Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rut

• 25-09-2013 2:46pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭

Anybody heard any roaring / whistling / grunting ? It is still early days and too warm but just wondering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭deano2882

ah sure ! wrote: »
    Anybody heard any roaring / whistling / grunting ? It is still early days and too warm but just wondering.

nothing yet but then again only been out for an hour other day...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭sikahuntejack

Spoke to a farmer whos land i shoot in donard he said he heard 3 different stags whistling yesterday morning around 6 ,know a chap who shot a 8 pointer sika that was chaseing 2 does aroung a field on sunday in wicklow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 greengrasscork

Plenty of sika bucks whistling now came across bunch of red stags on the mountain but bit early yet for them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 teckel

I heard a couple of Sika stags whistling this morning in Wicklow. Can't wait for it to be in full flight:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

One on the hill giving it socks last night. Could hear him from my house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,072 ✭✭✭clivej

One on the hill giving it socks last night. Could hear him from my house.

Pity you couldn't give him lead

Be doing nothing until mid-October after the nationals. All spare time is for training at the moment!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭welsummer

they have been starting to call for over a fortnight. Buddy of mine called in a sika picket over a week ago. It will another week before the big lads really start getting into the swing of it. Has anyone shot a stag yet with the neck swollen up .

my mate shot a savage sika 8 pointer at 7 this evening call him with the whistle perfect set of antlers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 595 ✭✭✭steyrman

welsummer wrote: »
    they have been starting to call for over a fortnight. Buddy of mine called in a sika picket over a week ago. It will another week before the big lads really start getting into the swing of it. Has anyone shot a stag yet with the neck swollen up .

Shot this lad yesterday evening swollen neck but no smell off him clean stag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭feartuath

my mate shot a savage sika 8 pointer at 7 this evening call him with the whistle perfect set of antlers

Are calls illegal not to use on deer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭the scudd

that's a great looking animal styerman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭One shot on kill

steyrman wrote: »
    Shot this lad yesterday evening swollen neck but no smell off him clean stag

I'd say you were tired when you got that lad back to the van.

feartuath wrote: »
    Are calls illegal not to use on deer?
    He bought it off the Wild Deer as association at burr so my mate has no problem useing his one and i dont have a problem useing mine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭feartuath

He bought it off the Wild Deer as association at burr so my mate has no problem useing his one and i dont have a problem useing mine

They are illegal to use to hunt deer, can be used for photography etc,I'm sure they get used to call deer as near as possible for a shot and to call deer from coillte etc

If I had one I'd prob use it to be honest lads. I seen it at the wda stand an all and sure I'm raging I didn't pick one up now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Was training last night ( train in Dublin mountains) and sworn I heard a stag calling from one side and a stag calling from Other side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 584 ✭✭✭Mauser 308

I have not managed to get out much due to work commitments, but hoping to get up to Wicklow at the weekend.

I would have thought it was in full swing by now.

Seems a bit slow but with the weather getting colder over the next few nights it should get the rutt going, heard a stag whistling this morning but i only seen two does was up on a hill in wicklow yesterday morning heard and seen nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,759 ✭✭✭cookimonster

Called a 8 pointer in last Sunday evening. He was with two hinds and we definitely peaked his interest using the whistle.
    He was stinking to high heaven, well stained on the belly and his neck was massive.
    I would say the ruts in in the Dublin / Wicklow area.

Called a 8 pointer in last Sunday evening. He was with two hinds and we definitely peaked his interest using the whistle.
    He was stinking to high heaven, well stained on the belly and his neck was massive.
    Heard a stag this morning in the carlow area, but in donard yesterday morning nothing speaking to the farmer he said its being dead quite on the hill so far. A Spot on the hill where there has always being a wallowing hole showed no signs of stags

Was out in west cork sunday evening heard 4 different bucks whistling met 11 does all in half a mile area of wood. Will be going up the mountains to watch the reds on saturday

Infairness it feels like a good drop in tempeture this evening.

