Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What would Ireland be like now if the famine never happened?

• 13-10-2013 7:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭

If the British had helped us out would we have stayed in the union?

What would our population be? Would our sports teams be much better? Would the troubles never have happened?

We had a population of over 8 million.

What I do know is that Conan O'Brien would be presenting The Late Late Show, Wayne Rooney would be playing up front for us as team captain, JFK would have been our best Taoiseach and the Gallagher Brothers would be well renowned trad musicians. :pac:

So many questions, can the intelligent people of AH's answer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,730 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

We'd have to find something else to complain about.

Also, all surnames with the "O" prefix would have it removed.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

I think I've heard it said before that we'd be the most densely populated country in the EU had the famine never happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭snickers

Helped us out ? how about if they the british had not been plundering our country of the rest of its food supplies we might of been ok on our own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭FreshKnickers

Makes me wonder how different the aul U S of A would be too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭Podgerz

No no; Conan would not be presenting the Late Late ; he would just be co-hosting the Graham Norton Show in the BBC

On a serious note we would have had one hell of a soccer team

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

We be the biggest exporters of potatoes in the world...

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Podgerz wrote: »
    No no; Conan would not be presenting the Late Late ; he would just be co-hosting the Graham Norton Show in the BBC

On a serious note we would have had one hell of a soccer team

Not necessarily. Our youth football structures would probably still be equally as crap, which is far more important in terms of producing good players than population size.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

The Chinese would be complaining about our one child policy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,500 ✭✭✭RedXIV

we'd be screwed on international relations, the whole "ah sure my granny was 1/8th Irish" wouldn't exist anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,390 ✭✭✭mojesius

Lucky charms wouldn't exist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭Podgerz

Not necessarily. Our youth football structures would probably still be equally as crap, which is far more important in terms of producing good players than population size.

A yea but you know potatoes, increased populations, youth football structures, that whole link there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭DoozerT6

We'd be fecked for tourists. No famine =no mass emigration=no 6th generation Americans coming over to see the shack the ancestors lived in before they shipped out to Boston.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Fatter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

snickers wrote: »
    Helped us out ? how about if they the british had not been plundering our country of the rest of its food supplies we might of been ok on our own.

When I get my time machine going I'ma gonna open a Super Macs back in 1840s Ireland.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

We wouldn't be much different than we are now, with the probable exception of having larger urban centres.

We never had the natural resources to sustain an industrial revolution on the scale of Britain and Europe, and only a small amount of fertile land capable of supporting large families.

I reckon emigration on a mass scale was still inevitable. Even before the Great Famine of the 1840s emigration was commonplace in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Mardy Bum

DoozerT6 wrote: »
    We'd be fecked for tourists. No famine =no mass emigration=no 6th generation Americans coming over to see the shack the ancestors lived in before they shipped out to Boston.

We wouldn't be as reliant on this if we had a larger population.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

if it was 8 million population at the time of the famine then today it would be...what 20 million??.. maybe more??

any mathematicians out there give a more accurate estimate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 361 ✭✭Filibuster

Probably would have invented Chocolate Taytos in the 1970's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

*waits patiently for a response from Wibbs*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,396 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Lapin wrote: »
    We wouldn't be much different than we are now, with the probable exception of having larger urban centres.

We never had the natural resources to sustain an industrial revolution on the scale of Britain and Europe, and only a small amount of fertile land capable of supporting large families.

I reckon emigration on a mass scale was still inevitable. Even before the Great Famine of the 1840s emigration was commonplace in Ireland.
    And let's face it, we're still at it and have been for all bar a couple of years during the celtic tiger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭rustedtrumpet

Robots

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

We'd have kicked British arse in 1916!!!!

If it did happen but our other food sources were kept here, we would have been fine, Britain would have lost food revenue.

If it never happened, we still would have had mass immigration in times of financial crisis, perhaps the numbers would be even larger than they were.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

Dublin would have even more Mayo guards and teachers to ride each others cousins in Coppers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭CrabRevolution

Maybe more chance of a greater number of us speaking Irish, the great hunger really accelerated it's decline.

We'd probably be like most other European countries. It would probably still be the first language, but fluent in English too. 50/50 between the two languages even. That would be great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Those statues of famine victims down by the Liffey in Dublin wouldn't be there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭Shout Dust

fryup wrote: »
    if it was 8 million population at the time of the famine then today it would be...what 20 million??.. maybe more??

any mathematicians out there give a more accurate estimate

There was something published a while back, saying if it wasn't for emigration and the famine we'd be at around 22-30 million, we had a similar population to England at one stage.

I'd say we'd be somewhere 12-15 million if it wasn't for the famine, be somewhere between Belgium and Holland. If we became a free country before the colonial era ended, I think we'd have been harsh enough masters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

Those statues of famine victims down by the Liffey in Dublin wouldn't be there.

Good. They've scared the jaysus out of me on more than one tipsy occasion. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,358 ✭✭✭Aineoil

"If the Famine didn't happen, there could be 12 million people living in Ireland and eight million could be native Irish speakers."

