Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Match Thread: Leinster Rugby vs Cardiff Blues, Friday 26th Sept 19:35, TG4/BBCW

• 26-09-2013 12:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

logo-rabopro12.jpg

Lions or Lambs?

You would think with 8 Lions in the match day squads along with several internationals that this game has the makings of a top notch contest. You'd also think that with both sides coming off the back of defeats and disappointing performances that both would be very keen to get back on track with the HEC only 2 weeks away. Yet after last years performance of the Cardiff Blues in the RDS, with their internationals on the field, it's hard to shake the feeling that they'll be coming over here looking to do little else other than make up the numbers.

A 9 try rout last season, which saw Leinster put over 50 on Cardiff in the RDS for the second time running, was seriously overshadowed by the massive lack of interest shown by the Welsh internationals, with Jamie Roberts and Sam Warburton the leading culprits. I truly hope that this is not repeated tomorrow when the 2 sides meet as it doesn't do anyone any favours.

That said the game last year was at the end of October and the Welsh internationals had bigger fish on their minds. That is not the case this time and given their defeat to Zebre (the first game the Italian franchise have ever won) they will likely be looking to come over to Dublin and set things right. They'll be looking at a Leinster side that has started badly (as is tradition) and has a number of returning internationals who could be somewhat rusty an thinking there's a chance for an upset here.

On the other hand Leinster will have been incredibly disappointed with their showing in Glasgow last week and will be very keen to not see a repeat in the RDS. Having drawn the Ospreys game 2 weeks ago it is imperative that the home side get the win here lest anything else becomes a habit.

The Leinster pack looks strong with Moore in the front row providing the inexperience. It's a big season for the big man from Castleknock and he'll be looking to put his hand up and announce himself as the long-term solution to the TH issue. Behind him Toner, who has been very good this season, partners a returning Quinn Roux. Roux has plenty of promise and is a big lump of a man, but this season he needs to deliver on that promise. Heaslip captains the side with Ruddock and Ryan on either side. Leinster fans will be hoping that Ryan too can deliver on all the potential he showed in the 10/11 season now that he seems to have shaken his injury troubles.

The back line contains a number of familiar names with Madigan getting his first run at 10 this season. He'll be looking to make a statement too in the face of Gopperths performances to date. Noel Reid provides the inexperience here, but with his pace and step he could be a dangerous weapon if he gets some space. And who better to open things up for him than the master outside him. Let's hope Drico gets through the game unscathed this time!

I'm not going to make a prediction for this one. I've been wrong on the previous 2 I predicted and tbh it's hard to know what Cardiff team is going to show up. Leinster should have it in them to win this. Their starting XV and bench are both strong enough to do the job at home, but I'm not going to jinx it. :o
    leinster.gif
    |
    2.jpg

15: Rob Kearney|15: Leigh Halfpenny
    14: Fergus McFadden|14: Alex Cuthbert
    13: Brian O'Driscoll|13: Owen Williams
    12: Noel Reid|12: Dafydd Hewitt
    11: Dave Kearney|11: Harry Robinson
    10: Ian Madigan|10: Rhys Patchell
    9: Isaac Boss|9: Lloyd Williams
    |
    1: Cian Healy|1: Sam Hobbs
    2: Sean Cronin|2: Matthew Rees CAPTAIN
    3: Martin Moore|3: Taufa'ao Filise
    4: Devin Toner|4: Lou Reed
    5: Quinn Roux|5: Filo Paulo
    6: Rhys Ruddock|6: Josh Navidi
    7: Dominic Ryan|7: Sam Warburton
    8: Jamie Heaslip CAPTAIN|8: Andries Pretorius
    |
    16: Aaron Dundon|16: Kristian Dacey
    17: Jack McGrath|17: Thomas Davies
    18: Mike Ross|18: Scott Andrews
    19: Tom Denton|19: James Down
    20: Jordi Murphy|20: Robin Copeland
    21: John Cooney|21: Lewis Jones
    22: Jimmy Gopperth|22: Gareth Davies
    23: Brendan Macken|23: Cory Allen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

The bookies have already given this one to Leinster by the looks of things, 1/11 and a 17 point handicap. I'd be worried if one of the Leinster locks have to leave the pitch early though, Denton just does not convince me one little bit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,221 ✭✭✭Ugo Monye spacecraft experience

Be interesting to see how Dave Kearney fares against Cuthbert

If Luke doesn't get back he could well end up being first choice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,973 ✭✭✭19543261

Dont really know Noel Reid. Is he a potential something for the future, or just filler?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,309 ✭✭✭former legend

19543261 wrote: »
    Dont really know Noel Reid. Is he a potential something for the future, or just filler?

