Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"Speeding" motorist ignores copper with radar gun on Leopardstown Road

• 13-10-2013 10:45am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭

I just saw a motorist completely ignore a cop who stepped out into the middle of two lanes to wave them down outside the entrance to Leopardstown Racecourse. The cop looked after them as though expecting them to go 360 around the roundabout and come back but they just kept going.
    I'm wondering will this motorist get some kind of extra summons or whatever in the post or (as I suspect) would that be too much effort/too embarrassing for said copper?
    That speed trap at Leopardstown racecourse is purely a cynical money-making waste of police resources from any point of view since traffic has to slow right down for a big roundabout immediately after the trap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

So are you the motorist or the copper :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Joe10000

I've often wondered what would happen in that instance. My guess is a summons for failing to stop and a speeding charge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Johnny Storm

:D Innocent by-stander.

You shouldn't be standing around busy roads like that :D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

A lot would depend if he got the reg or not

Joe10000 wrote: »
    I've often wondered what would happen in that instance. My guess is a summons for failing to stop and a speeding charge.
    Maybe no tax or insurance either as he had more reason than just speeding for not stopping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Johnny Storm

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Maybe no tax or insurance either as he had more reason than just speeding for not stopping.

Could well be, but I was thinking more of a Ross O'Carroll-Kelly style sense of entitlement. Who knows?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

godtabh wrote: »
    A lot would depend if he got the reg or not

With average Irish plates like 132-CN-126483938483979 where he would need to remember billion characters, probably he didn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,063 ✭✭✭Cerco

Could it be :
    Strituck wrote: »
    If you want him to sign the car over to you, just pick up a couple of parking fines or m50 tolls, he'll not be long posting the log book.
    QUOTE]

Sounds good. I would say a few letters addressed to him from the M50 guys would see him sending off the log book pretty quick.

Ah no, I don't think so :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭coolisin

That speed trap at Leopardstown racecourse is purely a cynical money-making waste of police resources from any point of view since traffic has to slow right down for a big roundabout immediately after the trap.

I have to disagree its a 50kmh zone with lots of houses and houseing estates, and the speed limit is constantly being broken on this road.
    So I disagree it's one that makes sense, exact same as the IADT one it's a 50kmh stretch with lots of activity, so the speed limit actually makes sense.

Somebody also posted giving out about the straight section heading into and out of stepaside recently.
    Exact same.

Also all spots mentioned are constant speed trap zones.

But as for not stopping it the gaurd got his reg they will be in trouble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

Always thought it was fairly stupid for any human being to step out in front of what they know is a speeding car. Its like putting your hand in a turned on blender.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭aujopimur

Saab Ed wrote: »
    Always thought it was fairly stupid for any human being to step out in front of what they know is a speeding car. Its like putting your hand in a turned on blender.
    Not as stupid as the cop with the speed gun on the hard shoulder of the M8 near watergrasshill.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

aujopimur wrote: »
    Not as stupid as the cop with the speed gun on the hard shoulder of the M8 near watergrasshill.

He's mad as a box of frogs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,088 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

CiniO wrote: »
    With average Irish plates like 132-CN-126483938483979 where he would need to remember billion characters, probably he didn't.

Car sales must have been outstandingly good in Cavan !!

Most Irish plates aren't that long other than a few celtic-tigre years where car sales in Dublin and Cork in particular were spectacularly high.

It's usually YYY-CY-XXXX ... not THAT hard to remember, especially when the year and county are significant and stick in you head where as a random combination of letters and numbers won't really stick quite so easily.

Even year+county+colour+make and partial reg can be enough to find one.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

I had a guard do that to me before on a deserted dual carriage way one night. Initially he walked out into the middle of the road as if to me flag me down, but then he changed his hand movements as if to wave me on. I didn't know wtf was going on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭smcgiff

The guard would have spotted they weren't slowing down and would concentrate on the car's reg. I'd imagine a guard would be well able to remember a year, county and a 4 or 5 digit number.

