Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Season 4, Episode 4 - Indifference [Spoilers]

• 01-11-2013 12:10am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭

Season 4, Episode 4 - Indifference [Spoilers]

Airing Sunday November 3, 2013 AMC USA
    Not a lot given away in promos for a change, Daryl's resupply group have made it to a large darkened structure over one of the doors is a large sign saying "learning resource center" , In lieu of Daryl's return Rick and Carol are on a Meds resupply mission to a housing estate near prison looting houses Carol is acting weird

The Walking Dead 4x04 Promo "Indifference"
    The Walking Dead 4x04 "Indifference" - The supply mission faces hurdles; the situation at the prison worsens.

The Walking Dead 4x04 Promo "Indifference" (HD)

The Walking Dead 4x04 Sneak Peek "Indifference" (HD)

The Walking Dead 4x04 Sneak Peek #2 "Indifference" (HD)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭kalych

Well we know Hershel's gotta be infected, since Rick mentions this in the videos, which is what made himself and Carol go hunting for meds.
    Who's left in charge in prison now? The only fighting-capable people left are Maggie and Carl and Maggie'll be freaking out about Hershel and Glen. Would be a nice time for the Governor to show up.

I wonder if this will make the survivors adopt some new strategy going forward with regards to possible disease outbreaks or the will have to leave the prison finally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Did they title the episode after most viewer's feelings on this show :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Cork boy 55

krudler wrote: »
    Did they title the episode after most viewer's feelings on this show :pac:

Link,proof?

There's a theme developing regarding letter I and name of episodes 2-5
    2 = Infected
    3 = Isolation
    4 = Indifference
    5 = Internment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,921 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

I gotta stop watching those promos.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,997 ✭✭✭Grimebox

That song at the end summarised the whole episode for me. The conversations between Carol and Rick, conversations between Michonne and Tyresse.... zzzzzzzzz....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭Scraggs

Surprised about Carol being banished but I have a feeling its not the end of her. Anyone got any theories on her future [if any]?

That was amazing. I had a feeling Rick was taking her '18 miles out'.
    And now I can say that this season is great. They're giving us character moments, along with good action and perfect pace
    Another amazing episode The carol/rick scenes were emotional and went deep into how they've changed since season 1, bobby/Daryl/Michonne and Tyresse scenes were intense. 4 episodes in and i feel this season is excellent. Keep up the amazing work Gimple!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

That was amazing. I had a feeling Rick was taking her '18 miles out'.
    And now I can say that this season is great. They're giving us character moments, along with good action and perfect pace
    Another amazing episode The carol/rick scenes were emotional and went deep into how they've changed since season 1, bobby/Daryl/Michonne and Tyresse scenes were intense. 4 episodes in and i feel this season is excellent. Keep up the amazing work Gimple!

Gotta agree with this. They've gotten it spot on every episode so far. Pacing is great and the character development is highly commendable.
    I can see a lot of people having a problem with this episode (that there wasn't enough action or whatever), but end of the day, the characters make the show, not the action sequences, so it worked for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭LOSTfan57

Exactly. What people miss is that The Walking Dead is a character show.......not just all blam blam blam Walkers go splat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,761 ✭✭✭✭degrassinoel

I'm gonna miss Carol :( glad she's still alive though, she's got a good fighting chance of coming back at a later point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,291 ✭✭✭Junco Partner

Really interested to see how Daryl will take the news that Rick gave Carol the boot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,997 ✭✭✭Grimebox

LOSTfan57 wrote: »
    Exactly. What people miss is that The Walking Dead is a character show.......not just all blam blam blam Walkers go splat

I actually don't know what I want from this show. I know its not pure action I'm after. I think this setting has ran its course for me. It's like an average soap. The dialogue in this episode bored the hell out of me. All the characters are wooden. They don't seem like real people. I think I should stop posting here lest I enrage some true fans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

Really interested to see how Daryl will take the news that Rick gave Carol the boot.
    He's not going to be happy and that's for sure. I can see her coming back. She's not going to leave the girls that easily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

Such a good episode i like how they so far have consistently built up of the previous episodes, Really gonna miss carol one of my favorite characters. I reckon she will be back by the end of the season tho perhaps at this group thats broadcasting. I definitely see them leaving the prison by maybe episode 6 or 7 at this stage.

