Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Those who did poorly in your leaving cert - how has it affected your life?

• 03-11-2013 10:31pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭

Just a question to all those who failed or did poorly in their leaving cert, or just simply dropped out of school early.

How has it affected your life, do you feel like you've ever been left behind or forgotten about? People always say "theres always another way around things" be it third level education, or employment in a decent field of work. But its often not that simple.

How have you gotten on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

How did you get on OP?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭Chattastrophe!

I did great in the Leaving Cert, it was after that it all went downhill ... :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 201 ✭✭Hello_MrFox

The leaving cert doesn't really matter unless you want to go straight into third level education. Maybe for some its actually a better option to go working/traveling for a few years then go back as a mature student and possible get BTEA/grants etc.

I did great in the Leaving Cert

You're in the wrong thread love.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Jam making is actually a decent career, I get paid above minimum wage and I get to keep as much jam as I want.

So there's my success story kids, if you don't do great in the leaving, jam making is still a prosperous and fruitful career.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Chazz Michael Michaels

I did terribly in the LC. I went to college as a mature student. I now work in a professional role which I'm happy with.

A bad LC isn't the end of the world.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,513 ✭✭✭whupdedo

I got enough points to go jam making in tipp, i always regretted not studying for the leaving as I'm not the dullest tool in the box, but I do intend to go back to train as an emt next September so hopefully that will work out for me, youth definitely is wasted on the young

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭tosspot15

How did you get on OP?

absolutely ****e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭Brego888

Define poorly?
    In relation to the LC.

Brego888 wrote: »
    Define poorly?
    In relation to the LC.

Under 200/150 I'm guessing would be poor in general. Though it depends on the person, if the course you want is 150 and you get 200 it's not poor at all.

Does anybody know the average?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Red21

While all my friends and family did great in the Leaving, I did terrible. It had no affect on me in real terms, at the same time the fact that there's so much fuss about it, doing badly has always bothered me even though it shouldn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

Under 200/150 I'm guessing would be poor.

Based on that I did poor. Got around 220. Went to college studied IT for a year. Realised it wasn't for me. So I left, work par time on better than minimum wage, but plan to go back to college.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,575 ✭✭✭NTMK

Under 200/150 I'm guessing would be poor.

its about 300-350 i think

I got 320 so about average overall (poor for me personally) but i still got into college and now have a much better job than the people i graduated with in college:)

I got about 320ish in the Leaving. Maybe less - it's so long ago that I can't remember now. Since then I've received a FETAC level 6, a 2.1 level 7, and 2.1 level 8. So I haven't done too badly because of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

My brother got around 200 points and has just finished his phd after goin back as a mature student.

I think in general the leaving cert doesn't matter.

Based on that I did poor. Got around 220. Went to college studied IT for a year. Realised it wasn't for me. So I left, work par time on better than minimum wage, but plan to go back to college.

Sorry I edited my post there, while that would be poor to me, it may be great to others who want to do different courses.

It's subjective, everyone will have a different number they think is poor, and then you've to think about the people who may not be academically gifted but are insanely talented in other areas that aren't academics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

No good ever came of me just like the teachers predicted

• Closed Accounts Posts: 412 ✭✭Rho b

My eldest son quit school in the Jan before his Leaving cert. I was concerned at the time but could not persuade him to stay in school. He is bright and did very well in his Junior Cert.
    He got a job within a few weeks of leaving school and is now working full time. He is a sociable type and he loves the job that he has. Reasonable money too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Jam making is actually a decent career, I get paid above minimum wage and I get to keep as much jam as I want.

So there's my success story kids, if you don't do great in the leaving, jam making is still a prosperous and fruitful career.
    whupdedo wrote: »
    I got enough points to go jam making in tipp, i always regretted not studying for the leaving as I'm not the dullest tool in the box, but I do intend to go back to train as an emt next September so hopefully that will work out for me, youth definitely is wasted on the young

lol, I've been hearing about this jam making course over the last number of months that apparently existed. I can't find any details on it though!

I want to make jam.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

I never did my leaving cert...
    I am an IT administrator. ..so it has had **** all affect on me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

You know it's door jams not raspberry jam..

lol, I've been hearing about this jam making course over the last number of months that apparently existed. I can't find any details on it though!

I want to make jam.

WIT had it iirc i remember pulling a prank on my mam about putting it down as first choice. the knock i got to the head cost me about 50 points id say :pac:

there was also basket making too iirc (or something like that)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 627 ✭✭✭Dboy85

Under 200/150 I'm guessing would be poor in general.

