Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

1st nov

• 27-10-2013 3:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭

Ill not be long now
    ( said the monkey as he cut off his tail )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭snipe02

Oh I was waiting to see who was goina crack ,,,,,, im dreaming about it already ,,,, 5 more sleeps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭johnny3

I'd say every gun in the country has been taken out and cleaned dogs walked all the scouting done few lies and excuses made up shur isn't that what is all about ðŸ˜ðŸ˜ðŸ˜ðŸ˜ðŸ˜

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭mike91

Day booked off guns clean. Waiting game now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

Went for a ramble today with the dog, he is working well, me thinks I need to find a treadmill. Im fooked

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭charlie10

met 12 cocks friday and myself and brazzil saw 3 break out of one ditch today and 4 came of trees on our way back from flighting my repeater is ready dog has his suit of armour ready just need to get shells now and im ready .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

Went for a walk yesterday with the 3 dogs one by one. Brought off the 2 springer gets pups meeting a few cocks & doing okay. Need to start dropping birds for them badly. Could of still had 5 in the bag I wreckon between em in about 1.5 hours overall. Went back then & felt sorry for the pointer so took him out.
    Walked 40 mins met 5 cocks, would of shot 5 more cocks. Doubted him 3 times thinking it was rabbits (due to where I was)
    Bird 1- he is 200 meters in front of me fresh as a daisy & points 42 meters from a wooded valley. I catch up & leave him on. Goes down into the wood where a springer would do well & stops again. I am up looking down & he is at least 20 meters into it. Click & on he goes - flaking cock shoots straight up into a clearing & out over the trees. A great shot setting. Doubt # 1.

Bird 2- walking into the wind he is ahead of me over & back in front of a ditch. On his back legs at times winding into it. Again I catch up & he moves up the ditch & through it out he goes into the field of nice lush grass & points. The grass is not 6inches high & the ditch full of rabbit warrens so I'm thinking it is either a young grazer or where one was sitting out. Click - up gets another beauty. Doubt #2.

Bird 3 - circling back to a home & need to get out a gap beside a wood. Again a few rabbits on this & not too far from the last spot. Over & back he goes. Up on the back legs with the head doing mini circles. Sheep wire fence in front of him so he can't get through. Runs the ditch & scales a fallen tree - runs along & drops off the other end into this wood dropping about 3 meters. Heart in mouth wincing a week before the season!! Anyway works back towards me & freeze in the exact spot he flushed a rabbit from last week. All the time I'm in the field watching. Click - funny looking kinda bald pheasant flies at me & up & out. Didn't look young or pen reared in that he was in good order. Doubt # 3.

So I decide to continue home which just happens to be in the direction the 2nd 1 went. As we hop a ditch I see a cock running down the track few hundred meters ahead. Dog is tipping away & I think right so wise guy pick up this bird. Off he goes & disappears around a bend. I catch up & he's waiting before heading into the scrub at the side of the track. Snakes his way through it & freezes. Click - up he gets again. Dog looks at me as if to say WTF is wrong with you & sits there waiting for me to cross this drain & tips up home staying close as if to say this is not the real deal so not killing myself.

Got home & says to the boss indoors - I'm breeding that dog in the next 2 years because I'll never get one like him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭beretta686s

cant wait, is it friday yet is it friday yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭shotie

cant wait all the hard work rearing poults during the summer months will soon pay off i hope. havnt met many wild birds while out but have spoted plenty the ones i reared during the summer .

4 more sleeps

snipe02 wrote: »
    4 more sleeps

3 because wont be sleeping much Thursday me thinks... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 Irish Lurcher

Went for a gander this morning, few birds about and the springer was on the ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭Snakezilla

Ive been watching 2 grand cocks down the road from me and Im half tempted to do that one thing I never said Id ever do.... arrive at the gate at 7am and wait in the car until its bright enough to shoot. Just so no other f*cker can go in and get them. Cant wait though, its worth it for the craic between the lads even if nothing is shot !