Eamon O Cuiv

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭downonthefarm

there was no famine to begin with it was just them bloody civil servants making a balls of it again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,892 ✭✭✭bizmark

Tbh its not unfair to say the world would be a difference place so many irish people where fairly pivotal in their adopted country s history s and cultures from little things like ned kellys impact on the aussie culture to JFK and his extended family to the founder of the Argentine navy and henry ford etc

Our people did some great work regardless where they ended up and i kinda like our little island as it is now even with its problems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,826 ✭✭✭Calibos

I think I read somewhere that at the time of the famine our population was the aforementioned 8 million and England was 10 or 11 million. They have a population of about 65 or 70 million now. If the same ratio was maintained we'd be at 40 or 50 million by now....which actually tallies with the the number of Irish Americans/Australians/kiwis/Canadians etc plus our current 32 county population (minus the Poles :D )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭Henlars67

There was no famine.

Yes the potato crop failed & people had to emigrate while others starved to death.

But it wasn't a famine. A famine is when a country cannot produce enough food to feed its population, but that didn't happen here.

There was more than enough food to feed the population, however it was exported.

I think it's high time that the myth of the famine was put to bed.

Whether it was genocide overseen by Travelyan or not is debatable, but one thing it certainly wasn't is a famine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

The national dish would be mashed potatos and roasties served with a side of chips. All washed down with some delicious potato juice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

House prices would be huge. The Cities outside of Dublin would be Dublin sized with Dublin being a concrete jungle. I would imagine Dublin could have had a new city/old city feel to it with the new city on the westside.

It doesnt sound too nice in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,358 ✭✭✭Aineoil

House prices would be huge. The Cities outside of Dublin would be Dublin sized with Dublin being a concrete jungle.

It doesnt sound too nice in fairness.

There would be no bungalow bliss, for sure.

there was no famine to begin with it was just them bloody civil servants making a balls of it again

Landlords, as well as the British Government, not civil servants, were the issue. Grains were grown and sold to pay rents. Had the landlords not charged such exorbitant rates or even left people have the grains (they were not exactly broke), they would have lived. The government took meat and other vegetables to sell in England, again taking from the starving Irish.

According to the poem "The Nation" by Miss Jane Francesca Elgee (later Lady Wilde)
    Weary men, what reap ye? Golden corn for the stranger.
    What sow ye? Human corpses that wait for the avenger.
    Fainting forms, hunger-stricken, what see you in the offing
    Stately ships to bear our food away, amid the stranger's scoffing.
    There's a proud array of soldiers—what do they round your door?
    They guard our master's granaries from the thin hands of the poor.
    Pale mothers, wherefore weeping? 'Would to God that we were dead—
    Our children swoon before us, and we cannot give them bread.[69]

Back then, the civil servant was nothing like what they are today. We always seem to ignore the horrific things the British Government and landlords did to us.

KungPao wrote: »
    The national dish would be mashed potatos and roasties served with a side of chips. All washed down with some delicious potato juice.

you mean poteen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

We would probably be less susceptible to heart disease and diabetes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

In fairness half the country left in the 1950s and then again in the 1980s so our population probably wouldn't have been that large. With the way the economy was poorly run after independence it's amazing we have a modern economy now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 danoc

There would be much more people on boards saying 'your aul one' jokes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

wolfpawnat wrote: »
    you mean poteen?

Only on special occasions, when entertaining etc. But on a boring weekday, just regular spud juice :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Ireland (if not still part of the UK) would have had to join the Allied side in WW2 post 1941 in order to be able to import the foodstuffs and supplies it would need.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

None of us or a good proportion of the world's population would be alive. Other humans would be here in our place.
    The causal chain that lead to your parents meeting, and your grandparents before them, and your great.. etc would undoubtedly be broken without the massive trauma of the famine. Your great great grand ma would have spread her legs for one of the OReilly brothers (who all died as children during the famine) instead of the Oconnor that she did in this timeline and so on and so forth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

The absentee landlords would be richer collecting rents from 40 million peasants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Lagos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭CrabRevolution

None of us or a good proportion of the world's population would be alive. Other humans would be here in our place.
    The causal chain that lead to your parents meeting, and your grandparents before them, and your great.. etc would undoubtedly be broken without the massive trauma of the famine. Your great great grand ma would have spread her legs for one of the OReilly brothers (who all died as children during the famine) instead of the Oconnor that she did in this timeline and so on and so forth.

Bit of a needless point, you could say the same about anything that ever did or didnt happen in the history of existance....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭Toby Take a Bow

Bit of a needless point, you could say the same about anything that ever did or didnt happen in the history of existance....

Well, some people are suggesting that famous Irish americans would be alive and present in today's Ireland, so it apparently it does need to be said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

*waits patiently for a response from Wibbs*

Yeah i'd like to hear how he survived the famine.

Sorry :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

Well, some people are suggesting that famous Irish americans would be alive and present in today's Ireland, so it apparently it does need to be said.

What Toby said. Conan O'Brien wouldn't be presenting the LL, Rooney wouldn't be striker for Ireland etc etc.