Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Saturday Night Show: November 2nd 2013 9.35pm

• 02-11-2013 12:31am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭

103.jpg

Olympic Gold Medallist, Legend and Superstar Katie Taylor is in the house tonight. She will "be in to tell us of her big decision and dreaming of Rio" apparently.

CatMedal.jpg

The rest of the show is a little bit Zzzzz list ...

Communications guru Terry Prone will talk about her new book, Coach. She has recently been signed up by Rory McIlroy to handle his media relations.

Designer and potter Stephen Pearce will discuss making it back from the brink after financial worries.

We’ll be talking to American comedian, Baratunde Thurston who is here for the web summit about where the internet is going.

We will also have music from The Carnival Brothers who will be performing their new single “Carnival Station” (incidentally, they were on with Miriam last July)

Kitties, Puppies and consenting adults should report for duty at 9.35pm :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

Only you Skid could get Katie to pose with a picture of a Puppy for the SNS thread!!.......;):)

The Consenting Adult in this house will be present and correct as requested.........:pac:

Katie.....A real star at last!!.......:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Katie is a great guest but dear God I'd prefer to read the Aertel Pages than listen to Terry Prone on a Saturday night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,696 ✭✭✭Lisha

Rory macilroy hired terry prone?

Is that true? ?

Lisha wrote: »

Is that true? ?
    Yes, he left Horizon Sports Management to set up his own management company Rory McIlroy Incorporated and he has signed up The Communications Clinic to handle his PR.

Horizon Sports Management are pursuing him legally as they helped him to secure very lucrative deals with Nike and others.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/golf/10340749/Rory-McIlroy-sparks-compensation-row-after-split-from-management-company-Horizon.html

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/golf/10376453/Rory-McIlroy-back-in-the-spotlight-as-Dublin-court-case-begins.html

http://communicationclinic.ie/index.php/statement-fromrory-mcilroy-inc/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

I see Dean Norris from Under The Dome and Breaking Bad took home the painting he was given on the SNS recently. Fair play, a lot of people would have left it in the hotel room

BX16HvVCEAAlHia.jpg
    Imitating myself. Thanks again @nialloloughlin @rtesatnightshow just back from framer hangin over my bar

https://twitter.com/deanjnorris/status/395606615929282562/photo/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭dom40

very surprised that jason quigley is not on with katie taylor after his silver medal win in the world championships,actually im more dissapointed,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Lisha wrote: »

Is that true? ?

Terry is an expert on everything. I wouldn't be surprised if she was giving him advice on his backswing as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

goose2005 wrote: »
    To be fair to Brendan he can't mention either of these cases for legal reasons.

The Communication Clinic settled the Unfair Dismissal Case (out of court) with Karagh Fox, so you can be sure there was a confidentially clause preventing either party from discussing what happened.

As for the Kate Fitzgerald case, it was extremely tragic but I'm not sure why Brendan should raise the issue with Terry. What would it achieve? I reckon it would only create upset for Kate's parents and brother.

The Fitzgerald family are on record as saying that they're unhappy with the inquest findings into their daughter's death and that they would campaign to get justice for their daughter. Perhaps Brendan will invite them back on the show at some point.

Stephen Pearce, who is a guest tonight, isn't shy about promoting himself ...
    Stephen Pearce: Warrior Spirit

The inseparable stories of one of Ireland's most colourful and vivacious sons, and the 60-year journey of a small Irish craft business that became an international design brand, crashed and was reborn.

http://www.stephenpearce.com/gift-ideas/the-book/warrior-spirit.html

Er, personally I've never heard of this 'Warrior Spirit' who makes pottery and is "one of Ireland's most colourful and vivacious sons", but maybe that's just me.

Skid, Stephen Pearce was a guest on the SNS or Saturday Night with Miriam a season or two ago talking about his business and his financial worries, I wonder if he has anything new to say. I very much doubt it.

I've some of his pottery and his bedlinen, they're very nice but fairly pricey and in a recession they wouldn't be the first thing you'd be racing out to purchase. Pottery was very fashionable a few years ago but old fashioned bone china seems to be back in vogue.

Remember those dainty china cups that your granny or your grand-aunt had, they're the height of sophistication these days :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,038 ✭✭✭Go Harvey Go

MrsD007 wrote: »
    Katie is a great guest but dear God I'd prefer to read the Aertel Pages than listen to Terry Prone on a Saturday night.

And let's not forget how shoddy the content on those pages has become... :rolleyes: :rolleyes: ;)

Aertel has become something of an anachronism in any case - especially now that it's been just over a year since Ceefax ended.

ceefax.jpg

Skid, Stephen Pearce was a guest on the SNS or Saturday Night with Miriam a season or two ago talking about his business and his financial worries, I wonder if he has anything new to say. I very much doubt it.

I've some of his pottery and his bedlinen, they're very nice but fairly pricey and in a recession they wouldn't be the first thing you'd be racing out to purchase. Pottery was very fashionable a few years ago but old fashioned bone china seems to be back in vogue.

Remember those dainty china cups that your granny or your grand-aunt had, they're the height of sophistication these days :D

You have some memory, MrsD. I must have missed him that night.

I'm not a fan of dainty little buggers china cups - I prefer a good outsized Mug, bigger than the standard mugs. Saves you having to go for a refill.

But good luck to him, some people like and want fancy pottery.

As Maureen Lipman says in the ad - "Pottery - very useful! Anthony, people will always need plates" :)

Aertel has become something of an anachronism in any case - especially now that it's been just over a year since Ceefax ended.

I loved Ceefax. I still do.

I sent them an e-mail on their last day, and they replied. I know it was probably an automated reply, but I was impressed that they made the effort
    To Skid
    24 Oct 2012
    Thank you for your kind words. They mean a lot to us.

