Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nationality & benefits

• 17-10-2013 10:17pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/20-of-unemployment-benefit-claimants-are-non-irish-246581.html

What's Nationality got to do with anything (regarding EU citizens) ? Were all part of the EU now. Seems like pointing figures and saying none Irish taking dole or benefits from Irish Nationals. Pretty sure if you look at the Uk would be similar amount of Irish people on the dole there. Really seems the government are really bashing the dole atm to distract from there budget or other mistakes they have made. Why do these figures need to be released at all ? just to get the media into a spin and have a group to blame all the problems on ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭Gee Bag

I fail to detect a malicous agenda it the linked article.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

Why do these figures need to be released at all ? just to get the Afterhours into a spin and have a group to blame all the problems on ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Joe10000

It seems welfare tourism is rife so anything they do to stop it is a welcome development.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Gee Bag wrote: »
    I fail to detect a malicous agenda it the linked article.

Did you miss the massive headline

20% of unemployment benefit claimants are non-Irish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Interesting is the high numbers getting the state pension

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Clandestine

I hate the welfare state, the laws need a reform

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭Gee Bag

Did you miss the massive headline

20% of unemployment benefit claimants are non-Irish

Ah right, didn't catch it the first time, thanks for putting it in bold for me.

Joe10000 wrote: »
    It seems welfare tourism is rife so anything they do to stop it is a welcome development.

You have the same right to go to another European country and if you qualify claim benefits. Maybe they came here to work and lost there jobs ?

Others countries aren't paying out 188e pw which in some places is close to civil servants wages for been unemployed

You have the same right to go to another European country and if you qualify claim benefits.
    A ridiculous concept. People should not be able to enter a foreign country and receive money for nothing. A country should serve its own, home born citizens first, immigrants should not be provided for like this.

If people come to Ireland and cannot find work, they should be deported. It'll cost the state a lot less money in the long run.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

I hate the welfare state, the laws need a reform

....yep, the way you pay money to the state when your working and get a small allowance when you aren't is a nightmare from hell.

A ridiculous concept. People should not be able to enter a foreign country and receive money for nothing. A country should serve its own, home born citizens first, immigrants should not be provided for like this.

Oh the irony...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

I'm confused, are the foreigners coming over to claim welfare the same foreigners who come over to take our jobs?

. People should not be able to enter a foreign country and receive money for nothing. .

People can do this??:confused:

I'm confused, are the foreigners coming over to claim welfare the same foreigners who come over to take our jobs?

Yep. Quantum Foreigners.

You cannot arrive and claim. As has been pointed out endless times before.

If people come to Ireland and cannot find work, they should be deported. It'll cost the state a lot less money in the long run.

So it's fine to take money from the EU for years and when it come's to paying Benefit money to people from the EU that came here to work we don't have to ?

Ah lads ye missed the most important bit.

One in five people claiming unemployment benefit are non- Irish nationals from other EU countries — a quarter of them from Britain — according to a major report on the impact of unemployed migrants on social welfare budgets.

Feckin Brits at it again ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Cedrus

Dey tuk ur scratch!

Gatling wrote: »
    Others countries aren't paying out 188e pw which in some places is close to civil servants wages for been unemployed

Other places aren't charging stupid amounts for goods and services either (most higher than in the celtic tiger). fallacy the government give you to much money and your going on 3 holidays a year while driving a Bmw claiming SW.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

Chucken wrote: »
    Ah lads ye missed the most important bit.

One in five people claiming unemployment benefit are non- Irish nationals from other EU countries — a quarter of them from Britain — according to a major report on the impact of unemployed migrants on social welfare budgets.

Feckin Brits at it again ;)

Yeah, typical Brits eh, we send our young college educated people over to them and in return we get plane fulls of former Jeremy Kyle guests.

BRITAIN: FUCKING IRELAND IN THE ASS FOR 800 YEARS!!! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

At least they are non-Irish now, not non-nationals. :D

Yeah, typical Brits eh, we send our young college educated people over to them and in return we get plane fulls of former Jeremy Kyle guests.

BRITAIN: FUCKING IRELAND IN THE ASS FOR 800 YEARS!!! ;)

So all them people in the caravans are college educated now ?

Could we have a breakdown of how many years of tax and PRSI were paid by the non-Irish now claiming their entitlement as a result of their PRSI contributions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭MuchoLoco

I finished my job recently and went back on job seekers there are lots of foreign people in the welfare centre and post office were i have to go that is why i laugh when people come out with the lazy irish so and so personally im surprised it is not higher myself based on what i see with my own eyes.

MuchoLoco wrote: »
    I finished my job recently and went back on job seekers there are loads of foreign people in the welfare centre and post office were i have to go that is why i laugh when people come out with the lazy irish so and so personally im surprised it is not higher myself based on what i see with my own eyes.

Yeah dam us for being multicultural now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

Other places aren't charging stupid amounts for goods and services either (most higher than in the celtic tiger). fallacy the government give you to much money and you going on 3 holidays a year while driving a Bmw claiming SW.

