Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would You Shoot A Rutting Buck/Stag?

• 10-10-2013 2:57am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,147 ✭✭✭

I'm just wondering would you shoot a rutting buck/stag? I have no interest in shooting a big stag as I'd prefer to leave him but say a pricket or smaller buck from a meat quality point of view, would the meat be eatable or would be it too strong?

I've been out twice and seen does but going to try a different spot at the weekend where I have a feeling there is a buck or two but if the meat is too strong I'd rather wait till Nov than having meat go to waste.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 greengrasscork

For quality of meat I wouldnt shoot a male in the rut they lose a lot of their condition and there can be a very strong taste from the meat aswell prickets are my only target while the rut is on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,612 ✭✭✭bassy

I killed just about anything that ever walked or crawled one time and I'm here to kill you little buck for what you did to ned :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭The Aussie

Why would you shoot a Stag in the first place?

- Taste is rubbish (compared to a Pricket).
    - Adrenalin is Acid, if they have been in combat the meat will be full of it.
    - Harder to do a drag.
    - Harder to process.
    -
    -

I could go on but I'm on the way out the door...

Unless they are causing specific damage I would not bother my hole with them to be honest, but how many people can honestly say its Stags doing all the damage, I would hazard a guess that 90%+ of Farmers complaints are about Does.

Edit: and let's not forget that they need to do a job as well, I remember talking to a n00b there last year who shot a Stag/Buck then complained that there were no Does in the area come time for them, I would put money down that he shot the only one in the immediate area and they went else where to get serviced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

I was out beating on a pheasant shoot there a couple of years ago when a big buck broke out of the bushes, he had a massive set of antlers on him big palms, a big old boy.

As he ran one of the beaters said 'look at him you'ld make a fine pot of stew with him'

One of the lads who was big into deer shooting stopped and said 'the best way to cook him now is to get a pot and a brick. Throw the meat and the brick into the pot and start cooking. Then get a knife, when you can put the knife through the brick that's when you can eat the meat'

I thought it was funny anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Not unless he is some mighty trophy headed beast.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭4200fps

Wel where I hunt bucks they are very few compared to females in ratio so in this scenario it be best to let them rutt away and let them service away but as others said the spikers be the best. The bucks will be useless to eat after the rut as they will have no condition. They don't eat for atleast a whole week during the rut. I'd shoot a trophy head like what Grizzly said if I came on one. Mature Fallow males seem harder to come by from September to late October I find. Taste is all down to their age, where you hit them, field dressing and chilling I think. The deer thats hit and runs will always taste that bit wilder than the one that drops on the spot. Adrenalin causes lactic acid which gives the gamey taste

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭One shot on kill

Don't think I would be bother in a big stag to be honest.

Can the taste be said for old females.

When you think of the rut. Imagine now you had that many women outside queuing up for a dart. To the extent that you loose all your conditioning and can't eat for a week.

Ah the life busy busy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭sikahuntejack

Lads where do you think those big stags that are being shot durning the rutt and left into the game dealers are going. Restaurants here in Ireland and outside ireland if the meat was that bad why is the meat be sold into 4 star even 5 star hotel with top class restaurants .I worked in a 4 star hotel in wickow and we would buy a whole deer off wild irish game every week. when in season, and we also got big stags in october and november.A stag hung in a fridge for 18 to 21 days will be good cooking

Mmmmmmm. Can I have a big bowl of Acid* please.

You do know there is a distinct difference Venison wise to a Stag and a Rutting Stag don't you?

* Pyruvic and Lactic

Most of those big stags left into the game dealers in october and early november are rutting stags my mate brought a big rutting sika to a game dealer this morning 2 euro 30 a kilo, if the meat on a rutting stag is like a mouth full of acid why did my mate walk away with 130 euro the game dealer did not hand over 130 euro to throw the deer in the bin.The haunch of venison will be sold to a restaurant for around 10 euro a kilo. The venison saddle boneless will be sold for around 13 euro a kilo and served up to many happy customer in restaurants around ireland thats how it works

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭strangles

Ya twil be smothered in red wine sauce anyway so they wont be able to taste it .