Park your car at the gate the night before so everyone thinks your in there then ya can stay in bed and relax plenty foot prints left around heading into the field ,,, its been rumoured some lads up here carry a sanctuary sign around with them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Tawny Owl

Can't wait put out just under 400 birds this year was checking the areas and in one field I counted 20 odd birds I hope Thursday bangers don't have an effect on the first day of Novembers shooting. And also caught another Mink in the trap today so pleased with that, roll on Friday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 584 ✭✭✭Mauser 308

Guns clean, amo ready, and dogs fairly fit. Looking forward to it now.:rolleyes:

Would love a mornings frost, but does not look lightly. But hopefully it will stay dry for the day.

Best of luck to everyone, be safe and enjoy.

3 more sleeps

just collected 250 shells an assortment of 30gr 6s 7s and 9s also 34 gr extreme range 5s for a few sneaky duck tommorow that i think im going to go for! then clean the gun and dream about friday! i some times have a chat with the gun before the big occasion ! sounds wierd but i recommend it .just dont leave herself hear u ;)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RedV7vhVKHY

watch from 37 secs on ha ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭Padd2

Just got my cartridges today :):) duck tomorrow and then phesant time Friday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 584 ✭✭✭Mauser 308

Whats ur favourite catridge for the Pheasants?
    I always found the Eley Alphamax 6's great, but got a box of the 36g super game 6's to give them a try.
    A mate also threw me in some B&P which I hear good things about so will be spoilt for choice.

Just hope I can do my bit, and not have to blame the amo:D:D

Mauser 308 wrote: »
    Whats ur favourite catridge for the Pheasants?
    I always found the Eley Alphamax 6's great, but got a box of the 36g super game 6's to give them a try.
    A mate also threw me in some B&P which I hear good things about so will be spoilt for choice.

Just hope I can do my bit, and not have to blame the amo:D:D

Mine are super game 6s ;)
    Got some nsi this year I use them for duck found them grand so I am gonna give them ago in 6 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭Jimy1971

Padd2 wrote: »
    Just got my cartridges today :):) duck tomorrow and then phesant time Friday

Did you get your Gamebore lad?

Jimy1971 wrote: »
    Did you get your Gamebore lad?

No lad I'm not that lucky got some nsi and rc sipes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭Jimy1971

Was out for a stroll this evening and met about 9 cocks, 1 absolute beaut. He came roaring out of a wood just above the trees,across the road where I was standing ( with my mouth open) and landed in some cover. If a bird came out like that to you on a driven shoot, it'd be worth every cent. Had the 9 month old lab out with the springer and she's hunting grand. Roll on Friday. 2 more sleeps

i always use flocchie 7s find them great in the gun . i had to go out of my way this year to buy a few boxs local shop dosent sell them any more oh well not long now.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭berettaman

Looking Forward to 1st Nov. Big time. BP 6's is my shout for a shell....

Today I saw a lad hunting the ground that we are going to hunt tomorrow. Hunted it for 1 and 1/2 hours with 3 springers. Said he would be hunting in ####### (20 miles away tomorrow.) He wanted to give the dogs a run. He knows that this ground will be hunted by the local gun club. He is not a member of any club, contributes zero in terms of pheasant release, vermin etc...

Yes, he says he has permission from the land owner.

Is it just me or is this ignorant in the extreme??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭Alpha Dog 1

Here's hoping the weather holds up...

W4nker grade a no super grade ,,, uf he deliberately went awayfrom his own area as to have handy birds for tomorrow doesnt say much for him or his 3 dogs why would ya be running 3 dogs together anyway,,,,,,,

Ooooone more sleeeeeeeep oooh cant wait

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭berettaman

W4nker grade a no super grade ,,, uf he deliberately went awayfrom his own area as to have handy birds for tomorrow doesnt say much for him or his 3 dogs why would ya be running 3 dogs together anyway,,,,,,,

Ooooone more sleeeeeeeep oooh cant wait

LOL Super grade.:D

We have this every year. I don't think it is sportsmanlike. Very hard to stop it..

Regarding the 1st. How do the dogs know? My fella is just mad to get going..doing laps of the house at this stage...

1 more sleep!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭cubbyleader

Anyone else reckon this is the slowest days of the year ??

ya its slow alright ha ha :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Tawny Owl

Anyone else reckon this is the slowest days of the year ??

