Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Introverts

• 02-11-2013 5:46am
    Registered Users Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭

I think this is a first time post here for me.
    Didn't see any topic on this in the last two pages.

I would love to know everything about introverts.
    I am an extreme introvert.Who has to lately run around outside and interact with many people (for me) and work closely, which is fine in that work environment as i love the work.
    Which is fine each day if I have enough energy.

I have been astounded lately reading "Thus Spake Zarathustra" by Nietzche.
    Pretty much every chapter sounds like I wrote it, but its written way more eloquently of course.

Having trouble sometimes with extroverts.
    I am for example encouraged to do public speaking..

Is there some secret these philosophers found to living in a world of extroverts? That allows them to be happy.Without encrouching or being encroached on?

So far I have only seen them running away into the forest.
    Was looking for Nietzches role models and landed on Goethe who was also an introvert.
    He apparently locked himself away for a long time to write his book The Sorrows of Young Werther.

Just curious if that seems the only solution and if that is "right" to do.
    Sure if you have a job where you accepted you had to do that, I would say to myself self ok I won't do that job and be happy in myself either way. Even as a pauper.
    But a job where it is not needed for large crowds? But only a small group you are happy to talk to casually?

Also found this interesting blog.

http://www.carlkingdom.com/10-myths-about-introverts
    A section of Laney’s book (page 71 through page 75) maps out the human brain and explains how neuro-transmitters follow different dominant paths in the nervous systems of Introverts and Extroverts. If the science behind the book is correct, it turns out that Introverts are people who are over-sensitive to Dopamine, so too much external stimulation overdoses and exhausts them. Conversely, Extroverts can’t get enough Dopamine, and they require Adrenaline for their brains to create it. Extroverts also have a shorter pathway and less blood-flow to the brain. The messages of an Extrovert’s nervous system mostly bypass the Broca’s area in the frontal lobe, which is where a large portion of contemplation takes place.
    Is there maybe a way to help your dopamine levels naturally ?
    Or what do others do?
    I am presuming this forum may be frequented by a good few introverts.
    I hope so..

• Registered Users Posts: 883 ✭✭✭anto9

Beer does it for me .I need drink to socialize .I look for jobs where i do not have to be a team player .( which i am not ) .I think life must be a lot easier for extroverts .Being naturally a shy person has also given me a lot of pain in life .

• Registered Users Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭Torakx

Appreciate the late night repsonses hehe.
    I have been known to use those in the past myself.

Alcohol hasn't been the best bandaid with me, bit of green has helped me thinkmore and be more creative and relaxed.

Thing is I am way too happy just as I am...
    Love team work, I just don't like talking in person.Actually I love conversation in writing and slow convoin person..
    I guess since introverts can be so contemplative, it is much harder to be around social events.Too much stimulus.
    Maybe I will try wear ear plugs and blinkers :D

I know its best to be yourself.
    But if yourself is distance from people who need your attention and you care about them....Have a spliff? thats an exspensive medication lol

Maybe there needs to be an introvert convention lol
    Everyone standing in a corner reading their books and on their mobiles chilling :p

• Registered Users Posts: 883 ✭✭✭anto9

Since living outside Ireland i have aquired a lot more confidence .I am married with a step daughter .Still speaking in public is beyond me ,but then again i dont have to .
    Shyness is like a handicap ,as bad as being without a leg for example .It has given me a lot of grief in life . With alcohol though ,i am a non stop talking extrovert .
    I still drink for social occasions .Without it i would be a dead boaring chap to meet .

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,223 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

MOD FRIENDLY REMINDER:
    Black Swan wrote: »
    Forum Guidelines:

You are encouraged to elaborate upon or challenge a philosophical position, logic, significance, relevance, analytical method, context, interpretation, prediction, historical antecedents, empirical foundation, or comment by a poster...

Citing philosophers and their works in support of your position taken is greatly encouraged. Links are sometimes helpful too.

