Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is this too good to be true?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

Why would it be too good?
    Can't see anything extraordinary about this ad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,598 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

I read somewhere the batteries have a life of 8 years. They are very expensive to replace...

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Mister Man

I see no reason to think it's "too good to be true" - I've seen a few go for around that price.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 890 ✭✭✭dh0011

Thanks lads - reason I ask is most others I have seen on the web are about a grand more. How long do the batteries last?

Not Your Ornery Onager

Hello? About 8 years, but I may have been wrong, so google it.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Esel wrote: »
    Hello? About 8 years, but I may have been wrong, so google it.

I think its a case of designed to last 8 years but in practice they seem to be going a lot longer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,953 ✭✭✭Bigus

ba_barabus wrote: »
    I think its a case of designed to last 8 years but in practice they seem to be going a lot longer.

No , they are GUARANTEED for 8 years , Toyota designed and deliberately under utilised under-stressed the batteries to last the life of the car .

Worldwide they haven't been giving problems , even less so in temperate climates.

Compared to diesels these cars give no problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,012 ✭✭✭serious3

only problem i see is that its a prius

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

Sounds like a lot for a 9 year old 1.4 litre car. Seem unusual is it the fact that it is a hybrid or that it is a toyota that help it hold it's value versus other 1.4L cars of it's age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,544 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

The battery warranty was 8 years, on that basis you shouldn't buy anything that's out of warranty?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

colm_mcm wrote: »
    The battery warranty was 8 years, on that basis you shouldn't buy anything that's out of warranty?

I think its just fear of the unknown. I've never heard of anyone, including Dublin taxi drivers, having a battery issue from age or mileage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,468 ✭✭✭ofcork

I assume going by the dealer name that no warranty is given.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

struggling to see the "good" bit I must admit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,953 ✭✭✭Bigus

Sounds like a lot for a 9 year old 1.4 litre car. Seem unusual is it the fact that it is a hybrid or that it is a toyota that help it hold it's value versus other 1.4L cars of it's age.

It's a 1.5 ltr car with the power of a 2.0, it's also automatic , ultra reliable gives an easy 55mpg all day every day, is quite large inside and sought after in certain educated circles , these have been climbing steadily in price both here and the uk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭Seweryn

Bigus wrote: »
    It's a 1.5 ltr car with the power of a 2.0, it's also automatic , ultra reliable gives an easy 55mpg all day every day, is quite large inside and sought after in certain educated circles , these have been climbing steadily in price both here and the uk.
    It also is an old car for a hybrid with a potential €3k bill just for the battery, if it wasn't replaced from new yet.

Seweryn wrote: »
    It also is an old car for a hybrid with a potential €3k bill just for the battery, if it wasn't replaced from new yet.

Any idea what percentage of Priuss that age have needed new batteries?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,252 ✭✭✭mgbgt1978

There are a lot of Prius taxi's all over the world.
    Many have racked up huge mileage without any major faults (including Batteries).
    However in some of the hotter Countries, Greece for example, there have been reports of Battery failure around the 80k mark.
    It appears that they don't like the heat, but in more temperate climates there have been very few Battery issues.

Google 'Vancouver Prius Taxi' to get an idea of what sort of mileage can be achieved.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Any idea what percentage of Priuss that age have needed new batteries?
    No idea, just speaking of my friends experience, as his wife's Prius gave up because of the battery failure (it was about 3 years ago). The problem is that the car can't be driven on petrol engine only, and when the battery goes, it must be replaced.
    The new battery from the dealer comes with 6 months warranty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

highly unlikely, far far less likely than a large bill from a diesel, that's for sure

how many miles can a driver really squeeze out of a hybrid battery? The answer seems to be that we don’t know yet. Even with the first round of hybrids reaching their tenth birthday, those big batteries are still hanging in there. Gary Smith, Toyota’s National Service Technology Manager, says that the battery failure rate for a first-generation Prius is around 1 percent, but that the second-generation is down to less than one bad battery in 40,000, a stat he calls “fractional and insignificant.”

But early fears about exhausted hybrid batteries have persisted despite the track record. “I remember when the 2004 Prius came out, there were many articles stating that buyers would be facing $10,000 costs to replace their [traction] battery,” says Cooper. “Here we are four years later with a .003 percent failure rate and the ability to buy used batteries on eBay starting at $500. It sounds to me like buying a hybrid isn't quite the gamble that people once thought it was.”

