Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Knife shapner Lidl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭flutered

if it is not suitable can you not return it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 45 onemoredead

flutered wrote: »
    if it is not suitable can you not return it.

Why would you bother TO even thing of returning it,for 6.99,LOL

@ that price just shoot it (@800ish yards) it for the craic!! lol.. or lob in bin :):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

Those things are crap, they'll grind your blade away in no time flat.
    Plus I have my doubts as to exactly what kind of edge they put on the knife.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,759 ✭✭✭cookimonster

Young lads in work buy them for thier kitchen knives.........PURE SH1TE.......would not put an axe near it..........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

22magtech wrote: »
    http://www.lidl.ie/cps/rde/xchg/SID-516D692F-DF74F417/lidl_ri_ie/hs.xsl/index_35958.htm

Any good for the price for sharpening the hunting knifes lads?

No. Learn how to sharpen knives the old fashioned way, or get them done professionally. That'll just ruin any decent blade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭landyman

What would ye recommend?are those hand held one's any good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭One shot on kill

Oil stone and a honing bar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Young lads in work buy them for thier kitchen knives.........PURE SH1TE.......would not put an axe near it..........

I'd happily take an axe to one. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,481 ✭✭✭Rosahane

landyman wrote: »
    What would ye recommend?are those hand held one's any good.

You can learn to use an oil stone or water stones but there is a sharp learning curve if you want to get razor sharp and not ruin the finish on the blade.

An easier, and more consistent option is something like a Lansky or DMT aligner jig set which give good, repeatable results - look on Heinnie.com.

The utimate is an Edge Pro, but expensive!

There is a great thread on here by Deise Musashi which is worth reading
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=72714711