Sorry could that be clarified for me a bit?
    Or is it in response to another post?

But I would love to tlak on Nietzche.so maybe can try expand on his work to hghlight what I mean.

The Flies in the market
    Flee, my friend, into thy solitude! I see thee deafened with the noise of the great men, and stung all over with the stings of the little ones.
    Admirably do forest and rock know how to be silent with thee. Resemble again the tree which thou lovest, the broad-branched one--silently and attentively it o'erhangeth the sea.
    Where solitude endeth, there beginneth the market-place; and where the market-place beginneth, there beginneth also the noise of the great actors, and the buzzing of the poison-flies.
    In the world even the best things are worthless without those who represent them: those representers, the people call great men.
    Was Nietzchhe saying to run away into solitiude to understand the contrasts? or to stay there were you would be always at peace?

• Registered Users Posts: 10 WhiteDaisy

What is it like to be introverted? Are you shy or just like your own?

Shyness is something seperate or so I have read.
    Introverts like one on one,because it is more meaningfull to them.
    So I am very confident in myself for example, but if I have to talk to more people at the same time, I have too much to process and I run out of energy trying to build models of THEIR perceptions and fully taking in what they are saying and thinking.
    Afer that I will switch off and think about something else, while nodding away so as not to force the other person to see that they are talking without thinking and cause them shame or embarrasment.
    Thats why introverts run away and may not come back for a while..they are too considerate!

I think generally introverts listen and think a lot about what your saying, If they are not in the mode where they want to run away because someone is talking at them too fast :)
    Spending a lot of time alone for that reason, so they can be able to give extraverts the attention they need.

This is why Nietzche is so interesting to me.
    He must have been an introvert.
    He writes quite a lot generally about finding yourself and being comfortable in your own skin.
    Not judging others so much and feeling sorry for those who are not able to see the world his way.
    The superman to him, might be an evolved version of the average human, who is fully in control of their emotions and in touch with themselves so much that they see people as fully independant responsible individuals.
    Because not all introverts either, are as I described above.The is also a lot to do with self awareness I think and self acceptance..
    Basically being selfish..in the correct way.
    If there is ever such a thing as a correct way to behave on this rock floating in space :)

The character Zarathustra(which is sort of a Jesus/bhudda archetype), travels around to different towns/villages teaching people his philosophy.
    Trying to get them to understand they should not follow anyone,not even him.
    But follow their hearts and dreams.
    Not someone elses dreams or ideals.(the great actors who represent?)

The flies in the market chapter, to me anyway, seems to be telling people to flee from the chaos and distractions that come with "civilised" groups and find yourself first.
    Being among the "flies" getting stung and "poisoned" might be a reference to you losing yourself a bit at a time and so, I think a balance is needed there.
    To be able to retreat in to solitude regularly and keep in touch with yourself(to stay on your true course), while also being able to live amongst your brothers and sisters around the world.

I am starting to think, that maybe as an introvert, to keep my insanity intact :D I should probably search out those people who do not poison me too much and are able to be in touch with themselves while also being able to socialise.

Writing and talking with people online allows me to socialise without needing to force that space should someone latch on too much and drain me.
    I can fully express myself here. And so I have a habit of writing too much text....

Ah - o.k. so you are not shy. You are introverted. You need time to process information fully. Too much information/interaction overwhelms you. Got it.
    And you are cool with that. You have arrived to a place of self-insight and awareness that allows you to be who you are and engage in a way that is appropriate for your style.

What happens when you engage with an extroverted person?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭smcgiff

WhiteDaisy wrote: »
    You are introverted. You need time to process information fully. Too much information/interaction overwhelms you.

I would see normal introvert characteristics being a positive. It's the realisation that it does take time to process information. Something extroverts do not always do.

WhiteDaisy wrote: »
    Ah - o.k. so you are not shy. You are introverted. You need time to process information fully. Too much information/interaction overwhelms you. Got it.
    And you are cool with that. You have arrived to a place of self-insight and awareness that allows you to be who you are and engage in a way that is appropriate for your style.

