Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Breeders Cup day 1.

• 29-10-2013 10:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭

No 2yr allowed to run with Lasix.With some trainers not running their horses because of the new rule Giovanni Boldini [NAP]has a massive chance and is very well drawn.Why o why did Ml Winters not run Missunited in the Marathon she was a penalty kick with no goalie even on dirt.She finished an unlucky 3rd on Sunday in Paris in a Group 1 but would have won in Santa Anita by the straight.Al Thakhira will take some beating in the 2yr old fillies as she has a serious turn of foot and well drawn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Missunited got placed in a gr.1 the Marathon is only a grade 3, has anyone seen the cost of entering a horse at the Breeders Cup, small owners have little chance even getting there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭sting60

UrbanSea wrote: »
    Missunited got placed in a gr.1 the Marathon is only a grade 3, has anyone seen the cost of entering a horse at the Breeders Cup, small owners have little chance even getting there
    Agree but Urban imagine winters talking to Javier Castellano.She would give [according to the conditions] 4lbs to London Bridge[64] and is rated 110 approx[turf rated].I do not know the terms of entry to this race.

200,000 USD if after mid july by a non nominated stallion (whatever that is)

I fancy Magician in the turf. Untried over the trip but won the Irish Guineas really well on firm ground and looked a nice colt winning at Chester. Think the Fugue is vulnerable and the Yanks have **** turf horses

I hear Point of Entry is working very well[what that means].Best US horse on grass in years so they say.

Very hard to judge the Yanks form, that horse beat Treasure Beach about two lengths last back end, that form shouldn't be good enough but it's possible he has improved though he is a five year old. Beat Animal Kingdom earlier in the year but doubt he would have been fully wound up. Next in the betting was 50/1 and beaten 14 lengths when he ran behind So You Think at Royal Ascot

My notes said by AOB "Lasix is worth 5lb".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Isn't Giovani Boldini running on day 2? :confused:

Magician got a poor draw in Stall 11

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,616 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Stallion owner pays a fee each year which goes into the Breeders Cup prize fund. The fee is proportional to the cost of one covering (i.e. Gallileos owner will pay far more than Vinnie Roes) - if this fee is paid then all progency of your stallion will be Breeders Cup nominated. (Similar concept for all those EBF qualified maiden races you see on the flat in Britain).

If your horse is by a stallion who hasn't paid then you have to stump up a huge supplementary fee for the BC races.

Thanks for that Armani

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭seoirsem

Slighly off topic, I'm trying to watch some videos and previews for Breeders Cup on ATR website but the screen just stays white instead of loading up the video. I'm using a Macbook Air. Any advice please?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,564 ✭✭✭kiers47

seoirsem wrote: »
    Slighly off topic, I'm trying to watch some videos and previews for Breeders Cup on ATR website but the screen just stays white instead of loading up the video. I'm using a Macbook Air. Any advice please?

I would imagine you probably dont have the correct version of flash player installed or some other plug in required.
    What browser are you using? Safari?

Try download Chrome or Firefox should fix your issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,123 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

Lads is their anyway to back on the American tote for this. I know you can do parimutual for French racing.

kiers47 wrote: »
    I would imagine you probably dont have the correct version of flash player installed or some other plug in required.
    What browser are you using? Safari?

Try download Chrome or Firefox should fix your issue.

Thanks a million, downloaded Firefox and it works. Let the study begin!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭CheltenhamJ

I thought Wiltshire boulevard was better value at 10's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,564 ✭✭✭kiers47

I thought Wiltshire boulevard was better value at 10's

Really surprised that the american horse Bobby's Kitten isnt the favourite in this. It hasnt been kept quite about how good they think this colt is. He is even named after the great Bobby Frankel.

I would be very keen to be with him and think 4/1 is massive. I dont really consider these 2 yr old races as ideal betting races. But he has improved with every race and was so impressive last time out albeit in a gr 3 as opposed to some of the opposition with solid form at gr1 level.

But the signs are good i think and i will be wading in for a good start to the weekend of racing.