Definite potential, plenty of talent but prone to the odd calamitous error.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭Tox56

19543261 wrote: »

Probably one player who couldn't be described as either of those things. He won't exactly offer solidity as a filler and although he has a lot of flair about him it's hard to see him progressing to become a H Cup standard player. Here's a post I made on him about a year ago which roughly sums him up:
    Noel Reid is a fascinating player. He's a bit like the French national team, he can go from the sublime to the ridiculous.

The Dragons game earlier this season is as perfect example, a majestic break half the length of the field to set up a try:

http://youtu.be/W4_q6tMWGT0?t=9m14s

and literally 5 mins later he throws a clumsy, telegraphed pass to give away an intercept try:

http://youtu.be/W4_q6tMWGT0?t=14m44s

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭Swiwi.

Tox56 wrote: »
    Probably one player who couldn't be described as either of those things. He won't exactly offer solidity as a filler and although he has a lot of flair about him it's hard to see him progressing to become a H Cup standard player. Here's a post I made on him about a year ago which roughly sums him up:

Nice work! You never know when the old archived posts will come in handy :pac: He looks quite pacey from that clip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

I don't think Reid will ever be more than a Pro12 player but, with that said, I think he could be a very exciting and effective 12 at standard league level.

I reckon he might have a very eye catching game tomorrow night. He has never started in a backline near as good as this before.

I'd also say, whilst that was a bad intercept, it stemmed from having to pick up a pretty poor Reddan pass off his toes which didn't give him as much hope to survey the situation. He should have spotted it though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,906 ✭✭✭jamiedav2011

He also absolutely thumped Tuilagi with a tackle in that game iirc.

He's a bit of a dark horse tbh, could come good at 12 as he has all the skills.

Swiwi. wrote: »
    Nice work! You never know when the old archived posts will come in handy :pac: He looks quite pacey from that clip.

He's deceptively quick I'll give him that, and despite his reputation he isn't small (6'1 and 90kg). To be honest he has no excuses, he's partnering arguably the best 13 ever in the centre in a high quality backline, many young players would kill for that opportunity. I hope he takes it, would be a massive bonus in what will be a problem position in the future. Fair play to MOC too for giving him a fair crack of the whip in a first choice backline (or close to it).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Where's D'Arcy? Rested, injured or just not selected?

He's deceptively quick I'll give him that, and despite his reputation he isn't small (6'1 and 90kg). To be honest he has no excuses, he's partnering arguably the best 13 ever in the centre in a high quality backline, many young players would kill for that opportunity. I hope he takes it, would be a massive bonus in what will be a problem position in the future. Fair play to MOC too for giving him a fair crack of the whip in a first choice backline (or close to it).

I think Reid is given a bit of a hard time tbh. Other than that intercept, he's done nothing hugely wrong in a Leinster shirt, and when compared to other young backs who would be much more highly rated and not done a huge amount either, like Conway and Macken (who's admittedly been very good this year), he gets a lot of flack. He's not a 10, but could be a handy playmaking 12 option for us.

Where's D'Arcy? Rested, injured or just not selected?

Rested I'd say. He has started all 3 league games so far

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

He's played the last few. Week off before a big three weeks I presume.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭deadybai

hey does anyone know if there is still student tickets available for the game tomorrow evening?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭matthew8

I think Reid is given a bit of a hard time tbh. Other than that intercept, he's done nothing hugely wrong in a Leinster shirt, and when compared to other young backs who would be much more highly rated and not done a huge amount either, like Conway and Macken (who's admittedly been very good this year), he gets a lot of flack. He's not a 10, but could be a handy playmaking 12 option for us.

I don't want to hate on him, but a few people will remember a disastrous performance against Munster A in the B&I cup in the RDS a couple of years ago, in which a comfortable lead was thrown away in a couple of minutes. He does seem very error prone.

I promised me self last year, that I'd do my utmost to make sure my son got to watch BOD playing live and tomorrow is one of the last chances i'll get without paying big money, when I'm sure he's playing.

I brought him to the Rabo semi in May but BOD went off after five minutes.

He doesn't realise it, and maybe many of us don't, but we'll never see his like again.
    Every game he plays this year is a bonus.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

matthew8 wrote: »
    I don't want to hate on him, but a few people will remember a disastrous performance against Munster A in the B&I cup in the RDS a couple of years ago, in which a comfortable lead was thrown away in a couple of minutes. He does seem very error prone.

He was playing 10 there though wasn't he? He just isn't cut out for 10 at this level, but if the rumours of him bulking up considerably are true then he could definitely make a stab at 12. Difficult to completely trust him based on what we've seen though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭matthew8

Podge_irl wrote: »
    He was playing 10 there though wasn't he? He just isn't cut out for 10 at this level, but if the rumours of him bulking up considerably are true then he could definitely make a stab at 12. Difficult to completely trust him based on what we've seen though.

