Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Big Drinkers

• 12-10-2013 5:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭

I love to read tales of the big drinker the bon viveur who doesn't let his or her problem get in the way of having a good time.

Oliver Reed the actor was a classic pint man, the numbers tend to to vary but he is said to have drank over 100 pints of ale during the course of his 2 day stag do in Jersey in 1985.

His best friend Keith Moon drummer with The Who was another fierce man for the booze. You know the whole throwing TV's out of hotel windows thing? He started that, he also once drove a Rolls Royce into a lake while under the influence, he lived the Rockstar lifestyle to the extreme. Unlike Reed though Moon was emotionally fragile and suffered a lot during his sober periods. He died in 1978 aged 32. He mixed a decent quantity of alcohol with alcohol repressant tablets and also overdosed on them, so he killed himself twice over.

These guys lived it up though in fairness. They didn't lead quiet lives.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭Shout Dust

It's like AH just randomly sucked some thoughts out of your head and put them up for no apparent reason

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Another rockstar by the name of Brian Cowen loved a lash of pints too.

Think he started the whole "turn up half shot for a radio interview" thing.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Shane McGowan is a big drinker yet manages to keep his killer sex appeal. He also sings and stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Anyone that came after Moon was a poseur cnut. Motley Crue chief among them, doing sh1t to just get attention. Moon was genuinely just fcuked at least.

The Phrase live fast die young epitomises him..... but screw that, I wanna live fast, die old. No point in wasting time in the ground :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 100 ✭✭Horrid Henry

Shane McGowan's also an embarrasment...have you ever seen him in action?

And Oliver Reed just keeled over and died during a session.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Spending your life drunk and hell raising doesn't really sound great in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

kneemos wrote: »
    Spending your life drunk and hell raising doesn't really sound great in fairness.

It does though.

It's grand, you probably don't remember too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Yes it does!! Laughing, drinking, screwing and having the craic all the time :D

If I could afford to, I would, but bills and all that..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Slightly drunk right now
    Does that count.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

Slightly drunk right now
    Does that count.

If you've had 3 pints and you're slightly drunk then no.

If you've had 18 pints, some jaegerbombs and a bottle of scotch and you're slightly drunk then absolutely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

Slightly drunk right now
    Does that count.

You're on the right track.
    You just need to apply yourself a bit better.
    Back to the bar with you.
    And this time order shots. Lots of shots.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

The Viking, the darts player was on bbc this morning.

Drank 20 pints a day. Doesn't remember winning the wolrd championships apparently.

Too much fluid in him was crushing his lungs and he had to stop drinking or die.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Yes it does!! Laughing, drinking, screwing and having the craic all the time :D

If I could afford to, I would, but bills and all that..

I see the fun.Failing to see the joy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Lemmy is one of only a few original, hard drinking chain smoking hell raisers left.

Ozzie was a mad bastard too back in his day.

• Site Banned Posts: 31 Old Dan Tucker

Motley Crue chief among them, doing sh1t to just get attention.
    Well, I guess you could say injecting Jack Daniels could have been for show and Sixx being pronounced dead when rushed to the E.R. (revived a few minutes later) is nothing to write home about but in fairness, I don't think Vince attempting to drive his mate (Razzle, drummer from Hanoi Rocks) to the off-licence pissed (after being up for three days straight) killing him and causing serious brain damage to the two people in the car they hit, could be considered to be "for show".

A lot of Tommy Lee's antics have been though, wouldn't argue that.

Well, I guess you could say injecting Jack Daniels could have been for show and Sixx being pronounced dead when rushed to the E.R. (revived a few minutes later) is nothing to write home about but in fairness, I don't think Vince attempting to drive his mate (Razzle, drummer from Hanoi Rocks) to the off-licence pissed (after being up for three days straight) killing him and causing serious brain damage to the two people in the car they hit, could be considered to be "for show".

A lot of Tommy Lee's antics have been though, wouldn't argue that.

Guess who's read "The Dirt"...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

The thing is you have to be really really good at something (besides drinking) to get away with being a boozehound hellraiser.

Famous and talented rock musician who raises hell = legend.
    Normal Joe who works in an accountants office and raises hell = fired alcoholic.

• Site Banned Posts: 31 Old Dan Tucker

Guess who's read "The Dirt"..
    Never heard of it. I'm just old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    The thing is you have to be really really good at something (besides drinking) to get away with being a boozehound hellraiser.

