Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kellys Lounge Ongar Closed

• 17-10-2013 9:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14

Noticed earlier this evening that Kelly's Lounge in Ongar was closed. Sign was on the door Closed until further notice. Anyone know if its gone for good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭dicky82

long established pubs in D15 are finding it hard to keep foot fall up, I'm not surprised by this. was only in a few times but found it an odd place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,201 ✭✭✭ongarboy

not a good sign! The few times I was there, it was always nearly deserted and I wonder how it managed to make a profit. I guess we can't confirm yet if it's actually closed for good but personally, I'm disappointed to see any business shut even if it wasn't the type of bar I would frequent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,448 ✭✭✭ongarite

Don't think its closed for good.
    They only recently bought out the lease on the place and there is a skip outside with a some wood fittings and furniture.
    If I had to make a guess, maybe the place got flooded in the recent rain or plumbing issue.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 8,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭liamog

I've heard a rumour about rent not being paid, but if its a case of them buying out the lease then obviously that makes no sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 548 ✭✭✭Wils110

They only refurbished upstair recently There was talk of a small kitchen downstairs aswell.could be work going on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭Twizzler

Signage on the building has been removed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 thegeekyjay

Twizzler wrote: »
    Signage on the building has been removed.

Well thats that then, Guess its gone then :mad::(:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 927 ✭✭✭Kev.

I think its getting a new kitchen in and being renamed,Apparently its getting a brand new relaunch because of the food coming in..

Hopefully true..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,695 ✭✭✭December2012

Kev. wrote: »
    I think its getting a new kitchen in and being renamed,Apparently its getting a brand new relaunch because of the food coming in..

Hopefully true..

Dont toy with me Kev!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭robertxxx

Its name is changing to something like the Ongar inn, same owner, and a carvery is going in downstairs.

Back open before crimbo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 thegeekyjay

Well that's good news :)

I noticed yesterday the upstairs lights were on. I took it as a good sign - unless that's not part of the pub?

robertxxx wrote: »
    Its name is changing to something like the Ongar inn, same owner, and a carvery is going in downstairs.

Back open before crimbo.

Its not the same owner..he's gone. I dont think its going to be the ongar inn either...heared its meant to be open by the end of the month

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 rec27

new owner is relative of the old owner. open this coming monday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭Ed Winchester

A lot of different stories. Anyone know anything with any certainty?

rec27 wrote: »
    new owner is relative of the old owner. open this coming monday
    I've heard the exact same a week ago about the new owner.

A carvery would be a great addition esp on those lazy Sundays you don't feel like turning on the cooker

I see the chipper is now simply known as Ongar takeaway. New mgt yet again??

Someone posted in another thread that a new name has gone over the door of Kellys. It's now called Cu Chullains Bar and Grill. I wish them the best of luck and I look forward to checking out their food offering. Anyone who gets to try out the bar and food, please share your experience, good or bad!

Opening the 13 dec.. Kitchen just went in

Previous post was a bit vague I apologise. I was chatting to one of the lads doing the work inside.thats where I got this date.
    I'm looking forward to it opening again I use to love a sneaky pint after doing the shopping

Job ads in their windows seeking experienced kitchen/waiting/bar staff.

They should really have more publicity about their opening, eg online presence such as a Facebook page with a countdown feed and updates to generate interest, posters in their windows etc unless they want a soft opening and plan a big publicity launch later?

The Paddocks is an excellent example of building a great online presence. Plus full marks to their outdoor xmas display this year- very festive! The Little Pace shopping area in general is very festive looking this year. I'm disappointed with Ongar's main street. Not a hint of Christmas about!

Has anyone heard anything about when the pub will re-open? I passed it earlier and it didn't look like much was happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,019 ✭✭✭Polar101

Twizzler wrote: »
    Has anyone heard anything about when the pub will re-open? I passed it earlier and it didn't look like much was happening.

Just hoping they won't put up a sign saying 'opening soon', that tends to mean a couple of years around these parts.

I'd have to say I never once visited Kelly's Lounge - it was always either closed, or the crowd outside made me feel like going somewhere else. Hoping the new pub will not be like that.

Fire officer wasn't happy with something so they didn't get sign-off to re-open until the issues are resolved.

ongarite wrote: »
    Fire officer wasn't happy with something so they didn't get sign-off to re-open until the issues are resolved.

Anyone hear anything about how this is progressing? Doesn't look like there's much sign of life in the building these days.

31 of Jan is the day I've being told to sign off on licence.
    I'm not to familiar with the process of exactly what happens. I was told that it has something to with a judge and court and everything being approved

Thanks for the update. Looking forward to having it open & checking it out.

Same here
    I use to enjoy winding down reading the paper..the impression I'm getting is that they are going for a similar vibe to the paddocks. Which will be tough to beat the paddocks has built a great customer base

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,843 ✭✭✭Arciphel

I think the Paddocks has improved in leaps and bounds the past year or so, fair play to the new people in there running it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭ciaran76

Arciphel wrote: »
    I think the Paddocks has improved in leaps and bounds the past year or so, fair play to the new people in there running it.

Yes food has improved a lot.

Pity about the choice of beers as they only have the bog standard stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭RichardoKhan

Agree on above. Pity they cant get a few Craft Beers (Bottles) in stock & a couple on Pump.