I think I got around 250, was too busy failing to peruse girls to study :) Still ended up as a software developer pew pew

LC is not a good measurement for aptitude because it doesn't cover every profession in the world. Find out what you're good at and get paid for it yo

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 360 ✭✭creep

The leaving cert is a joke, did grand but still a complete waste of time, should be made start a college course after the junior cert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭ynwa14

I did well in my leaving cert but never the less I still dropped out of college? It really doesn't matter. The job I'm in now doesn't care about my results or the fact I ever got into third level. And honestly I wish I hadn't put myself through the stress and torture of the LC and moving across the country for college when I didn't even need it for the job I'm in now which is the only place i've had friends and enjoyed myself and not felt like a stressed out depressed wreck in years.

So yeah I think the LC is good if you're like gonna thrive at college and stuff but honestly it really is not the most important thing you'll ever do. Theres always another way to do the things you wanna do. Getting 200 points and someone else getting 600 does not determine who is gonna do better in life. Just my two cents

NTMK wrote: »
    its about 300-350 i think

Depends really. The lower class get about 300-350 but the intelligent upper classes get about 450-550.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Red21

Depends really. The lower class get about 300-350 but the intelligent upper classes get about 450-550.
    I take it you did well!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

Did ****. Has not had any affect on me at all........that been said i will prob be a dick when it comes to son doing it!!!!

That's not the average though, and have you source statistics for this?

its actually a bit higher than i what i said Link

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

Average would be around 500 points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Got around 270-ish in my LC, still went to college and got my degree, Fetac certs and IT certs from taking exams years afterwards and have a good IT job now as well as in the past.

Know plenty of people who did very well / shìt in the LC, did the building trade for a few years and then went to college as mature students. Either way, most people I know wound up in college doing good courses.

The LC really isn't the end of the world though when you're young you almost believe that your results will dictate the rest of your life.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 360 ✭✭creep

What planet are you living on? Here is a link to the figures on how people people did for 2013 on cao site
    http://www.cao.ie/index.php?page=points

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭Fat Nav

I failed the inter cert badly and left school after that so didn't even get to do the leaving cert.
    It never bothered me personally and definitely did not hinder me in life.
    I have been in employment since I left school and run a couple of company's I have started and built up over the years and believe me when I say I never ever hire someone purely based on their education or lack of as the case may be.
    None of my family ever knew I failed because I changed all my "F" and "E" grades into "B" grades and only told them years later about it.

creep wrote: »
    What planet are you living on? Here is a link to the figures on how people people did for 2013 on cao site

He was joking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭tim3000

tosspot15 wrote: »
    Just a question to all those who failed or did poorly in their leaving cert, or just simply dropped out of school early.

How has it affected your life, do you feel like you've ever been left behind or forgotten about? People always say "theres always another way around things" be it third level education, or employment in a decent field of work. But its often not that simple.

How have you gotten on?

My brother failed it sadly. He then went to a senior college ended up with a FETAC level 5. With this he entered into a 4 year computer networking course and graduated there last Friday. So he didn't do too bad just cost him an extra year. Just started in work in a large MNC.

I passed it 365 points, straight into college doing applied Biology. Graduated two years ago, on the dole since. Went to the same senior college as my brother attended and did 3 evening FETAC level 5 courses.

So there is a nice comparison for you OP of similar background and totally different results.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,458 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

done the leaving back in 2007 and got 170 points (did foundation maths and irish) and actually had enough for my third level choice but didnt get in. In 2007/08 i done a fetac level 5 and passed it, got a part time job which i still have now. Took a few years out and then done an office admin fetac level 5 course in 2010/11 and passed it and from there i finally got to third level and done a higher cert tourism course which i finished in may this year.

So here i am with a third level qulification on my cv, almost 24 years old and dont knw what to do with my life. I have a part time job which takes up some of my time but dont want to be stuck in there my whole life. Mite go back and do a degree course in september.

Actually have an interview for a jobsbridge administration worker for WIT next tuesday so i would be pretty happy if i got that.

I wish i had done better in my leaving cert but 17 year old just wanted to be out of second level education. I have my critics saying i dont have a good educational background but im happy enough with 2 fetacs and a higher cert

College is just a piss up for some anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,619 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

I heard this rumour years ago that almost all of a year in a certain girls school in Dublin put Jam Making down on their CAO as their level 7 (knowing that they would almost certainly get an offer at level 8 or repeat... It was that type of school) and drove the points for Jam Making up to like 400. Obviously these plummeted on the second round when they all accepted their level 8s.

Probably urban myth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭TiGeR KiNgS

creep wrote: »

i think what he was implying was he did sh.te in the leaving just from that statement alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,329 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

The leaving cert is timed very badly in life. A couple of years after a bloke discovers fapping/women/booze they have to sit at home at read up on how the liver fluke reproduces.
    I went to an all boys school in Dublin 1. No idea how a teacher could keep 29 dublin knackers and me interested in Jane Austins Emma.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭TiGeR KiNgS

Cienciano wrote: »
    The leaving cert is timed very badly in life. A couple of years after a bloke discovers fapping/women/booze they have to sit at home at read up on how the liver fluke reproduces.
    I went to an all boys school in Dublin 1. No idea how a teacher could keep 29 dublin knackers and me interested in Jane Austins Emma.

lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

As anyone who's done it more than 5 years ago wil ltell you, it only really matters if you have a specific career in mind and a specific thrid level course in mind.

