Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If you won the Lotto...

• 11-10-2013 9:14am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 905 ✭✭✭

....who would you tell?

Who would you tell you won the Lotto 234 votes

Nobody
    0% 0 votes
    Just your Partner
    23% 56 votes
    Above + Family
    17% 40 votes
    Above + Friends
    42% 100 votes
    Go Public
    16% 38 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

It would depend how much, but I'd have a select group of friends Id give money to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

I'd have to tell my partner, because we'd be leaving the country and she'd never believe I lived a double Walter White style life so the money would be unexplained.
    Apart from that, noone.

Friends and Family would get sorted but they'd never know I won the lotto.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭FreshKnickers

SV wrote: »

Thats it in a nutshell for me. Theres people I'd love to treat but I wouldn't want people to see me as a great big cash cow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭Dun laoire

One thing i would not do is go public. Not a chance in hell. If i won the main lotto i would tell immediate family and look after them well. If i won the plus draws i wouldnt tell anybody except the ma maybe. I would buy the house and the balance i would enjoy of course. I'd look after the family but i would not tell them i won the lotto because lets be honest if you won 350k or 250k by the time you paid for your house and cleared off the few debts you wouldnt have a huge amount left. Living mortgage free would be Grrrrrrreat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I won €58 last week. I told feckin no one!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

I'd tell the women in the night clubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Tell family and friends alright, but defo wouldn't go public.
    Ideally one of those mega jackpots, Delores McNamara style, so I could throw everyone I care about a million or two. Being rich yourself would be nice I suppose, but everyone you know being rich too would be amazing - imagine the shenanigans you could get up to if none of your family or friends had to work or worry about the cost of things. It would be paradise!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭FreshKnickers

CJC999 wrote: »
    I won €58 last week. I told feckin no one!

Ah CJ, we've always been close could ya givvus a few bob sure ya have loads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

I wouldn't care about going public

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

My partner, my VER IMMEDIATE family (as in, my mom and one of my brothers), and some close friends.

Essentially all those people I intend to give a share of the winnings to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,955 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

SV wrote: »
    I'd have to tell my partner, because we'd be leaving the country and she'd never believe I lived a double Walter White style life so the money would be unexplained.
    Apart from that, noone.

Try this: "Darling, you remember all those times I said I was popping out to the shop to do the Lotto? Well I was really going into the shed to cook vast quantities of meth."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

I'd only tell my wife, so she can pack her suitcase

And **** off home to her mother!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

I'd tell nobody, because I know nobody can keep a fúcking secret around here. Everyone who hears a secret tells it to somebody else as a secret, and the further away it gets from the source, the less secret it gets. Or they remember they know something, but forget how secret it was supposed to be. The only way to keep a secret is to take it to your grave.
    Not that I have to worry about it anyway, since I don't even play the lotto because it's for suckers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I'd ring the ex-wife and tell her.

Then I'd post on here and tell you schmucks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 474 ✭✭Umekichi

I'd tell noone, maybe except my partner and even then he wouldn't know the full amount.
    No one can keep a secret in this country and people will hound you expecting handouts!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

Atari Jaguar XF with cream leather interior

Id think carefully about who I would tell, from the poolside of my villa in Choc Bay, St Lucia...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

I'd say nothing except to a very select few,

Then i'd start a business and say it was doing really well hence affording the ferrari and holidays every month

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭vitani

I'd tell as few people as possible. I'd give some money to my immediate family - probably pay off mortgages and such, and I'd pay for my parents to go on the holiday of their dreams. I'd buy a modest enough house in a nice location, give up work until my daughter was a little older and then I'd look at starting my own company, which hopefully would start to turn a profit by the time I'd burned through the rest of my cash.

I've thought about this way too much, especially as I don't even buy Lotto tickets.

An ex's father told about a guy in his Co Down village who basically went to his local and bought everyone drinks all night, claiming he'd won an accumulator. He got people to go home and get their wives neighbours etc. He ended up spending about ten grand getting the entire village **** faced.

A neighbour went looking for him the next day to say thanks, what a night etc and he'd gone. ****ed off to Spain and never came back.

