Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Asking a guy out

• 10-10-2013 7:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭

So... I'm having a bit of indecision. There's a guy that I fancy the pants off. He was a consultant through work, but the project is coming to an end soon and I'm thinking of asking him out - purely for fun and games.

The thing is, I never ask guys out. I'm a bit nervous about it. I know what I'd say to him, but I'm worried that he'd say no. I'd be looking to hook up with this fella, but nothing long term.

We have flirted a bit. We get on grand, but I'm purely interested in him physically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Well, if you don't ask then nothing will definitely happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,641 ✭✭✭Hardonraging

xoxyx wrote: »
    So... I'm having a bit of indecision. There's a guy that I fancy the pants off. He was a consultant through work, but the project is coming to an end soon and I'm thinking of asking him out - purely for fun and games.

The thing is, I never ask guys out. I'm a bit nervous about it. I know what I'd say to him, but I'm worried that he'd say no. I'd be looking to hook up with this fella, but nothing long term.

We have flirted a bit. We get on grand, but I'm purely interested in him physically.

You'll need a bath of ice set up.. and a pretty sharp knife.. that's assuming you want him physically to steal his kidneys right ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,901 ✭✭✭Howard Juneau

How do you know he's gay?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,294 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Just ask him, if he says no you won't be working with him anymore so you'll probably never see him again anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

I know what I'd say to him, but I'm worried that he'd say no.

Ask him out for a friendly drink, worst he can say is no.

And if he does say no, there is always chloroform.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 okno

ask him. you have nothing to lose and everything to gain!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭iMac_Hunt

If you tell him straight out that you're only interested in him physically, there isn't a hope in hell he will say no, unless he's gay of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Just tell him that, he'll be delighted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭The One Who Knocks

So... I'm having a bit of indecision. There's a guy that I fancy the pants off...

He wouldn't by any chance go by the name of Senor Fancy Pants now, would he?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 755 ✭✭✭sea_monkey

flash your gash and tell him its open for one night only

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,751 ✭✭✭MyPeopleDrankTheSoup

I'd be looking to hook up with this fella, but nothing long term.

We get on grand, but I'm purely interested in him physically.

Be sure to mention this to him when asking him out. The lucky bastard!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭xoxyx

jester77 wrote: »
    Well, if you don't ask then nothing will definitely happen.

That is very true, and I know this. Am just being a wuss I guess.
    How do you know he's gay?

I hope he's not!
    wazky wrote: »
    Ask him out for a friendly drink, worst he can say is no.

And if he does say no, there is always chloroform.

Flipping chloroform stocks are running low. Anyway, I want him awake for this one. :pac:
    iMac_Hunt wrote: »
    If you tell him straight out that you're only interested in him physically, there isn't a hope in hell he will say no, unless he's gay of course.
    ScumLord wrote: »
    Just tell him that, he'll be delighted.

Really? I do just want to have a bit of no strings, but is that a weird thing to say to somebody

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,196 ✭✭✭MonkstownHoop

That is very true, and I know this. Am just being a wuss I guess.

I hope he's not!

Flipping chloroform stocks are running low. Anyway, I want him awake for this one. :pac:

Really? I do just want to have a bit of no strings, but is that a weird thing to say to somebody

No!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

A woman asking for just sex is one of the most popular mens fantasies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Just say you want 'a bit of fun'. It's the code!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 811 ✭✭✭canadianwoman

Sounds like it's time for a lap dance. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭chughes

Well, stockings and suspenders does it for me.

Just saying;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 402 ✭✭The Big Smoke

I don't approach women much myself as a lot of Irish women are harsh, just wait for them to approach me after a few glances etc. There is nothing sexier than a girl asking you out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭returnNull

If your just on for a ride,ask him if he wants to go for a drink and try it on then.No more no less.Keep it simples :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭pharmaton

let us know how you got on op, we'll be waiting in anticipation.

Yeah, I suppose. Ok, gonna do it. I really would like to hook up with this guy!

(I get the impression he'd be very good in bed. :p)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭srm23

his reaction/answer will depend on if you are hot OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 811 ✭✭✭canadianwoman

Go for it. I did that back in 2000 with this guy I fancied. We ended up together for 8 years when all I really wanted was a few nights of fun. Good times and I don't regret it once.

