Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Does anyone NCT their cars anymore?

• 18-10-2013 12:10am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 430 ✭✭jamesr123

Is it just me or does noone NCT their cars anymore? I was walkin the dog tonight and noticed a good few out of date disks in a few cars around my estate..

I know people say it's a rip off and that but still. Surely it's bound to get seized off them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

Don't you need it to get the car insured? Genuine question, don't drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭lertsnim

humbert wrote: »
    Don't you need it to get the car insured? Genuine question, don't drive.

No

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 430 ✭✭jamesr123

Some insurance company's will ask. It's usually not a problem though.. They just want your money and no nct means they won't have to pay out in the event of a claim.. Win, win for them really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,685 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I NCT mine. And judging by how hard it is to get an appointment at the local NCT Centre, I think plenty of others do too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭Nino Brown

I would say most people do, and more and more people are starting. The gardai are clamping down on it and rightly so, the penalties are severe. I've actually found the NCT helpful, they found problems with my car that I got fixed before the became major issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

I didn't bother with mine for quite a while, until I was stopped that was. I was given 10days to get it or receive a fine and I believe 5 points. My car is a piece of junk but amazingly I got a date and it passed within the 10 days.

Lots of people I know don't bother with it. I was stopped at lots of check points because of my work location with no NCT and it took about 5 before they actually mentioned the NCT. They generally only check tax and insurance in my experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

I didn't bother with mine for quite a while, until I was stopped that was. I was given 10days to get it or receive a fine and I believe 5 points.

Why would they not just issue the fine and 5 points?? :confused:

Giving people a warning for driving a potential deathtrap is absurd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭Tilikum

My nct is out since march. I was stopped during the week. The guard said if he stopped me again, he'd seize the car. I have a date for the beginning of December.

The guards are more interested in tax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

MadsL wrote: »

I have no idea. I was far more than the two months out that's accepted as well. I think I was about 6 months out at the time.

It's bull**** that I have to get it NCT every year. The tests aren't great for your car either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭roughneck

i just put it in front of the scrapyard for a day and if its still there the following morning ,its good to go .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Tilikum wrote: »
    My nct is out since march.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Onthe3rdDay

Go to Donegal or the west and you'll see cars that have NCT that were last Valid March 2012 and earlier. No guards to check and as long as you're not going across to Northern Ireland you'd be unlucky to get into trouble.

Well the NCT is a test of your car's road worthiness, so if you don't get it checked there is a chance your car might have a defect that could be dangerous. Its there for a reason, same as the MOT in the North, so this slack attitude and bravado of not having one I find strange.

I would want to see any car with no valid NCT an automatic hefty fine and guaranteed penalty points, no debate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Onthe3rdDay

NIMAN wrote: »
    Well the NCT is a test of your car's road worthiness, so if you don't get it checked there is a chance your car might have a defect that could be dangerous. Its there for a reason, same as the MOT in the North, so this slack attitude and bravado of not having one I find strange.

I would want to see any car with no valid NCT an automatic hefty fine and guaranteed penalty points, no debate.

It's not bravado for many, they can't afford it... I'm not debating the rights and wrongs of that, just that people put it off for a few months and then a few months more, It's the same with road tax. Loads of people don't tax the car on time and wait a few weeks or more before doing so.

I can't comment about now but I do know that 2 years ago there were a lot of angry people in Donegal who where going into the North only to find checkpoints set up to catch out those that had their tax out by a day, usually the first few days of a month. In the republic the guards would tell you to go and get it sorted and leave you move on. In NI there was a fine of I think 80 pounds and the car was held until you paid it.

There will always be a certain element who don't NCT their cars simply because they refuse to. Nothing to do with financial problems, these are the sort I dislike.

Unfortunately rules are rules, and if your tax runs out and you can't afford to renew it, you really should not be on the road. If you drive around for a month, then that month will be backdated anyway whenever you do renew, and this might tempt some people just to never tax their car again until they are caught.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,138 ✭✭✭snaps

It's not bravado for many, they can't afford it... I'm not debating the rights and wrongs of that, just that people put it off for a few months and then a few months more, It's the same with road tax. Loads of people don't tax the car on time and wait a few weeks or more before doing so.