I was actually thinking it was this little girl carols been mothering that killed the two people and she was covering up because of the tiny hand print and this missing knife from ricks satchel thing, also he glanced at the knife she had near the end, i suspect he will see the girls knife at some stage, since their was some emphasis on the girl keeping her knife out on display. Could be all wrong tho but sure who knows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,317 ✭✭✭gavmcg92

Really good episode this week. Nice to get out of the confines on the prison for an episode. Sort of felt like a prisoner myself, with a lot of the footage in the season so far being set there.

Really disappointed to see Carol going. I think we all know that she's not gone for good. Interested to see where she's going to turn up next. Maybe with the governor? More importantly, how is Rick going to explain it to the group? Is he going to tell them she committed the murders? Will he say she was killed on the trip? Could cause a lot of tension in the group if he does/doesn't tell the truth.

One aspect of the episode that I didn't like was the obvious product placements from hyundai. They're not even trying to hide it any more. Couldn't help but notice that the only modern car around was the one that they were using... and of course it was a hyundai. The rest were all rust buckets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,761 ✭✭✭✭degrassinoel

on product placement, Yeah it's getting a bit old, but i can live with it. gerber gear are getting their moneysworth too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

Carol has been a fantastic character and the strongest so far this season, gutted that Rick cut her loose but she's bound to come back in some shape or form (alive and well). I hope they don't make her a big bad that joins forces with the governor though.

Having not expected too much coming into this season it's been fantastic and very pleasantly surprised. If I can't have Breaking Bad on a Monday I'm more than happy to have this fill the void.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,317 ✭✭✭gavmcg92

Carol has been a fantastic character and the strongest so far this season, gutted that Rick cut her loose but she's bound to come back in some shape or form

It's going to be noticeable in the episodes. She really was a strong character that was taking a lot of air time. Wonder how long she'll be gone for. Will they stick with her and sort of go from her perspective to theirs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Liamalone

Another episode that went nowhere, losing interest in this show.

Individual walking dead episodes can always be a bit hit and miss
    varying from excellent to crap it was always this way even in season 1
    I think the fact that episodes are only 40 minutes hampers them in getting the right mix in each episodes compared to 60 minutes for SOA for example or 50 for BB(IIRC)
    I have read that its much better to binge watch TWD rather than wait for it in a week by week basis due to inconstant quality and that sometimes the slow episodes that can are not that great sometimes
    overall its a very good show although it could have better. B+
    This season is definitely an improvement.

The slow episodes always tended to drag due to poor dialogue, miscasting( I think rick would have better served by some else ... maybe) and the simple fact that they are a bunch of half-starved wretched refugees with nothing much more to lose and to talk about in a almost miserly condition
    that said some of the slow ones have been the best as well like clear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

Liamalone wrote: »

Not sure we're watching the same show, mate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Liamalone

Not sure we're watching the same show, mate

Apart from Carol getting banished nowt of interest happened. Four episodes in and the only plot progression is the disease which looks like being dragged out.

So far in this series the fleeting appearance of the strange Irish doll and now these two folk didn't serve any purpose. The frankly stupid zombies falling through the suddenly weak roof was poor. The sick folk are still quarantined awaiting one to die and turn to wreak havoc - the disease that killed quickly at the start seems to be patient now waiting for the drugs to come back just that bit too late I bet.

Character building? Only Carol's seems to be getting this, the rest is just filler.

What did I miss in this episode then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

The only thing decent in this episode was Carol being cut loose. Sadly The Walking Dead has turned into a soap opera. The long chatty scenes between Rick and Carol, Michonne and Tyreese staring each other down followed by a preachy lecture on anger, and all the while........nothing happened. I cant understand the people who say the show cant all be action and is all about the characters- yes, I agree action every week is not realistic and its nice to see a different side to the characters but theres a fine line between developing our fave characters and boring the audiences.

I mean, where is this story GOING, whats the plot arc this season? There is only so many scenes of people making their way through dark schools/supermarkets/forests etc before you just stop caring and the suspense is gone. The first and second seasons were all about the fallout from the virus and how it changes ordinary people, with lots of cliffhangers and plot twists- the third season was mostly about Woodbury vs the Prison and life in the prison. But how long can this season go without running completely out of steam. In theory, they could set the show in the prison for another 10 yrs and the show would be about people going on runs for food and equipment but that would be painfully boring. I am waiting to see the entire picture here- the voice on the radio, how long before thats explained? Is there a team working on trying to reverse this virus, are people in Europe affected etc etc?