What happens when you engage with an extroverted person?

It depends on how extroverted.
    But on average, I will chat with them and we will get a long brilliant.
    Usually chatting to an extrovert in text form like us two now. The extrovert will not write much and give short simple lines of text( I am guessing because there is no instant stimulus there). Where I would just pour out sheets of text.
    In person its the opposite.
    They will have a one way conversation and I can't get a word in.Not with everyone. Just the ones that burn me out really really fast.
    There are plently of extraverts who know how to relax too and can see someone is not engaging.
    It's the fact that it becomes more of a therapy for them than a conversation.The more people get to know me and that I am "a good listener" the more they use me to unload on.
    So for that reason I often get on better(from my perspective in my head) with complete strangers that are extroverted. Because they are new, and I can at least learn something new from them, get into a new world even if it's flying at me fast.
    In text I will still listen/read everything they express and want to know just as much.

Because I listen so much and really think about what people are saying,why theyare saying it, how that applies to both parties, what I think about that..for each sentence.
    The people I know very well often tell me the same things over and over again in these conversations.I learn nothing new about them and I have nothing to contemplate..I just have a person talking at me.That is the conversation that burns me out.

If any of that makes sense.
    I have been recently looking for more introverted philosophers, so I can see what they thought about all this.
    I would also be interested to have someone who knows or studied philosophy to critic my views on Nietzche and let me know if there is another way to view things.

I think for many years people were trying to classify extroverted and introverted into good and bad categories. I am not sure how useful that is. Writers and philosophers would generally tend to be at ease working in solitude so I reckon you would find that your heroes were indeed introverts like yourself. It takes time and discipline of thought to be able to develop a theoretical framework or a story. Extroverted people would find that challenging. What are you hoping to find through philosophy anyways? People who tell you the same thing over and over maybe feel you haven't heard them truly? or maybe they are demented. Hard to tell.

To me it feels like they just have forgotten they told me, which is quite normal really, I forget stuff too sometimes.

Philosophy so far is helping me be more at peace.
    A lot of the stuff I have read so far has helped me understand myself better.
    NLP and psychology has helped there too.
    Carl Jungs work is great for that. He was also very philosophical.

Philosophy is quite new to me, so I am finding it very liberating and wondering what else I have been missing out on.

Did you read any of Carl Rogers work? On becoming a person makes a very good read.

http://faculty.spokanefalls.edu/InetShare/AutoWebs/kimt/rogers%20this%20is%20me.pdf

This is me?Can't quite find becomming a person, it sounds like something I would enjoy reading though :)Love to hear about his philosophies in general if you can remember.

found this also
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iMi7uY83z-U

Ah! empathy, that I can relate to!
    I hold a lot of importance in empathy for a start. this sounds good :D

I am glad you can relate. Rogers is from the humanistic stream. He is all about empathy and truly listening to people without any judgement and connecting to their experience. He later describes a sense of 'transcendence' through the interaction with others. Would love to hear what you think of it when you read it.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,709 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

I hear this is good. 'Quiet: The power of introverts in a world that can't stop talking' by Susan Cain.

I have seen her do a very insightfull TED talk.
    Here is something I found just now that I will have a listen to tonight.
    Very long, but I am sure very interesting.
    Like we are another species lol

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,223 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Torakx wrote: »
    Here is something I found just now that I will have a listen to tonight. Very long, but I am sure very interesting.

Caution should be exercised when reviewing presentations that make mutually exclusive comparisons between introvert and extravert categorisations. As with most forms of behaviour, populations of people tend to gravitate towards the mean of the distribution, rather than exhibiting pronounced characteristics of the extraordinary few that fall at the ends of the introvert-extravert continuum.