Turned out he'd won £12m on the lottery six months earlier and knew he'd never be able to fully enjoy it in his two horse town.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

Turned out he'd won £12m on the lottery six months earlier and knew he'd never be able to fully enjoy it in his two horse town.
    It's hard to justify living under grey skies 10 months a year if you don't have to. I've often wondered why Ireland's original settlers bothered settling here. Potatoes and grass grows pretty well I guess, and the landscape is pretty nice in places, and it was probably nicely away from the other cúnt-bags they were trying to avoid, but christ the weather is miserable altogether Joe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

An ex's father told about a guy in his Co Down village who basically went to his local and bought everyone drinks all night, claiming he'd won an accumulator. He got people to go home and get their wives neighbours etc. He ended up spending about ten grand getting the entire village **** faced.

A neighbour went looking for him the next day to say thanks, what a night etc and he'd gone. ****ed off to Spain and never came back.

Brilliant story, hope it's true!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭Savage Tyrant

I'd tell nobody. My family are money hungry.
    I inherited just under a hundred grand a few years ago and it tore the family assunder. Borrowing and not paying back and guilted into paying bills and whatnot.
    I wouldn't be greedy though... I'd just introduce the money slowly and at my own pace. Let them think it was money I'd earned so they'd take less advantage.

Probably doesn't make sense to anyone but it does to me. Ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭Reality_Check1

The money would ruin me to be honest - id become a lazy ****e and never fulfill any potential I may or may not have. Id like to think I'd keep going as normal - buy a nice house and just be comfortable for the rest of my life. Id probably become a waster though and be very unhappy pissing through life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

I would only tell people if they asked about my lifestyle change

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

If we won the Euromillions jackpot we'd keep it to ourselves initially. We'd go off for a break, pretending to family that we'd got a cheap sun break, then decide how much we'd give our famillies. Frankly, I'd sort out my family with homes and some money but I wouldn't be dividing it up and giving them millions.

I'd like to use the money to make a difference to animal charities. I'd have to force my husbands side to sign papers not disclosing our identities as some of them are money grabbing cnuts who'd sell the story to the papers once they'd pissed away the cash you gave them:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

I think the whole place would know once I started to commute to work in a super car.

I'd like to use the money to make a difference to animal charities.

I'm keen to support animal charities, as soon as there are no children living in poverty, hunger or suffering from chronic illnesses.

Until that happens, animals will have to wait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭nelly17

Tell family and friends alright, but defo wouldn't go public.
    Ideally one of those mega jackpots, Delores McNamara style, so I could throw everyone I care about a million or two. Being rich yourself would be nice I suppose, but everyone you know being rich too would be amazing - imagine the shenanigans you could get up to if none of your family or friends had to work or worry about the cost of things. It would be paradise!

Think Id be spending most of my free time visiting in the Rutland centre

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,396 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

Just my partner for now, so i can enjoy it for a while until the pressure starts on how much to give to family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 708 ✭✭✭Timothy Bryce

1. Solid gold house
    2. Rocket car
    3. Liver & onions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

JJJJNR wrote: »
    I think the whole place would know once I started to commute to work in a super car.

I'd create a company doing some internet crap and stick a small logo on the side of the car and then tell everyone in work that I won a competition to advertise the company driving this mad sports car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭MonstaMash

I'd tell no one, disappear & create a new ID...start over...sorry babes :eek: :D

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,774 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

Wouldn't tell a soul.

Would be dead within 2 years though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,589 ✭✭✭touts

I'd only tell my wife and Michael Noonan. My wife for obvious reasons and I couldn't miss the opportunity to tell the ****er to kiss my ass as I leave this country and take my money with me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 905 ✭✭✭StompToWork

touts wrote: »
    I'd only tell my wife and Michael Noonan. My wife for obvious reasons and I couldn't miss the opportunity to tell the ****er to kiss my ass as I leave this country and take my money with me.

OOooh, I like that one!!!

Kinda like the fantasy I have of walking into my Bank with the cheque, asking to speak to the manager, putting the cheque in front of him, before proclaiming that I am closing my accounts, and they will never see a penny of this in their establishment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

I'd tell them to mind their own ****ing business, but in a new-found snobby style with several condescending vowels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,753 ✭✭✭Curlysue76

vitani wrote: »
    I'd tell as few people as possible. I'd give some money to my immediate family - probably pay off mortgages and such, and I'd pay for my parents to go on the holiday of their dreams. I'd buy a modest enough house in a nice location, give up work until my daughter was a little older and then I'd look at starting my own company, which hopefully would start to turn a profit by the time I'd burned through the rest of my cash.

