Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

IFI Horrorthon 2013

• 27-09-2013 5:26pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,464 ✭✭✭

So a few films have been announced in the October brochure, with more to come in the next week.

Mentioned so far:

Big Bad Wolves
    Chastity Bites
    Hatchet III
    Haunter
    In Fear
    Lifeforce (1985)
    The Mummy (1959)
    The Strange Colour of Your Body's Tears
    Thanatamorphose
    Videodrome (1983)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,013 ✭✭✭✭jaykhunter

Really looking forward to this. I just hope the films I want to see aren't on like 10am on separate days :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,464 ✭✭✭e_e

I hope VHS 2 gets a look in.

I'm very intrigued by The Strange Colour of Your Body's Tears but I know that Amer got a lousy reception 2 years back. I hope it doesn't get ruined by drunk hecklers at the end of a long day, y'know how things can get at this fest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,649 ✭✭✭Not The Real Scarecrow

e_e wrote: »
    I hope VHS 2 gets a look in.

Didn't like the first one much, but VHS 2 I thought was fairly excellent.Notably the Cult section.

Any word if there'll be many more movies on show?

Meatwad wrote: »
    Didn't like the first one much, but VHS 2 I thought was fairly excellent.Notably the Cult section. Any word if there'll be many more movies on show?

Oh that's good to hear. I thought the first one was awful but the concept of the film was great. I'll try give it a look see

Meatwad wrote: »
    Any word if there'll be many more movies on show?
    Yeah there'll be at least twice the number listed in the OP. That was just a taster for what will be shown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭Adrift

I hope Tim Sullivan is not a guest again this year.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Ciaran_B

So a few films have been announced in the October brochure, with more to come in the next week.

Mentioned so far:

Big Bad Wolves
    Chastity Bites
    Hatchet III
    Haunter
    In Fear
    Lifeforce (1985)
    The Mummy (1959)
    The Strange Colour of Your Body's Tears
    Thanatamorphose
    Videodrome (1983)

Cheers. Looking forward to seeing the full line-up, I always enjoy the Horrorthon.

Big Bad Wolves and Strange Colour... both look very interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭Squelchy

Details from lunchtime today, apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭Squelchy

All there now, problem with their booking system again though.

Yep full line-up here.

Pretty good line-up this year. My shortlist of films to see so far:

The Battery
    We are what we are
    The Human Race
    Chastity Bites
    The Strange Colour……
    Haunter
    Big Bad Wolves

And probably the surprise film because I do that every year. Looking forward to it.

Ah. Bit disappointed there's only one director/cast-attended films, they were the highlights for me. Just not Michael Biehn's wife ever again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭iMac Hunt

Are all the guests announced? Was hoping Danielle Harris would come back for a Halloween 5 screening, got my Halloween 4 dvd signed last year

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,020 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Will have to look into the films in a bit more depth. The Strange Colour of Your Body's Tears is the only one that jumps out as a must see immediately. Meant to be even stranger and obtuse than Amer. can't wait :pac:

Considering the reaction Amer got I'd be holding off on seeing The Strange Colour of Your Body's Tears till it screened elsewhere or on the Blu. Far too many people who attend horrorthon treat it like their living room a d when Amer turned out to be something other than a blood and guys giallo they started talking amongst themselves, making jokes and ruining the atmosphere. There's also this ridicolous belief that its acceptable to be drunk during screenings. Is there anything worse than sitting near a cross eyed idiot who smells like alcohol and slurs his words while trying to be funny.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,020 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Some of the Horrorthon crowd really can be a miserably annoying bunch, even at the best of times. The atmosphere suits some films, ruins others. Unfortunately, it's also the only opportunity to see many of these films on the big screen, so it can be a tough call to decide whether to endure the potential frustration or not. I do see The Strange Colour... is showing at the Cork Film Fest, though.

There's a certain us vs you mentality that many of the "hardcore" horror fans have. Every year you see the same groups of people occupying the back aisles and treating the whole thing like their own personal club and as such, do as they please. I always find it odd, how at other genre festivals those in attendance are on their best behavior and the films screening are treated with respect. Horrorthon seems to be the exception to the rule.

Now, I'm perfectly okay with people making noise during something like The Apple or another trashy piece of crap but not when something new or interesting is screening. I ended up walking out of Amer, not because I hated it as many others did but because I wanted to enjoy my first viewing of it and not have to endure the constant heckling and attempts at humour from some of the audience.

I really like this years line up and there are a few screenings that I'd like to attend but generally it's the more off beat films I'm interested in as many of the more mainstream will be easy to get your hands on in the coming weeks. Many of them have DVD and Blu-Ray releases in the weeks following horrorthon. Sadly I know that if I go see something like The Strange Colour of Your Body's Tears, Rituals, Thanatomorphose or The Station (even if it is supposed to be terrible) then I most likely won't be able to enjoy the film in peace.

