Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

15-20k What car?

• 02-10-2013 8:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,429 ✭✭✭

I'm thinking of buying a car. I was tinkering with the notion of going for a new crossover (CX-5) and part financing it, but I reckon I'd prefer to go for a car 1-3 years old to avoid interest payments and steep depreciation curves.

So, I have been doing a bit of homework but am more confused now than ever. I have looked at Mazda6, Octavia, Passat and Insignia. I am open to any other suggestions also.

I am tall (6'5"). I commute 20 miles each way daily and might do 100-200 miles on a weekend. I'd nearly prefer petrol but a lot of models are diesel only which worries me a little when ti comes to low mileage and reliability.

I am a straight cash customer, I won't be looking for a trade in.

I'd like a bit of power, 130bhp+ with reasonable emissions (I don't want to exceed €500pa tax if I can help it)

I'd like to stay within 3 years old so no older than 2010.

My preference is a newish Mazda6 petrol or 2.2L diesel but Mazda's are very expensive and s/h models seem to be holding prices. I have looked at shopping in the UK but for a lot of models, the price difference landed is nearly nil; the only gain is that there is a greater choice in higher spec trims over there.

I should add, I'm middle aged, single and hitting the mid life crises. So I want to treat myself I guess. I'd like a bit of power (nothing crazy) but also want to steer well clear of boy racer models, trims etc. And I love driving but dislike automatics.

Having said all that, I dread running into any future diesel issues with dpf's etc as my annual mileage is kinda low (I'm open to your guidance on this one). I want reliability as well as everything else.

I'm hoping this thread might give me a bit further guidance to my current research.

Many thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

How about a civic? 2.2 doesn't have a dpf far as i know and i find mine very roomy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 890 ✭✭✭dh0011

Avensis?
    The new model with the 1.6 valvematic is a nice car.

dh0011 wrote: »
    Avensis?
    The new model with the 1.6 valvematic is a nice car.

Good one. A strata in 1.6 is a nice enough car with plenty toys. Also has electric lumbar support
    Toyota actually sold a few of these even in 09

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

A bit leftfield but might be worth a look at one of these:
    media?xwm=y&id=d8f14875-9686-45a8-bc37-c7e0c4abf8f3&width=400&height=300
    http://www.driving.ie/used-cars/Lexus/CT200H/CT200H-DYNAMIC/33413663008012340/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,429 ✭✭✭dnme

Would an Avensis 1.6 be a bit stressed ? (I's a sizable car to pull)

dnme wrote: »
    Would an Avensis 1.6 be a bit stressed ? (I's a sizable car to pull)

No, I remember being very pleasantly surprised when they came out, power is the same as 1.8 VVT-i in the old model, because its a 6 speed you have closer ratios and a longer top gear.

I should add, I'm middle aged, single and hitting the mid life crises. So I want to treat myself I guess. I'd like a bit of power (nothing crazy) but also want to steer well clear of boy racer models, trims etc. And I love driving but dislike automatics.

Having said all that, I dread running into any future diesel issues with dpf's etc as my annual mileage is kinda low (I'm open to your guidance on this one). I want reliability as well as everything else. Thanks to all who are replying, much appreciated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 890 ✭✭✭dh0011

Subaru legacy might be an option so

You won't find any post 2007 Legacy petrols in this country though.

bazz26 wrote: »

Thanks bazz but I'm not after an automatic. ;)

On the back of this thread, I've been looking at Honda Civics, Is it me or are they exactly like a computer mouse ? Can't get passed it! Might be a tiny bit small for me too I wonder (6' 5")

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Civic
    Year: 2010
    €14,950
    1.8 Petrol
    140 BHP
    ~40 MPG
    6 speed
    15,534 M / 25,000 KM
    Multi function steering wheel,
    Full service history
    Sunroof
    Cruise control,
    Climate Control

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Honda/Civic/1.8I-SES/34413655046508050/advert?channel=CARS
    no-image-large.gif&width=400&height=300

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

As always i'll suggest the good aul mondeo :P Then again if you're after petrol nevermind...

On the back of this thread, I've been looking at Honda Civics, Is it me or are they exactly like a computer mouse ? Can't get passed it! Might be a tiny bit small for me too I wonder (6' 5")

I'm 6'1 and I have plenty room.
    Maybe it wouldn't suit you though.

