Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

N7 crash

• 24-10-2013 5:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭

apparently it was fatal? :(

Anyone caught up in the traffic madness?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

I drove past it in the opposite direction at about five. Looked messy. Traffic backed up to the canal and going nowhere fast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭Jazzzman

what stretch of the n7 did it take place?

a fatal accident on that road in rush hour is surprising

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 74 ✭✭Aotearoa

n7 is a no go apparently

Jazzzman wrote: »

About 2 miles past the redcow outbound. Not sure of the name of the stretch as not familiar with that road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,801 ✭✭✭✭beakerjoe

Could be a cyclist involved.

citywest

its like when it snowed in 2010. traffic aint moving

About 2 miles past the redcow outbound. Not sure of the name of the stretch as not familiar with that road.

I guess around Citywest so.

beakerjoe wrote: »
    Could be a cyclist involved.

Yeah possibly. You don't see many cyclists on that road once the dark evenings come in though.

Aotearoa wrote: »
    its like when it snowed in 2010. traffic aint moving

The road is closed so you could be stuck there a while.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,139 ✭✭✭Red Crow

They would want to seriously sort out this mess fast. I've been sitting here an hour and only moved about 500m.

RIP to anyone that died but the Gardai would seriously want to sort this out. They should be able to relieve this congestion much quicker.

Absolutely useless

Red Crow wrote: »
    They would want to seriously sort out this mess fast. I've been sitting here an hour and only moved about 500m.

RIP to anyone that died but the Gardai would seriously want to sort this out. They should be able to relieve this congestion much quicker.

Absolutely useless

Aye, come on guards, this fella needs to get home for his tea.

I've always found that road dodgy at rush hour. in the morning i could drive in to work at 0500 at a good clip(in excess of the limit). i always found the road much more dangerous when as a collective we have to drive slower. people brake and then an accordion effect takes place of everyone jamming on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 767 ✭✭✭SimonQuinlank

Live beside Newlands X and the traffic is stil crap outbound.

If it's a fatal crash the road will be closed for a good few hours more I'd say for the crash investigators etc.

Thought it was just the road works slowing things down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Absolutely useless

AH still attracting the classy types I see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭The Royal Scam

Absolutely useless

You should demand an apology for your inconvenience from the family of deceased. How dare they.... Jeysus , Your post would go well in the WTF thread you selfish, heartless b*stard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭foxy06

Absolutely useless

Get a grip. Would you be saying that if it was a relative of yours that just lost their life?

I've always found that road dodgy at rush hour. in the morning i could drive in to work at 0500 at a good clip(in excess of the limit). i always found the road much more dangerous when as a collective we have to drive slower. people brake and then an accordion effect takes place of everyone jamming on.

What's dangerous on that road are the terribly placed petrol stations.

Not long ago there was a guy killed at the petrol station at rathcoole, which is on a bend. Think it's an Esso.

As for the Apple Green, it's placed after a small uphill section on the road so once people see it they end up driving dangerously in order to make the exit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Not meaning to soapbox on the back of but I drive that road a lot. Always tons of muppets driving top speed a few feet behind the car in front.

It's a wonder there isn't
    more crashes.

Agree about the petrol station near rathcoole. The slip is too short makes people brake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Absolutely useless

It's not just a case of moving the cars and sweeping the road ffs. Someone died and they need to properly investigate what happened at the scene

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭Red_Dwarf

Im stuck in citywest. RIP to the person who died

anncoates wrote: »
    Not meaning to soapbox on the back of but I drive that road a lot. Always tons of muppets driving top speed a few feet behind the car in front.

It's a wonder there isn't
    more crashes.

the "slow" lane is always more roomy then the right hand lane. irish people just hog the right hand lane

Aye, come on guards, this fella needs to get home for his tea.

:rolleyes: they have no propper redirection plan in place at all.

Apparently it was somebody trying to cross the road. RIP

Absolutely useless

Do you plan a protest at the deceased's funeral?

Someone died, there are loads of gardai and firebrigade at the scene.

Let them do their job properly, identify what happened and perhaps even help prevent it happening again.

RIP to the family of the victim.

Yes they do.

Traffic is being diverted to Tallaght and N4.

Not much you can do with the cars currently stuck on the red cow/citywest stretch.

Southbound side between J2 and J3 could be closed til 11pm tonight according to the Gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

I feel desperately for someones family and friends tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

Traveled that road two or three times recently enough for the All Ireland and dropping herself up to UCD. The rain and so many cars so close together makes visibility poor enough I thought.

RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,566 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

131spanner wrote: »
    Traveled that road two or three times recently enough for the All Ireland and dropping herself up to UCD. The rain and so many cars so close together makes visibility poor enough I thought.

RIP.

No rain this evening. Traffic was mayhem. I passed in the opposite direction and there was a hole in the windscreen of one of the cars, A3 I think. Figured it was pretty serious at that stage.

R.I.P. to the deceased, hopefully reported casualties will be low. That stretch of road from the Red Cow out to and beyond Citywest is a real test on the senses depending on the time of day you drive it. I always breath a little sigh of relief when I get out to the far-side of the Naas exits where the traffic seems to break up a bit and you're no longer at the mercy of someone else's attention span and driving experience.