I can't comment about now but I do know that 2 years ago there were a lot of angry people in Donegal who where going into the North only to find checkpoints set up to catch out those that had their tax out by a day, usually the first few days of a month. In the republic the guards would tell you to go and get it sorted and leave you move on. In NI there was a fine of I think 80 pounds and the car was held until you paid it.

surely the psni cant do you for no tax? Tax goes to the relevant country's revenue, so its not a crime driving a car from a foreign state with no tax.

the highest problem with nct is the waiting times. In some places its well over 3 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭dingus12

The PSNI can and will do you for having no tax or NCT etc as the car is not road worthy in it's registered state, there for the car is not road worthy in theirs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

€55 euro to know your cars Ok. That's the cheapest rate you'll find anywhere.
    People who can't look after their car shouldn't be allowed on the road as it's dangerous to everyone else not just themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 939 ✭✭✭chriity139

Its just another way for the government to rake in money from people but saying that I still nct my car

chriity139 wrote: »
    Its just another way for the government to rake in money from people but saying that I still nct my car

Hardly, is it not keeping the roads a million times safer than before when anything could drive them?
    It forces everyone to bring the car to the garage once a year (or two years) for a checkup to make sure all is Ok.
    Without it I guarantee there would be far more deaths from catastrophic failures on the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭martinedwards

there is no way I'd take my car out without it's test here in the North.

I'm old enough to remember the days before the NCT and the roads were full of death traps.

you could tell you'd crossed the border by looking at the rusty heaps of poo on the roads around you!

its a safety thing.

it's not for the govt to steal your money, its to keep you, your passengers and others around you safe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭smellslikeshoes

lertsnim wrote: »
    No

Depends on the insurance company, a few of them now require proof of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Wouldn't dream of having any of the Beloved Sh!theaps NCT-less. It's a bit of a faff these days, what with all the centres being so busy, but I'd have to say it's generally rather useful. It has caught a couple of issues that would have most likely remained hidden (and worsening) for a long time otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 772 ✭✭✭GTDolanator

Go to Donegal or the west and you'll see cars that have NCT that were last Valid March 2012 and earlier. No guards to check and as long as you're not going across to Northern Ireland you'd be unlucky to get into trouble.

Go to gweedore,bloody foreland area of north west donegal.You will find noone has tax insurance or nct,they just dont care about it....or licenses in most cases

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭Carlos Orange

It's not bravado for many, they can't afford it...

And yet I'm sure they find money for other stuff just fine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 906 ✭✭✭Eight Ball

I know of two places in Dublin city centre where you can get fake NCT and tax discs for 20 euro courtesy of our Asian friends. Havent used them myself but know of plenty that do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 576 ✭✭✭Fishyfreak

It's very easy to avoid having an NCT:

Book online (Opt for "Pay at Centre") ~ print off booking confirmation ~ cancel booking. If a Garda stops you you wave your booking sheet at them and say "it's booked in, took me ages to get a date blah blah". I've done it before on an old banger we used to drive around in. Too easy, they would never check.

I wouldn't do it now because of the recent changes to Motor Tax & because it was feckin irresponsible. There is no legitimate way to avoid Motor Tax now so the Gardaí will probably put more focus on NCT checks.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

MadsL wrote: »

A car is still a potential death trap with an nct.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭caustic 1

That is nonsense. It is no worse up here than any other county, e.g., op post. No guards? Four times this month I have been stopped at checkpoints.

Come on folks, let your car be proud to have a sticker that says it's not a ****box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

Finally got mine earlier this year. My last disc had expired sonetime in 2011. The guards don't give a ****e unless they are trying to throw the book at you and I get the car serviced every year religiously, so I'm confident it's safe. I think the NCT is for the most part nothing but a money making scheme and it annoys the living piss out of me. Being failed and having to cone back and pay again because one of your lights is pointing 2% in the wrong direction - would you **** off. You should be able to throw them a tenner while you're there and get whatever it is fixed, like you can in the UK. It's a total con.