BMJD wrote: »

highly unlikely, far far less likely than a large bill from a diesel, that's for sure

Just happened to my friend, no matter how unlikely it is to happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,035 ✭✭✭Soarer

Odds of it having to be replaced from new are tiny.
    No idea, just speaking of my friends experience, as his wife's Prius gave up because of the battery failure (it was about 3 years ago). The problem is that the car can't be driven on petrol engine only, and when the battery goes, it must be replaced.
    The new battery from the dealer comes with 6 months warranty.

Is their car 1st/2nd gen? Mileage? Regularly serviced?

Your friend is obviously unlucky. We've ours for 5 years and 50k miles. Bought it when it was 3 years old with 80k on the clock. With the exception of 4 tyres, 4 oil changes and petrol, we've not put a penny into the car. Haven't even changed a bulb! Don't think we're an exceptional case either.

As for the car in the opening post, that car was advertised privately for a while on DoneDeal for €3995. Was sold (dunno for how much) but showed up a few days later for nearly €5k. Has dropped back down again now.

I'm currently looking for a second one, and the best value I can see at the minute is this 2007 one. If it checks out, it's seriously tempting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭maceocc2

Bigus wrote: »

Not sure where you're getting that from....It has 71BHP and 115NM torgue, a 2 litre of the same age would have over double the power at least.

On the reliability, I agree, but there has been a LOT of news coverage of crazy happenings over stuck accelerator pedals, this will always negatively impact price.

Honestly I never seen the plus of a Prius. I get far more performance from a 1.6 Turbo diesel with the same or better fuel consumption, I mean 55MPG is average on my TDI at the moment.

Soarer wrote: »
    Your friend is obviously unlucky.
    He probably is, but if the statistics are right, there should be no other battery failure in a Prius in this country for another decade or so :).
    I believe his was the first generation car, don't know other details and I wasn't asking or interested much in it.

No doubt it is a rather reliable car for its complexity, but most of Japanese yokes are like that.

maceocc2 wrote: »
    Not sure where you're getting that from....It has 71BHP and 115NM torgue, a 2 litre of the same age would have over double the power at least.

The 1.5 has 76bhp and the electric motor has 67bhp, combined they produce 110bhp. More 1.8 territory than 2.0 (Gen III Prius is in 2.0 territory)

by most accounts, battery failures are as a result of accident damage or poor maintenance i.e. the battery isn't to blame

edit: if it was a Gen 1 Prius they were fairly crap anyway :D

On the reliability, I agree, but there has been a LOT of news coverage of crazy happenings over stuck accelerator pedals, this will always negatively impact price.

Honestly I never seen the plus of a Prius. I get far more performance from a 1.6 Turbo diesel with the same or better fuel consumption, I mean 55MPG is average on my TDI at the moment.

There wasn't a LOT of news. There was a couple of stories and Toyota did a mass recall to sort the issue. So if anything they're safer now than ever.

As for your tdi, it's different strokes for different folks. Don't think your yoke would happily do 5k a year in short town runs.

He probably is, but if the statistics are right, there should be no other battery failure in a Prius in this country for another decade or so :).
    I believe his was the first generation car, don't know other details and I wasn't asking or interested much in it.

No doubt it is a rather reliable car for its complexity, but most of Japanese yokes are like that.

I literally wouldn't have a first gen if someone gave it to me. Tech was way too new back then.
    Second gen is a different animal altogether. Love our one.

Which 1.6 turbo diesel is it? Have you ever driven a Prius? The only 1.6 turbo diesel that I can think of with better performance is the new Honda Civic one.

The 1.5 has 76bhp and the electric motor has 67bhp, combined they produce 110bhp. More 1.8 territory than 2.0 (Gen II Prius is in 2.0 territory)

I'm interested in this now, I always understood that hybrid cars use one or the other motor, I didn't think that they used both in combination to produce a combined BHP. Does the car actually just both at the same time?
    Which 1.6 turbo diesel is it? Have you ever driven a Prius? The only 1.6 turbo diesel that I can think of with better performance is the new Honda Civic one.

Passat TDI (New Model), stock is 105bhp. I've never driven a Prius, I choose the the Diesel because of high mileage drives and lower perceived maintenance costs. I service my own car at a cost of €100 on average.

I'm interested in this now, I always understood that hybrid cars use one or the other motor, I didn't think that they used both in combination to produce a combined BHP. Does the car actually just both at the same time?
    It can use one or the other or both at the same time, depending on several things such as driving conditions (uphill/dowhill, etc), how much juice in the battery, driving style (how heavy your right foot is...).

