Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Yous / Ye / Yizzers

• 27-10-2013 4:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭

We need a plural for ''You'', but what should it be?

You (pl) 198 votes

Yous
    0%
    Ye
    28%
    A Dub in GlasgoDravokivichdanniemcqeddyc[Deleted User]JuliusCaesarDufffatknackeranniehooIM0earlyeveningSir GallagherL1m1tlessdegausserxoHalloweenJackMingetoad[Deleted User]Twilightningbreadandjamawec 57 votes
    Yizzers
    68%
    VictorSeanehSpearSeanWSamhainLilMrsDahamstachubba1984Mars Bar[Deleted User]kellxor.1337[Deleted User]GarHfitzgeseJoseJonesspiritcrusherInsect OverlordshockwaveXivilaismcgiffsidneykidney 135 votes
    Something else (clarify)
    3%
    tony 2 tonezegasugarmanSEPT 23 1989SigourneySlipperyPeople 6 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

You.

Plural is the same as the singular.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

Yizzall!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭aaabbbb

You all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Anything but yizzers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

All of you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

sibh :)

I say 'ye' because I'm from the West. Elsewhere it's yous or yis.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

You.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

All a yis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭greedygoblin

Yizzers
    Youghal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Every last motherfcuking one of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭fatknacker

Ye
    For got to add 'y'awwwll' (lol)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭Surveyor11

I still use ye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭Mahogany Gaspipe

kneemos wrote: »
    Every last motherfcuking one of you.

Foulmouthed and grammatically correct. Why wouldn't you hand over your wallet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 sparesandwich

i use them all, it depends on how fruity I'm feeling.

Surveyor11 wrote: »
    I still use ye

you yous ye?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Miss Lockhart

Yizzers
    Almost everyone I know says ye. My students say yizzers though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

Ye
    Youghal

I was thinking more yawn tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

Errrrbody

as in

Errrrbody in the club get sexy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭poundapunnet

Yizzers
    Mint Sauce wrote: »
    You.

Yes but it's confusing and unusual (see: French, Spanish, Irish, Italian, I assume German).

"Ye" works well but it doesn't really travel. Americans seem to just say "You two/you guys" but the effort of that extra word like, blech

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

Ye
    yous, although maybe its a Donegal thing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭greedygoblin

Yizzers
    IM0 wrote: »
    I was thinking more yawn tbh

It was only in jest IMO, though it wasn't very good admittedly :(

Youghal's a lovely spot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭BNMC

Ewes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Pronoun plural = you.

How do you propose handling the possessive form. Your singular. Your plural.
    Yeor, yezzersis?

BNMC wrote: »
    Ewes.

where I'm from, we pronounce 'ewes' as 'yose'. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭Bog Standard User

ewe???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,063 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Ye
    Youse. All along the border.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Ye
    Yizzall!

This and yous and yiz.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭smcgiff

Yizzers
    Youse. All along the border.

Youse is special

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,576 ✭✭✭Skill Magill

Its yizzer not yizzers
    Its already plural
    Re-pole!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 166 ✭✭Dynamo Roller

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

All y'all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Lucena

Yizzers
    Yes but it's confusing and unusual (see: French, Spanish, Irish, Italian, I assume German).

"Ye" works well but it doesn't really travel. Americans seem to just say "You two/you guys" but the effort of that extra word like, blech

French is a little better than English. You say 'tu' to one person, 'vous' to several.

However, the problem is when you address one person that you don't know very well, is a lot older or is higher up the pecking order than you, you have to say 'vous' to them. :(

German is similar to French, there's 'du' for one person and 'ihr' for several. Unfortunately the polite form for adressing one person is 'Sie' which sounds exactly the same as 'sie', meaning they.

Irish is probably your best bet.

Otherwise in English, I use 'ye' as the plural, and 'yeer' as the possessive plural e.g. "Will ye get yeer feckin' car outta my drive".

Lucena wrote: »

German is similar to French, there's 'du' for one person and 'ihr' for several. Unfortunately the polite form for adressing one person is 'Sie' which sounds exactly the same as 'sie', meaning they.

