Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RSA going too far

• 23-10-2013 5:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭

Random road side checks on commercial vehicles all for safety and everything but isnt paying to maintain and DOE a vehicle every year enough, what does one do now get a mechanic to check your vehicle every couple of weeks to make sure its in road worthy condition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

I'm not sure if I understood your post right, but roadside quick roadworthiness checks can only do us good, whether it be for commercial or passenger vehicles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Random road side checks on commercial vehicles all for safety and everything but isnt paying to maintain and DOE a vehicle every year enough, what does one do now get a mechanic to check your vehicle every couple of weeks to make sure its in road worthy condition.

Are you talking about the ad from VW which states this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭Cycling Dumbasses

Of course safety is everything but how would one know say if a shock starting leaking or a bushing of some sort developed play without having to do very regular checks now which will dropping into a garage to have a pre doe inspection, and how often will one need to do this now once a month? once every two weeks? Fines are to follow on a vehicle failing a road side check so can one afford not to have regular checking now.

ba_barabus wrote: »
    Are you talking about the ad from VW which states this?
    Have not seen this ad, got my information at the garage today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 931 ✭✭✭The Nutty M

We have had them this side of the country for well over a year now.Twice I've had them and completely welcome them.
    They find stuff that you may have missed in your own visual inspection of things every day. A yearly test is insufficient to claim that a goods vehicle is road worthy considering you can hit a bump in the road and break 2 leafs of a spring in one go.

Roll on the time when they will stop cars for road worthiness when for most people the NCT is the only time any person checks over the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭ballooba

God forbid owners might need to keep their vehicle in a roadworthy condition at all times it's on the road. Roadworthy checks should be a once a year formality.

I know the DOE is only stating that the vehicle is in road worthy condition on the day of testing i guess what im trying to say is how often now should we be getting a mechanic to look over a vehicle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,186 ✭✭✭cletus

On a roadside test, I'd imagine the only things they will be checking is stuff you can check yourself, lights, fluid levels, thread depths etc. Cant see them jacking up vans on the side of the road tbh.

that vw ad sounds like pure scaremongery btw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭DuckSlice

I know the DOE is only stating that the vehicle is in road worthy condition on the day of testing i guess what im trying to say is how often now should we be getting a mechanic to look over a vehicle?

I wouldn't say you need a mechanic to do the checks, if you know a little but about cars/vans/trucks you should be fine. It's a lot easier to visually check things like shocks, springs etc on a truck than a car. Have a good look around every 2-4 weeks if your on the road a lot should be suffcient!

I do it everyday visually,once a week I get under it,my boss would be looking over it too in more detailed form.If a knock or a bang or anything happens,it gets looked at.We are not mechanics nor claim to be but a broken spring is a broken spring,a loose nut is a loose nut,a chassis crack is a chassis crack etc. The onus is fairly rightly put on the driver to be driving a roadworthy vehicle,40+ tonnes of metal can do a lot of damage should stuff go kaput.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭DIESEL TOM

i guess what im trying to say is how often now should we be getting a mechanic to look over a vehicle?
    ever month at cost of 60 euro :rolleyes:. won't that be great for garages road safey

DIESEL TOM wrote: »
    ever month at cost of 60 euro :rolleyes:. won't that be great for garages road safey

Anyone can do the basic checks the RSA will do. It's not like they'll have a mobile pit or lift with them to check underneath. They'll just be looking for the obvious issues.

cletus wrote: »
    On a roadside test, I'd imagine the only things they will be checking is stuff you can check yourself, lights, fluid levels, thread depths etc. Cant see them jacking up vans on the side of the road tbh.

that vw ad sounds like pure scaremongery btw

In my experience of the roadside check,both times,there were 2 from the RSA.There was one in the cab with me checking hours and having a general chat,the other one with kneepads and gloves and a light disappears out of sight under the truck to inspect everything.

They have been known to take out the weight pads to check axle weights but it is on a very rare occasion I've heard about it.The most severe case I've heard about of what they found were 5 loose turntable bolts and it doesn't bear thinking about what might have happened if they didn't find them.

I'm going to look for this VW ad and see what it is about.

It's on the radio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Nanny state can back the Fúck off or Ill be doing some punching. Not that there is anything wrong with my car but its the idea of wasting my time which is an expensive commodity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Nanny state can back the Fúck off or Ill be doing some punching. Not that there is anything wrong with my car but its the idea of wasting my time which is an expensive commodity.
    Punch away there boss, and keep us posted on how it's working out for you. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

Gay Byrne should of stuck to the late late show because he and the rest of the RSA do not have a clue when it comes to road safety.

Don't get me wrong road safety is of huge importance but these fellas seem to be blindly bringing in rule after rule in the hope they will contribute to road safety and then will blame drivers for accidents with out taking into account the poor state that many of Irelands roads are in.

See everyone's time is expensive.

