Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who is the biggest silage contractor in the Republic of Ireland

• 26-09-2013 9:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭

thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 freetoall

Sorry have to say the government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

im doing 10k acres a year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

How do measure, is it by the amount of gear or by the number of acres they tell you which I suspect is always over stated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

who gives a .....

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

The Seanad talks some ****e...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭st1979

Couple of contractors around me are pretty massive. I reckon they are around the 30 stone mark each. Couldn't say which is bigger. But one outfit is 3 brothers so combined they would be pretty big. Could be touching 100 stone. Hope this helps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

I could name a few with big willies aswell, as I have seen them out waving them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Manoffeeling

kevthegaff wrote: »
    im doing 10k acres a year

15 square miles!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

st1979 wrote: »
    Couple of contractors around me are pretty massive. I reckon they are around the 30 stone mark each. Couldn't say which is bigger. But one outfit is 3 brothers so combined they would be pretty big. Could be touching 100 stone. Hope this helps

Ya beat me to it. I was gonna say I knew a chap in North Offaly that was 32stone but he's dead a good few years now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

Bizzum wrote: »
    Ya beat me to it. I was gonna say I knew a chap in North Offaly that was 32stone but he's dead a good few years now.

At 32 stone I'm not surprised

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

I could name a few with big willies aswell, as I have seen them out waving them

What you get up to at the weekends is your own business bob.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

there is a lad near here that does about 2,500 ac/year but is only 5ft 5. another guy does about 1,000ac but he's about 6ft 7.

there used to be a handfull of big SP lads round here doing between 2-3kac a year. was chatting to the lad that used to do ours and he was saying that his acerage hasnt changed a whole pile in the last 20 years but the number of jobs has. he does very few small jobs (20ac or less) as like us most guys in this bracket now use bales or wagons. but he is doing a lot more 100ac plus work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭cavandown

Neighbour of mine has baler for his own work but made 7 for another neighbour this year. How does that rate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

freetoall wrote: »
    Sorry have to say the government.

The amount of muck they spread is unbelievable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

I'd say it's a toss-up between a the pillar banks and one or two of the leasing crowds. The seem to have no bother getting lads to run the gear for them either. They have a grand cushy number the way they run things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭MFdaveIreland

John Dan ohare county Down Louth border, must be one of the biggest in Ireland, something like 5 self propelled harvesters and God knows how many john Deeres,

He should call himself Jack Dan sounds better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

never heard of him....anything to dessie o hare?

http://youtu.be/etaZdEvXUNA

Numerous videos on YouTube

whelan1 wrote: »
    never heard of him....anything to dessie o hare?

They're both border foxes ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭countygorey

keep going wrote: »
    How do measure, is it by the amount of gear or by the number of acres they tell you which I suspect is always over stated
    area mown

Slightly off 1topic but what is the longest draw you've heard of with silage.heard of fella doing18 miles each way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

Slightly off 1topic but what is the longest draw you've heard of with silage.heard of fella doing18 miles each way

multiplies of that. Have heard of one maize draw, tractors filled up to top with diesel starting the morning. Completed the first load, and ran out of diesel on the way back to the harvester for the third load. just checked on maps and a round trip of 180kms :eek::D:D

Speaking of big things. I was looking in the distance at a shed that covers 9 acres today

multiplies of that. Have heard of one maize draw, tractors filled up to top with diesel starting the morning. Completed the first load, and ran out of diesel on the way back to the harvester for the third load. just checked on maps and a round trip of 180kms :eek::D:D

Speaking of big things. I was looking in the distance at a shed that covers 9 acres today

Holy sh1t :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭stanflt

st1979 wrote: »

probably the best post ever on boards:):D:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭C0N0R

I remember drawing maize from a field in Ardee to the carrickdale hotel just before newry. Was some spin, didn't do to many loads that day anyway. Just googled it, 39km each way and was far longer cause we couldn't go near the motorway. Went cross country and got a bit lost, had to get weighed in between Dundalk and castleblaney.

did soem long draws back in the day. often did 15-20 mile round trips longest i remember was 18 miles from field to farm and 15 back (used a shorter route but with more hills, was too dangerous with a full load). soem of teh lads round here drawing maize are doing stupid milage TBH. i heard of lads buyign maize from down around cloyne and whitegate while thier farms are up around the city and out to fermoy. neighbour drove for a contractor last year that drew maize from outside youghal to around ballincollig around 40 miles each way, now thats expensive feed

yellow50HX wrote: »
    did soem long draws back in the day. often did 15-20 mile round trips longest i remember was 18 miles from field to farm and 15 back (used a shorter route but with more hills, was too dangerous with a full load). soem of teh lads round here drawing maize are doing stupid milage TBH. i heard of lads buyign maize from down around cloyne and whitegate while thier farms are up around the city and out to fermoy. neighbour drove for a contractor last year that drew maize from outside youghal to around ballincollig around 40 miles each way, now thats expensive feed

At what point does it make more sense to tip and reload onto lorries?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

At whatst point does it make more sense to tip and reload onto lorries?