As always i'll suggest the good aul mondeo :P Then again if you're after petrol nevermind...

Well if I could get away with a diesel I'd go for one, but from spending a few years reading this forum, you fellas seem to advise against diesels for my kinda annual mileage.

Petrol options are limited in Ireland and getting even more so. What to do ?

Civic
    Year: 2010
    €14,950
    1.8 Petrol
    140 BHP
    ~40 MPG
    6 speed
    15,534 M / 25,000 KM
    Multi function steering wheel,
    Full service history
    Sunroof
    Cruise control,
    Climate Control

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Honda/Civic/1.8I-SES/34413655046508050/advert?channel=CARS

A cheaper one here:
    media?xwm=y&id=b644921b-4c8a-4a3b-8e9a-b57ad59683f0&width=400&height=300
    http://www.driving.ie/used-cars/Honda/Civic/1.8-4dr/37613727828304560/

Well if I could get away with a diesel I'd go for one, but from spending a few years reading this forum, you fellas seem to advise against diesels for my kinda annual mileage.

Petrol options are limited in Ireland and getting even more so. What to do ?

I got my diesel mondeo before even joining/ checking here and i dont even do that high mileage, now I see why they argue against diesels for low mileage, looks like i'll have to suffer the consequences in the future :(

Why, what happened ?

Why, what happened /
    Nothing YET and hopefully nothing will happen, dont do mad mileage so the dmfs and all that craic will go, which i believe are expensive to fix... i dont really know what im talkin about so i'll quit while i'm ahead :D

bazz26 wrote: »

They just look like Corollas, silver is so boring, my head is gonna hit the sidewalls of that sunroof. Sorry, I'm an ingrate I know :rolleyes:

Hatchback is taller and sunroof doesn't eat into headroom as it doesn't open.

Why is there such a stlye change between the civic hb and saloon, even the front end is different? I find the saloons minging, but like the look of a decent spec hatch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭George Dalton

I reckon an Accord is a much more suitable option for the OP. They really are a class apart from a Civic in terms of overall driving experience.

The saloon was designed and built in Japan, the hatchback was specially designed and built in Europe only.

Why is there such a stlye change between the civic hb and saloon, even the front end is different? I find the saloons minging, but like the look of a decent spec hatch

Different markets, the saloon is mainly for Japan and US and the hatch is for Europe.
    The 1.8 and 2.0 powertrain is common to both, but there is no diesel saloon or hybrid hatchback.

There are other differences, the saloon has independent rear suspension, but the hatch has a torsion beam, the hatch also has the petrol tank under the front seats so there's loads of space in the back under the rear seats.

Jaysus Colm, You know your stuff!

I reckon an Accord is a much more suitable option for the OP. They really are a class apart from a Civic in terms of overall driving experience.

Totally agree, they're beautiful but sweet jesus they're expensive if you want a decent spec (which I do).

I agree they are expensive. You get what you pay for I suppose.

Jesus people,

If I go to carzone, search for
    Honda,
    then Accord,
    then choose Petrol,
    then try to bring the year slider up to 2010

I am limited to "3" models. Yes Three and they are all 2009.

Jesus in anyone driving a petrol anymore? How come the whole diesel v low mileage debate is not more widely known / factored in to purchase decisions ?

Best of luck finding a current model Accord petrol in this country.

What about a Passat:

media?xwm=y&id=1529f9b7-18e0-4c2d-8cad-85b7d68eb914&width=400&height=300
    http://www.driving.ie/used-cars/Volkswagen/Passat/HL-BM/36613796812171350/

The fact is that diesels suit a lot of people better than petrols.

The DPF issues only affect certain people and a lot of the spread is geographical. We are a garage in Co Laois and see very few DPF problems compared to what a Dublin based garage would, for example. It is all about the type of usage rather than the actual total daily/weekly/monthly/annual mileage.

Where are you located? What kind of roads does the 40 mile round trip commute consist of? As long as you aren't doing primarily urban driving then you should be fine.

The fact is that diesels suit a lot of people better than petrols.