Famous and talented rock musician who raises hell = legend.
    Normal Joe who works in an accountants office and raises hell = fired alcoholic.

That's very true in fairness. If Keith Moon was doing the books for a Marketing Firm he would have been slung out on his arse, a drunken disgrace.

The oul fame and the access to the lifestyle played right up to his needs.

Never heard of it. I'm just old.

Motley Crue's autobiography.

Amusing extract:

Ozzy Osbourne shows up at an outdoor bar/cafe wearing nothing but a woman's dress. Snorts a line of ants off the street. Then proceeds to p1ss on the street and then lap it up like a dog.

Motley Crue member says "sure I can do that", p1sses on the street and goes to lap it up at which point Ozzy knocks him aside and gets down on his knees and laps it up.

There are degrees of madness and Ozzy was truly a mad c..t

• Closed Accounts Posts: 953 ✭✭✭donegal__road

Beethoven was alcohol dependent all his life, it killed him in the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,906 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Ball of shíte to be honest.

Young lads are always on about the "lad they know" who can drink 30 pints on a night out, "not a bother on him"

Wow....a hundred odd quid on a saturday night and for what?

Grand for a "rockstar" but as someone posted earlier - a regular joe soap - sad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 778 ✭✭✭Big Davey

Chris Holmes (wasp) was the maddest of them all in my opinion. I liked Alex Higgins and George best too..... Tony Adams, gazza, Paul McGrath, keif Richards and Ronnie wood too were are big gargelers but to be honest drinking is out of fashion now the new drug is money think 50cent, money mayweather, simon cowell, etc etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 212 ✭✭DainBramage

Shane McGowan is a big drinker yet manages to keep his killer sex appeal. He also sings and stuff.

James Fearnly pogues accordion player writes in his book of meeting Shane in a pub for the first time:
    Shane knocked over a drink ,picked up a straw and proceeded to slurp up the spillage off the table.

Well waste not want not..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭Cody Pomeray

Have to say I'm not a big drinker, sorry if this post sounds dry.

But like, is admiring big drinkers just something other big drinkers do?

And is it not just like obese people admiring other obese people for their calorific intake?

It's just really unhealthy (sorry), nothing admirable about it. There are plenty of ways to avoid a quiet boring life without resorting to guzzling pints. Actually, I find guzzling pints boring (and gassy).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

A lot of it depends on the person, being a drinker has wrecked Paul Gascoigne emotionally and physically whereas I saw a programme about Norman Whiteside who played for Utd and Everton in the 80's/90's who's also renowned as a 'drinker' and he said he regularly goes to the pub in Cheshire drinks between 6 and 8 pints, might have a bottle or a half of Red Wine and seemed quite happy and comfortable about it all, certainly didn't give off the vibe of being a dependent and jittery alcoholic, just somebody who enjoyed drinking and had it all under control.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Richard Harris was just as bad if not worse. Peter O Toole and Richard Burton. All taken from the Hellrazors book. Great book to enjoy with a drink. Liza Taylor was meant to be worse than them all!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,693 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Thanks to QI I learned of the Durable Mike Malloy, an Irish vagrant and heavy drinker:

"Durable" Mike Malloy was a remarkably tenacious murder victim in New York City during American Prohibition. He was befriended by some speakeasy owners who attempted to effect a life insurance scam using alcoholic clients, by coaxing them to take out policies benefiting the owners and then offering their marks free drinks to induce death by alcohol poisoning. They coerced Mike to take out three insurance policies totaling $2000, but after offering him free drinks for several weeks, seeing that he was in no danger, the conspirators became impatient. Initially they tried to poison him, adding antifreeze to his drinks; after this didn't kill him they tried turpentine, horse liniment, rat poison, rotten oysters in wood alcohol, and sardines mixed with carpet tacks. When none of this worked they got him drunk, stripped him naked, dumped him in a snowbank in bitter cold, and poured 5 gallons of cold water over him. He returned the next day, having been found by police and hospitalized. They then paid a cab driver to run him over; after two attempts and weeks of hospitalization, Malloy returned. At this point the speakeasy owners got him drunk again and actively gassed him to death. A few months later the conspirators began to fight amongst themselves and were found out, eventually being executed by electric chair at Sing Sing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭Trollhättan

Richard Harris was just as bad if not worse. Peter O Toole and RICHARD BURTON. All taken from the Hellrazors book. Great book to enjoy with a drink. Liza Taylor was meant to be worse than them all!!