Good luck.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 755 ✭✭✭sea_monkey

srm23 wrote: »

or if hes a minger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,310 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Im not trying to piss on your picnic OP, but i was once in the same position as the object of your desire. I liked the girl in question and was working up to asking her out and looking at things maybe developing into something more than a casual shag. But she got in first with her no strings attatched shag thing. Sent her packing. But maybe he's up for a completely casual experience, just dont assume he is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

Also a common wind-up. Like I suspect this thread is

Larianne wrote: »
    Just say you want 'a bit of fun'. It's the code!

That's my line !!! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,214 ✭✭✭FionnK86

Drink drink drink drink drink drink drink drink drink!

Meeting on Sunday. :)
    sea_monkey wrote: »
    or if hes a minger

He's very sexy.
    srm23 wrote: »

I plead the fifth. :p

Meeting on Sunday. :)

He's very sexy.

I plead the fifth. :p
    is it a date then?

Grandeeod wrote: »
    Im not trying to piss on your picnic OP, but i was once in the same position as the object of your desire. I liked the girl in question and was working up to asking her out and looking at things maybe developing into something more than a casual shag. But she got in first with her no strings attatched shag thing. Sent her packing. But maybe he's up for a completely casual experience, just dont assume he is.

Yep - understand that completely. I'm not looking for anything other than casual, but I know a lot of people want more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

Oh stop begging, I'll do it so......:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,583 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

The love doctor is in clinic.

The best move would be not to make a move, just put out subtle hints that you might be interested, the more imperceptible the better. We're naturally tuned to pick these things up and always love the chase. Up the difficulty as much as possible, no challenge = no interest. Find out his hobbies and avoid those topics at all cost, that way he can enjoy learning about new things he would normally have no interest in whatsoever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,310 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Hey love doctor

I think this one is already under starters orders. Its now down to whether the bloke in question is agreeable to no strings sex. Most likely will be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Zed Bank

Is this the next feeky McGee/ esso ciara thread?

That's my line !!! :rolleyes:

Do you also use the code of "cuddles" for something else?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

I'm worried that he'd say no.
    Why? What would happen?

Oh stop begging, I'll do it so......:pac:

FINALLY!!!!
    kowloon wrote: »
    The love doctor is in clinic.

The best move would be not to make a move, just put out subtle hints that you might be interested, the more imperceptible the better. We're naturally tuned to pick these things up and always love the chase. Up the difficulty as much as possible, no challenge = no interest. Find out his hobbies and avoid those topics at all cost, that way he can enjoy learning about new things he would normally have no interest in whatsoever.

Jaysus - that's way too much for a hook up!!

Why? What would happen?

I'd feel bad. :P

meh

Do you also use the code of "cuddles" for something else?!

Nooo Cuddles are cuddles .. I'm totes DTF tho .. but there's nothing like a few cuddles after a hot steamy session ..

Ya know ure self sure !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,027 ✭✭✭✭titan18

I won't say no, ask me out

Nooo Cuddles are cuddles .. I'm totes DTF tho .. but there's nothing like a few cuddles after a hot steamy session ..

Ya know ure self sure !!!

You're not sticking with the code! Messing everybody up!

What's DTF?

You're not sticking with the code! Messing everybody up!

What's DTF?

Fun is always fun !! it's my middle name sure ..

DTF = Down to fúck

Ok, fair enough. Took the plunge and asked him for a drink. Gonna do that at the end of the weekend. Gonna just be straight and say I'm not staying out late but he's welcome back home. Flip it - hopefully will be worth it. Feel like a whoor though laying it out on the line like that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 39 Miss Behaviour

I'd never be able to ask a guy out. I'm a confident sort of lady in my own way, but would never approach a guy out of the blue to chat him up or ask him out. It's just the way it is for me. Don't know what it is recently, but I'm not even getting chatted up much anymore when out! Don't know what has changed in 6 months! Must be my perfume.

Ok, fair enough. Took the plunge and asked him for a drink. Gonna do that at the end of the weekend. Gonna just be straight and say I'm not staying out late but he's welcome back home. Flip it - hopefully will be worth it. Feel like a whoor though laying it out on the line like that.

We'll expect a full report, inc Positions, ranked out of 10 for presentation, and effectiveness...

Here's hoping it's not a minute man ...

We'll expect a full report, inc Positions, ranked out of 10 for presentation, and effectiveness...

Here's hoping it's not a minute man ...

He better be good after all of this! Poor fecker. If he only knew there was a thread on Boards about him.

Maybe he does* ;)

*Clearly tho he doesn't