Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is this a False Widow spider....?

• 20-10-2013 10:40am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭

Anyone know if this is a false widow spider?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

I've seen one over here on the UK, looks like one all right. And it's pregnant.

jk it's probably just another spider, man!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,157 ✭✭✭srsly78

Yes, time to move out.
    nah you will be fine

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

srsly78 wrote: »
    Yes, time to move out.

Burn the house down for good measure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Where there is one there are thousands

check your attic immediately

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭FTroydon

Should I attempt to communicate with them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

FTroydon wrote: »
    Should I attempt to communicate with them?

yes

through the medium of dance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭The One Who Knocks

yes

Yes, interpretive dance,

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 81,083 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

yes

And then post a video of said dance here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 352 ✭✭funt cucker

Looks like you have crabs there son.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

what does the false widow spider say ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Yes it's a false widow, we have them all over the place here and always have.

There are several species and only one of them is bitey, and that's not the bitey type.

If you're that worried about it, just kill it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,534 ✭✭✭Dman001

I read somewhere that there is a huge increase in the False Widow population here due to the mild winters we've been having the last few years. A great period to be living in for Arachnophobias!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭sok2005

Hijacking thread, is this a false widow?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 174 ✭✭BlurstMonkey

Move to Antarctica. Be grand.

sok2005 wrote: »
    Hijacking thread, is this a false widow?

Nope doesn't look like one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,901 ✭✭✭Howard Juneau

Seaneh wrote: »
    Yes it's a false widow, we have them all over the place here and always have.

There are several species and only one of them is bitey, and that's not the bitey type.

If you're that worried about it, just kill it.

With fire!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Lies and falsehoods no doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭sok2005

Worst hijack ever, lets try again.

Is this a False Widow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

Sorry to hijack again, but is this a false window?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭Hownowcow

Play with it.

If it bites you, you've got your answer.

If it doesn't, at least you've made a friend.

• Site Banned Posts: 15 patty o chair 55

just be thankful it's not an african-american widow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,534 ✭✭✭Dman001

Is this a False Widow?

Sorry I thought you meant the OP,....your pic looks like one alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭FTroydon

I recommend people avoid Kildare until further notice.

FTroydon wrote: »
    I recommend people avoid Kildare until further notice.

Wall the place up and just forget about it now, the infestation has gone too far.

wazky wrote: »
    Wall the place up and just forget about it now, the infestation has gone too far.

Think he meant just ignore Kildare in general...false widow spiders are just the icing in his cake

Could we get Meath on that list too?, just for precautionary sake?

wazky wrote: »
    Could we get Meath on that list too?, just for precautionary sake?

No arguments there, could the wall stretch to Louth too I wonder

• Site Banned Posts: 15 patty o chair 55

feck it lads, just build a wall around dublin, keep both sides happy

I "second that emotion"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Is this a False Widow?

Yeah but looks like it's in jail so it's grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,583 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

No arguments there, could the wall stretch to Louth too I wonder

Spiders gather, and now my watch begins. It shall not end until my death. I shall take no wife, hold no lands, father no children...

For the night is dark and full of spiders.

Dman001 wrote: »
    I read somewhere that there is a huge increase in the False Widow population here due to the mild winters we've been having the last few years. A great period to be living in for Arachnophobias!

I'm emigrating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,018 ✭✭✭knipex

Candie wrote: »
    I'm emigrating.

I hear OZ is nice ;)

Was in melbourne with a work colleagues snd he used to make me check his hotel room for spiders before he would enter. We were doing some work in a pharma plant that made anti venom and they had huge pictures all over the place. I dont think he slept the entire trip..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭micar

I'll be up for that.

But, can I get out of Dublin first? I;d rather be at home when the walls up

knipex wrote: »
    I hear OZ is nice ;)

Was in melbourne with a work colleagues snd he used to make me check his hotel room for spiders before he would enter. We were doing some work in a pharma plant that made anti venom and they had huge pictures all over the place. I dont think he slept the entire trip..

Sounds like a waking nightmare.:eek:

I vacuumed a gigantic muscly black hairy spider off the kitchen ceiling last night and couldn't sleep for ages. The thought of that thing dropping on my head or face...

The horror!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭micar

Candie wrote: »
    Sounds like a waking nightmare.:eek:

I vacuumed a gigantic muscly black hairy spider off the kitchen ceiling last night and couldn't sleep for ages. The thought of that thing dropping on my head or face...

The horror!!

and into your wide open mouth!!!!! yomyomyom!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭Ails76

never mind building a wall, I think we need to build Jaegers to fight these spiders...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

I found a false widow spider in my room this morning. I decided to take a pic but ended up killing it in the end anyway with the ould hoover.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭dr gonzo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭magicman88

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

Her husband is still alive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,835 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

There's one in my job. We all felt a bit nervous of it for a whole but it's a very shy animal, much more so than your average spider. I'm not a fan of spiders and I wouldn't want a false widow in my house but I'm guessing you have to be quite unlucky or be aggressive towards one to get bitten. To be fair to it, it killed a f##k load of wasps and craneflies in a very short time

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

Was visiting my folks earlier and there were 3 of these outside the front door. Feckers! Anyway apparently we haven't really got much to worry about : http://www.theguardian.com/environment/blog/2013/oct/17/false-widow-spider-attacks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

We must meet this threat with our courage, our valor, indeed with our very lives to ensure that human civilization,
    not insect, dominates this galaxy *now and always*!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭dr gonzo

Dienes was a loose cannon, Tehat Maru will wage a smart war on these invading abominations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭rustedtrumpet

Fine arse on that spider

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭RoadRunner

Got this photo of a false widow who looks after my motorbike in my garage in Phibsboro.
    https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BXB0GDLIMAAZ4C6.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭pundy

that's all well and good, but sure, the BLACK WIDOW is on the way to Ireland....

[URL="http://www.mirror.co.uk/news/uk-news/black-widow-spiders-invade-britain-2474754[/URL]