Further, such mutually exclusive categorizations between introverts and extraverts suffer from the limitations associated with dichotomies. For example, Jacques Derrida has noted that such labeling often results in a hierarchy rather than an either/or separation between types. Good is preferred over evil, new brain over old brain, introverts over extraverts, etc.; a tendency exhibited in the audio presentation (above) that favours introverts over extraverts.

It should be noted that old brain versus new brain comparisons can be misleading, and are used more as metaphors for discussion purposes than those strictly emerging from science. Such metaphors may be useful to foster discussion, but as Gareth Morgan noted they are in fact distortions of reality.

Evolution may suggest that certain brain structures evolved earlier than others (comparing earlier species), but I doubt that any of our contemporary brain structures are "old" or "new" today; i.e., they are all contemporary. She does offer a disclaimer by stating "The theory of extraverts is still young," but then she proceeds with an argument that is more compelling than one grounded on this "still young" theory limitation.

Furthermore, it appears that she favours nature over nurture in her arguments; i.e., introverts and extraverts are born, not made. Extraverts tend to be "old brain," while introverts are more "new brain." The DRD4 gene associated with dopamine responsiveness, buzz, reward seeking, and extravert behaviour was another example. She then leaps completely beyond any semblance of a scientific argument by referencing the anecdotal Kennedy problems in American history, associating them with extraverts.

Some good points there, she is coming off a bit biased, but I did say sounds like we are another species :D
    She is more interested in the introvert nature especially considering her other material.
    My guess is that she feels introverts have not been represented well to the world and are under valued.
    I also don't agree with some of it myself. I did find it interesting though.

I have my own theory on at least one way introverts are "made". Most likely it's a combination or several different ways that decides this.
    But considering how the brain develops along with our behavour I would not conclude it is just how we are born.

Is it inconsiderate of me to post introvert "pro" stuff if they have material in it that might sound negative to extraverts?
    I honestly didn't think about it that way until now sorry.
    I'm a forgetfull fence sitter lol

Edit: Ok now I see why she has this attitude. http://theintrovertentrepreneur.com/2012/06/07/breaking-news-introversion-is-not-a-disorder/

I have my own theory on at least one way introverts are "made". Most likely it's a combination or several different ways that decides this. But considering how the brain develops along with our behavour I would not conclude it is just how we are born.
    Please elaborate further upon your theory. In doing this, if you can find a bit of support from other philosophers, then grand. For example, your mention of Nietzche as pertains to introverts may be worth exploring too.
    Is it inconsiderate of me to post introvert "pro" stuff if they have material in it that might sound negative to extraverts?
    I honestly didn't think about it that way until now sorry.
    I'm a forgetfull fence sitter
    On the contrary, you are very much welcome and encouraged to present one or both sides of the discussion on introverts and extraverts.

I'm not sure how I could link in a philosophers thinking into how introverts come about. Maybe a good practise for philosophy :)

My own ideas come from a lot of reading into articles and studies I have found online over the years. Some of them being scientific papers and others oppinions, and since I use intuition to recall, I can't tell which idea is which.

My own intuition is that when a baby is born, for the first few years they have strong attachments to their nurturer/mother.
    If the nurturer gives the baby too much time alone when it is crying or distressed, the babies brain will form getting used to processing it's thoughts and experiences from an introverted perspective.
    A form of coping I think.
    Absolutely no negative feelings here when saying, my own mother suffered with post natal depression and I would guess this may have been one of the factors that steered me towards being introverted.
    I clearly remember instances where all the kids in my family were very sick with a bad flu. i was about 4 years old and my younger brother and sister were about 2 years old. We were in seperate rooms across the hall with the doors open and i remember my poor mother tryng to run between the two rooms looking after all these kids vomitting LOL
    I told her " I'm ok mum, go and look after them"(as I was getting sick haha). She always rmemebered that moment and said I was very independant even then. I think even then I was introverted and had already learned to deal with issues by myself. Which I think was a good thing.
    Another is my father is an introvert and so a rolemodel for my behaviour socially. This is more an example as I am too lazy to google it to research it again :D
    Anecdotel I suppose.

