Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I just killed a wasp, should I feel bad?

• 01-11-2013 12:22am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭

Believe it nor not there was a wasp lying in my bedroom, around a pile of clothes. Heard this buzzing noise, thought it was a bluebottle, until I saw the yellow markings. It looked angry.

I got out the sanmex fly and wasp spray, and did the business. Carried its body out of the house where it lay to rest. I feel really bad about it. Maybe its happily in the afterlife now.

I am such a silly pacifist, couldn't hurt anything. But could I get away with killing a wasp?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

My killing season is over. Murdered something like 58 wasps this summer. Yep. :)

Na. Wasps are cnuts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

I love sticking a silicone gun just inside the opening of the hive, sealing the bastards in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭Surveyor11

Na they're cnuts, got stung twice this year. Fcuk 'em

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,054 ✭✭✭Firewalkwithme

Absolutely not.

They are the sperm of Satan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,773 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

You have made the world a better place

• Closed Accounts Posts: 401 ✭✭theblaqueguy

Nope you shouldn't feel bad its only a wasp think of this way you could of potentially saved someones life if you had let that wasp go free and it stung a person that was allergic to wasp stings and they couldn't make it to the hospital in time for treatment and died I know its a big IF but you can never be too careful

• Closed Accounts Posts: 953 ✭✭✭donegal__road

I sprayed a wasps nest a few months ago and they evacuated, leaving the larva cone (done know what the right term is).. anyways, I took down the nest and opened it up, here are some photos I took.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 360 ✭✭creep

I sprayed a wasps nest a few months ago and they evacuated, leaving the larva cone (done know what the right term is).. anyways, I took down the nest and opened it up, here are some photos I took.

Your handy is awfully red.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,319 ✭✭✭Absoluvely

The current scientific consensus is that all insects are insentient.
    This means that they are not able to feel pleasure or pain.

Generally vertebrates are thought to be sentient and invertebrates are thought to be insentient.
    With some exceptions like octopuses.

So no - you should not feel bad as killing the wasp did not cause it any pain or deprive it of pleasure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

The fact that you had insect spray to hand makes me suspicious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Point at it and laugh like an evil maniac.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

DColeman wrote: »
    Believe it nor not there was a wasp lying in my bedroom, around a pile of clothes. Heard this buzzing noise, thought it was a bluebottle, until I saw the yellow markings. It looked angry.

I got out the sanmex fly and wasp spray, and did the business. Carried its body out of the house where it lay to rest. I feel really bad about it. Maybe its happily in the afterlife now.

I am such a silly pacifist, couldn't hurt anything. But could I get away with killing a wasp?

Ya you should feel bad :mad:
    You went out of your way to get spray and smother the poor little thing.
    It wasn't like you just killed it by swatting it away from you.

I'm ringing Joe tomorrow about this ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭Evelyn Cusack

They sting you on purpose, bees do it cos they have to or by accident or something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,474 ✭✭✭✭gammygils

Don't feel bad. I also killed a wasp today. But he was on his last legs anyway. He couldn't fly.
    So I just put him out of his misery and
    flushed him down the jacks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Unbeelievable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

They sting you on purpose, bees do it cos they have to or by accident or something

You're just making that up...like you make up the weather forecast :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,231 ✭✭✭mutley18

Wasp? Haven't they all fecked off for the winter by now? Are you sure it wasn't a housefly dressed up for Halloween?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

Yes, indeed, wasps are a pain sometimes, but not once in my life have I been stung by one, never. Something similar happened me a while back as i went to the bathroom to wash my hands and noticed a wasp upside-down on the sink, so i looked at it and decided to get a bit of tin-foil and then half filled a tablespoon with brown sugar and added water to make it really watery and picked up the wasp and put him on a small plate with the tin-foil water-sugar.

After a few seconds the wasp struggled toward the watery sugar liquid and on close inspection i could see it's tongue lapping it up as it was falling over every half a minute or so. After 20 minutes of the wasp licking the sugared water one of his wings started to flap and get faster, then about 8 seconds later his other wing flapped and then both got faster and off it flew into the sky and away.

The reason why people hate wasps is because they don't know how to react when one comes close to them. Most people will wave their arms and slap at them and they see this as aggression and can sting you, but never wave about your arms and they will suss you out for a few seconds and off they go.

If you ever see a bee in this state, don't just assume it's dying, it's more than likely exhausted from lack of food water sugar. It usually takes 20 minutes for them to regain strength from watered sugar but they always do and fly off.

I got 32 stings once when I happened upon a wasps nest in a shed when I was a child. Those evil creatures have being paying for it ever since

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭Red Nissan

Absolutely not.

They are the sperm of Satan.

No they are not, Wasps are wonderful, Wasps are tragic, they live outside for one season, in August they are released to DIE.