Passat TDI (New Model), stock is 105bhp. I've never driven a Prius, I choose the the Diesel because of high mileage drives and lower perceived maintenance costs. I service my own car at a cost of €100 on average.

Not to be patronising but making a statement like this:

is a little ignorant. On paper anyway, the Prius is faster and more fuel-efficient.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 890 ✭✭✭dh0011

Thanks for all your replies lads. I couldnt sleep the other night and got notions about looking at prius's. This one seemed good value but the potential of a battery failing making the car an economic writeoff has the idea gone out of my head.

The batteries are modules anyway so its unlikely you'd need to replace the whole lot.
    A 'new' Diesel engine, or turbo, or injectors will cost massive money and most manufacturers only give 3 year warranty from new.

On paper anyway, the Prius is faster and more fuel-efficient.

I wouldn't have called it ignorant. I think all things considered they are actually very comparable cars. I don't the Prius is faster though, top speed on the Passat is 195kmh, and gets to 100kmh a couple of seconds faster as well.

In my use case the economy is very comparable with that of the Prius, considering the price difference in Fuel, and low service cost.

dh0011 wrote: »
    Thanks for all your replies lads. I couldnt sleep the other night and got notions about looking at prius's. This one seemed good value but the potential of a battery failing making the car an economic writeoff has the idea gone out of my head.

Foolish decision tbh.

I gave you my first hand experience of my 5 years trouble free ownership of a generation 2 Prius (the same one you were asking about) and someone gives a secondhand account of their friend's generation 1 Prius and you go running?

Don't make no sense to me.

Foolish decision tbh.

I gave you my first hand experience of my 5 years trouble free ownership of a generation 2 Prius (the same one you were asking about) and someone gives a secondhand account of their friend's generation 1 Prius and you go running?

Don't make no sense to me.
    Doesn't make sense to me either. In fairness, I was never a big fan of the Prius, but would like to try to live with one for some time to make up my own mind and if it is as reliable as some people say, why not to buy one?

I wouldn't have called it ignorant. I think all things considered they are actually very comparable cars. I don't the Prius is faster though, top speed on the Passat is 195kmh, and gets to 100kmh a couple of seconds faster as well.

In my use case the economy is very comparable with that of the Prius, considering the price difference in Fuel, and low service cost.

Passat Bluemotion 1.6tdi 2011 on:

0-60 mph 11.8 secs
    Top Speed 121 mph
    MPG 65 mpg

Prius 2004-2009:

0-60 mph 10.6 secs
    Top Speed 106 mph
    MPG 65 mpg

Prius 2009 on:

0-60 mph 10.1 secs
    Top Speed 112 mph
    MPG 72 mpg

Doesn't make sense to me either. In fairness, I was never a big fan of the Prius, but would like to try to live with one for some time to make up my own mind and if it is as reliable as some people say, why not to buy one?

People are scared of the unknown.

I remember I was a bag of nerves when I was flying to the uk for our one. Had never sat in one, let alone driven one. Only decided on it because of the rebate on vrt for hybrids.
    I was hooked after the test drive though, and as soon as finances allow, I'll be buying another one.

Only decided on it because of the rebate on vrt for hybrids.
    Is that rebate still there to avail?
    I was hooked after the test drive though, and as soon as finances allow, I'll be buying another one.
    How is it to drive as in comparison to similar cars?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭mitosis

. On paper anyway, the Prius is faster and more fuel-efficient.

In fairness, cars are not driven on paper.

Is that rebate still there to avail?

Not sure, but I think there's definitely a reduced vrt rate on them. Go onto autotrader.co.uk and pick a 1 year old Prius. Enter it's details into the vrt calculator. Then pick a similar priced "normal" car and do the same. There'll be a good few grand in the difference I'd wager.

How is it to drive as in comparison to similar cars?

Piece of piss. It's the easiest car I've ever driven. Has a CVT gearbox which is basically like one big gear...kinda like a moped. So it never changes gear as such. A lot smoother than a regular auto.
    It's obviously not a sporty drive, but there's plenty of poke when needed.

Max VRT amounts

Maximum amount which may be remitted or repaid depending on the age of the vehicle
    Age of hybrid electric or flexible fuel vehicle Maximum amount which may
    be remitted or repaid
    New vehicle, first registration €1,500
    Not a new vehicle but less than 2 years €1,350
    2 years or over but less than 3 years €1,200
    3 years or over but less than 4 years €1,050
    4 years or over but less than 5 years €900
    5 years or over but less than 6 years €750
    6 years or over but less than 7 years €600
    7 years or over but less than 8 years €450
    8 years or over but less than 9 years €300
    9 years or over but less than 10 years €150
    10 years or over Nil

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭George Dalton

I remember I was a bag of nerves when I was flying to the uk for our one. Had never sat in one, let alone driven one. Only decided on it because of the rebate on vrt for hybrids.