Otherwise in English, I use 'ye' as the plural, and 'yeer' as the possessive plural e.g. "Will ye get yeer feckin' car outta my drive".

'sie' also means 'she' in German, and similarly, 'lei' or 'she' in Italian is also used as the polite form of you.

ye, yeer, yeerselves, are never ever formal here though. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,879 ✭✭✭signostic

thous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

Yizzers
    Ye.

Anything else sounds/feels wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭fatknacker

Ye
    Mint Sauce wrote: »
    You.

It is, yes. So hence the thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,499 ✭✭✭✭Alun

"You". Not confusing at all if you take the context into account.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,974 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Yizzers
    I remember hearing yizzer for the first time when I moved to Dublin. "Get yizzer bags and come back to me" was the phrase IIRC. I also remember hearing "yizzerselves". WTF like?!

It is a complete abomination of a word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,885 ✭✭✭JuliusCaesar

Ye
    Mars Bar wrote: »
    I remember hearing yizzer for the first time when I moved to Dublin. "Get yizzer bags and come back to me" was the phrase IIRC. I also remember hearing "yizzerselves". WTF like?!

It is a complete abomination of a word.

I've never heard that, and I'm a Dub.

I'm in favour of 'Yous'. Just add an 's' like most other plurals. Easy for foreigners too :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

fatknacker wrote: »
    For got to add 'y'awwwll' (lol)
    You mean ''all y'all''.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 595 ✭✭✭ElvisChrist6

Ye
    I've never heard that, and I'm a Dub.

I'm in favour of 'Yous'. Just add an 's' like most other plurals. Easy for foreigners too :D

It's pretty common where I'm from in Dublin

• Administrators Posts: 54,424 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Ye
    "Ye" = one person, except if you're from the country where for some weird reason "ye" transforms to plural. Sounds completely wrong to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Miss Lockhart

Yizzers
    awec wrote: »
    "Ye" = one person, except if you're from the country where for some weird reason "ye" transforms to plural. Sounds completely wrong to me.

I'm from Dublin and everyone round here uses ye as plural.

• Administrators Posts: 54,424 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Ye

"Yous" or "yous'uns" here (though I'm obviously not from Dublin).

"Ye" seems to be pronounced "yeeeeee" too (I can barely pronounce it mid sentence if I am honest), rather than "yes" without the s.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭Sigourney

Something else (clarify)
    'Yiz'd want to watch yizzer handbags on this bus.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,063 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Ye
    Sigourney wrote: »
    'Yiz'd want to watch yizzer handbags on this bus.'

Dundalk?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Whaaaa? I thought it was 100% yous/yiz in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,168 ✭✭✭SeanW

Yizzers
    Ye, FTW!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 755 ✭✭✭Vita nova

Yizzers
    awec wrote: »

No.
    Up north, ye tends to be used in the singular (often in a religious context) but I've also heard it used in the plural. Down south, it's almost exclusively used in the plural.
    In Early Modern English, ye functioned as both an informal plural and formal singular second-person nominative pronoun. "Ye" is still commonly used as an informal plural in Hiberno‐English. [link]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭KevinK

Yizzers
    I am from the west of Ireland and always used ye for the plural of you. It was only at the age of 21 and living in the UK that I realized this was not a widely used English term.

Everybody at home uses "ye" and I am pretty sure we even learned it in school. However everybody in my family seemed to realize it was slang and not correct use of English. I had absolutely no idea, despite living in Dublin for 3 years and being of reasonable intelligence.

To be honest the loss of the word kind of shocked me, I still use it at home but it bothers me to write a text message or e-mail, inviting people somewhere and have to clarify that the recipient doesn't have to come alone, as that is what "Can you come?", means to me.

Now I read this thread and realize that my ignorance was greater than I thought, for the first time I am learning that ye is a term confined to the west of Ireland and not a national thing. Wow. We had a kid from Dublin in our class for a year around age 8, he said yous, we just thought he was an idiot..