The article states that the Irish social welfare system gives its recipients the second highest purchasing power out of every EU country bar Belgium. The Irish social welfare system can be extremely attractive when you're out of work in somewhere like Poland or Latvia.

By the way, I am not in favour of reducing the 188 paid out per week here, just stating it's a better deal than most/nearly all other countries in the EU/world.

So all them people in the caravans are college educated now ?

Isn't there something like 1 million Irish born citizens living in Britain.

How many live in caravans?

Yeah dam us for being multicultural now

But they are foreign to this country but not to our welfare it seems.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

No different to an Irish person losing their job abroad and being in receipt of social welfare while they looked for a new one.
    You can't just arrive in Ireland and start drawing the dole.

The Irish social welfare system can be extremely attractive when you're out of work in somewhere like Poland or Latvia.

Pity you can't just arrive and claim then.

MuchoLoco wrote: »
    But they are foreign to this country but not to our welfare it seems.:D

I'm sure if you headed off to Canada or Australia...or even to England, you would check these things out too. Just in case things went belly up for you.

MadsL wrote: »

Did I say they could? :confused:

If you're already here and claiming there set for life it seem's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭marzic

fixed your title

The article states that the Irish social welfare system gives its recipients the second highest purchasing power out of every EU country bar Belgium. The Irish social welfare system can be extremely attractive when you're out of work in somewhere like Poland or Latvia.

By the way, I am not in favour of reducing the 188 paid out per week here, just stating it's a better deal than most/nearly all other countries in the EU/world.

http://epp.eurostat.ec.europa.eu/cache/ITY_PUBLIC/2-21062013-AP/EN/2-21062013-AP-EN.PDF

think you will find were what 5th (if not higher) most expensive place to live in the Eu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

No different to an Irish person losing their job abroad and being in receipt of social welfare while they looked for a new one.
    You can't just arrive in Ireland and start drawing the dole.
    Not where I'm living.If you don't have unemployment insurance you're focked.My location is craftily incorporated into my user name.

Yes and don't forget, they'll never have to buy a buggy. Ever.

But you still need to live here. At Irish cost of living rates, not Latvian ones.

I understand but how long should they be the supported on welfare if there here only a few years ,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

As set up "for life" as any Irish person on the dole I guess.
    marzic wrote: »
    fixed your title
    Huh?

http://epp.eurostat.ec.europa.eu/cache/ITY_PUBLIC/2-21062013-AP/EN/2-21062013-AP-EN.PDF

think you will find were what 5th (if not higher) most expensive place to live in the Eu

Not questioning for a second that we're not an expensive place to live, that's the joys of living on an island that's not densely populated. I literally just quoted what was said in the article and I see no reason to think it isn't true.

188 per week I think would be a relatively good weekly wage in many of those EU countries though so not exactly a particularly bad deal at all tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

My gripe with this is basically you can have some guy who came over from the Baltics in 2006,worked in a low paying job,paying little or no tax or prsi,is made redundant in 2008 and has been claiming welfare/sup. allowance since.

It is not economically prudent to have this lad stay here unemployed indefinitely-not good for the taxpayer anyway.

As set up "for life" as any Irish person on the dole I guess.

Huh?

OK

Chucken wrote: »
    I'm sure if you headed off to Canada or Australia...or even to England, you would check these things out too. Just in case things went belly up for you.

If it went belly up i would return to Ireland !!! but why would someone from Lithuania go home when the money from a weeks dole here is nearly more than they make in a month. and people say the cost of living ect ... how many have you ever seen in any supermarket with a trolley full of shopping because i never have they live a completely different way to Irish people they can live comfortable on the social welfare here and still send a few quid home to the family

crockholm wrote: »
    My gripe with this is basically you can have some guy who came over from the Baltics in 2006,worked in a low paying job,paying little or no tax or prsi,is made redundant in 2008 and has been claiming welfare/sup. allowance since.

It is not economically prudent to have this lad stay here unemployed indefinitely-not good for the taxpayer anyway.

Do you not see the irony in them making 20% sound big when the other 80% are Irish ?

14% jobless are Irish according to that article

crockholm wrote: »

My gripe would be that some guy who came over from the Baltics to take up work that was" beneath" most Irish lads at the time, is now being talked about like he's a 2nd class person.
    Believe it or not, most of your "guys from the Baltics" came here for a better life. That does not mean they had a long term plan to end up on the dole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭zanador

I know of a few Irish who were living abroad and came home and claim here on the basis of their tax paid in another EU country. Are they better/worse than the foreigners who worked her, paid tax here, built lives here and now claim here?

The only person I ever knew living somewhere else and flying in to Ireland to claim was an Irish guy living in Italy and claiming disability here.

Money claimed here stays in the Irish economy for the most part.

When will people stop letting the government sidetrack them from the real issues using the age old (and most effective) military tactic of divide and conquer?