Game Dealers would take in Road Kill if its not to smashed up : credibility 0

So good was the Stag your friend kept it himself : credibility 0

0+0 = 0

strangles wrote: »
    Ya twil be smothered in red wine sauce anyway so they wont be able to taste it .
    No way red wine it will have to be a cranberry jus or a port and blackberry jus

The haunch of venison will be sold to a restaurant for around 10 euro a kilo. The venison saddle boneless will be sold for around 13 euro a kilo and served up to many happy customer in restaurants around ireland thats how it works

And then we wonder why we have game harvesting on a grand scale???:rolleyes:+

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭underthetumb

Anyone who eats their quarry knows a calf tastes different to a buck, and a rutting buck tastes different to one say pre rut, when they are in prime condition. As said the game dealer would take in any form of deer

Every Hunter I've ever had dealings with know that, those that don't have a different agenda :rolleyes: or don't know what they are bluffing about...

A brief run down anyway.

Lactic acid is formed when the muscles are extremely active and the deer is not taking in enough oxygen to supply the movements. Inside the cells, sugars such as glucose, fructose and sucrose are converted into cellular energy and the metabolic byproduct lactate. This is referred to as anaerobic cellular respiration. If the animal were to live, the lactic acid would eventual dissipate. However, when the animal dies, the lactic acid becomes locked in the cells. It produces a sour taste. Then there are other Acids and Enzymes on top of.

Yummy...

First cab off the Google rank is this...

I could link another 283 if you want.

"As crazy as things get, a rutting buck is biologically programmed to do what it does. To say that the rut is exhausting on a buck would be a drastic understatement! This period of time is intensely stressful on the animals and often takes its toll. A number of things can claim a deer’s life throughout the course of time: hunter mortality, natural predation, vehicle mortality increases during the time surrounding the rut, injuries sustained while rutting can also become life threatening and it’s also known that deer can suffer from heart attacks. It has also been documented that bucks can also die from a condition known as exertional myopathy. Essentially, a buck pushes it’s body far beyond its limits and doesn’t stop. They will run so hard for so long, night and day, non stop for the duration of the rut often, with very little rest. They not only chase does, but also chase and fight off other potential suitors. Basically, the buck’s body is pushed so far beyond it’s limits, it begins to break down. Muscle tissue begins to release large amounts of lactic acid as well as other chemicals and enzymes are released in the body that in large amounts are toxic. The tissue breakdown ultimately leads to organ failure and death. Exertional myopathy may not be considered a common occurrence, but it is very possible that it happens a lot more than many hunters would consider."

http://fmloutdoors.com/2010/11/17/a-guide-to-hunting-whitetail-bucks-in-rut/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭Lastin

Boar taint and ram taint is well known in livestock farming. 130 euro for a stag no wonder poaching is a problem it would be a nice bonus for the week.:mad:

Another way to look at is you actually never know what the dealers are doing with them to be fair. Just look at the thing with the horse a while back.

Its also why you will never find wise hunters ordering a game course in any resturant.Never know how it was shot,who shot it and in what conditions,and how long it was stored or hung.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

Go into a restaurant or superquin and buy some venison and taste it and you'll see the difference in the quality of that and one you shot yourself.

Id rather not eat a big stag that was drinking its own piss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭PL05

so if you come across a big stag and you shoot him for say his head and because you think its meat may taste like smelly socks, what would you do with the carcass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭underthetumb

If I shot an animal in piss poor condition for the quality of it's head, I have two dogs that wouldn't say no. But that's if I shot one. I would try and leave it go, but if it was a cracker it might be easier said than done.

Never deny a man a Trophy*

Most of us go through the Trophy Hunter stage, god knows I've spent enough in the past doing it :pac:

* if its Legal i.e not a Kerry Red. ~cough Kanturk man cough~

garv123 wrote: »
    Go into a restaurant or superquin and buy some venison and taste it and you'll see the difference in the quality of that and one you shot yourself.

Farmed venison Vs wild venison in the shops. Wild venison in possible questionable condition in a resturant.

