Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

X Factor Prediction League 2013

• 09-10-2013 7:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭

I think this is the 4th year of this thread and it has been great fun in the past! Previous winners are:

2012 - QueenOfLeon
    2011 - QueenOfLeon
    2010 - LizT

Following on from those years, your predictions ever week should look like this:

In case of a single elimination
    Bottom 2 - Act x and act y.
    Eliminated - Act y.

In case of a double elimination
    Bottom 3- act x, act y and act z
    Eliminated - Act x and act y

You should always include a prediction for double elimination, just in case it is sprung on us as a surprise.

Points will be awarded as follows:

Single Bottom 2 act correct -3 points
    Both both two acts correct - 6
    Correct act eliminated - 6

Single Bottom 3 act correct -2 points
    Two Bottom 3 acts correct - 4 points
    All bottom 3 acts correct - 6 points
    Eliminated act correct - 6 points

So the maximum points awarded each week will be 12.

In the case of twists in any week, I will review the formula, provided we are given notice prior to the live show.

I will tally up the scores as soon as I can after the Sunday night show (probably on a Monday) and will post them as a spreadsheet. If anyone sees any mistakes, please let me know!

A few rules...

1. Predictions MUST be posted before the first performer on the Saturday night show. Any predictions posted after that time will not be counted.

2. Please keep any discussion about the show to the main thread.

3. Please feel free to join the league at any stage of the competition!

4. There are contestants named Sam. Please use surnames so we know which one you're talking about :)

This year's finalists are:

The Overs
    Shelley Smith
    Sam Bailey
    Lorna Simpson

The Boys
    Luke Friend
    Nicholas McDonald
    Sam Callahan

The Girls
    Abi Alton
    Tamera Foster
    Hannah Barrett

The Groups
    Rough Copy
    Kingsland Road
    Miss Dynamix

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

Can I get the ball rolling? :pac:

Bottom 2: Shelley & Miss Dynamix

Eliminated: Miss Dynamix

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,528 ✭✭✭jubella

I always do terribly at this but sure I'll give it a go anyway

Bottom 2 - Shelley Smith & Sam Callahan
    Eliminated - Shelley Smith

In the highly unlikely event of a double elimination:
    Bottom 3 - Shelley Smith, Sam Callahan & Abi Alton
    Eliminated - Shelley Smith & Sam Callahan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,029 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

In the event of a single elimination:-
    Bottom 2 - Shelley Smith & Rough Copy
    Eliminated - Shelley Smith

In the event of a double elimination:-
    Bottom 3 - Shelley Smith & Rough Copy & Lorna Simpson
    Eliminated - Shelley Smith & Rough Copy

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 25,390 Mod ✭✭✭✭Loughc

I think Shelly could be this years Christopher or Rylan. Everyone thinks will go but will make it to week 6 or 7!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 293 ✭✭GorillaRising

I'm going to go with:

Bottom two: Miss Dynamix; Sam Bailey
    Eliminated: Miss Dynamix

Double Elimination:

Bottom three: Miss Dynamix; Sam Bailey; Nicholas McDonald
    Eliminated: Miss Dynamix; Sam Bailey

I'm expecting the wooden spoon by the end of this league!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭SaceyFlynn13

Bottom 2 - Shelley Smith & Abi Alton
    Eliminated - Shelley smith

Bottom 3 - Shelley Smith & Abi Alton & Sam Callahan
    Eliminated - Shelley smith & Sam Callahan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,317 ✭✭✭gavmcg92

xVyoSl.jpg

Bottom 2 - Lorna Simpson and Shelley Smith.
    Eliminated - Shelley Smith.