I can't comment on the exact location of the accident given the details reported, but the particular stretch of road that runs by the paper-printing factory and veers around to the right is a dangerous spot, considering the exit off and entrance on to the N7 just before it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

the "slow" lane is always more roomy then the right hand lane. irish people just hog the right hand lane

It's actually called the driving lane. The other lanes are for overtaking. :)

Hal1 wrote: »
    It's actually called the driving lane. The other lanes are for overtaking. :)

That's why slow is in quotation marks . Maybe I should have wrote slow(sic) .

As in I am acknowledging the fact that calling it the slow lane is wrong. It is an Irish colloquialism

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭Abigayle

Absolutely useless

Stop fücking trolling will ye?

RIP.

stankratz wrote: »
    R.I.P. to the deceased, hopefully reported casualties will be low. That stretch of road from the Red Cow out to and beyond Citywest is a real test on the senses depending on the time of day you drive it. I always breath a little sigh of relief when I get out to the far-side of the Naas exits where the traffic seems to break up a bit and you're no longer at the mercy of someone else's attention span and driving experience.

I can't comment on the exact location of the accident given the details reported, but the particular stretch of road that runs by the paper-printing factory and veers around to the right is a dangerous spot, considering the exit off and entrance on to the N7 just before it.

It's near the Citywest bridge which isn't too bad a stretch,was a pedestrian that died apparently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

I commuted from Tullow to Dublin for 6.5 years and have ranted about the brain-donors who drive that road on a regular basis.

However, reports would indicate that this was a pedestrian fatality. Without getting into any kind of "whose fault was it?" debate, you would want to be absolutely touched to even attempt to cross that road at the surface. It'd be like trying to cross the M50 in rush hour. Six lanes of traffic moving at 100kmh and a closed median.

God love the family involved, and my heart goes out to the driver who actually hit the guy.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Honey-ec wrote: »
    I commuted from Tullow to Dublin for 6.5 years and have ranted about the brain-donors who drive that road on a regular basis.

However, reports would indicate that this was a pedestrian fatality. Without getting into any kind of "whose fault was it?" debate, you would want to be absolutely touched to even attempt to cross that road at the surface. It'd be like trying to cross the M50 in rush hour. Six lanes of traffic moving at 100kmh and a closed median.

God love the family involved, and my heart goes out to the driver who actually hit the guy.

Same here, I commuted for years on that road, still do occasionally.

There are a couple of pedestrian bridges around citywest too, it would be madness to attempt to cross that road.

I've come across the odd dog loose on that road and it causes chaos. If it was dark too, the pedestrian wouldn't have stood a change.

God love the family of the person who died, and the driver as you said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭The Royal Scam

Isn't there a pedestrian path from Browns barn to Lufthansa, it's right next to the road.

The accident happened on the other side of the road

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

What do you think happens at the scene of a fatal/serious collision? A required number of Gardai are sent to the scene to deal with it along with DFB and HSE. Not every guard in Dublin is sent over direct traffic, crime and other incidents don't stop because of an RTC on the naas rd. The last thing they care about is that you're late home for dinner.

You sound like the type of person who's complain about your flight bring delayed because a plane crashed at the airport.

RIP to the person who lost their life.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,351 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

Absolutely useless

Hope you are still stuck there now with that kind of BS thats pouring from your mouth.

A man has been killed crossing the road at Citywest on the N7 in Dublin.
    The pedestrian who is understood to be in his 60s, was taken to Tallaght Hospital but later pronounced dead.
    Gardaí in Rathcoole are investigating the incident and are attempting to identify the victim.
    The N7 is currently closed between Kingswood and Citywest and motorists are reporting long delays in the area.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2013/1024/482525-n7-crash/

The poor driver. They will be scarred for life after that.

As honey-ec said what a stupid thing to try and cross that road.

Road is re-opened now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 507 ✭✭✭murphm45

According to the aa the road has reopened. Hopefully the traffic will ease and people can get home soon.

Just to avoid being called a soulless so and so, RIP to the person who died and my sympathies to their family. Also, i hope the driver and any one else involved are ok (physically and psychologically)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭hollypink

The poor driver. They will be scarred for life after that.

As honey-ec said what a stupid thing to try and cross that road.

Maybe it was someone who was unwell and confused :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

murphm45 wrote: »
    According to the aa the road has reopened. Hopefully the traffic will ease and people can get home soon.

Just to avoid being called a soulless so and so...
    Why would anyone say that to you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,220 ✭✭✭✭Loopy

I was caught in it this evening too.
    It was a 60yr old man that died :(
    Cannot fathom anyone trying to cross the Naas Road in rush hour traffic. I've been in 2 pile ups on that road over the years. Hate it & have drive it daily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 507 ✭✭✭murphm45

Why would anyone say that to you?

because someone died and I'm talking about the road reopening. Even to me typing it it seems a bit 'cold'.

hollypink wrote: »
    Maybe it was someone who was unwell and confused :(

Yep that happened near Mounmellick a few years ago. A poor old man with dementia walked straight out into the road.