The point im trying to make is. I agree with the Aussie saying that an adrenilan pumped deer would taste like s**t. But i also agree with sikajack, that these animals do enter the food chain. So the answer to the OP should be dont shoot a rutting stag unless you want a good head [if it has one] and your going to bring carcass to the game dealer or your going to eat it yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭FISMA

dev110 wrote: »
    I'm just wondering would you shoot a rutting buck/stag?
    Yes.
    but say a pricket or smaller buck
    I would shoot him too.
    but if the meat is too strong

Buy a canner and some jars. Find a few good recipes. Or, just add salt, and pressure.

Can any bits you might think are going to taste tough or the whole lot, store in a cool place, and see how it tastes next year, or in two or three years. Best of all, no freezer burn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭Keelan

NO!! I am sorry to say this again, but its true. Deer numbers are in decline, due to lads out their looking for trophy heads. Their has been several cases i know of that have involved certain men, shooting a fine rutting buck in his prime and leaving the whole body behind and just taking the head, this is shameful!! :mad:

Keelan wrote: »
    NO!! I am sorry to say this again, but its true. Deer numbers are in decline, due to lads out their looking for trophy heads.

Just my opinion here, but I would think more damage is done by blokes shooting a Rutting Stag just to go and sell it at a game dealer for €130.

Greed and Game Management, never the twain shall meet.
    If I ever resort to using a Game Dealer, I will know (a) I've lost all perspective of what the sport is about, (b) don't have any friends.....

The Aussie wrote: »
    Just my opinion here, but I would think more damage is done by blokes shooting a Rutting Stag just to go and sell it at a game dealer for €130.

Greed and Game Management, never the twain shall meet.
    If I ever resort to using a Game Dealer, I will know (a) I've lost all perspective of what the sport is about, (b) don't have any friends.....

so if you shot a trophy stag what would you do with the carcass?

PL05 wrote: »
    so if you shot a trophy stag what would you do with the carcass?

Can't answer that to be honest, it's been almost a decade since I went near anything I would class as a Trophy, if you liken Shooting/Hunting to the old Fishing adage of The 5 Stages of a Fishermans Life.

Stage 1: I just want to catch a fish!

Stage 2: I want to catch a lot of fish!

Stage 3: I want to catch big fish.

Stage 4: I’m just happy to be out fishing.

Stage 5: I want to pass on my knowledge and passion for fishing.

I would be between 4 & 5, if I was with someone who really wanted a Trophy it would all be extracted and utilised even if it had to be Quartered Out (Farmers don't like a rotting carcass in their Field) what would happen to it from there would depend on the condition, but would it not be shot before or during the Rut anyway so that's a mute point.

TBH if our continental colleuges were to look at this they would be wondering why are doing this bass ackwards??In shooting pricketts,and leaving the mature or aging stags?? The mature lads have given their best to the gene pool for on average 3/4 seasons already,and as they age they will be pushed out of their dominant place by other younger competition.The pricketts haven't had a chance to "spread the love around.":pac: so their genes wont get into the herd before they are shot.

Fine if you want good eating,even then I'd wait to Nov for a nice calf or hind.But if you want a trophy then the rut is the time.After all it is when you will proably get the only chance of a possible multiple choice of mature stags.

On the point of shooting rutting stags,if it was the rut and you saw a stag with abnormal antler development.Would you take him down??Irrespective of the meat problem?? An abnormal antler development is usually a sign of a weak animal so if you are into improving your herd in the area...
    Call your shot!:D

just wondering, and question is,nt only directed at you. Just observing comments made Re: quality of meat from a rutting stag and trophy heads. in my opinion if anyone shoots a stag for the head they should really think before they sqeeze the trigger. [1] will i eat the meat from this animal or [2] will i bring it to game dealer. if anyone has an issue with either of these options they should leave the head where it is. As you said earlier, i would,nt begrudge anyone a trophy head either but i honestly think a stag should,nt be killed just for his head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭FISMA

Maybe some of ye here have a far more refined palate than myself. However, I have never found any evidence of tastes as being described here due to a rutting animal and such.