They are angry and it is a blessing to kill them at that [and this] time of year.

I got 32 stings once when I happened upon a wasps nest in a shed when I was a child. Those evil creatures have being paying for it ever since

No wonder all the bees and wasps are dying off :rolleyes: Grand little fellers they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭csallmighty

Kill as many as you possibly can. They are evil and their main goal in life is killing other insects and stealing their sh*t. Don't kill bees though they're nice and they make honey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,911 ✭✭✭bradlente

As long as you didn't get a buzz out of it.Hive killed many without guilt.

Kill as many as you possibly can. They are evil and their main goal in life is killing other insects and stealing their sh*t. Don't kill bees though they're nice and they make honey.

Bees, they're fine with me.

Ever see a bee costume on a child? Yes?

Ever seen a wasp costume? No?

I rest my case your honour.

*walks away triumphant*

Reminds me of human beings.

The bees are nice, just remember to give watered sugar to a bee if you do see it in tatters on the ground cause it will rejuvenate the bee to live on and make more honey, or if not it will get a few more weeks out of life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭yizorselves

mutley18 wrote: »
    Wasp? Haven't they all fecked off for the winter by now? Are you sure it wasn't a housefly dressed up for Halloween?

About a week ago 3 of them floated in the window when I was having a shower. Made me feel like a right sissy. So I didnt the manly thing and got out of there fast, closed the window and door behind me. They were dead when I got home from work

If you have the christmas tree stored in the attic in a bag over the year and you are taking it down soon, this is when you can find a few really big bees or the odd wasp in there. Every year I take the bag down there is usually 1 to 3 of them, obviously the heat up there that keeps them just about alive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

http://i.imgur.com/AV92pQA.jpg

Yep, these are my local wasps...I just shoot at the feckers and hope for the best :D

MadsL wrote: »
    http://i.imgur.com/AV92pQA.jpg
    Yep, these are my local wasps...I just shoot at the feckers and hope for the best :D

That looks like a double-dragon-fly.
    You have killer bees over there i heard, well they are moving up from the very south toward the north as so is said because of the warmer climate affecting the north of America ?. But when they show killer bees in America, they look like wasps we have here in Ireland. Bees are big fat things like the bumble bee, so why are wasps called bees in America ?

Is it the other way around over in the far west of the ole US of A ? Killer wasps i'm sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Anyone here work in a pub as a young lad and had to sort the empties in the yard on a sunny day? :(

You and a couple hundred empty bottles of 7up and orange, they'll be swarming ya!

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Anyone here work in a pub as a young lad and had to sort the empties in the yard on a sunny day? :(

You and a couple hundred empty bottles of 7up and orange, they'll be swarming ya!

I remember drinking in a beer garden and every time i was going to take a sup of beer i could see 3 or more fruit-flies swimming in my beer, i thought that was more of a hassle than the wasps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

zenno wrote: »
    That looks like a double-dragon-fly.
    You have killer bees over there i heard, well they are moving up from the very south toward the north as so is said because of the warmer climate affecting the north of America ?. But when they show killer bees in America, they look like wasps we have here in Ireland. Bees are big fat things like the bumble bee, so why are wasps called bees in America ?

Is it the other way around over in the far west of the ole US of A ? Killer wasps i'm sure.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tarantula_hawk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,661 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

I got out the sanmex fly and wasp spray, and did the business. Carried its body out of the house where it lay to rest. uI feel really bad about it. Maybe its happily in the afterlife now.

Don't think the spray actually kills them just paralysis.
    You'dbe as well to stamp on it otherwise it could live for days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

zenno wrote: »
    The reason why people hate wasps is because they don't know how to react when one comes close to them. Most people will wave their arms and slap at them and they see this as aggression and can sting you, but never wave about your arms and they will suss you out for a few seconds and off they go.

The waving of the arms also creates horrible air currents for them to negotiate and also puls them closer to you in the wash left behind by your arm. So yeah waving is a terrible idea

• Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭Hownowcow

Just to be clear OP, you killed one of them black and yellow stingy things not a white anglo saxon protestant?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,661 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Hownowcow wrote: »
    Just to be clear OP, you killed one of them black and yellow stingy things not a white anglo saxon protestant?

Difference?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

Say three Hail Mary's and an Our Father and God might forgive you.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 2,160 Mod ✭✭✭✭Oink

MadsL wrote: »

"hunts tarantulas"

Holy %$£%. Tough mofo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭sebastianlieken

On tarantuala hawks....

"it creates a small hole in the spider's abdomen, then enters and feeds voraciously, avoiding vital organs for as long as possible to keep the spider alive. After several weeks, the larva pupates."

:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

I try to avoid killing spiders, flies, moths, even snails. If they are in my way I will move them, set them free.

But I will straight up murder the shit out of wasps!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭lahalane

Made me laugh :D