We need to be heading towards a definite end point at this stage because the show is starting to stagnate very badly with repetitive plots of scouring supermarkets, soul searching and long protracted scenes that go nowhere. The plot is as important as character development and the plot so far this season has gone nowhere..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭teacherspet

I do not think it was Carol who killed them I think it was Beth Greene.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,228 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

Liamalone wrote: »

its not farm bad

I have read that its much better to binge watch TWD rather than wait for it in a week by week basis due to inconstant quality and that sometimes the slow episodes that can are not that great sometimes

Thats how I watched up as far as Hershals farm, from then it's been week by week and I found it far more enjoyable at the start.

Some shows definitely lack more in a slow stream, another would be Boardwalk Empire. It's along the same lines in being slow paced. But it's great to build up 4/5 episodes and watch them through.
    I might put TWD onto the backburner for 3 weeks and watch the next 3 in one go. I still haven't even started this seasons Boardwalk or Homeland yet so have plenty else to watch.
    I'm enjoying SOA weekly so I'll keep on top of that.
    I do not think it was Carol who killed them I think it was Beth Greene.

But Carol already admitted it, and herself and Rick spent so long discussing it I'd say it's not even close to being a cover up.... what are you basing this hunch on?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Shane St.

What was the name of the song that played at the end?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭PhiloCypher

Shane St. wrote: »
    What was the name of the song that played at the end?

Sharon Van Etten-serpents

The Shazam app is your friend, download the app (assuming you own a smartphone) and your answer are only ever a button press away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,672 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

Just as they finally made Carol interesting.

Has the Governor seen her with Rick's crew, I wonder, or could she be taken in by him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

Another meh episode - But I enjoy them still. not going to quit the show but I agree its time to wrap things up - 6 seasons of TWD is good enough for me. But the means to an end must come into play in this series at some point. Maybe the voice on the radio is what i'm looking for.

Never liked carol - no loss for me but we know she will be back.

This virus will be gone in 2 or 3 episodes hopefully! Tired of it allready.

The stereotypical black guys in this show should be done away with - utter nonsense.

I like michone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

There's a clear dichotomy evident here between what's relevant to the characters and what's relevant to the viewers. It's the writers role to narrow that gap so that, broadly speaking, what matters to the viewers matters to the characters (and vice versa).

For example - the voice on the radio. None of the characters have even mentioned it since, why is that? We can all accept as viewers they have been going on medical runs and whacking Walkers (trying to stay alive) and, for them, that supercedes anything else. However, they've still had plenty of time for heart-to-hearts - whether about Michonne rambling off, Bobs drink problem, Tyreses anger issues.....

That's where the disconnect becomes evident. As a viewer i'm more than interested in character development and when done well, it can provide epic tv. Most people agree "Clear" is a standout example. However, as a viewer i'm also interested in the over-arching story - the overall scene. Learning more about the state of the world, the country, the virus itself, any attempted settlements, any military response etc.

The characters don't see to care one iota. If they did, surely they can spare 2 mins out of their busy, "deep meaningful" chats for someone to ask "so, hey what was the voice on the radio any ideas?!!!!".

The Rick-Carol scenes didn't quite work for me. They were well-acted, no doubt about that, but the actual dialogue was slightly disappointing. All season we've been witnessing Carols "journey" from newly-confident/self-assured to a cold, ruthless, survive at all costs person. She was effectively turning into the female Shane.

Despite that clear progression, and despite making a faithful promise to look after Lizzie and Mika, this new ruthless Carol left with a whimper. Surely it would be more in keeping with her character arc for her to try kill Rick and make it back to the prison to the girls?

I was also underwhelmed by what Rick said to her. There were very easy comparisons to make to underline what she did was wrong. All he had to say was "Glenn is now sick, would you murder him to "save" the group when you don't know for certain he's going to die??".

There was no emotional resonance in their scenes. Rick is a semi-broken man showing little emotion and Carol showed next to nothing. There was no depth or punch behind the words - it was like watching 2 people on antidepressants saying goodbye after 10 years of a loveless marriage. Drained of emotion.

Season 4 to date has 2 key problems - the focus on the illness and the role the new characters have played.

We don't really care for Patrick or Lizzie, Mika, Zach, even Bob - yet all 5 of those have been shoehorned into subplots. In the case of Patrick he was used point blank as a storytelling device on the illness.

More importantly, for this arc to pay off, they will really have to learn a game-changing truth from all this illness stuff. To devote 5 or more episodes to this arc and not learn something critically important regarding the illness would be a travesty. Even if there is a game-changing revelation (which, right now, i fail to see one) they're still devoting a lot of air time to it. Some of which smacks of filler, given the 16 episode season.