I have to wonder if this is something that when repeated enough and sounds logical, becomes defacto knowledge.

In general, I find that the taste of the animal depends mostly on what they themselves ate - you are what you eat and cooking/preparation methods.

In the States, the corn fed deer of the midwest often taste better than those that eat acorns, hemlock, and such.

I would be surprised if after I prepared venison, anyone could do a blind taste test and pick the rutting stag.

Additionally, I have had young ones that tasted far worse than older deer. In cases like this, putting the meat into salt water to draw out the blood, as you do with bunnies, helped.

Any Biologists on the forum? Would be nice to get some meat in to the lab for scientific analysis while at the same time doing a taste testing at home.

FISMA wrote: »
    I have to wonder if this is something that when repeated enough and sounds logical, becomes defacto knowledge.

Science is far from defacto knowledge sorry, if you want to google why at abattoirs they don't slaughter animals infront of other animals is because of the stress induced in the live animals.

Here is a brief run down on stress and injury on meat, it mentions something else that has not been mentioned yet on this thread is the damage to meat by bruising while in combat

http://www.fao.org/docrep/003/x6909e/x6909e04.htm

I can add links all day as to the build up of adrenalin, different acids and enzymes In meat before slaughter.
    Maybe some of ye here have a far more refined palate than myself.

Well I don't want to sledge you to much as I like reading your posts, but.....

Maybe some of ye here have a far more refined palate than myself. However, I have never found any evidence of tastes as being described here due to a rutting animal and such.

In general, I find that the taste of the animal depends mostly on what they themselves ate - you are what you eat and cooking/preparation methods.

In the States, the corn fed deer of the midwest often taste better than those that eat acorns, hemlock, and such.

I would be surprised if after I prepared venison, anyone could do a blind taste test and pick the rutting stag.

Additionally, I have had young ones that tasted far worse than older deer. In cases like this, putting the meat into salt water to draw out the blood, as you do with bunnies, helped.

Any Biologists on the forum? Would be nice to get some meat in to the lab for scientific analysis while at the same time doing a taste testing at home.
    I agree with you 100% i will be roasting the rump off the shoulder of a big stag tommorrow, that was shot last sunday cant wait for me dinner tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,759 ✭✭✭cookimonster

A lot of study and research has gone into the condition of slaughtered meat. There is evidence that shows that animals that are stressed at the time of thier deaths yield meat that is tough. But this is relative to a degree of toughness. Age, condition, breed, gender all play a part. Remember todays commercialy slaughtered cattle are not hung for as long as previous generations practiced, so meat processors are constantly trying to improve the eating quality of meat even by the slightest degree.

It is true that rutting stags particularly at the height and onwards of the rut would lose conditioning and that thier adrenaline levels would be unnaturally high. But this high adrenaline level can be found in animals regardless of age or gender that are not 'dispatched cleanly and quickly' due to poor shot placement.

Cooks and Chefs have spent decades developing techniques and recipes to deal with all forms of food in order to make it palettable. So if you shoot it you should at least cook it and eat it. Two ways to deal with tough meat - low & slow or fierce & fast.

Now enough waffleing, I'm going to look up a few recipes for the 8 pointer hanging in my fridge.......Hmmmmm, ragout of stag, stag gumbo, stag stirfry, roast stag, braised stag, stag kebabs, stag burgers, stag saus...................:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,147 ✭✭✭dev110

This thread has given me quiet a bit to think about. It's interesting to see different peoples opinions though.

I'm not going to lie I would like a nice head for my first deer as I would do a skull mount and always have it as a reminder of my first deer.
    There seems to be mixed opinions on the meat quality of a rutting buck/stag. From what I can see it comes down to how long it is hung and how it is prepared. I always take on cookimonster's advice when it comes to meat prep, etc so if he can manage to make something out of a rutting buck it must be possible to do something.
    Grizzly made a point about an older buck that has been passing on his genes for a few years, is it a good idea to let another buck come up the ranks and take over? Or is this only possible if your the only one shooting that area and there is no poaching? Is it even possible to try and maintain a herd if there is so much poaching? Has it changed over the years to shoot what ever comes out in front of you?

