Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Oh I couldn't eat that at that time

• 12-10-2013 11:26am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

Never understood people saying they couldn't eat certain foods early in the morning.

Just had cookies and cream ice cream for breakfast. Best thing ever.

Have the makings of a snack box in the oven as breakfast part 2.

I could eat steak, Chinese, cake whatever, at any time of day.

Am I the norm?

Ps - I'm not a massive fatty. Today is unusual.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

You just answered your own question, you couldn't eat that all time because today is unusual?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

I love cold takeaway leftovers in the morning, especially Indian.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭MrPain

People seem to lose their minds at the concept of me having a bowl of oats for lunch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,573 ✭✭✭pajor

Diet Coke gets me going in the morning.

'How the fcuk could you drink something fizzy this early? :mad:'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 352 ✭✭funt cucker

Just microwaved last nights left over pizza, delicious....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

A bowl of hot curry and a french stick for breakfast most mornings, yum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭pharmaton

cake should be a breakfast staple tbf, any kind of cake will do, apple tart, chocolate fudge, rhubarb crumble all washed down with a cup of tae.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Never understood people saying they couldn't eat certain foods early in the morning.

Am I the norm?

I couldn't eat that at that time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,901 ✭✭✭Howard Juneau

anncoates wrote: »
    I love cold takeaway leftovers in the morning, especially Indian.

Exactly the same.
    I would order a massive vindaloo. Eat some & leave the rest for the morning, it marinades overnight.....and....I don't reheat it. Straight out of the fridge, cold rice, vindaloo & a massive spicy kick. Delish!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭The Pheasant2

Had an oven pizza for breakfast yday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Am I the norm?

I think you need to qualify this by telling the boys and girls what you work at...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭Hownowcow

I woke up one morning hungover to hell and found a lemon meringue pie.

Nyom nyom nyom nyom nyom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    I think you need to qualify this by telling the boys and girls what you work at...

Nuclear safety technician.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

I've had shark for breakfast before in Spain.

I like the amount of people eating cake for breakfast.

Hownowcow wrote: »

Meringue is second only to popcorn and chocolate combo as a hangover cure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭DoozerT6

Meringue is second only to popcorn and chocolate combo as a hangover cure

I'll see your meringue, and raise you a cheesecake :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭April O Neill

Cold pizza slice for brekkie. Nom.

Indian is good too.

Chips don't last too well though, they need to be eaten fresh.

Yeah microwaved chips always seem to come out awful

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Hownowcow wrote: »

The most delicious thing on the planet. Factoid.

Milkybar yogurts also rank highly on hangover cures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭Donnielighto

Throw chips in hot oil for 30 sec to a min and they fix up nicely.

Pizza reheated on a george foreman is brill. Base is crispy, top is still moist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭MonstaMash

Breakfast beer...breakfast of champions :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭Pushtrak

I usually don't have breakfast. Only those mornings where I actually wake up really hungry/soon afterwards. As for eating meals when they aren't typically eaten, I do instinctively think X isn't typical, but I kick that thought away fast. If it's something I'm in the mood for or is the most convenient for some reason, I'll have whatever it is at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

I don't get this either. "oh it's a bit early for chocolate" eh what? does food have a timestamp on it? is eating it later going to make it taste different?

Throw chips in hot oil for 30 sec to a min and they fix up nicely.

Seeing as we're talking about brekkies here, that is WAY too much trouble to go to. :D And it's not really that they need to re-crisp, it's that they get this really starchy, old potatoey taste to them, ya know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭Butterface

Faturday is my day to let loose.. I got up late so just had coffee and chocolate hobnobs for breakfast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭looking_around

I pretty much always eat leftover dinner (a small plate) for breakfast. Most people tend to look at me odd, and be all like "thats too heavy". Or, "wouldn't you have cereal like a normal person"

I don't like cereal.

I think people have become to obsessed over what you should eat and WHEN you should eat.
    Just eat fresh, and not too much of anything I say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

I pretty much always eat leftover dinner (a small plate) for breakfast. Most people tend to look at me odd, and be all like "thats too heavy". Or, "wouldn't you have cereal like a normal person"

I don't like cereal.

I think people have become to obsessed over what you should eat and WHEN you should eat.

ha yeah, eat a bowl of sugar instead of something probably much better for you.

krudler wrote: »
    I don't get this either. "oh it's a bit early for chocolate" eh what? does food have a timestamp on it? is eating it later going to make it taste different?