Bottom 3- Miss Dynamix ,Lorna Simpson and Shelley Smith
    Eliminated - Miss Dynamix and Shelley Smith.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭dmcg90

Bottom 2 - Abi Alton & Lorna Simpson
    Eliminated - Lorna Simpson

Bottom 3 - Luke Friend & Abi Alton & Lorna Simpson
    Eliminated - Luke Friend & Lorna Simpson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

Bottom 2 - Lorna Simpson & Miss Dynamix
    Eliminated - Miss Dynamix

Bottom 3 - Lorna Simpson, Miss Dynamix & Rough Copy
    Eliminated - Miss Dynamix & Lorna Simpson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 726 ✭✭✭dubsgirl

Bottom 3 - Lorna Simpson & Miss Dynamix & Sam Callahan
    Eliminated - Lorna Simpson & Sam Callahan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,607 ✭✭✭Meauldsegosha

Bottom 3 - Lorna Simpson & Miss Dynamix & Shelley Smith
    Eliminated - Lorna Simpson & Miss Dynamix

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,737 ✭✭✭Missymoohaa

In the event of a single elimination

Bottom two

Kingsland and Miss Dynamix

Eliminated
    Miss Dynamix

In the unlikely event of a Double Elimination

Bottom three

Kingsland, Miss Dynamix and Sam Callahan

Eliminated
    Miss Dynamix and Sam Callahan

Also predict a Wildcard, with yer man Paul getting through to live shows.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭poppet84

Bottom 2 - Luke Friend & Miss Dynamix

Bottom 3 - Lorna Simpson, Luke Friend & Miss Dynamix
    Eliminated - Lorna Simpson & Miss Dynamix

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭Butterfly25

Delighted to be doing this again!! :D Makes the show more interesting!! Thanks ibarelycare :D

Bottom 2 - Lorna Simpson & Abi Alton

Bottom 3 - Shelley Smith & Abi Alton & Lorna Simpson
    Eliminated - Lorna Simpson & Shelley Smith

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭Dilynnio

Single elimination
    Bottom 2: Kingsland Road and Shelley
    Eliminated: Kingsland Road

Double elimination
    Bottom 3: Shelley, Sam, Kingsland Road
    Elimimated: Kingsland Road

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Kiwi_knock

In case of Single Elimination

Bottom Two: Lorna Simpson and Miss Dynamix
    Eliminated: Lorna Simpson

In case of Double Elimination

Bottom Three: Lorna Simpson, Miss Dynamix and Luke Friend
    Eliminated: Lorna Simpson and Miss Dynamix

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 Biscuits Brown

Bottom Two: Lorna and Shelley
    Eliminated: Shelley

Bottom Three: Lorna, Miss Dynamix and Shelley
    Eliminated: Shelley and Miss Dynamix

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,554 ✭✭✭CH3OH

Bottom Two: Lorna Simpson and Shelley Smith
    Eliminated: Lorna Simpson

Bottom Three: Lorna Simpson, Shelley Smith and Luke Friend
    Eliminated: Lorna Simpson and Shelley Smith

Closed for show 1?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Shite, I didn't spot this thread till now :mad:

Too late?

Edit: Just saw the rules now - damn it!

Shite, I didn't spot this thread till now :mad:

Too late?

Don't worry there's another 9/10 weeks to go ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

Clicks "Follow Thread", this should be fun.

Crap, should have copied everyone else and chosen Shelley :D

Me too!! Should have went with my instinct...ok I'm taking this way too seriously! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,737 ✭✭✭Missymoohaa

In the event of a single elimination

Bottom two

Kingsland and Miss Dynamix

Eliminated
    Miss Dynamix

In the unlikely event of a Double Elimination

Bottom three

Kingsland, Miss Dynamix and Sam Callahan

Eliminated
    Miss Dynamix and Sam Callahan

Also predict a Wildcard, with yer man Paul getting through to live shows.:)

Holy Crap, I was way out. Must get better at this. :D:D:D

This week's results!

Well done to CH3OH for top marks!

I hope that link works, I've never used google docs before, so let me know if ye can see it ok! Hopefully I haven't made any mistakes but let me know if I have :D

This week's results!

Well done to CH3OH for top marks!

I hope that link works, I've never used google docs before, so let me know if ye can see it ok! Hopefully I haven't made any mistakes but let me know if I have :D

Works ok for me.