If it was our land now, I'd be filling the lorry straight from the harvester ha, fields rock hard!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

At what point does it make more sense to tip and reload onto lorries?

At what point does it make sense to ring a feed mill or buy straight maize meal???

delaval wrote: »
    At what point does it make sense to ring a feed mill or buy straight maize meal???

True that. And the answer is long before you start thinking about lorries.

Why is it fellas will hop up on tractor 100 times before they would use a calculator once

It's not just when hopping on tractors is in question. Anything to do with feed calculators go out the window. Every time there is a shortage of fodder common sense is the first casuality. Silage is worth anything but fellas chopped straw at the start of last harvest('12) because it wasn't worth the hassle of trying to bale it for what was being offered. They were happier to waste time and money trying to make bales of sh1t than to buy what would do the job.

yeah aggree with your there. there was laods of starw around this summer but talkign to a few lads round here they had trouble shifting it. bought enough to fill the shed, knew my second cut was going to be a bit watery so will mix the starw to it.

there is big dairy famer near here has two farms about 7-8 miles apart and draws silage from one to the other as most of one farm is taken up with grazing blocks. this year however he has moved his heifers and drystock to the outside farm (silage ground) to make room for more cows and has rented land further away again for his silage and maize. 30 mile round trip, took him 2 days to do the 1st cut eariler in the summer and the maize will be ready soon, was chatting to the contractor over the weekend and he will be hiring in a few extra tractors and drivers for the maize and for next years silage. not sure what the they will cost but i heard fugures of €250/day plus diesel each

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 dave7810

We deal with 5000 acres of grass a year snd about 3500 acres of maize on top of our own farm which is mixed 3500 acres with oats.wheat.barley.grass and maize.we hsve longest draw round trip of 2 hrs on the maize and grass silage for a farm in kells.we run tractors a jd 8360r, 8530, 8430, 7930, 7280r,7920, x2 7810, x2 6930 x2 7530, 6920s, 6820, 6630, 3650, 2050 2wd, fendt 820, 716, 936, 828 and 724. And a new holland t 7080 blue power. We run a lexion 600 witj 9 meter head and 760 tt with 9 meter head. I think we must be one the biggest.we based in nth co.dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭C0N0R

dave7810 wrote: »
    We deal with 5000 acres of grass a year snd about 3500 acres of maize on top of our own farm which is mixed 3500 acres with oats.wheat.barley.grass and maize.we hsve longest draw round trip of 2 hrs on the maize and grass silage for a farm in kells.we run tractors a jd 8360r, 8530, 8430, 7930, 7280r,7920, x2 7810, x2 6930 x2 7530, 6920s, 6820, 6630, 3650, 2050 2wd, fendt 820, 716, 936, 828 and 724. And a new holland t 7080 blue power. We run a lexion 600 witj 9 meter head and 760 tt with 9 meter head. I think we must be one the biggest.we based in nth co.dublin

Any jobs?!

C0N0R wrote: »
    Any jobs?!

I have a job for you in the spring, driving cows though.
    No more students here if I can help it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

are ye looking for an accountant:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭stanflt

Never heard of this outfit- where you based

What forager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

stanflt wrote: »
    where you based

I think mostly in his head

• Closed Accounts Posts: 592 ✭✭✭maxxuumman

Muckit wrote: »
    I think mostly in his head

Yes, i wonder is it Britians or Bruder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

maxxuumman wrote: »
    Yes, i wonder is it Britians or Bruder.

I heard it was siku.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

I have a job for you in the spring, driving cows though.
    No more students here if I can help it

Did you ever get anyone after? Or was it you saying man was working for you was going?

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭pajero12

Go On, Stick up a couple of pictures there ;)

pajero12 wrote: »
    get to the bottom of it pretty quick then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Damo810

pajero12 wrote: »

He's waiting for McCullough to fly over with that helicopter to get them all at once!

simx wrote: »
    Did you ever get anyone after? Or was it you saying man was working for you was going?

No milker stayed, was glad as he is here 8 years and would have been hard to replace or worse still I'd have to do it!!

We are hoping not to take on a student this spring instead go for some one more mature. Very little milking assiting but mainly calf feeding and collecting from calving sheds and penning. Tractor driving and looking after tail paint and assisting at ai time. From Feb till June. Person would be free most days from 1-4pm so it would suit a dry stock farmer part time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭6480

i seen his fleet on ear to the ground , i see he keeps oldish and new machinery , seem to be a nice quiet hard working operator

Yep, caught it today there at 1 o'clock. some fleet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

No milker stayed, was glad as he is here 8 years and would have been hard to replace or worse still I'd have to do it!!

We are hoping not to take on a student this spring instead go for some one more mature. Very little milking assiting but mainly calf feeding and collecting from calving sheds and penning. Tractor driving and looking after tail paint and assisting at ai time. From Feb till June. Person would be free most days from 1-4pm so it would suit a dry stock farmer part time

Pm sent