Best wishes
    BBC Ceefax (as was)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,696 ✭✭✭Lisha

Skid X wrote: »

I sent them an e-mail on their last day, and they replied. I know it was probably an automated reply, but I was impressed that they made the effort

Awww :)

Skid,

I've some of his pottery and his bedlinen, they're very nice but fairly pricey and in a recession they wouldn't be the first thing you'd be racing out to purchase. :D

Stephen P was way overpriced from Day One!.......:eek: Kinda like the pressie you'd have on the Wedding List and people would sigh when they see his name!

I wouldn't say no if someone bought me a bowl or two having said that!!......:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,220 ✭✭✭jos28

goose2005 wrote: »
    For a PR expert Terry's a bit crap at making herself look good.

A bit like her son so ! Looking forward to Katie, I might make a sambo when Barbie's granny(Terry Prone) is on and as for Stephen Pearce :rolleyes:
    Did we not have enough money woes on the LLS last night.

jos28 wrote: »
    A bit like her son so ! Looking forward to Katie, I might make a sambo when Barbie's granny(Terry Prone) is on and as for Stephen Pearce :rolleyes:

I see what you did there jos........;):D

I always look for cracks in Terry's face when she tries to smile........:o:o:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

Is Katie Taylor a good guest?

Whenever Ive heard her she seems pretty inarticulate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,038 ✭✭✭Go Harvey Go

Skid X wrote: »

To Skid
    24 Oct 2012
    Thank you for your kind words. They mean a lot to us.

Best wishes
    BBC Ceefax (as was)

The Beeb also made the effort to commission soundtracks for Pages From Ceefax - and many of them were very good.

The equivalent accompaniment for what I call Pages From Aertel - whenever there's time to fill in the early hours on RTE2 before handing over to Euronews - is 2fm. :rolleyes:

Also, the only page they actually show is the home page, 100. Great idea not having a "newsreel" page, like Ceefax's page 152... :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,711 ✭✭✭C.K Dexter Haven

I'd be the opposite on that one but of course Mrs.D, each to their own.:)

Interested in what Stephen Pearse has to say too- I don't think I've watched an interview with him before but yet, nearly every house in Ireland has one of his pieces.

I'd be the opposite on that one but of course Mrs.D, each to their own.:)

Interested in what Stephen Pearse has to say too- I don't think I've watched an interview with him before but yet, nearly every house in Ireland has one of his pieces.
    I lost all time for Terry after she appeared on a Vincent Browne programme (on the night of the Presidential Election Debate) to discuss the performance of the Presidential Candidates even though her company was involved in Gay Mitchell's campaign. There was an implied conflict of interest (at the very least) so she shouldn't have taken part in the programme.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,322 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Evening all!

Anyone remember Ceefax's toppermost quiz Bamboozle, hosted by Walter Matthau Bamber Boozler? With the kiddies version on a Saturday? :)

Bamboozle+III.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,711 ✭✭✭C.K Dexter Haven

I lost all time for Terry after she appeared on a Vincent Browne programme (on the night of the Presidential Election Debate) to discuss the performance of the Presidential Candidates even though her company was involved in Gay Mitchell's campaign. There was an implied conflict of interest (at the very least) so she shouldn't have taken part in the programme.

Didn't see that. Any how's, I like current affairs so would be interested more in that than what Katie has to say but like I said, each to their own:)

jos28 wrote: »

Shane Filan received legal letters from the band Train this morning...no quiff-tastic hair products for a while. :D

Didn't see that. Any how's, I like current affairs so would be interested more in that than what Katie has to say but like I said, each to their own:)
    I like current affairs too but I'd like to see someone else get a break, Terry doesn't need the media exposure at this stage in her career.

Is Katie Taylor a good guest?

Whenever Ive heard her she seems pretty inarticulate.

I think Katie is a lovely guest, she comes across as kinda shy but full of personality.

She is, in my opinion, a fantastic role model for young people.

A rarity indeed in these days of bluffers, one of whom will be on tonight ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Just heard Katie Taylor was on:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Evening everybody :D

The jokes are p1ss poor.

Couple of good zingers from Brendan tonight, he is looking sharp!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,084 ✭✭✭✭neris

Those "gags" were horrendous

The jokes are p1ss poor.

Ah, now........:P

The jokes are p1ss poor.

You not watched the SNS before, MrsD? :D

Oh sweet jaysus im switching off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,220 ✭✭✭jos28

Ah, she's on first. It's too early for my sambo

Way too much bronzer Terry :eek:

Terry Prone annoys me. Pat Kenny seems to love her, she seems to be forever on his RTE radio show and now newstalk

Terry is looking like a mannequin more and more......

Are those real ears on your one? Look like those dodgy plastic elf ears in a joke shop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,806 ✭✭✭taytobreath

neris wrote: »
    Are those real ears on your one? Look like those dodgy plastic elf ears in a joke shop

lol

I wonder if these stories are actually real.

Roy keane?

Terry has made no secret of the fact that she likes having plastic surgery.

I couldn't possibly say who anyone is or what anyone did........

But it's all true........:(

I can make up stories like that, all I need is a decent bottle of wine.........

Evening all!

Anyone remember Ceefax's toppermost quiz Bamboozle, hosted by Walter Matthau Bamber Boozler? With the kiddies version on a Saturday? :)

Bamboozle+III.gif

Bamber was the boss [pedantic hat on] the only good thing ever on teletext (which replaced Oracle), he wasn't on Ceefax [/Pedantic hat off]

10k bonus? No wonder were ****ked

Terry has made no secret of the fact that she likes having plastic surgery.

Her picture is better than a warning on a cigarette packet.....:eek:

Is there a point of this interview other than feel the love for her clients?

Do i heck as like feel sorry for them.