I forgot I changed Lorna for Shelley just before I posted so I'm well happy :-D

Top of the relegation zone! Whoo hoo! :D

Can you edit the initial post to add a scratch for the acts that have been knocked out?

gavmcg92 wrote: »
    Can you edit the initial post to add a scratch for the acts that have been knocked out?

Good idea, but I can't edit my post any more cos it's too old.

Yeah, a mod is going to have to do it.

The only way is down from here on in!;)

I suppose I'll be the first to get week 2 off to a start. Don't think there is any benefit of waiting, other than seeing what the general consensus is. A lot more complicated this week to make a decision. Well here we go then..

Bottom 2 - Miss Dynamix and Shelley Smith.
    Eliminated - Shelley Smith (will go to what ever we have to replace deadlock).

Bottom 3- Abi Alton, Miss Dynamix and Shelley Smith
    Eliminated - Miss Dynamix and Shelley Smith

Don't think I'm going to get full points this week either. I imagine the last 4 acts will have very close voting results.

Bottom 2 - Miss Dynamix & Luke Friend

Bottom 3 - Miss Dynamix, Luke Friend & Shelley Smith
    Eliminated - Miss Dynamix & Shelley Smith

Bottom 2 - Miss Dynamix & Sam 'Callaghan'?

Bottom 3 - Miss Dynamix, Sam Callaghan & Shelley Smith

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭SaceyFlynn13

Bottom 2 - Miss Dynamix & Sam Callahan
    Eliminated - Sam Callahan

Bottom 3 - Miss Dynamix & Sam Callahan & Shelley Smith
    Eliminated - Sam Callahan & miss Dynamix

Bottom 2 - Miss Dynamix & Shelley
    Eliminated - Shelley

Bottom 3 - Miss Dynamix & Shelley & Luke Friend
    Eliminated - Shelley & Miss Dynamix

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭poppet84

Bottom 2 - Shelley Smith & Miss Dynamix
    Eliminated - Miss dynamix

Bottom 3 - Shelley Smith & Sam Callahan & miss Dynamix
    Eliminated - Shelley smith & Miss dynamix

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,029 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Bottom 3 - Luke Friend & Miss Dynamix & Shelley Smith

I'm surprised at people voting Sam C. He's crap but he's in it for the long haul I reckon! He has "the whole package"...besides the voice :pac:

Judging by twitter, I reckon hes got a good few weeks left. He'll outlast luke anyway. Maybe even nicholas.

Bottom 3 - Luke Friend & Miss Dynamix & Shelley Smith

p.s. thanks JP Liz V1 saved typing!;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,528 ✭✭✭jubella

In the event of a single elimination:
    Bottom 2 - Abi Alton & Miss Dynamix

In the event of a double elimination:
    Bottom 3 - Shelley Smith & Miss Dynamix & Abi Alton

Single elimination:
    Bottom 2 - Miss Dynamix & Abi Alton

Double elimination:
    Bottom 3 - Miss Dynamix & Abi Alton & Shelley Smith

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

Single elimination:
    Bottom 2 - Hanna Barret & Shelly Smith
    Eliminated - Shelly Smith

Double elimination:
    Bottom 3 - Hanna Barrett & Abi Alton & Shelley Smith
    Eliminated - Abi Alton & Shelley Smith

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Kiwi_knock

Bottom Two: Shelley Smith and Miss Dynamix
    Eliminated: Shelley Smith

Bottom Three: Shelley Smith, Miss Dynamix and Luke Friend
    Eliminated: Shelley Smith and Miss Dynamix

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Single elimination:

Double elimination:
    Bottom 3 - Shelley Smith, Luke Friend & Miss Dynamix
    Eliminated - Shelley Smith & Miss Dynamix

And so it begins! Good luck to all!

Going to suggest that anyone who has Miss Dynamix in the bottom two get to use the two other acts that they have chosen for their bottom three as their bottom two? That way we're not choosing another act after the show has started. What do you think?

gavmcg92 wrote: »
    Going to suggest that anyone who has Miss Dynamix in the bottom two get to use the two other acts that they have chosen for their bottom three as their bottom two? That way we're not choosing another act after the show has started. What do you think?

Yeah I think that's the fairest way.