SpaceTime wrote: »
    Car sales must have been outstandingly good in Cavan !!

Most Irish plates aren't that long other than a few celtic-tigre years where car sales in Dublin and Cork in particular were spectacularly high.

It's usually YYY-CY-XXXX ... not THAT hard to remember, especially when the year and county are significant and stick in you head where as a random combination of letters and numbers won't really stick quite so easily.

Even year+county+colour+make and partial reg can be enough to find one.

Irish numberplates consist of the most characters from any European country, even though Ireland is rather small country.
    In my opinion they are very hard to remember.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

Irish numberplates consist of the most characters from any European country, even though Ireland is rather small country.

I'd disagree. Its about the same to remember. If you had say a 2013 Dublin reg, Red Ford Focus.

In Ireland, all you would need would be 13-D and then remember the make, model and color.

In the UK, you would only need the first 4 letters as they would give you the locality (first two) and the age identifier (Second pair). Then the make, model and color.

So that said, you need slightly less information to remember an Irish reg than a UK one, if you want to get a partial match at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

I'd bet you were dying to get that in. Nice use of exaggeration too.:rolleyes:

Is there any aspect of motoring in Ireland you don't have a hard on for (against)

Anyway, I'm sure the Garda, with Pulse at his disposal, could track the car down with a partial plate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

my car is 97Dxxxxxx, so guess if I was speeding i would be ok:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

my car is 97Dxxxxxx, so guess if I was speeding i would be ok:cool:

I'd say you'd stand out like a sore thumb, I doubt there are many other 97D cars with six "x"s on their numberplates :P

ironclaw wrote: »
    I'd disagree. Its about the same to remember. If you had say a 2013 Dublin reg, Red Ford Focus.

In Ireland, all you would need would be 13-D and then remember the make, model and color.
    Are you trying to say, that by knowing that car is 2013 from Dublin and it's red focus is enough?
    How many 2013 focuses are there? I bet there's more than 100, so how are the guards going to find the one that they are looking for?

In the UK, you would only need the first 4 letters as they would give you the locality (first two) and the age identifier (Second pair). Then the make, model and color.

So that said, you need slightly less information to remember an Irish reg than a UK one, if you want to get a partial match at least.

My number plate consists of 9 characters starting from 09-MO-xxxxx
    In UK nearly every number plate is only 7 characters.
    Also hence the fact, that there is about 2.5 million vehicles in Ireland, and about 35 million in UK.

Something is obviously wrong then, if Ireland need 9 character number plates for 2.5 million combinations, while UK with 35 million combinations is fine with 7 characters.

I'd bet you were dying to get that in. Nice use of exaggeration too.:rolleyes:

Is there any aspect of motoring in Ireland you don't have a hard on for (against)
    I'm sure there is something, but I can't think of it at the moment.

Anyway, I'm sure the Garda, with Pulse at his disposal, could track the car down with a partial plate.
    I'm not sure.
    It all depends how many combinations they have.
    If partial plate gives them choice from 3 cars, they probably might try to find it.
    If it could be 100 cars, then no chance - at least not with someone just failing to stop for checkpoint.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,585 ✭✭✭jca

Are you trying to say, that by knowing that car is 2013 from Dublin and it's red focus is enough?
    How many 2013 focuses are there? I bet there's more than 100, so how are the guards going to find the one that they are looking for?

My number plate consists of 9 characters starting from 09-MO-xxxxx
    In UK nearly every number plate is only 7 characters.
    Also hence the fact, that there is about 2.5 million vehicles in Ireland, and about 35 million in UK.

Something is obviously wrong then, if Ireland need 9 character number plates for 2.5 million combinations, while UK with 35 million combinations is fine with 7 characters.

Jesus do you have to derail every thread with your bleating on about the amount of number plate characters? You're as bad as madlad trying to get everyone to drive a pirus....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,088 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

Well, if we got through the celtic fat cat era on the current system, there's never likely to be as many cars registered again in the future, so I think we'll be grand.