Yeah! And when people are bemused at you eating breakfast food later in the day. I don't eat fry-ups very often but goddamit, sometimes a fry-up for dinner is just the thing! And I generally eat pancakes at dinnertime the odd time I have them, they're too heavy as breakfast food, I find.

I don't like cereal.

Your leftover dinner is likely way more nutritious than their cereal!

To heavy for breakfast

You wuss :p

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭Vinz Mesrine

Whenever I get a pizza or Chinese, I always leave some in the microwave for breakfast the next morning. And it's always nicer the next day too!!

I often have a bowl of cereal at night as a snack/supper.

I know everyone is wondering how my snack box breakfast worked out.

It was amaze balls.

Hash browns instead of chips.

Awwwwwwww yeah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Cold pizza from the night before is also nice, Goodfellas oven baked, 16 hours sitting, you can't go wrong really it still tastes good and I've never been violently ill after one left that way.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Am I the norm?

Posted at 12.26.

Good morning OP. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭FreshKnickers

You're all making me hungry now. Feck it, I'm having tomorrows breakfast now!

Lapin wrote: »
    Posted at 12.26.

Good morning OP. :D

You break fast whenever you break fast :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭YellowFeather

Leftover lamb jalfrezi with peshwarii naan. Om nom nom. Best of all, it wasn't even my leftover food. Mate is too hungover to eat - the wuzz. Stolen food tastes even better. :D:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

You break fast whenever you break fast :D

True, true.

In that case my breakfast today consisted of a half a tin of Afternoon Tea biscuits that herself had bought for the run up to Christmas, (Women :rolleyes:) and thought she had them hidden away somewhere safe.

I'm gonna work on the rest of the tin soon and call it lunch !

• A lot of people in other countries (such as Spain and Japan) have beer with breakfast. I never got used to seeing people in cafes at 7am having beer with their toast.

I usually stick to 'breakfast food' for breakfast myself, but have no problem eating anything at that time if I feel like it. When I have time, I love having a Japanese style breakfast with rice and miso soup. My old flatmate thought that was weird. Soup and rice for breakfast is weird, but sausages, rashers, beans are fine? :confused:

I approve of cake for breakfast

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Had an oven pizza for breakfast yday
    I remember getting strange looks saying I ate pizza. But what is it, toasted bread, tomato, cheese, sausage. If I said I ate that it would be fine to their irrational minds.

Dunno what these oddballs are thinking when they have self restrictive eating time tables. Are these weirdos going to the fridge looking in saying "jaysus I could murder a chicken sandwich not, but its only 11.30am, I have to wait another 30mins, or is it 45mins, wheres my timetable of acceptability till I check".

And how the pig became the only acceptable breakfast animal for some people is really odd. A whole variety of pig products is open to them, rashers, pudding, sausages.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 811 ✭✭✭canadianwoman

I had 2 baloney sandwiches, an egg wrap my oldest son made me and a can of cola for breakfast.

Oh....and a tea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Breakfast is for losers.

Coffee is for winners and that's it until lunch.

Incidentally stomach ulcers are also for winners.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,528 ✭✭✭jubella

Had the best moment last sunday morning when I realised I had left the chinese I drunkenly bought on the way home saturday night in the microwave. Breakfast of champions!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,377 ✭✭✭Smithwicks Man

A few pints of Guinness at 10am ... The breakfast of champions

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 360 ✭✭creep

jubella wrote: »
    Had the best moment last sunday morning when I realised I had left the chinese I drunkenly bought on the way home saturday night in the microwave. Breakfast of champions!

I usually have spuds steak/chicken and veg at 8 every morning before work, I'd be starving in work otherwise with just a bowl of cereal or whatever. I usually then buy a roll and cook another dinner when I get home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭MonstaMash

A few pints of Guinness at 10am ... The breakfast of champions
    :eek: not Smithwicks? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,027 ✭✭✭✭titan18

I get stomach pain if I drink milk early for some reason

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,377 ✭✭✭Smithwicks Man

jubella wrote: »
    I genuinely didn't see that you had wrote "breakfast of champions" in the post previous to mine :eek: I always say that as a joke, some coincidence! :p
    MonstaMash wrote: »
    :eek: not Smithwicks? :p

No no.. I couldn't drink that at that time :D