You just summed up why I'll be trying to sit as far away from other as I can in that screening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,374 ✭✭✭George White

I'm going to see Rituals, Canadian Deliverance imitation with Hal Holbrook off Magnum Force, and the bloke who took over Perry Mason when Raymond Burr died playing someone who was friends with Perry, but solved mysteries in his name or summat.

RE:Complaining about the regulars/loud, obnoxious arses ruining the film - I agree it's ridiculous, we shouldn't have to, but I do think we (the inconvenienced) should tell them to shut the **** up. If they continue then there's really nothing that can be done, short of leaving the room and getting staff involved. It's at the point where this is just one of the perils of going to these events and the onus is on us to do something.

Regardless, looking forward to this next week :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 DavidHabsburg

If anyone is like me and can't get enough of the horror classics then this one may suit too. Just off Merrion Square.

http://terror-time.weebly.com/events.html

[but I do think we (the inconvenienced) should tell them to shut the **** up/QUOTE]

Indeed, totally agree. It costs a lot of money to take in the whole festival again you factor in food, drink, parking so more people should tell these guys to cop on. No one "owns" the festival.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭Sport101

Anyone remember what the surprise films were the last few years?
    Human Race looks good but on a bit late on a school night!
    Might go to The Battery and the Night of the Living Dead double thing, can't resist the calling of the zombies!

2012: Chained, decent enough.
    2011: Trespass, ****e apparently. I was in hospital that festival though.
    2010: Let Me In, thought it was excellent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 wet_dog

Can anyone remember what time of day AMER screened? I want to see STRANGE COLOUR on Saturday, but I don't want it ruined by rambunctious yahoos. I've never actually attended a Horrorthon screening for some reason, though I was at the late screenings of MANIAC and THE LORDS OF SALEM earlier this year and the crowd got a bit irritating, particularly during the latter. I'm just assuming the crowds get rowdier the later the screenings, so hopefully a 5pm show won't be too bad.

Also, why are all the stills on the IFI site from Romero's LIVING DEAD when it's Savini's version that's playing?

wet_dog wrote: »
    Can anyone remember what time of day AMER screened? I want to see STRANGE COLOUR on Saturday, but I don't want it ruined by rambunctious yahoos. I've never actually attended a Horrorthon screening for some reason, though I was at the late screenings of MANIAC and THE LORDS OF SALEM earlier this year and the crowd got a bit irritating, particularly during the latter. I'm just assuming the crowds get rowdier the later the screenings, so hopefully a 5pm show won't be too bad.
    The Amer screening was at 9 o'clock. So here's hoping the The Strange Colour gets a (frankly) more sober response.

Last year's Silent Hill screening got a bit rowdy, though I didn't care all that much because the film was pants.

That crowd annoyed me. I don't know what people were expecting! It was no worse than the first one. It's like giving out about Transformers 2 being action-heavy and showing close-ups of rat boy :confused::P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

jaykhunter wrote: »
    That crowd annoyed me. I don't know what people were expecting! It was no worse than the first one. It's like giving out about Transformers 2 being action-heavy and showing close-ups of rat boy :confused::P

The first one was a work of art, last years sequel was one of the worst films I have ever seen.

The first one is Oscar worthy compared to the sequel which is quite frankly, one of the worst films ever made. It's an unwatchable mess whose only redeeming feature is the FX work and even that's not enough to make the film anything other than an abomination.

I've been more scared by Pixar films than I was in Revelations. The most boring "horror" film I've ever seen.

I was really going in hopeful too. Hadn't read a single review and when that classic piano melody started at the beginning I thought "Yes! Here we go!". :(

:eek: Ye must be having me on. Konami should re-release Silent Hill with "A work of art - Chris_Heilong" on the cover.

it was the closest adaptation visually to any video game before it, the only week point was there were too many characters and the cult. I was hoping for a directors cut to be released with a longer edit. I am not the only one that liked the film.

I actually watched SILENT HILL last night and absolutely loathed it. It has the honour of receiving only the second 1/10 I've doled out this year (the other being to A GOOD DAY TO DIE HARD).

Silent Hill 1 was the closest any live action film came to nailing the look and feel of its video game source material: unlike other game adaptations, it earned the name. Sadly, the original narrative contained a whole lot bull****, and the film effectively collapsed in the second half. Still, up until Ace Attorney owned it completely, it was a deeply flawed but still valiant effort.

Silent Hill 1 was the closest any live action film came to nailing the look and feel of its video game source material
    Yeah, can't argue with that; I felt like I was watching a VG cutscene half the time. That's not a plus for me. So maybe I'm not the target audience, just as I'd never dream of sitting through something like this: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1174954/

Anyone see 'We are what we are' last night? I had a ticket but fell asleep. ><

Solid film. Very good sense of pacing with suspense and an ending that the audience lapped up.

