth getting annoyed over? Would you rather she yelled abuse at you or just pretended you didn't exist.

Why would she yell abuse at me?
    I was just disgusted that she found it entertaining in asking me for ID not necessarily annoyed.
    Anyway I gather you wouldn't be and I am not looking for an argument, we obviously have different views.
    I understand it was her job but when she laughed in my face and embarrassed me in front of several other customers I did find it unnecessary.

Sure we should just sell alcohol to anyone because someone might overreacted to being asked for ID

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 500 ✭✭✭Jarrod

I used to work in a Spar shop and we used to play a game on Saturday nights to see who could ID the oldest person. You had to refuse to sell to them until they gave you ID, in other words you couldn't jokingly ask someone who was obviously old, you had to pretend to be serious.

Anyway, the winning age was usually late twenties. Then one day I IDed a 38 year old woman. She hit the fcuking roof! In fairness, I thought she was mid to late twenties at most. Anyway, she rooted out her driver's licence and I won the game that night.

I understand it was her job but when she laughed in my face and embarrassed me in front of several other customers I did find it unnecessary.

She went from looking delighted to laughing in your face? that's a bit of a leap.

She did I happened to be on the phone to my friend at the time and had told my friend I had just been Asked for ID to which she started laughing at me!

I hated this when serving people, maybe that's why she was rude