I've thought about this way too much, especially as I don't even buy Lotto tickets.

Did you somehow read my mind and steal my thoughts? This is exactly what I would do. Also i dream but don't buy any tickets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

I'd have no real problem if everyone knew. I wouldn't be in Ireland for a few years anyway as I'd go travelling and become a sports event junkie; CL Final, FA Cup final, El CLassico, the majors in golf, Wimbledon, Ireland away matches in football and rugby etc.

I've always thought that I wouldn't want to win it until I was a bit older and more settled, though. I could easily go off the rails if I was handed €10m now. Not like that British chav who pissed it away on coke and hookers, but directionless doing nothing meaningful with it. That being said, I'd happily give it a go now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭pharmaton

I'd like to not tell anyone but if it was a large amount it wouldn't be possible so I'd tell just people I won a few bob and not disclose the actual amount. I have it all planned out for when I win.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Wouldn't tell anybody. To those of ye who say ye'd throw a few quid towards friends, are ye mad? That's gonna cause all sorts of ill will and problems. Not to mention getting screwed on the gift taxes there. Actually I'd probably tell the auld lad, and beforehand write down his name alongside mine n the ticket so the parents would get money. And no tax! Well that's a daydream wasted there anyways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭brokenarms

I would NOT tell the Nidge. Thats for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I'd complete the death ray I've built into the side of a mountain in Cavan. I need to hide the muzzle flash and smoke it generates. I think the locals are beginning to get suspicious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭MetalDog

Id pay off my parents' mortgage and sort out my immediate family.

I guarantee you though people who have actually won shi1tloads in the lotto are being phoned/facebooked etc by people they went to national school with.

I'd try not to end up like that woman in the USA who won the lottery not once but TWICE and still ended up living in a trailer park. Mind you she did have a gambling addiction and I've never backed a horse in anger in my life.
    http://www.complex.com/pop-culture/2011/10/the-10-worst-lottery-win-disasters/evelyn-adams

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

You'd never manage to hide it from everyone so depends on the amount really. If I won a EuroMillions mega-payout I'd probably "admit" to having won the regular Lotto, quietly take care of a few people I'd like to help out, build the house of my dreams telling everyone about the great value in the construction industry these days and take a few groups of my friends on holidays of some sort... (the ad about 2 weeks in the Bahamas on me would be a good template for it!).

A regular Irish Lotto win, I'd admit to having won (or shared) the daily millions and would be more circumspect about how I'd help people etc. A daily millions win I'd keep very quiet, maybe slipping a few grand to some very close friends and family) as tbh, after buying a nice house in a good part of Dublin you wouldn't have much change from it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭DylanII

It would depend on how much I won.

If I won the Irish lotto I'd tell my close family and friends. Try to keep it a secret from everyone else...

If I won €100m on the euro millions I wouldn't tell anyone straight away.

I'd wait until I had the money in my account. I would then leave the country to figure out who I'm giving what to.

It would be too much to hide so I would tell my family and friends. My parents would not be good at hiding money. So everyone would figure it out when they see a yacht parked in my parents garden.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭Gmol

I' d stay where I was and both myself and the wife would 'lose the jobs' I would use the 'redundancy' to build a little extension and basically retire quietly, that would be the plan for the first year, I would have to figure out how to donate money to the family

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

ScumLord wrote: »
    I'd complete the death ray I've built into the side of a mountain in Cavan. I need to hide the muzzle flash and smoke it generates. I think the locals are beginning to get suspicious.

Just say you dropped 50 cent a week ago. The Cavan people will have their eyes locked on the ground looking for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭vitani

ScumLord wrote: »

Distract them with Seán Quinn rallies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

vitani wrote: »
    Distract them with Seán Quinn rallies.

Just tell them that he financed it. Sure he's a benevolent mad scientist that has the best interests of the people of Cavan at heart, the Irish people are just looking for a scapegoat.