I did a mediocre LC having a reasonably good life with two jobs, two qualifications and an occasional paying hobby, none of which have anything to do with the subjects I studied on the LC, let alone the grades.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,242 ✭✭✭liliq

I got an average LC, could have done better. Did a year in a degree course, dropped out, then moved up the country to do a different degree course and got first class honours. Did most of a postgrad and dropped out of that very close to the end.
    Mneh, I enjoyed college but 10 years of it was enough and I'm doing f*(k all now that's related to my qualifications.

A lot of graduate jobs these days have a minimum leaving cert points number when applying and I'm sure anything under that is just filtered out.

Kind of díckish when you've already done the course and got your degree you need to have to be able to do the job and they don't take you because of how many points you got.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

I did very well in the Leaving (480 points) considering I spent most of 6th Year gambling and drinking. I was always great at just remembering shít from the classes just being able to regurgitate mass amount of information onto paper, which is what the Leaving Cert is. It has fúck all to do with actual learning; just memorise certain things, scribble it all back down and Robert's your father's brother.

I did however miss the course I wanted by a measly 5 or 10 points. I was very bitter over that. Incredibly so. I ended up doing Arts in UCD, because I had fúck all clue what else to do and I was being semi-forced into going to college anyway. Dream job was to join the Gardaí at the time, but was told to go to college first. Joke. Because as soon as I was out of college, the country was in the grip of the recession and Garda Recruitment had stopped.

That said, I'm happy enough where I am. Have a relatively useless piece of paper that I've never used to get a job. Since leaving college I have worked alternately as a barman, a poker dealer and now work for An Post. A potential future career in politics has also manifested itself. I've also applied (along with half the country it would seem) for the Gardaí this time out. Who knows.

I'm still very bitter towards the Leaving Cert and the college system in general (I was not even able to work my way towards what I actually wanted to do through the degree option I took, despite being told I could before I started). I can only imagine if I'd gotten the magic 485/490 I needed and I'd probably be happier. Or I could have hated the course and dropped out easily. Who knows.

All in all, the Leaving Cert is an overrated, overhyped memory test.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,641 ✭✭✭andyman

Hasn efekted my lyf at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,329 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Asking a 17 year old what he wants to do in life is also a tricky one. Something to do with football/computer games/tits is usually the answer. You wouldn't be the first person who went into the wrong college course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭FurQyou

First time I did it: 90 points..

After working in factories and supermarkets I went back and did it again.

Second time: 365 points!

Seeing what life was gonna be like mysteriously made me want to work at it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭chrissb8

Did so bad the first time round. 170 or something dreadful. I just had no idea what school was about and put too much emphasis on social life, friends etc. Tried PLC courses. Same again, just no interest. Went back and repeated the L.C at 20. Full on intense course. Study every night and work galore. Best thing ever. Came out with 350. Was let down to be honest. Wouldn't let me drop lower level maths even though I passed it in 1st L.C and knew I hated and had no aptitude for maths. Would have tipped me over the 400 mark to do another honours subject.

Anyway ended up doing a Hcert course in marketing and took the far to easy passsed first year by the skin of my teeth. 2nd year I put more effort in and got the reward of going in to the level 8. Just as well really or I would have just failed that horribly if I had gone in after I repeated the L.C. I think basically when people think you should have done college earlier they shouldn't. You didn't want to and if you did go you wouldn't have liked it. You have to be ready to commit to education and you'll only be ready when you are ready and motivated. All this from doing poorly in the L.C happened for me.

So to wrap it up! I think doing poorly in the L.C was great. Education is so important. Opens up doors around the world and sets you up for life. Basically failing the L.C was a great thing for me. No idea why they make kids decide heavy life choices like college so quick. It isn't enough time. I was 16 in 5th year! Ask your 16 year old self where does he/she see himself in 20 years. Pfft. Take your time and think! Don't drop out of college, don't hate your course and don't waste your time. Poor L.C means nothing to a few years asking yourself "Why am I here?" and "Is this what I want?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Fair City covered this really well a couple of years ago. Two characters, one went to college the other didn't. The guy who didn't became the manager of Spar overnight and wore a suit everyday whilst rotating tins of beans on the shelves.

The guy who went to college dropped out, lied to everyone, started working as an apprentice henchman for a notorious gang in the soap. Got beat up and was poor as sh*t.

Moral of the fantastic storytelling and plot in Fair City was everythings opposites innit. Live your life by this and you'll be fine.