This sums it up for me. Pretty much the only person who will buy a Prius is someone whose primary concern is running costs. From that point of view they are hard to beat.

Thankfully such people are in the minority on this forum or it would be a very boring place :pac:

In my opinion apart from the maths element the Prius has absolutely nothing going for it. Admittedly I have no experience of the Mk3 but to say it would need to be a quantum leap from the Mk2 to even hold my interest for a short time let alone make me consider owning one would be an understatement.

This sums it up for me. Pretty much the only person who will buy a Prius is someone whose primary concern is running costs. From that point of view they are hard to beat.

Thankfully such people are in the minority on this forum or it would be a very boring place :pac:

In my opinion apart from the maths element the Prius has absolutely nothing going for it. Admittedly I have no experience of the Mk3 but to say it would need to be a quantum leap from the Mk2 to even hold my interest for a short time let alone make me consider owning one would be an understatement.

I got MK3 prius once for a week as rental car, and I loved it.
    It was comfortable, nice to drive and had some power.
    I loved the fact that when flooring the gas pedal, revs were jumping up straight away and car kept accelerating uninterrupted.

That's why I considered prius when I was buying car this year. I was actually just about to buy one, but in the last moment changed mind and got 2.2 i-CTDI Civic.

Prius has got 1 combustion engine and 2 electric motors.
    They all run at the same time. Electric motors can act as electric motors or electric charges depending on circumstancs.

The need for 2 electric motors comes from the fact, that prius doesn't have a gearbox, but only planetary transmission, which joins 3 shafts all together. So one of the electric motors is used to produce contra-torque so other two (electric motor and combustion engine) can work together.

CiniO wrote: »
    That's why I considered prius when I was buying car this year. I was actually just about to buy one, but in the last moment changed mind and got 2.2 i-CTDI Civic.

To be fair as I said in my previous post I can't comment on driving experience in this case as I haven't driven a Mk3 Prius. However In my opinion the Civic looks much better than the Prius and has a far nicer interior. Taking running costs out of the equation I can't see any reason for going for a Prius over a Civic or any other similar car.

So again IMO the only reason for choosing a Prius comes down to numbers.

However, as I posted previously, thankfully most people don't make their choice based on facts and figures. If everyone's choice of car came down to numbers then for example Alfa Romeo would have gone out of business long ago :D

For the record, my own main criteria for choosing a car is simply whether I like it or not. Nothing more tangible than that!

The primary reason 99% of people buy a car is numbers. Could be power, economy, or whatever. There's a reason why most cars being sold today are diesels.

Not really true in my opinion. The diesel argument is valid. But the individual car choice (Golf, Focus, Civic, Auris or whatever) comes down to something less tangible. People buy cars because they like them. They then convince themselves that the numbers make sense.

What options do people have for an ultra reliable, highly economical petrol automatic?

The reason that people choose between Civics, Astras, etc. is because the options are there. I bet if there were the equivalent options in hybrids, not everyone would chose a Prius.

In my opinion, diesel is the overriding factor in people's choice.. If it wasn't, they'd be buying petrol Civics, etc..

What options do people have for an ultra reliable, highly economical petrol automatic?

There is no alternative to the Prius for someone who wants the cheapest, most reliable form of transport, in other words someone who is choosing their car purely on the cheapest numbers. However most people don't want (or buy) a Prius which means that there must be other factors at play other than numbers when people choose their cars.
    The reason that people choose between Civics, Astras, etc. is because the options are there. I bet if there were the equivalent options in hybrids, not everyone would chose a Prius.

I agree. I didn't say I don't like hybrids. I just don't like the Prius. My dislike of the Prius has very little to do with the fact that it is a hybrid car. I don't like the way they look. I think the interior is terrible. Both of those factors make it a non-runner for me without taking any other factors into account. I'd say a lot of people feel the same as I do. Given more choice in the market from different manufacturers I have no doubt that many more people would choose a hybrid car over a diesel.

Not Your Ornery Onager

ba_barabus wrote: »
    I think its just fear of the unknown. I've never heard of anyone, including Dublin taxi drivers, having a battery issue from age or mileage.
    There was a thread here a few years ago from some guy who imported a Priapus from Japan only to find the batteries were fubared. Cue mega-€€€ bill.

Not your ornery onager