I know a lot of the above is a critical analysis of the episode and season. I do like (even love) the show. But it has to try harder to connect to what the viewers and characters care about. That dichotomy is far too wide for my liking right now. I don't care that Bob is an alco, Lizzie is a weird child, Patrick had glasses and is now dead.........the people i do care about are off farming (Rick), off sleeping (Maggie), off babysitting (insert Beth, Carl), off running-off (Michonne).

More to the point, none of them seem to care about the world right now. I know if i was one of them i'd be asking a shed-load of questions beyond trying to survive every day. All these council meetings and nobody seems to sit down and ask the simple stuff - i wonder how many people are left alive in the country? I wonder is there any central government left? Telecommunications ability? Militarised safe zones? etc. All they seem to care about are their cell blocks and they waste endless hours of the day talking without asking any important questions.

It surely wouldn't and couldn't harm the show for some of the characters to be asking some of these questions. And soon.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

Hmmm, ok Walking Dead, I don't get you. I want to love you, but you make it so difficult. You finally get your sh*t together, it only takes 4 seasons, and just as you take a former non-entity from the cast and turn her into a fascinating, emotional and competent character, you have her drive off and out of the show.

Well, cheerio Carol; I was enjoying the hardened, pragmatic woman she became and I can't get my head around the 'why' of it all, unless it was simply a case of the actor wanting out & bar a death this was the simplest way of achieving that. Of course it's a convenient wedge in the dynamic of the prison, so doubtless the fallout will make for more drama.

While I thought the Rick / Carol material was pretty solid, the B-plot was pretty clunky. Bob's alcoholism was horrendously forced (pulling a gun on Daryl? Really?) as was the heart to heart between the two men earlier. Tyresse will probably put the whole group in jeopardy at the rate he's going too.

One thing - I presume I'm not the only one who thinks that creepy-girl-whose-name-I-forget is the one who was feeding the walkers? She's clearly a few sandwiches short of a picnic and it's easy to imagine how her love/empathy for the walkers will cause severe problems for everyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Jason Todd

Hope Carol comes back. Hate to see any of the original cast go, but really enjoyed her character arc.

Once we saw the tattoo on the girls leg you just knew her leg would feature again. More than likely in a horrible way. Same with Lizzie's bracelet.

Do ye think the two survivors didn't pass Rick's test for being brought to the prison and Carol wanted to overrule him anyway so they'd help look for medication?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hyzepher

For me Carol is the only one facing up to reality and not just with Lizzie etc. but the way she deals with death and the threat of death. Her reaction to the young couple's demise seemed to push Rick past the point of no return.

Everyone seems to be dealing with the reality around them but Rick is still stuck in the old way of thinking. Something that is likely to put the group at risk at some point - especially without Carol to intervene

Hyzepher wrote: »
    For me Carol is the only one facing up to reality and not just with Lizzie etc. but the way she deals with death and the threat of death. Her reaction to the young couple's demise seemed to push Rick past the point of no return.

Everyone seems to be dealing with the reality around them but Rick is still stuck in the old way of thinking. Something that is likely to put the group at risk at some point - especially without Carol to intervene
    Although she's not very prominent, I think Beth has also come on in leaps and bounds. Considering at one point she wanted to commit suicide because she thought it was all so pointless, she now has a stoic resolution about her and it was her being strong for Maggie. If something happened to Judith though, I think it would set her back to a bad place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭Yakuza

Did anyone else spot the petrol station's price digits being re-arranged into "Hell"? (Or did I just imagine it? :))

I bet Carol will be back, I do think it's a shame to lose her when she's completely transformed from the doorstep/victim we met in Season 1.

Why would Rick give some randomer his watch? That annoyed me a bit, I have to admit.

Lastly, I'd have thought that a zombie apocalypse would be a good cure for raging alcoholism - you either succumb to it early or get cured of it, but I didn't think you could have many high-functioning alco's in the Walking Dead universe!

• Subscribers Posts: 32,864 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

While I still enjoy the show, I get some of the criticism as well. After years/months of near isolation in a small group, a crackly radio signal is something that should not just be barely mentioned, and it's not like they would have just forgot that. Surely that would have been one of the first things they checked for again once they got back into a car?

The inconsistency of the virus is a bit annoying as well, although we have actually only seen it kill a couple of people I think? The first kid and the fella that locked himself into his cell.