A lot of study and research has gone into the condition of slaughtered meat.

And Millions have been spent.
    Remember todays commercialy slaughtered cattle are not hung for as long as previous generations practiced.

My Butcher aims for about 35 days, below is a clip from the Lidl website, both are far far more than any bloke in his Garage will hang a Rutting Stag for in his Coke Fridge.
    wrote:
    All Hereford sired 'Deluxe' steaks are matured 14 days on the bone and further matured for a total of 28 days to ensure tenderness and flavour.
    http://www.lidl.ie/cps/rde/xchg/SID-96ABFB58-25426E7F/lidl_ri_ie/hs.xsl/24206.htm
    But this high adrenaline level can be found in animals regardless of age or gender that are not 'dispatched cleanly and quickly' due to poor shot placement.

This is one of the reasons people go for Head Shots, also why people steer away from the .22 Cals (22-250 and Swift) so the death is quicker, with the Head Shots that is a personal choice, regarding the .22 Cals that's just being misinformed.....
    Cooks and Chefs have spent decades developing techniques and recipes to deal with all forms of food in order to make it palettable.

Likening us to a Chef is like comparing a Tradesman to a Home Handyman (unless you are a Chef who Hunts his own Meat of course) we can cook and get the job done but the end results are not as polished.
    Now enough waffleing, I'm going to look up a few recipes for the 8 pointer hanging in my fridge..

Stick up a photo of your set up for us, always interested to see peoples chilling and processing areas.

But facts are that a Pricket will taste better than a Stag, and a Stag before the Rut will be better to one during the Rut, and with the question being would you shoot a Rutting Stag, for me one of the reasons would not be the eating quality.
    But as with a lot of Hunting that is down to personal restraints.

Has it changed over the years to shoot what ever comes out in front of you?

I'm afraid the answer is yes, there is a lack of tradition in Stalking, it's the same as in Salmon Angling, if you get it on the bank you give it a tap on the head is the prevailing mentality, even if it's starting to turn Red, if it had to be summed up in one word it is Greed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,759 ✭✭✭cookimonster

Good posts Aussie, I enjoy the banter,

Today most meat is 'wet aged' that is to say vacuum packed. This will give the meat very long shelf life at standard chill temps, but produces a very different end result. Different flavour notes and colours as well as reducing overall wieght loss found in dry aged meats.
    Long periods of traditional dry ageing is only suited to certain breeds or prime cuts and relies on the presence of outer fat and or bone (hence long loins are ideal).

Regarding 'chefs' believe me I have worked with and to my shame trained some who would pale in the presence of a home cook. The application of heat to food is not the great mystery that we in the trade would like you to think. Most peoples problems are that they don't know the basics, so like all other skills, driving, shooting etc its just a matter of getting the basics and then practice, practice and more practice.

In the past I used to butcher for friends, now I am into my third deer season as a hunter and enjoy processing my own quarry. My set up is simple and alternate between work and home depending on the kitchen work load. I use a standard commercial single door up right refrigeratorn (holds 2 animals) and a mincer with a cheep sausage nozzle attachment. When at home I bag and tag using a Lidal vacuum packer.

I tend to leave most of the animals I process in thier jackets for a week, then skin them, rechill for 24 hrs and then it takes me approximately two more days to dice, slice and bag it before freezing. This gives me joints, stewing, minced, burgers and sausages.

I agree with you on the greed issue, firstly I don't belive in the selling of game to processors as practiced here in Ireland (see the history of commercial game selling as practiced in previous century). The amount of game sold in Irish restaurants is quite small in comparison to other meats so I wonder where the meat is going.
    I can feed my four adult family with approximately 30 meals with the average Sika spiker or hind that I tend to shoot, so four to five animals over the space of the season add enough meat to my freezer to do me.

The lads I shoot with have been doing this for a very long time and shoot with in the letter of the law. They have many far ranging permissions and manage them well by not over shooting them and knowing what is out there. They consistently get good returns from the same areas year after year. As it has been said here before if you put the dear under too much pressure no matter what's in season your going to see a drop off in numbers.