I asked them on their Facebook page and they asked for recommendations (Galway Hooker /O'Hara's) and they said they had Smithwicks Pale ale on tap:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭oblivious

ciaran76 wrote: »
    I asked them on their Facebook page and they asked for recommendations (Galway Hooker /O'Hara's) and they said they had Smithwicks Pale ale on tap:rolleyes:

:(

If the new owners are not doing anything with the pub until they get license clearance or whatever they're waiting for, they should at least clear the mountain of rubbish/building materials left dumped outside the pub since before Christmas. No doubt the storms blew a lot of it around the streets as well! Otherwise, they're not endearing themselves to Ongar residents (and potential future customers)!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭Ed Winchester

ongarboy wrote: »
    If the new owners are not doing anything with the pub until they get license clearance or whatever they're waiting for, they should at least clear the mountain of rubbish/building materials left dumped outside the pub since before Christmas. No doubt the storms blew a lot of it around the streets as well! Otherwise, they're not endearing themselves to Ongar residents (and potential future customers)!!

Was thinking exactly that. Those skip bags must be there at least 6 weeks.

Poor form.

Was thinking exactly that. Those skip bags must be there at least 6 weeks.

Poor form.

Unfortunately, some domestic rubbish has been added too...bags with Xmas wrapping paper etc. are visible...and the pile will probably continue to grow until they get rid of that skip! The bin outside the medical centre was always being filled with domestic rubbish and often the rubbish was left beside the bin when it was full. The bin has since been removed. When that was happening, you can be sure that if there's a skip somewhere for too long, it'll be used too. Then as soon as the wind starts up again, the street will get pretty nasty. When the new butcher was setting up last week/early this week, there was a skip out the back and it was filled over the course of a few nights with things that clearly hadn't come from the inside of the shop (the skip has been taken away since). There's still a child's car seat and a scooter in the car park area from someone's dumping trip - the skip must have been too full to accommodate them.
    Hopefully the pub opening will go ahead at the end of the month and we'll get rid of that mess. Not a good look for Main Street!

Soooooooo it looks like the pub is open now?

I was driving past and saw the lights / tv on this afternoon.

If anybody here goes in id love to know your opinion on the place.

Was in yesterday.the direction they are looking to go is certainly a gastro pub.its still even early days for the length of time they've been working on it.there was still workmen floating around.
    Staff are friendly beer is nice Guinness is good food was nice.

Just googled Gastro pub.Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,222 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Lets hope they improve the 'tracksuits hanging around the entrance doors smoking', of the previous regime.

Wils110 wrote: »
    Was in yesterday.the direction they are looking to go is certainly a gastro pub.its still even early days for the length of time they've been working on it.there was still workmen floating around.
    Staff are friendly beer is nice Guinness is good food was nice.

Oh that's great news! I only passed there at the weekend and it still looked like nothing was stirring. The only thing I had noticed was the rubble outside the front had been removed. I'll have to pop in at the weekend!

It's a very discreet opening though. They could have put opening date posters on their windows for the last few weeks to generate a build up/local enthusiasm. They should take a leaf out of the Paddocks Facebook marketing strategy!

I wish them best of luck though!

Actually they do have a FB page and advertise bar food menu serving food all day, 12 screens showing all major live sports events and a nightclub! Does this mean we can stay out til 2:30am in Ongar??:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

12 screens showing all major live sports events

i.e. showing all sorts of ****e, and when there's no actual live sports on, we'll leave Sky Sports News on to irritate the crap out of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,222 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Actually they do have a FB page and advertise bar food menu serving food all day, 12 screens showing all major live sports events and a nightclub! Does this mean we can stay out til 2:30am in Ongar??:D

That is not good to hear. Is there confirmation of a late licence etc? Id be surprised if a new one would be granted beyond 12am in a dense residential area....

Any link to their Facebook page ?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 16,287 Mod ✭✭✭✭quickbeam

Here it is, but no activity on it: https://www.facebook.com/CuchulainnsofOngar

quickbeam wrote: »
    Here it is, but no activity on it: https://www.facebook.com/CuchulainnsofOngar

Oh I thought they had menu's etc on their page already.

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 Cuchulainns

Cu Chulainns of Ongar is a bistro style bar with a big focus on our food. We do not have a late license and will not have a nightclub. We will be opening our sports themed function room to cater for our sports loving patrons as well as making it available for private functions and business meetings. We have not set up a Facebook page and our soft opening approach is for our staff to find their feet and get comfortable with the venue. We hope this will allow the maximum enjoyable experience for all our early customers. A grand opening will be coming soon. We look forward to seeing you all soon!
    Slainte

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,365 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Cuchulainns, as you are posting on behalf of a company I have to ask you to refrain from posting any further until you have obtained a verified rep account from the guys in the office. They can be contacted at reps@boards.ie

Please note that further posts without having first obtained a verified rep account will result in a siteban.

Someone has set up a Facebook page on their behalf and advised of a niteclub as part of their offering. If I was the proprietor of CuChullains, I'd be concerned that someone falsely set up a Facebook page and included misleading information if they said they have no such FB page. I'd be asking FB to take it down in that case!

Either way, I popped in for a couple tonight with the OH. The decor is exactly the same inside with some extra touches (candles at each table etc). The staff were exceptionally friendly (including bringing the drinks to our tables) so kudos to them! It was a bit on the quiet side though but i suspect many people don't know its open yet (I only learned it from here). Small tip, they should consider dimming the lights a little to make it cozier as it was a bit on the bright side! I look forward to trying out the food soon!

PS - the soft opening to familiiarize staff is a good tactic I guess seeing as they have said above that they will be planning a grand opening soon!