Selections for Friday :

20:45 Marathon £10w Indian Jones 11/2
    21:25 Juvenile Turf £10w Outstrip 5/1
    22:05 Dirt Mile £5ew Holy Lute 20/1
    22:50 Juvenile Fillies Turf £5ew Sky Painter 14/1
    23:35 Distaff £15w Beholder 10/3

yeehaw!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭Malarkey121

I will back 3 this evening they are:

Dirt Mile - Verrazano
    Would have been 6 from 6 if not for the Kentucky Derby and Travers, his race over a flat mile seen him win by 16 lengths, Jockey will need to ask him for speed early and kick if he gets away he will be very hard to peg back.

Juvenile Turf - Al Thakhira
    Trainer Marco Botti has a decent record when sending horses over, he doesn't send them for fun 3 wins / 6 runs.
    2 easy wins including a group 2 at Newmarket, there was a lot more in the tank too! Exciting prospect and will not go un-backed by myself 13/2 powers.

Distaff - Beholder
    A great race in store I think the focus is on the other 2 in the race and some are forgetting about this beauty - she is 4 from 4 at this track at a mile and up with 3 grade 1 wins this year (Santa Anita) she likes to go out fast from start to finish, She looked very good winning the Zenyatta stakes last time out.

best of luck

I will back 3 this evening they are:

Dirt Mile - Verrazano
    Would have been 6 from 6 if not for the Kentucky Derby and Travers, his race over a flat mile seen him win by 16 lengths, Jockey will need to ask him for speed early and kick if he gets away he will be very hard to peg back.

Juvenile Turf - Al Thakhira
    Trainer Marco Botti has a decent record when sending horses over, he doesn't send them for fun 3 wins / 6 runs.
    2 easy wins including a group 2 at Newmarket, there was a lot more in the tank too! Exciting prospect and will not go un-backed by myself 13/2 powers.

Distaff - Beholder
    A great race in store I think the focus is on the other 2 in the race and some are forgetting about this beauty - she is 4 from 4 at this track at a mile and up with 3 grade 1 wins this year (Santa Anita) she likes to go out fast from start to finish, She looked very good winning the Zenyatta stakes last time out.

best of luck

I'm with you in thinking Verrazano for the dirt mile but cant back it with the draw, coupled with the fact that 2 other fancies for the race Goldencents and Pants On Fire are also drawn wide, could end up cutting each other's throats so I've had a little each way on Holy Lute. Best of luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭Malarkey121

Should make for an interesting race, I can see where your coming from, It may cut up front and could lead to a finisher with the 2 turns over the mile.
    I put a line through Verrazanos form over 9f and what is left is 5 very solid speed figures, the track will suit (same case can be made for Goldencents).

best of luck with your punts!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭BQQ

I'm taking a punt on Cease in the marathon.

It was a short price for this 2 years ago and weakened out of it disappointingly.
    He was branded a non-stayer as a result, but here he is back again.

The trainer obviously thinks he'll stay, or the opposition is so bad he might get away with not staying.

Either way 12/1 looks a fair price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,961 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

4 singles for me (+ accum at 437/1)
    shop prices (limited to two shops sadly)

bobbys kitten 10/3
    big reptuation this one, prefer it ahead of gb and outstrip to
    name but two
    not sure how outstrip is only 5s, i'd have that bigger
    don't fancy that at all

Al thakira 6/1 ew
    Very impressive in the rockfel, great draw, should have no
    probs with the distance

verrazano 10/3
    Seen a couple of races this won, enough for me

princess of sylmar 9/4
    was torn between this and beholder
    has beaten both beholder (after a bad start) and royal delta
    that'll do for me
    might go in again online if lads are still going 3s later, that's
    too big to ignore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭BQQ

mailburner wrote: »

princess of sylmar 9/4
    was torn between this and beholder
    has beaten both beholder (after a bad start) and royal delta
    that'll do for me
    might go in again online if lads are still going 3s later, that's
    too big to ignore

I'd be a little worried that it's the end of a long season for her.
    They were gonna call it a day after its penultimate start and again after her win last time out, but she's continued to work well, so they keep going.