I hadn't seen the original but it most reminded me of a cross between Stoker and Let the Right One In.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭Decuc500

I really liked We Are What We Are. It was very atmospheric and built up the tension nicely. One of the best endings to a film I've seen in a while as well.

There are a lot of interesting American horror filmmakers working at the moment.

Was a little disappointed to see all the usual negative tropes of Horrorthon rearing their ugly head last night though, especially during the In Fear screening.

Frequent phone usage beside me, people getting up to go for a piss every few minutes and somebody yelling their commentary trying to be funny (even disrupting the Q&A at one point). I think a good portion of the audience there need to read the Cinema Etiquette thread here. Although I enjoyed the night it became very to me clear that some treat the films as a backdrop for talking, texting, drinking and walking in and out. Honestly I'd pay extra just to have ushers attending these screenings!

Lads, make a complaint or tell them to shut the fuc& up. If you don't do either it will continue .........

Was a little disappointed to see all the usual negative tropes of Horrorthon rearing their ugly head last night though, especially during the In Fear screening.

Frequent phone usage beside me, people getting up to go for a piss every few minutes and somebody yelling their commentary trying to be funny (even disrupting the Q&A at one point). I think a good portion of the audience there need to read the Cinema Etiquette thread here. Although I enjoyed the night it became very to me clear that some treat the films as a backdrop for talking, texting, drinking and walking in and out. Honestly I'd pay extra just to have ushers attending these screenings!
    God, I'm dreading STRANGE COLOUR tomorrow.

I saw In Fear, We Are What We Are and Hachet III last night. I thought the crowd for In Fear & WAWWA was fine - were you right beside some knobs? Hachet III only had about 30 people there; with two groups of rowdy drunks which was a bit annoying. (Several people including myself shhh'ed them which would stop them for about 10 minutes) but since it was a comedy gore fest it didn't really affect the viewing.

I remember a good few years back when the played 'The Eye' and 'Dark Water', the crowd at that time were alot more respectful, maybe it was the subtitles that put them off, I dont know.

were you right beside some knobs?
    Nah I'd far from call them knobs, just a little removed maybe. The people beside me during In Fear kept on using their phone for the first half or so but it stopped after they saw that I was trying to turn away from the light, but there was a lot of toilet breaks too which I guess can't be helped when they let them bring pitchers of beer into the screen. The guy last year who responded to me in a hostile way and then continued to use his phone throughout the movie, now that's a real knob. ;)

The 2 screenings I was at today were grand though, here's hoping it'll be the same for Strange Colour tomorrow.

I haven't been able to make it to a film yet (first is later today), but there appears to have been something of a revolt yesterday, with someone at one of the screenings seemingly pushing the 'commentary' a step too far. Apparently they're going to be implementing a much stricter policy on such shenanigans from today onwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 544 ✭✭✭Long Room Hubba

I haven't been able to make it to a film yet (first is later today), but there appears to have been something of a revolt yesterday, with someone at one of the screenings seemingly pushing the 'commentary' a step too far. Apparently they're going to be implementing a much stricter policy on such shenanigans from today onwards.

I had a word with one of the organisers yesterday. He said they are prepared to stop it if anyone complains.

Saying something to the IFI staff will also help. If nobody says anything, they will just assume it's part of the culture of the festival. And they'd probably be right, in fairness. If it happened during any other festival there would be serious complaints.

My feeling is that it will continue until people start asking for their money back.

The Borderlands was a very pleasant surprise, might be the best found footage I've seen since [REC]. Just the right amount of horror and comedy with solid acting, character development, story and direction for the genre. Some of the early scenes of them goofing around kinda reminded me of Peep Show too.

Ending was a bit of a let down but other than that it was very good for something I was expecting to be a bit of filler in the festival line-up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 544 ✭✭✭Long Room Hubba

The Borderlands was a very pleasant surprise, might be the best found footage I've seen since [REC]. Just the right amount of horror and comedy with solid acting, character development, story and direction for the genre. Some of the early scenes of them goofing around kinda reminded me of Peep Show.

It was cracking, wasn't it? I realised I was enjoying just spending time with the characters, which is not what I normally expect from the genre.

Saw all the talk of cutting down on disruptive behavior. Wonder what happened to the opinion that it was "part of the experience", a line that has been trotted out a dozen times over the years whenever the issue has been brought up. I didn't bother with a single film this year as past experiences have been ruined by dicks trying to be funny. What makes it worse is that it's always the same people, they sit in the same area and with the same group and generally they are part of the "horrorthon" clique which is why I can't see to much being done about them. Drinking is a major issue that does need to be tackled. A few pints is no problem but if you are obviously drunk then you should be turned away at the door.