Yep for people who keep their car maintained it isn't needed but is for the people whom wouldn't do a thing with a car no matter how long they own it!
    That said cars can get bad during the discs life and the disc shouldn't be used as a train to not attend a garage regularly anyway.
    €55 for a good check of your car is good in my opinion

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

the current enforcement system is a joke. the fact that you get 14 days to produce one when caught means that nobody will bother with one til a Garda stops them.
    should be instant penalty points (and possibly fine too) for any NCT more than a month out of date, with the penalties increasing for 3 months, 6 months and 12 months out of date.
    same for tax discs too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

I think the NCT is for the most part nothing but a money making scheme and it annoys the living piss out of me.

The point of the NCT is to force people to get their cars serviced so they are roadworthy and less likely to kill someone.

You get caught, it is 5 points on your license and a conviction.

On top of that if you are paying insurance and are in an accident, then if it is shown the NCT could have prevented the accident, you have to pay for everything.

Also you can be refused a tax disk, which if caught at a checkpoint means the revenue can take the car off you (depending on how out of date you are).

So FFS, get the NCT and get the car fixed if needed.
    the fact that you get 14 days to produce one when caught means that nobody will bother with one til a Garda stops them.

You are actually on file. So they know straight away that you have no NCT and when you last went for a test.

Assuming a car is in good nick because it was recently NCTd is a very silly assumption.

Ever hear someone say "Ah i'll get it NCTd and then i'll sell it"? DING DING DING ALARM BELLS!

Hobbes wrote: »
    Also you can be refused a tax disk

Incorrect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 708 ✭✭✭Timothy Bryce

Got stopped at a checkpoint last week and the guard was sound enough about me not having it - he did say that if I was involved in an accident, it may give the insurance company a reason not to pay out. Not sure if anyone who works in insurance could verify?

Like many others, I'm waiting months to get mine done - it expired in June and I have to wait til December to get it seen to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Got stopped at a checkpoint last week and the guard was sound enough about me not having it - he did say that if I was involved in an accident, it may give the insurance company a reason not to pay out. Not sure if anyone who works in insurance could verify?

Like many others, I'm waiting months to get mine done - it expired in June and I have to wait til December to get it seen to.
    If you have to wait for a certain test center to test it try elsewhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭username123

Mine is out since March, only noticed in July, got a date for October, had to reschedule due to work, got a date for December.

My last car was 2 years out of nct when I traded it in against my current car. Same with car before that, knowing it'd be changing car I just didn't bother.

They must give you a test within a month or the test is free, ring and tell them this, you'll get the first cancellation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭mitosis

If you can't afford to run a car, don't have a car. It's not rocket science.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 708 ✭✭✭Timothy Bryce

YbFocus wrote: »
    They must give you a test within a month or the test is free, ring and tell them this, you'll get the first cancellation.

Is this true? I had a test date for December, but I rung around a few places and the earliest I could get was mid-November....based on this, it should be free, right?

mitosis wrote: »
    If you can't afford to run a car, don't have a car. It's not rocket science.
    Don't be too hard as a lot of motorists are trying to come to terms with having to pay motor tax for the first time never mind get their car nct'd ;)

Is this true? I had a test date for December, but I rung around a few places and the earliest I could get was mid-November....based on this, it should be free, right?

No you must make this known when booking over the phone, it always works!
    Ring now and you will get a cancellation in the next few days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 700 ✭✭✭Theanswers

80 pounds is a big fine in the North because the tax on a 2.0 is 93.50
    They don't realise the difference in our tax rates. I gladly pay 93.50 all day long.

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Don't be too hard as a lot of motorists are trying to come to terms with having to pay motor tax for the first time never mind get their car nct'd ;)

Wots dis ting abow de tax????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,691 ✭✭✭michellie

There has been almost 1 million cars tested so far this year so yep people are testing them, most centres are booked up until December.

Wots dis ting abow de tax????

What tax :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭lukesmom

Mine is out since march too. It's being fitted with a new gearbox and then I will nct it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

While you don't need an NCT to get your car insured remember that if your in an accident they will use it as a reason not to pay out.