An example that isn't mine and that I have read about might be Carl Jung, who didn't seem to have a close relationship with his mother(I think she died when he was young) and shared a room with his father as a youngster. I consider him to have been a mix of a philosopher and psycho-analyst.
    There are also cases where introversion has been lumped in with autism, kind of understandably, to someone who isn't an introvert.
    I have personality traits that can be similar to aspergers syndrome, but I have done enough research and online tests to see I am not on that spectrum.
    The similarities are very interesting though and makes me wonder about the connections in both groups thought patterns.
    Another interesting thing I noticed on Autism is that it doesn't seem to be diagnosed or noticed in childen until they are at an age where they can socialise noticeably.

A lot of children on the autistic spectrum will shout loud noises when they reach a certain age. To me almost like they are exploring the outer world for the first time.
    Which leads me to believe the brain until then has not been able to cope with the physical distress of what causes this and only at that age do they begin to reach out. Usually they are then told to stop making loud noises in public and probably revert back inwards.
    My belief is that they are listening to their own voice starting to realise themselves in a real world.
    But I think I have just digressed now....

Mabye some people reading can relate or have more input on all these thoughts.
    I have issues staying on track :D

Actually lets see how far my theory goes.
    I'l google Nietzches mother and maybe some other introverted philosophers and see how their relationships with their nurturers went in the early years.
    A list of introverted philosophers would be helpfull if anyone knows some more.
    Maybe they all were introverts :D

Edit again.. http://books.google.ie/books?id=gzpjWrj7iukC&pg=PA60&lpg=PA60&dq=Nietzsche%27s+mother&source=bl&ots=5wkr88zzFi&sig=9BCrRTSoaitVPdxX-vZHtVp26ts&hl=en&sa=X&ei=NcvOUtPRLsHB7AaVx4DQAg&ved=0CF0Q6AEwCA#v=onepage&q=Nietzsche%27s%20mother&f=false
    It seems Nieztche at least was close to his mother but without his father. An opposite of Jung.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,296 ✭✭✭Geomy

I think John Moriarty was an introvert.
    Have you read his autobiography ?

I have literally seen just one youtube video interviewing him and that is it, but I may take a look at his work now that you mention it :)

If you have any links to his writing or videos etc I would be happy to take a look.

I'm not sure how I could link in a philosophers thinking into how introverts come about.
    Certainly the early development of philosophers may influence their thinking, and mentioning such may be useful towards understanding them and their perspectives, but this forum's focus is on philosophy. You have mentioned both Friedrich Nietzsche and Carl Gustav Jung. How does their philosophies contribute to our understanding of introversion?
    Geomy wrote: »
    Would you please consider summarizing the points that pertain to philosophy in this vid, as well as attempt to relate them to the thread topic: Introverts?

Black Swan wrote: »
    Certainly the early development of philosophers may influence their thinking, and mentioning such may be useful towards understanding them and their perspectives, but this forum's focus is on philosophy. You have mentioned both Friedrich Nietzsche and Carl Gustav Jung. How does their philosophies contribute to our understanding of introversion?

Would you please consider summarizing the points that pertain to philosophy in this vid, as well as attempt to relate them to the thread topic: Introverts?

I was asked have I any link's to John Moriarty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,797 ✭✭✭KyussBishop

There are some academics like Dr. Elaine N. Aron (don't know her well, just trying to link this to a 'philosopher') who define a different set of character traits for 'Highly Sensitive People', who often get taken for introverts, but who may either be introverts, or be extraverts who are highly sensitive:
    http://www.hsperson.com/pages/hsp.htm

HSP tends to focus more on peoples senses/nervous-system being more easily overwhelmed by stimulus, which would have a lot of crossover with introversion; from above:
    Highly Sensitive People have an uncommonly sensitive nervous system - a normal occurrence, according to Aron. "About 15 to 20 percent of the population have this trait. It means you are aware of subtleties in your surroundings, a great advantage in many situations. It also means you are more easily overwhelmed when you have been out in a highly stimulating environment for too long, bombarded by sights and sounds until you are exhausted." An HSP herself, Aron reassures other Highly Sensitives that they are quite normal. Their trait is not a flaw or a syndrome, nor is it a reason to brag. It is an asset they can learn to use and protect.