I think the current system's just fine.

Although, we could get away with very short alphanumeric codes if they were totally random.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,522 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

What's the longest plate number on the new system ie digits and numbers combined?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

slimjimmc wrote: »
    I'd say you'd stand out like a sore thumb, I doubt there are many other 97D cars with six "x"s on their numberplates :P

Well a year or two ago SIMI said they want number plates for imported cars to be extra long, so customers know they are buying an import, you see SIMI are protecting the Irish car buying public :rolleyes:

colm_mcm wrote: »
    What's the longest plate number on the new system ie digits and numbers combined?

AFAIK the longest number plates in Ireland at the moment are 9 characters.

With old system there was xx-D-12xxxx (x=digit).
    On two letter counties, the longest suffix was 5 digit so f.e. xx-MO-xxxxx

All 9 characters.

With new layout we have again 132-D-xxxxx (9 characters).
    or 132-LK-xxxx (9 characters).

If at any time Dublin will reach more than 100,000 vehicles during half a year, or any country with 2 char descriptor will reach more than 10,000 vehicles during half a year (which might happen pretty soon) we will see 10 character number plates.

All 9 characters.

If at any time Dublin will reach more than 100,000 vehicles during half a year, or any country with 2 char descriptor will reach more than 10,000 vehicles during half a year (which might happen pretty soon) we will see 10 character number plates.
    In a few years time when someone imports a 13 car and they live in a 2 digit county, most likely the felt favourite DL it will be a 10 character plate.
    131 DL xxxxx.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 405 ✭✭00833827

Isnt there something in the law where if u don't think it's a genuine Garda stopping you/ pulling you in/checkpoint etc. that you can continue to the nearest Garda station and present yourself there where you know the gardai are official - safer for female motorists traveling alone etc.

Motorist in the op probably did that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,838 ✭✭✭Markcheese

The Garda would have to go question the RO as to who was driving and only then could he summons him.

In the uk, I think the points get assigned to the registered owner (who must have a licence) unless someone else owns up ..
    Was told that in Germany if a car could have many drivers the owner will get away with it once.... After that they have to keep an accurate log book of whos driving their car and when .. Easier to take the points...

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Closed Accounts Posts: 906 ✭✭✭Eight Ball

Hopefully this motorist will be tracked down and prosecuted under section 109 of the road traffic act 1961. More than likely he was drunk or driving without proper paperwork,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,308 ✭✭✭Irish Stones

jca wrote: »
    In a few years time when someone imports a 13 car and they live in a 2 digit county, most likely the felt favourite DL it will be a 10 character plate.
    131 DL xxxxx.

European Union issued a directive that all plates should have no more than 7 characters.
    Most countries comply with it, a few others, like Ireland, aren't following this rule.

We in Italy have 7 characters on our plates, but they are just a combination of consecutive numbers and letters, with no clue of the place of the nation where they are registered.
    We have something like XX 123XX
    So a plate will be EF 123AB, the next one will be EF 124AB. When a plate is EF 999AB the following plate will be EF 000AC.
    One plate can be registred in Rome, the following one in Venice.
    It is optional to put a sticker on the right-hand side blue band of the plate with year of registration and a two-letter code for the province.

796369TO.jpg

Not very handy, but short enough to be remembered, I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

All 9 characters.

I wouldn't really agree, its whatever system you are familiar with.

I find the Irish ones very easy to remember, Year/County/Number

The Dutch ones took me ages to get used to:
    E.G.:
    images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQrsJyph4bNR-nnAJawJXpIMtnVf5pSjcyohCoNDX9Dhed4xPccbQ

Now I'm used to those I find the German ones hard to remember, unless its a memorable one: :D

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRUs5XKieHQj_0Dr_0F77qJ7M6euo3kBohiI88iaP0n2dO3HT4q

Then you have the different format plates without the European surround (so your not sure what country it is) and the Short and Long Belgian plates.