Hah ....I read that as Richard Bruton! :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

Thanks to QI I learned of the Durable Mike Malloy, ....

aka Mike 'Rasputin' Malloy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

2 crates of Guinness and a half bottle of whiskey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

MJ23 wrote: »
    2 crates of Guinness and a half bottle of whiskey.

Only half a bottle?, do you have court or something in the morning?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 222 ✭✭haveabanana

I had five bottles last night and didn't do the washing up until lunchtime today. hashtag mad yoke

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Pj!

Brendan Behan ('a drinker with a writing problem').

Plenty of famous Irish drinkers for whatever reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭Too Tough To Die

Luwig Van Beethoven was alcohol dependent all his life, it killed him in the end.

Not surprised. Dogs shouldn't be drinking.

As long as I don't eat while drinking I've yet to find my limit when drinking beer, I generally run out of money rather than anything else. I love a night of pint after pint, don't even get to do it once a year though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Some they say I'm living the rockstar way, hey hey I piss my pants twice a day, You say that I should go join AA , No Way tomorrows Payday!!!!!

Drink it up, Drink it up, drinking like Keith Moon........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Would loved to have spent a couple of hours in that little rural pub in Cork where Oliver Reed spent his last few years. Must have been gas to see the guy buying drinks for everyone and slowly going from incomprehensible to violent! I believe the place is a bit of a shrine to him now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

Love Alex Higgins opening line to Stephen Hendry before an important snooker match: 'Hello, I'm the devil'. Class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭electrobanana

Jim Lahey the drunk bastard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,705 ✭✭✭An Riabhach

Steve Clarke,Def Leppard guitarist.
    It was once said that the only time he wasn't drinking was when he was onstage-he was always in and out of hospitals and then one night he went on a serious drinking binge in his apartment which included about 5 or 6 bottles of vodka among other stuff,keeled over on the couch and never woke up.Drank himself to death,literally.

Siúl leat, siúl leat, le dóchas i do chroí, is ní shiúlfaidh tú i d'aonar go deo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

Larry Hagman had no regrets about his alcoholism. He lived to 81 after a liver transplant.

The lifestyle

On the set of Dallas, Larry would drink steadily from nine in the morning until he went to bed.

He reveals: "I was loaded all the time, all the time, all during Genie, all during Dallas I was loaded.

"Do the first scene, get it into the can, hopefully by nine o'clock and so I'd reward myself, I'd open a bottle of Champagne and start to imbibe."
    "It was just steady, steady, steady. I never had a hangover, never felt bad, I never got sober I guess, that's why. I just seemed to work alright and I didn't kick my kids or beat my wife or anything, I was just loaded."
    He says of his wife: "Either she was very understanding or I didn't demonstrate that I was drunk."

No regrets
    Larry has now been a reformed alcoholic for eight years and although he says he doesn't regret his years of drinking, he sees it as a part of his life that is over.
    He remarks: "I think it's made me a better person to be able to come out on the other side.
    "I work for the programme and rehabilitation is part of my life now. I like to pass on what I've learned."
    Larry's is a story of successful rehabilitation and he offers hope to other alcoholics.
    He says: "It's not easy but it's a good path. I like that."

His wife sounds like a very patient lady.

Now, to the pub! Good night, gentle AH people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

Wattle wrote: »
    Love Alex Higgins opening line to Stephen Hendry before an important snooker match: 'Hello, I'm the devil'. Class.

Alex Higgins was pretty bad though. I saw him in a pub when he was fully on the drink, quite a sad sight to see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Larry Hagman had no regrets about his alcoholism. He lived to 81 after a liver transplant.

The lifestyle

No regrets

His wife sounds like a very patient lady.

Now, to the pub! Good night, gentle AH people.

And then your feckin man went and shot him.

http://i546.photobucket.com/albums/hh427/thecathoderaychoob/Blog%20Pics/I-Shot-J-R-1.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Duff McKagan

The "Duffman" from The Simpsons is named after him.
    Don't let that fool you, he drank a horrendous amount and his antics? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

Some classic pissed up Higgins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,806 ✭✭✭taytobreath

i no at least half a dozen guys in my town that drank themselves to death, I live in a town where everyone knows everyone. I dont think glorifying how much one can drink does anyone any help when our friends and family are dying all around us from pints. then theres the tv adds, non stop reminders when we should have a scoop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I just had half a sherry to help me sleep. I'm a fockin legend me!