In defining the Highly Sensitive Person, Dr. Aron provides examples of characteristic behaviors, and these are reflected in the questions she typically asks patients or interview subjects:
    • Are you easily overwhelmed by such things as bright lights, strong smells, coarse fabrics, or sirens nearby?
    • Do you get rattled when you have a lot to do in a short amount of time?
    • Do you make a point of avoiding violent movies and TV shows?
    • Do you need to withdraw during busy days, into bed or a darkened room or some other place where you can have privacy and relief from the situation?
    • Do you make it a high priority to arrange your life to avoid upsetting or overwhelming situations?
    • Do you notice or enjoy delicate or fine scents, tastes, sounds, or works of art?
    • Do you have a rich and complex inner life?
    • When you were a child, did your parents or teachers see you as sensitive or shy?

Dr. Aron explains that in the past HSPs have been called "shy," "timid," "inhibited," or "introverted," but these labels completely miss the nature of the trait. Thirty percent of HSPs are actually extraverts. HSPs only appear inhibited because they are so aware of all the possibilities in a situation. They pause before acting, reflecting on their past experiences. If these were mostly bad experiences, then yes, they will be truly shy. But in a culture that prefers confident, "bold" extraverts, it is harmful as well as mistaken to stigmatize all HSPs as shy when many are not.

I find the term 'introverted' to be a slightly vague and confusing one (even the Myers-Briggs classification of different personality types, while noting different introverted types, is still very vague/confusing), and the term 'HSP' is a bit better/more-specific, however HSP can also be quite general/vague in its own way on identifying character traits, e.g. it seems to emphasize high emotional sensitivity, though can also match others traits who don't fit that (who have high sensitivity to stimulus primarily).

I'd certainly put myself somewhere deep within the spectrum of introversion/high-sensitivity (but extroverted in some ways, which fits HSP better) - but neither are really easy to read up on and gain insight from, as the topics can be a little vague.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 The Manganese Overlord

Have you read Notes From Underground? The subject is more deranged than introvert, and yet contains a lot of truths in his attacks on society and human nature

Wish I had the time to read the "Notes from the Underground" Just too many things I have stacked up for reading already :(

I realised I had gotten distracted awayfrom this thread. So thought I would revisit it and continue. I think I am improving generally regarding philosophy and analysing my ideas too.

I'm not sure if this could be classed as a philosophy, but I think it is or at least a sample of C.G.Jungs ideas on introversion and also intuition.
    Since I am roughly 90% introvert and 75% intuitive, this had me listening very intently :)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T_7DpbJ1xFg

Now to Nietzsche.
    "Which great philosopher was hitherto married? Heraclitus, Plato, Descartes, Spinoza, Leibniz, Kant, Schopenhauer---they were not; what's more, one cannot even imagine them married. A married philosopher belongs in comedy, that is my principle: and that exception Socrates, the wicked Socrates got, it seems, married ironically, especially to demonstrate just this principle."
    [Nietzsche, On the Genealogy of Morals, III.7]
    I think here the reason these philosophers were alone most of their lives, was because they were introverted.
    The way an introverts brain is made up, is inherently geared towards philosophical thinking. Some interesting neuro science articles on that too.
    Also personally I find I am quite content alone and often find myself questioning if I need a woman in my life or if it's just a want that pops up every spring, when the mating season begins :D
    I think more often it's a mix of that and finding a soul who can understand my chaos!
    A rare catch indeed, if not impossible? I think possible, since I tend to search for peoples "souls" and skirt around the surface. I manage both very well most times. Narcicism? :D The search and love for oneself in others? lol
    I would agree, only I accept(love) all people, but can bare longer those who can relate.
    Sorry! Thinking "out loud" again...