Not for me I just brought down a drum to the local, for a ticket draw to be held tomorrow evening at 6pm, also checking names as to who is entering the Competition Longest Tail / biggest Spur / or heavest Bird.so just back Gun cleaned gear ready / Dog just got a speaking too hope she does well / sent out a text to all Gun members to ensure all tickets are returned for the draw.

First / Second / Third prizes all boxed off in envelope's yes lads cheque prize money.

Just want to wish everyone a great day weather forecast not great so enjoy and stay safe;)

The thing is as clean as a whistle .. It's starting to drag now :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 Fetch There

have a safe and enjoyable day everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭mixerbarcoe

Nice quote for everyone heading out tomorrow

"Lord let me shoot clean, kill clean, and if I can't kill clean, please lord let me miss clean"

Go asleep ta fcuk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭mixerbarcoe

Go asleep ta fcuk

To much excitement going threw the veins to do that haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,558 ✭✭✭wexfordman2

To much excitement going threw the veins to do that haha

Feckin woke early, heading out in an hour, good luck everyone safe shooting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭audioslave

I was working until 9 am this morning, but I had everything ready to go the second I got home. Could only get out for 2-3 hours, didn't even get a chance of a shot but what a beautiful morning, and even though I didn't get a shot it was great to be out and hearing shots in the distance. Hope you all had an enjoyable day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭Alpha Dog 1

Just in the door now for a spot to eat. Delighted the weather held off and it was a lovely morning. Had a few pot shots from distance but no luck so far.

Poor pointer was in retirement mode from 12 on, had been very good until then.

Came across a good few hens which was good to see. Not as many shots in the distance than I was expecting and the word is that it's likely to be a poor season.
    Heading out again in a half hour, hopefully we can have a little more luck.

just in for lunch .. beat field headlands cut a big cock rose .................bit of coarse i missed seen as im s***e haha back out now after lunch for an hour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,516 ✭✭✭E@gle.

Ended up with shooting my only cock of the day after 10 mins this morning.

I missed 4 cocks, with the only fault was the lad pulling the trigger (me). Starting to worry me how bad I was today!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭sonofthegun

2013-11-01134638_zps190e33dc.jpg

i love the first great weather good days sport
    SOTG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭mike91

Got no pheasant :( tomorrow is another day got 4 snipe tho one of the boys with us got 3 cocks and a rabbit good day like but can't help feeling a little bit disappointed but look whole weekend ahead

Lef this guy off for another day. Still from the video below. Couldn't bring myself to shoot him this early in the season & in the circumstances.

Capturewpheasant_zps35732b8d.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭blackwater doc

Ended up with six and thought the scent off the birds is poor Jesus it got warm today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭huntsman77

Got 3 cocks. dogs worked great so happiest bout that overall thought one of poorest years for number of birds and quality . weather was big great was afraid of wet day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭nowwerehurlin

Couldn't get out til one o clock today but by god I made the most of it! Met 9 cocks and 8 hens. Three crackers of birds over three different dogs. Savage days sport. Great day to be a sportsman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭vincentf

got my first pheasant. it was my gwp bitches first pheasant as well. held point and as the bird got up she moved in and i just followed through. bout 20 yards. dog came back with bird in a straight line. she sat in front of me delivering to hand. absolutly chuffed. all the training seems to have paid off.
    in the excitement id forgotten to close the field gate behind me as i proudly marched off and realised id to go back, bout 200 yards. i put the gun and bird down leaning against a telegraph pole and went back to close it. when i closed it the dog tore off on me up to the bird. thought she was going to munch it. she picked it up and sprinted back straight as an arrow and delivered to hand again. lol. we were both buzzin !!! great morning. cant wait to get out again.

great day was had plenty birds around more then i thought shot 2 cocks could of had few more but let alot go as where only young cocks. dog wheres bang on form bursting through cover like it was nothing..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭ROSSKI

What ya make of this ?- a deer that hangs out with the cattle day in day out !
    Its going on the last 6 months -
    not camera shy taken with the mobile phone !