The DPF issues only affect certain people and a lot of the spread is geographical. We are a garage in Co Laois and see very few DPF problems compared to what a Dublin based garage would, for example. It is all about the type of usage rather than the actual total daily/weekly/monthly/annual mileage.

Where are you located? What kind of roads does the 40 mile round trip commute consist of? As long as you aren't doing primarily urban driving then you should be fine.

Hi George, I'm rural Co. Clare and drive a mix of back roads and main roads into Ennis for work. Many thanks for that input, it's very helpful. I'd actually love a high spec'd modern diesel for all the benefits they bring.

Having said all this, I'm looking at some beautiful high spec'd Honda Accords in the UK. I'm very tempted by this make/model in petrol. 2-3 years old suits me perfectly on the depreciation curve. As usual the UK cars are higher spec'd, greater choice with low mileage, FSH main dealer etc.

What do you think of this little beauty ?
    http://url.ie/j1pg

Not much change out of €20,000 there. How long can you see yourself keeping it?
    Is that €750 tax?

Save yourself a few euro and get something like this?

Alfa Romeo 159
    €7,945
    1.9 Diesel
    Mileage 106,000 M / 170,590 KM
    NCT October, 2015
    Full service history from day one.
    150 bhp
    Warranty

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Alfa-Romeo/159/DIESEL-T/36513805740555700/advert?channel=CARS

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Not much change out of €20,000 there. How long can you see yourself keeping it?
    Is that €750 tax?

No, its the next one down, €500 odd. I can live with that. I'd keep it for 3-5 years at least. I'm told they're a very reliable make and hold their price well. That car/spec new is touching 40k so you can see where I'd be coming in on it's depreciation curve. I've read some great reviews on it and am told that the engine is a beaut. Love the top spec and the refinement of it, love the shape, the size, the engine, the cabin. This is the first model I have gotten genuinely excited about.

They are a lovely car alright. Are the emissions not 189 though?

Edit, 162 according to parkers

Save yourself a few euro and get something like this?

Alfa Romeo 159
    €7,945
    1.9 Diesel
    Mileage 106,000 M / 170,590 KM
    NCT October, 2015
    Full service history from day one.
    150 bhp
    Warranty

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Alfa-Romeo/159/DIESEL-T/36513805740555700/advert?channel=CARS

I'd sooner be the only woman on a Turkish fishing trawler, thanks all the same. ;)

colm_mcm wrote: »
    They are a lovely car alright. Are the emissions not 189 though?

162g/km = Band D, €570 pa. I'd happily live with that for a decent drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,017 ✭✭✭lomb

Dpf issue is a red herring. If it failed youd bypass it with map for 500 or so. Before it fails you rev the nuts off it occasionally to clear it. It needs the temperature up to burn off the residue.
    Dpf is just like other modern junk ie turbo charging ,electric power steering, integrated sat navs/radios, dual zone climate, electric seats, electric motorised steering, dual mass flywheels etc etc all of which goes wrong and can write a cheap car off economically or put a dent in your wallet. All of these things are common to petrols as well. Best bet is buy a 7 or 8 year old petrol that has none of these things and drive it for the next million miles. Alternatively expect to pay out when it fails.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 Donnchadh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Why does that car look familiar...... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

I'd sooner be the only woman on a Turkish fishing trawler, thanks all the same. ;)

This kind of casts a different light on your question, sounds to me you're looking for something bland rather than something nice to drive...

I had a list made up but it's made up by two 159s, a 3-Series and a TT Quattro, but I guess you won't be interested.

Ps. I think you should be fine with a diesel for the type of driving you do, honestly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,043 ✭✭✭Wossack

daysul a5 08/09 I'd say possible <20k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,929 ✭✭✭GavMan

bear1 wrote: »

Absolute dreamer. Outrageously priced, even if it is the v6. In fact, you'd be hard pressed to sell that for 6 or 7 grand here in this day and age, given the tax and running costs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,126 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

youd just about pick up a 2011 5 series for the top end of your budget...

http://www.carzone.ie/search/BMW/5-Series/520-D-F1/36613803000397310/advert?channel=CARS

Okay, in keeping with the direction of this thread, have you considered on of these?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭Scortho

bear1 wrote: »

That's been up for yonks.

Nice engine in it though. :)