Today most meat is 'wet aged' that is to say vacuum packed. This will give the meat very long shelf life at standard chill temps, but produces a very different end result. Different flavour notes and colours as well as reducing overall wieght loss found in dry aged meats.

Yes I tend to stay away from all Vacuum Packed meats, one of the reasons for staying away from the big Multi-Nationals and supporting your local Butcher is he can tell you how it's been aged and if he is any good, where and what it came from.

Regarding 'chefs' believe me I have worked with and to my shame trained some who would pale in the presence of a home cook.

I don't know if its to your shame at all, in 20 years in the construction industry I've only had 3 apprentices last the distance, if they are not suited they normally get the short shift, so your far more tolerant than I I'm afraid :(
    In the past I used to butcher for friends, now I am into my third deer season as a hunter and enjoy processing my own quarry. My set up is simple and alternate between work and home depending on the kitchen work load. I use a standard commercial single door up right refrigerator (holds 2 animals) and a mincer with a cheep sausage nozzle attachment. When at home I bag and tag using a Lidal vacuum packer.

Stick up a picture of your set up, I'm always interested in how other people do it if you could, with your fridge would you fill it in one go, as in either 1 or 2 carcasses at the one time or 2 on different days?
    If the latter do you notice a distinct rise in temperature?
    I've always been of the opinion to get the Core Temp down while in transport with frozen milk (with water inside) bottles wrapped in big garbage bags to stop burning any meat and put them in the chest cavity, when shooting in 30+ degrees it used to be a must do or with a big drive! not so important on a frosty morning though
    I tend to leave most of the animals I process in thier jackets for a week, then skin them, rechill for 24 hrs and then it takes me approximately two more days to dice, slice and bag it before freezing. This gives me joints, stewing, minced, burgers and sausages.

Sounds like a good way of doing it, would you vary hanging time for the size of the animal?
    I agree with you on the greed issue, firstly I don't belive in the selling of game to processors as practiced here in Ireland (see the history of commercial game selling as practiced in previous century). The amount of game sold in Irish restaurants is quite small in comparison to other meats so I wonder where the meat is going

I think I read (on here?) the breakdown of Venison exported to the Continent was almost all that went through the Game Dealers Books, I've said it before and will say it again, if I ever use a Game Dealer I've lost all perspective of what Deer Stalking is about.
    The lads I shoot with have been doing this for a very long time and shoot with in the letter of the law. They have many far ranging permissions and manage them well by not over shooting them and knowing what is out there. They consistently get good returns from the same areas year after year. As it has been said here before if you put the dear under too much pressure no matter what's in season your going to see a drop off in numbers.

Sound like decent blokes who care about next years sport.
    Who knows if people keep on harping on about Game Management it might sink in one day....
    Good posts Aussie, I enjoy the banter.

Like wise.

Just like a conversation at the pub..... I don't do Soccer Talk :pac:.....

Grizzly made a point about an older buck that has been passing on his genes for a few years, is it a good idea to let another buck come up the ranks and take over? Or is this only possible if your the only one shooting that area and there is no poaching? Is it even possible to try and maintain a herd if there is so much poaching? Has it changed over the years to shoot what ever comes out in front of you?

TBH it is a problem that is west W European wide ,not just here.
    All you can do is do your best and what your own" hunting ethics" tell you is right. If you have a let and are going to try and manage it properly and you are adjoined by two market hunters,all your work will be zero.You might have had a trophy stag all year on your let,and the one day you are out and see him while stalking and decide to let him alone for another while ,and you hear a shot a half hour later from your neighbours let......:(.But what can you do????
    That's hunting..