But I'm more than happy to be stopped at random checks for brethylising, vehicle roadworthiness checks, etc...
    I wouldn't mind being stopped even every day, if this was there to catch those who do drive dangerous car or drink drive.
    A bit of my time is worth the waste, if this is to catch people who might be dangerous to others.

I genuinely though the road side checks were comprehensive, i had imagined them pulling on joints and track ends with bars for play etc, simle things like checking lights and seeing are tyres pressure ok and other simple checks are something i do on a regular basis and if that is all they are checking for i welcome these checks, thanks to everyone who cleared this matter up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭i8mancs

Never mind commercial vehicles when are they going to do a cull on trailers, Jaysus have ye seen the state of some of the homemade, accident waiting to happen, piles of ****e out there on the roads :confused::confused:

i8mancs wrote: »
    Never mind commercial vehicles when are they going to do a cull on trailers, Jaysus have ye seen the state of some of the homemade, accident waiting to happen, piles of ****e out there on the roads :confused::confused:

Whole new thread there i think, ur right though, seen plenty trailors at the mart one day with the hitch gone past its max wear limit and lights broke and no safety tie wire, a motion was suggested for testing of trailors but was not passed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭DIESEL TOM

i8mancs wrote: »
    yes they are checking car/jeep trailers too see then on cork to mallow road few month ago and they had trailer and jeep pull in

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

I'm honestly not seeing the issue here,

They spot issues which either that driver is choosing to ignore or didn't know about,

Nobody is saying you have to get your car or truck checked weekly by a garage, it's just to encourage people to check just stuff they should be checking themselves anyway.

In fairness, some motorists never check oil or even tyre pressure until a service or nct!

Cabaal wrote: »

They spot issues which either that driver is choosing to ignore or didn't know about,

Nobody is saying you have to get your car or truck checked weekly by a garage, it's just to encourage people to check just stuff they should be checking themselves anyway.

In fairness, some motorists never check oil or even tyre pressure until a service or nct!

OK, the issue if i give you an example, a commercial vehicle with a current doe gets stopped they do there road side check and see a crack on one of the leaves on a leaf spring, owner of vehicle does weekly visuals but is not a mechanic gets told he has defective vehicle and gets a fine, a month later and another road side check and another technical fault is spotted and another fine, wouldn this motorist feel that he/she would have to get vehicle checked by a garage every month to avoid future potential fines.
    What does this driver do to better maintain vehicle?

OK, the issue if i give you an example, a commercial vehicle with a current doe gets stopped they do there road side check and see a crack on one of the leaves on a leaf spring, owner of vehicle does weekly visuals but is not a mechanic gets told he has defective vehicle and gets a fine, a month later and another road side check and another technical fault is spotted and another fine, wouldn this motorist feel that he/she would have to get vehicle checked by a garage every month to avoid future potential fines.
    What does this driver do to better maintain vehicle?

Tbh I'd be happy if the Gardai pulled cars and checked the basics like lights and tread depth and issued a few fines.

Especially as winter starts. Rather than doing it in the middle of spring like last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

Tread depths, wipers and bulbs would be my main concerns, there are other things like brakes, but I'm not advocating checking them on the roadside.

If you're driving a car with treads under legal minimum you should have to resit your test. How people are incapable of comprehending how important tyres are is beyond me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭Andrew_Doran

JohnBoy26 wrote: »
    Gay Byrne should of stuck to the late late show because he and the rest of the RSA do not have a clue when it comes to road safety.

They do some good too, but I'll say one thing, they are massively over funded, just like a lot of govt. departments and councils. It's a case of the devil making work for idle hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Truckermal

Its really for CV drivers as we are supposed to check these things every morning and show proof that we have done so. Its no harm to be fair as it should get rid of a lot of cowboys with crap gear..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,394 ✭✭✭Sheldons Brain

With the time changing, it would be great if they would take some action against the many drivers who think two lights excessive and reckon one would do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 660 ✭✭✭Moomat

A commercial vehicle should be getting a walk around check everyday before it's used. I remember downloading sample checks from VOSA somewhere with a diagram and list of things to check. Ill post link if I can find it. If you are driving a vehicle with a tacograph it should show a few minutes on the tacho card at the start of using vehicle where you were checking vehicle. Anybody driving a hgv is expected to be able to perform these checks and I would imagine they are applying that to all commercials now.

Truckermal wrote: »
    Its really for CV drivers as we are supposed to check these things every morning and show proof that we have done so. Its no harm to be fair as it should get rid of a lot of cowboys with crap gear..

I agree, it'll bring more professionalism and level the field for lads trying to run legally and responsibly

They do some good too, but I'll say one thing, they are massively over funded, just like a lot of govt. departments and councils. It's a case of the devil making work for idle (or rich) hands as it were.
    Oh indeed they do, I can't disagree with you there. My point is that they would rather blame every kind of thing for road deaths and accidents and bring in every kind of rule and regulation rather than Identify the route causes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

JohnBoy26 wrote: »
    Oh indeed they do, I can't disagree with you there. My point is that they would rather blame every kind of thing for road deaths and accidents and bring in every kind of rule and regulation rather than Identify the route causes.