True, and he's hardly going to be charged down like he was then if he's at 12, but it does reinforce the idea that he's not totally aware of the game situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭ambid

Yeah but you said it yourself - it was a couple of years ago.

I was that match and was very disappointed by Reid, but he was only 21 and had a bad match. Young players are allowed to have bad matches, especially at A level.

Cian Healy was 22 when he had a dreadful game in a Heineken Cup semi final defeat by Toulouse, but has since become one of the best props in the world.

Nobody knows if Reid will make it at Leinster - but to be honest I think that a single B&I Cup match two years ago is completely irrelevant to his prospects.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,077 ✭✭✭✭vienne86

ambid wrote: »
    Yeah but you said it yourself - it was a couple of years ago.

I was that match and was very disappointed by Reid, but he was only 21 and had a bad match. Young players are allowed to have bad matches, especially at A level.

Cian Healy was 22 when he had a dreadful game in a Heineken Cup semi final defeat by Toulouse, but has since become one of the best props in the world.

Nobody knows if Reid will make it at Leinster - but to be honest I think that a single B&I Cup match two years ago is completely irrelevant to his prospects.

I too was at that match, and gave out hell about Reid at 10, and I have let that colour my opinion of him since. You are right - it is now irrelevant, and I hope he has a great game tomorrow night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

He was brutal but I don't think he's really a long term prospect at 10 so I wouldn't read much into that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Regarding Reid, first and foremost he is not an out-half. However as an inside centre he has a lot of raw talent. His issues in the last couple of seasons have been his awareness and his tackling. Both of those can be rectified and the more experience he gets the quicker he'll sort those issues out. I wouldn't be quick to dismiss him at all just yet. At A level he seems to be well able to make the kind of line breaks we haven't seen a huge amount of from our centres over the last few years. And he's done that at senior level a couple of times too.

It will be interesting to see how he goes tomorrow now. If he has progressed from last year without losing too much of that pace and sacrificing the raw talent he could do very well for us. And I seem to remember him making a very good line break against the Scarlets when he came on a few weeks ago?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭armchaircoach

Lads i think we're all forgetting what's most important. Thanks to reid's performance in that game we all got way longer good Friday bar time!!!

I was at that game, and in fairness he was at 10 that day, and he's patently not a 10 from what I've seen of him.

Be interesting to see how Moore goes against Sam Hobbs. From what I remember of Hobbs, he's quite tall and relatively lean for a prop, Moore is the polar opposite of that, and should be able to make hay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,221 ✭✭✭Ugo Monye spacecraft experience

Leinsterfan_colourflag_RDS12.jpg

I'm ready for my RDS debut

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Needs more blue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭blackdog1

Best game I ever saw reid play was when he was playing 15 . Beautiful runner of a ball id have worries about his defence at 12 as he seems to lose concentration at times. Hope he does well. We need exciting players with pace

Another cracking day weather wise for rugby. We're blessed with conditions, can't remember a wet muddy day in the rds

Beautiful night in the RDS

Allez les bleus!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,309 ✭✭✭former legend

.ak wrote: »
    Another cracking day weather wise for rugby. We're blessed with conditions, can't remember a wet muddy day in the rds

And there were lads giving out about global warming on the news today. I'm all for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭Dunder Mifflin

Does anyone know anywhere definitely showing this in Dundalk?

Just met Lote. The chap has the coolest kicks in the stadium, if not county.

Aha, there was molloyjh on the box...nice flag!

He only kicks in red, he only kicks in red....

Ref not taking any crap at the breakdown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

ref has a very narrow from the side angle

Jesus, no screwing about by Heaslip there. Leveled his opposite number. Sounds like TMO has picked up on it...

Fair penalty. He was completely committed but no effort for arms at all.

Really? Tiddlywinks and all that.

Didn't realise the TMO had that power

no arms...fair enough

Buer wrote: »
    Jesus, no screwing about by Heaslip there. Leveled his opposite number. Sounds like TMO has picked up on it...

3 penalties so far and all 3 wouldn't be called in 9/10 games

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,619 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

What... With no prompt the tmo can go back two plays.

This is a good example of how the new TMO rules can ruin a game. Exactly how far will they go back now?

3 penalties so far and all 3 wouldn't be called in 9/10 games

I've absolutely no problem with Heaslip's. Any ref should be calling a no arms charge using the shoulder, in my opinion.

Others were very finicky.

first up tackling is woeful

Now, Rees clearly threw an elbow into a face there. TMO?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭Irlandczyk

Buer wrote: »
    Fair penalty. He was completely committed but no effort for arms at all.

Very silly. Especially considering they know Halfpenny will admit kicks from there all night long.