Then the Plates for US Imports that are a different shape, or the 2-2-2 or 2-3-1 Dutch plates.

At least Ireland is some way uniform.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Soarer

All 9 characters.

What if I go to the UK in the morning and buy an Aug. 2013 car.

Will that not be 132-D-12XXXX ie. 10 characters?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 405 ✭✭00833827

so OP @Johnny Storm - A lesson in which countries number plates are easier to remember - I hope that answers your completely unrelated original question.

Soarer wrote: »
    What if I go to the UK in the morning and buy an Aug. 2013 car.

Will that not be 132-D-12XXXX ie. 10 characters?

No.
    Any import from 2011 on, is assigned with consecutive number for that year. Only imports first registered in 2010 the latest, are getting high numbers like 10-D-120xxx

00833827 wrote: »
    so OP @Johnny Storm - A lesson in which countries number plates are easier to remember - I hope that answers your completely unrelated original question.

OP question was rather the story than a real question.

I wouldn't really agree, its whatever system you are familiar with.

I find the Irish ones very easy to remember, Year/County/Number

The Dutch ones took me ages to get used to:
    E.G.:
    images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQrsJyph4bNR-nnAJawJXpIMtnVf5pSjcyohCoNDX9Dhed4xPccbQ

Now I'm used to those I find the German ones hard to remember, unless its a memorable one: :D

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRUs5XKieHQj_0Dr_0F77qJ7M6euo3kBohiI88iaP0n2dO3HT4q

Then you have the different format plates without the European surround (so your not sure what country it is) and the Short and Long Belgian plates.

Then the Plates for US Imports that are a different shape, or the 2-2-2 or 2-3-1 Dutch plates.

At least Ireland is some way uniform.

See every plate might be easy to remember once you know the system.
    But problem is not only remembering, but also reading.
    When car is running away, you have very little time, and no matter how intuitive system was, its going to take longer to read 9 character plate than 6 character plate.

Markcheese wrote: »
    In the uk, I think the points get assigned to the registered owner (who must have a licence) unless someone else owns up ..

That would be against the "innocent until proven guilty" rule.
    How could someone be automatically prosecuted for speeding, just because speeding was committed with his vehicle.
    There must be some evidence pointing which person was speeding, before he/she can be prosecuted for doing so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,838 ✭✭✭Markcheese

No they don't.

The registered keeper is sent a Notice of intended prosecution and a request under S172 of the Road Traffic Offenders Act 1988 requiring them to name the driver within 28 days. The penalty for failure to name is 6 points and up to 1000 pounds fine.

Once someone is named the police willthen contact that person and willproceed in the normal manner[/quote

Thanks ( never happened to me so didn't know the mechanics of it )

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

Eight Ball wrote: »
    Hopefully this motorist will be tracked down and prosecuted under section 109 of the road traffic act 1961. More than likely he was drunk or driving without proper paperwork,

I'd say he had more to lose by stopping. ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,163 ✭✭✭Blut2

What happens if you name someone who has conveniently "left the country" in the mean time? ie either 1) real details but just happens to have emigrated or 2) a foreign driver entirely.

(note: not asking for any underhand reason, generally curious!)

Blut2 wrote: »
    What happens if you name someone who has conveniently "left the country" in the mean time? ie either 1) real details but just happens to have emigrated or 2) a foreign driver entirely.

(note: not asking for any underhand reason, generally curious!)

Plenty of people on this forum claimed many times that in Ireland if person you nominate to be speeding in your car is not-contactable, or refuses to accept the fine, then it comes back to registered owner and he is fined for speeding which he didn't commence. Which IMHO is completely crazy to prosecute someone for something he/she didn't do.

Be careful who you allow to drive your car. No one drives my car only me.

jca wrote: »
    Be careful who you allow to drive your car. No one drives my car only me.

But why should I not allow someone to drive my car?