Nietzsches Flies in the market, is a good example of a small tip for introverts. But only if you have a strong sense of duality or so it appears to me.
    What he writes informs me of what he does not write or it's apposed meaning.

Flee, my friend, into thy solitude! I see thee deafened with the noise of the great men, and stung all over with the stings of the little ones.
    Admirably do forest and rock know how to be silent with thee. Resemble again the tree which thou lovest, the broad-branched one- silently and attentively it o'erhangeth the sea.
    Where solitude endeth, there beginneth the market-place; and where the market-place beginneth, there beginneth also the noise of the great actors, and the buzzing of the poison-flies.
    In the world even the best things are worthless without those who represent them: those representers, the people call great men.
    Little, do the people understand what is great—that is to say, the creating agency. But they have a taste for all representers and actors of great things.
    Around the devisers of new values revolveth the world:—invisibly it revolveth. But around the actors revolve the people and the glory: such is the course of things.

Here you can see Nietzsche was troubled often by crowds and group behaviour.
    But to appreciate solitude, we must have experience of it's counterpart. Otherwise we do not fully appreciate what solitude means.
    The same is true when reversed.

Nietzsche himself said something like, what does not kill us, makes us stronger.
    Taking a look at his vehemence for the crowds, has shown me that at least in this case, he may have forgotten to mention that the poison taken in small doses can help build up a resistance and make us stronger, while also helping us to appreciate our solitude and experience the world of our species, in order to be the creators he appreciates so much.
    To create, we must have conflict and torment, they are some of the strongest drivers for inspiration, possibly through desperation and need to express.

The things we hate or find discomforting, may be the very things we need to evolve and progress.
    Possibly the extroverts should find some appreciation for solitude in order to fully appreciate the marketplace.
    I think both extrovert and introverts may take for granted their modes of being, if they do not try to practise dipping their toes in some poison now and then.
    So flee the marketplace and put a salve on those stings, but return again when you are ready and bring a notebook :)
    To the ones in the market, flee your solitude and drink your fill. When you are ready and full, go to your quiet place and bare with your soul for a time.
    Discover yourself and bring them with you each time you return to the comfort of the market.

Lastly here's a really interesting book I came across researching for this post.
    I can't wait to read it...when I get a chance (if I get a chance).
    I think it could be an important one for any fan of Nietzsches work.

Carl G jungs analysis of Thus spake Zarathustra! My two favourite philosophers!
    I may have to buy it in print, it seems too good to waste my eyes on a computer screen.
    Link

Ok that wasn't so lastly, as I wanted to mention the post on HSP too. More from a personal perspective.
    It seems I have a lot of those traits, as well as being introverted and that was very useful information.
    Some of those traits also remind me of autism by the way. The sensitivity to fabrics for example is one that stands out to me and one I do not really have so much myself.
    But I do tend to get overwhelmed by my suroundings and notice what feels like millions of different things going on around me. Walking in a crowd I can see peoples emotions as they walk past.
    Couples energy towards each other, body language, peoples personalities through their clothes, their shoes, their hair, the symbolism in advertising, the things people are missing under their nose, that I couldn't point out without appearing obtrusive.
    Peoples illnesses or possible illnesses based on research for symptoms and appearances from said symptoms.
    All at the same time.
    I think that may be partly HSP and partly introversion. Maybe the lack of being around thatstuff so much, has lessened my filters in that regard and made me more sensitive and aware of them.
    In reverse, it might be that thinking to myself too much may cause me to build up my own filters, which could prevent me from seeing the more deeper things I might otherwise see in myself much easier. Being around soemthing too long can have the effect of forgetting it's there.

And I suppose in saying all that, there might be some use in sharing my thoughts on HSP.