Illegal market hunters which is what we have here,as I wouldn't degin to call these cretins who are doing this "poachers":mad:..You wouldnt know if a good poacher had hit your let,and no sane poacher is going to decimate a natural resource that will keep him supplied year in year out. Are a different story,this is pure unadultrated greed and money making.:mad: Its aided and abetted by an attitude of the "too many of them feckers anyway." from our farming community and NPWS...Anyone who says from a position of being in charge that "one deer in Ireland is one deer too many." Well...what can you expect from a pig but a grunt??
    This situation is like blood diamond dealing. the peon who finds the diamonds gets a pittance for their efforts and the dealer rakes in a fortune.After speaking to one dealer,they would be happy if deer just consisted of sirlion and fillet.All the rest is" 2nd grade cuts " to them the two cuts are their money makers that are sold at huge markup for foriegn or domestic markets.:mad:

Only way to break this is simply we have to take the financial gain of out of the equation..If there is "easy money" in Ireland everyone will try to profit from it.But if there is no money in it the problem is 90% solved.

So either a moratorium on sales of wild deer to dealers for at least five years.
    If there is such a a market for it,somone will start supplying farmed deer.
    OR
    The game handling course actually becomes mandatory,but allows you like your EU counterpart to actually sell from field to resturant.
    This is the only reason the game handling cert would make any sense here.
    It will also allow free market forces to work and we would then see what a resturant would be willing to pay for a carcass.

As The Aussie said..There are phases of hunting life too, where you get trophy fever,and must have a trophy for every season and place you have hunted.as we do ,we have a house full of antlers from my grandfathers lifetime of hunting.Everything from Austrian reds to a 15kg Hungarian monster red that was his 85 birthday present from us all to him.

At the moment,I'd rather have a good repersentative head of an Irish red on my wall. Doesnt have to be a gold class either.But I'm more intrested in having a good eater than a house full of bones.

Slow roasting a leg of deer, cook for 6 hours you will be able to carve the leg with a spoon even a rutting stags leg . I had braised beef on my menu today in work we used a cheap cut of meat which we call ball of round too tough to roast and if cut up and fryed would taste like leather .But when sliced and sealed on a hot pan and covered in a beef stock with red wine bay leaves onions garlic and thyme and placed in a moderate oven for 4 hours its will match fillet steak any day, there is plenty of ways to cook tough meat. corned beef is as tough as leather but when cooked right is a great dish same with lamb shanks its all about the cooking and preparation of the meat . IF i was make venison casserole i would only used the tough joints of meat includeing the neck this is where the flavour is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 584 ✭✭✭Mauser 308

All this talk is making me starving, rutting stag or not.....:rolleyes:

Mauser 308 wrote: »
    All this talk is making me starving, rutting stag or not.....:rolleyes:

I've got a lovely Back Strap off a Young Spiker that all it needs is to be walked through a warm room before serving down here ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 326 ✭✭Savoir.Faire

Would only ever shoot a rutting stag for a trophy. These days, that would have to be an extremely impressive specimen for me to do it.

I really dislike the taste of a rutting stag. I'm flabbergasted at some people saying they can't taste the difference! Its simply awful, and its a travesty that people who decide to 'try' venison in a restaurant are given it.

On more than one occasion I've converted people who claim they hate the taste of venison by cooking them some of my own quarry.

The Aussie wrote: »
    I've got a lovely Back Strap off a Young Spiker that all it needs is to be walked through a warm room before serving down here ;)
    Brilliant. Just walked through a warm room, I love it.

Would only ever shoot a rutting stag for a trophy. These days, that would have to be an extremely impressive specimen for me to do it.

I really dislike the taste of a rutting stag. I'm flabbergasted at some people saying they can't taste the difference! Its simply awful, and its a travesty that people who decide to 'try' venison in a restaurant are given it.

On more than one occasion I've converted people who claim they hate the taste of venison by cooking them some of my own quarry.
    I have converted a fair few people also, not sure how many ate rutting stags as such prior. But fairly sure the animal was killed and handled badly. Going by stories and listening to lads who supplied the meat, its my opinion there are far too many lads out there who do not know how to bleed and handle a deer correctly ie cleaning,chilling etc. etc. I heard horror stories from lads about washing the animals out in streams to wash the burst stomach contents off the meat :eek::eek:
    Thought I do have something in my head about eating rutting stags, I dont know if its that I heard it so many times or just the strong small off the rutting stag, but I imagine I can smell it off the meat when cooking. Maybe all in my head.

Don't know if its in your head I do hear they are smelly bastards al the same.