On the Carol thing that seems like a weird way to do things, and will lead to ructions within the group, although of his options to deal with it, none were good. I am guessing that he will tell the group that she was munched and that there will be repercussions later when we meet her again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,322 ✭✭✭✭listermint

gavmcg92 wrote: »

One aspect of the episode that I didn't like was the obvious product placements from hyundai. They're not even trying to hide it any more. Couldn't help but notice that the only modern car around was the one that they were using... and of course it was a hyundai. The rest were all rust buckets.

Disagree, The People carrier they used was a chrysler and not exactly a rust bucket. Also the lads car that got stuck on the zombies last week was a Dodge Charger.

You seem to be confusing hyundai with the one hyundai Jeep that theyve always had.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

Hyzepher wrote: »

The old way of thinking? As in it's wrong to murder people who have flu symptoms when you're not a doctor and have no clue whether they will live/die and were in isolation anyway?

Carol was turning into a loose canon. For all of Ricks issues it was reassuring to see he retains a sense of right and wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Jason Todd

Are we to assume that the walkers inside the veterinary college were up-to-recently still alive, because a) there was a relatively undisturbed little bed with books and booze hidden behind a desk and b) they are all victims of this new strain of 'flu' (blood coming from the eyes) and weren't as decomposed as the ones in the car garage for example.

Also, if they did die from the new strain, would they not have tried to use all the medicine right under their noses?

I hate nit-picking as I love the show, but that seems strange to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

Jason Todd wrote: »
    Also, if they did die from the new strain, would they not have tried to use all the medicine right under their noses?

Maybe they did, and used the wrong stuff or used the right stuff incorrectly, as they didn't have anyone with medical training on hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,854 ✭✭✭P.Walnuts

It's gotten to the stage where I really want to like the show, but its all becoming a bit meh.

I think it boils down to if you liek the characters then you will stick with it and enjoy the show. I just really can't connect with any of the characters, everyone is just way to serious and preachy, there is no escape from the constant soul searching and moralising that goes on in each episode.

To make a fairly crude comparison, Lost ( I was a causal viewer at best) had several characters who would break the mould and provide humour, sarcasm etc people like Hurley or Sawyer and balance the pragmatism of Jack, TWD doesn't have that. It's an entire cast of Jacks and that just isn't interesting to me.

We already know the state of the outside world from episode TS-19 no contact to the CDC comms network in months, last contact France, almost complete government/military collapse, An extinction event in the Doctors words

There are nothing discussing the radio transmission because they have a critical mission on hand anyway the equipment required to generate a FM signal can fit in a suitcase and can be powered from car battery. Its not indicator of civilization somewhere
    just someone somewhere has an FM transmitter.
    The prison group or the governor could setup a radio station if they wanted to do.

We never saw or heard of the helicopter Rick saw in Atlanta either
    (the helo the Governor found was a different model)
    Coincidentally that helo also served as a distraction to lead Rick into a herd(IIRC)

I would mind not a briefing where they saw how much stuff they have and what they have been doing the last few months.

I think it's fair to assume that Carol isn't leaving the show altogether.

The Gov signed on for a second season even though it was only meant to be for the one.
    We're now 4 episodes in and he still hasn't figured.
    I think the logical assumption is that Carol will bump into him and that will be his reintroduction as he can't really emerge back in alone or with the group seeing how things ended.
    It's not often a main character has just left the group, so I think her departure is signalling his return.

I don't read anything about plot lines, that's just my guess but it seems the most logical assumption with his lack of appearance thus far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,309 ✭✭✭✭alastair

listermint wrote: »
    You seem to be confusing hyundai with the one hyundai Jeep that theyve always had.

...that's managed to remain nice and clean, and unblemished (bar a bit of dust) ever since they picked it up. Strange that.

Mind you - the grass on the road verges everywhere are also remarkably well trimmed for a post-apocalyptic scenario.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,748 ✭✭✭✭Lovely Bloke

What IS Rick's test?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭PhiloCypher

He asks 3 questions, I think they are something along the lines of 1)how many walkers have you killed 2)how many humans 3) why

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

What IS Rick's test?

The 3 questions he asked Tayto in the first episode

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭username123

I'm totally shocked. I think Rick was wrong to banish Carol. She did what she did for the greater good, her intentions were in the right place.

He should look closer to home, at his son who clearly is itching to kill for the sake of it. Right little psycho he's going to turn into.