The root cause of every road death is driver error or mechanical fault. Everything else is fixed.

ninty9er wrote: »
    The root cause of every road death is driver error or mechanical fault. Everything else is fixed.
    That is not true and every thing else is not fixed! The roads aren't fe*kn fixed. Many roads are a mess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭corkgsxr

ninty9er wrote: »

Despite all the faf they have done road deaths are on the way up.

Id say you could see a direct connection between condition of roads and road deaths

But its too dear in there minds to fix the roads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

Much as I disagree with your post, thumbs up on the hilarious handle!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭downonthefarm

will they only be stopping vw's?
    can they impound any dodgy cars

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

corkgsxr wrote: »
    Despite all the faf they have done road deaths are on the way up.

Id say you could see a direct connection between condition of roads and road deaths

But its too dear in there minds to fix the roads

But roads have improved, we have more bypasses and motorways then ever before.

Sitec wrote: »
    I think the RSA should firmly separate HGV's from LGV's. I have no issue with a HGV been roadside evaluated, if a fully loaded artic is dangerous that's a different situation to a Focus van with a sidelight blown.

So you reckon that Focus van with blown sidelight should be allowed to drive off no bother?

Yes but those motorways and bypasses still only represent a fraction of Irelands roads. There are many people who don't benefit from them at all.

Also after building those motorways it seems like they have forgotten about many of the other roads in the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭corkgsxr

By there own admission roads are the worst they've been in ten years

Sitec wrote: »
    I think the RSA should firmly separate HGV's from LGV's. I have no issue with a HGV been roadside evaluated, if a fully loaded artic is dangerous that's a different situation to a Focus van with a sidelight blown.
    They have been checking HGV's for years. I agree with them spreading their attention to lighter goods vehicles now. There's been blatant ignoring of the law in this area for a long time.
    What about the 3.5t GVW vans going around way over their payload? Box body vans with a double wheel axle on the back weighing in at 3.2t unladen, giving a 300kg payload but loaded with 2-3 tonne. In no other western European countries is it tolerated.
    I doubt they'll throw the book at you over a side light if you're otherwise compliant but even still if you don't address it and for example it's your drivers side and then your headlight goes, you now look like a motorbike to oncoming traffic in poor visibility, unlit narrow roads etc.

Moomat wrote: »
    They have been checking HGV's for years. I agree with them spreading their attention to lighter goods vehicles now. There's been blatant ignoring of the law in this area for a long time.
    What about the 3.5t GVW vans going around way over their payload? Box body vans with a double wheel axle on the back weighing in at 3.2t unladen, giving a 300kg payload but loaded with 2-3 tonne. In no other western European countries is it tolerated.
    I doubt they'll throw the book at you over a side light if you're otherwise compliant but even still if you don't address it and for example it's your drivers side and then your headlight goes, you now look like a motorbike to oncoming traffic in poor visibility, unlit narrow roads etc.

On that topic, how would one go about changing the plated GVWR/MAM1??

Up or down?

I believe that the 3.5ton versions of some vans that were being sold here were down plated versions of 4.5 ton vans.

Moomat wrote: »
    Up or down?

I believe that the 3.5ton versions of some vans that were being sold here were down plated versions of 4.5 ton vans.

Down. I can't see online where it is to be done. I have a vehicle that has a ULW of 2800 but a GVWR of 4500. I need to put it as 3499kg so I can drive it legally!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 634 ✭✭✭cabb8ge

Down. I can't see online where it is to be done. I have a vehicle that has a ULW of 2800 but a GVWR of 4500. I need to put it as 3499kg so I can drive it legally!

You need to get appropriate drivers license ;)

cabb8ge wrote: »
    You need to get appropriate drivers license ;)
    You need to get a life and go bug someone else.
    I've reported your other posts as advised. I am now putting you on my ignore list. I value my posting privileges in here more than you can annoy me.

I'm still waiting for an informative response from someone on this issue

• Closed Accounts Posts: 634 ✭✭✭cabb8ge

---I've reported your other posts as advised. --
    yesterday;s news :)
    I see you have refrained from the feeble attempts now.

Hmmm.... If you're around Dublin maybe drop into an importer and ask, one of the salemen should be able to point you in the right direction MAN, MERCEDES, IVECO/HINO, DAF, RENAULT are all in the Nass Road area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

You need to get a life and go bug someone else.
    I've reported your other posts as advised. I am now putting you on my ignore list. I value my posting privileges in here more than you can annoy me.

I'm still waiting for an informative response from someone on this issue
    cabb8ge wrote: »
    yesterday;s news :)
    I see you have refrained from the feeble attempts now.

The both of ye are to put each other on ignore and do not comment on each others posts/make snide remarks.Otherwise this will result in a ban.One warning.