I've a sneaking feeling for RD's stablemate Close Hatches.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 352 ✭✭Go Native

I'm out of my depth in most races tonight guys, so I'm going to keep things simple, simple, but big. Having a big play on Royal Delta. I'm looking for reasons not to punt her and can't find any.

She's an absolute true champion.

My biggest bet of the meeting is no Aidan O Brien winners @ 10/11 with PP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,008 ✭✭✭kksaints

Gone for Giovanni Boldini in the Juvenile Turf and Chriselliam in the Juvenile Filies Turf.

Should be streaming on the Breeders Cup website.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

kksaints wrote: »
    Gone for Giovanni Boldini in the Juvenile Turf and Chriselliam in the Juvenile Filies Turf.

Should be streaming on the Breeders Cup website.

Is there live streaming yeah?

Slattsy wrote: »
    Is there live streaming yeah?

There was for the race that was on just now. Not sure about the Breeders Cup races which might be blocked but there was last year.

BQQ wrote: »
    I'd be a little worried that it's the end of a long season for her.

I was backing beholder before i went to paddy for that reason so
    it was a coin toss
    Hopefully there one more big run to come

Looking at London Bridge in the 8.45. Small trainer Jo Hughes sending over this horse. He is American bred and his father won the Breeders Cup Classic and he will stay the trip looks decent value at 8's.

I feel sorry for the Hughes stable for having the idea that London Bridge could be in anyway competitive in this race. Absolutely no chance whatsoever.

Great place lay.

I never made the connection. A 60 something rated nag running in the breeders cup imagine it won

Go Native wrote: »
    I feel sorry for the Hughes stable for having the idea that London Bridge could be in anyway competitive in this race. Absolutely no chance whatsoever.

Great place lay.

As much as i'd like to see the horse do well I think
    you are spot on
    can't have it, awful price

you are spot on

I like the trainer and to be honest I feel for the horses safety in this type of race. He is so so soooooooooo out of his depth it's beyond belief.

But hey, I'll gladly take advantage of their poor decision and place lay him all day long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Egg on face in here.

Nuts102 wrote: »
    Looking at London Bridge in the 8.45. Small trainer Jo Hughes sending over this horse. He is American bred and his father won the Breeders Cup Classic and he will stay the trip looks decent value at 8's.
    Well done nuts!!!

Don't think I've ever seen a more confident selection go so pear shaped. Imagine what a 110 rated handicapper would have done

Oh dear. He stayed on well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭MyStubbleItches

A shoe change made the difference according to the jock. Some shoes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,224 ✭✭✭jimjamcos

Fair play to them...they showed balls!! Connections are clearly much shrewder than many gave them credit for. Soll to win it next year!! :D

seoirsem wrote: »
    Well done nuts!!!

Cheers i just had a small punt it really was an awful race. Also have him in doubles and trebles with Vorda and Giovanni Baldnini so can sit back and have a nice sweat for the night.

you are spot on

:o:o:o:o:o:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,702 ✭✭✭tryfix

kksaints wrote: »
    Oh dear. He stayed on well.
    That's exactly what won it for him, what a nuts race it was when he a practically sprint bred 2.47 DI horse was the stoutest bred horse ( checked most of the others out and they were 3.00 plus on the DI ) in a marathon race.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭SRFC

epic_fail_social%20media%20marketing.jpg

Go Native the resident expert shown himself up to be full of knowledge,I lay a heavy odds on shot and I get stick and these boys giving 8/1 shots no hope and they win :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,908 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

I fancy Bashart in this one

bobbys kitten a good thing surely?

outstrip surely can't win this imo (lump on lads)

lmao

just as well I don't lay

Not laughing at you, but wow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,908 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

What is it with MIke SMith coming from way off the pace to win,
    I mean wtf

You would have to think the first three of those are nice colts. Bobby's Kitten was very hard to pass and I feel a bit for Giovani ran very well, but what a turn of foot by the winner

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭SRFC

Oh my god :eek: You lads are in flying form tonight MAGPIE'S.