Only back home was a crazy stalk was walking through a forest and i stumbled across a big old stag i hit the ground stag ran off i blew the whistle could hear the stag moveing back towards me for 10 mins he kept running through the christmas trees kicking the ground and attacking the trees with his antlers could not get a clear shot then he got wind of me i think and ran off, did not think i would see a stag in this permissions its heavily lamped too close to a road. The first wood i went to is being cut down i nearly died when i seen it only last week i went for a stalk around it :(

By any chane were you useing the nordic sika whistle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭hunterpajero

any stir on the fallow yet?ive seen a few scrapings but no grunting yet

By any chane were you useing the nordic sika whistle

It's a 'buttulo call' or a similar design. It belongs to the chap I was stalking with. He has had great success with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭PL05

was out last weekend saw a good few stags and sorry to say they saw me first, will have to get me act together, anyway some of them where big lads also came across a few wallowing holes in nice secluded spots. Next time i,ll make sure they dont spot me first, now that i know where they,re hanging out. They are the first decent ones i,ve seen so i,ll put the f**k up down to excitment.

It's a 'buttulo call' or a similar design. It belongs to the chap I was stalking with. He has had great success with it.
    Im useing the nordic sika call to be honest i dont like the sound of it but it seems to work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭deano2882

Infairness it feels like a good drop in tempeture this evening.

ya its gettin colder alrite...i seen 4/5 stags and prickets over last few days wit swollen necks and plenty doe.s round them n spotted few ruttin posts aswel...deep freeze not working so unfortunatly couldnt get one....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 459 ✭✭richiedel123

any stir on the fallow yet?ive seen a few scrapings but no grunting yet

Was talking to.a lad on Sunday and he was out heard 4 lads grunting in an area Saturday evening.

Im useing the nordic sika call to be honest i dont like the sound of it but it seems to work

As long as the stags like it, keep blowing......:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭daithi55

fallow been quiet around my way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 459 ✭✭richiedel123

daithi55 wrote: »
    fallow been quiet around my way

The lad I was talking to that heard the fallow grunting wasn't 100 miles from you when he heard them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭daithi55

The lad I was talking to that heard the fallow grunting wasn't 100 miles from you when he heard them

how do ya no where im on about lol

Was out on mountain in kerry today met a red stag and he was bellowing had 13 does with him and not another stag to be seen anywhere he was one happy looking boy with his ladies all to himself :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 marlin270

Hows things chaps.was in wicklow last weekend.only heard one stag whistle and only seen a doe and calf.hopefully the bit of cold snap will kick it in a bit.

My permission in Wicklow has been very quite. Hopefully things will start now. Or I'll see something anyway.

Im sure it will now lad it was very clear the past couple of nights and id say a touch of frost was on the ground i find that kicks it in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭Keelan

Was out on mountain in kerry today met a red stag and he was bellowing had 13 does with him and not another stag to be seen anywhere he was one happy looking boy with his ladies all to himself :)

Great to see, was down their a while ago, some grand stags, the true native irish reds. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭323

marlin270 wrote: »

Just back last night from a spell away working. Was looking forward to getting to getting out in Wicklow as never been there in the rut.

Seen over 30 hinds in 3 separate groups on the same hill, seen no males at all, only heard one whistle in a small bit of forest in the opposite direction.

Tried the evening on another permission, south Dublin. Same, seen a few hinds & calves. No males and not a peep.

Is the rut over or not yet started proper?

“Follow the trend lines, not the headlines,”

323 wrote: »
    Just back last night from a spell away working. Was looking forward to getting to getting out in Wicklow as never been there in the rut.

Seen over 30 hinds in 3 separate groups on the same hill, seen no males at all, only heard one whistle in a small bit of forest in the opposite direction.

Tried the evening on another permission, south Dublin. Same, seen a few hinds & calves. No males and not a peep.

Is the rut over or not yet started proper?

Don't think its really got into full flight in Wicklow yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭PL05

Don't think its really got into full flight in Wicklow yet.

Think it needs to get a good bit cooler yet. But i,ve heard a good bit of whistling in differant areas. The weather is a bit fecked up at the moment, the poor old stags are probably rearing to go.

Loads of noise around here. Been hearing them a few fields away from my house every night this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 584 ✭✭✭Mauser 308

No sign of the Rut in the Slieve Blooms yet. Was out this evening and there was no rutting at all.:confused:

Spent all day and evening in wicklow.only heard the one call in the evening.never seen a single thing and in fairness its good ground.when headin back to the van i heard a really stong call.it echoed through the wood.went down to where i heard it and seen a fine lookin stag.mind you with the lamp he only had one hind with him.mind you she legged it and left him standing there.left him there as i wouldnt shoot with the lamp no sport in it and i know some people will read this and say yyou muppet but i plan to go mon mornin as the farmer told me he sees them a lot in that field in the mornin.so i dont think the rut is on but it is close ;-)

Was out last evening on a different permission, saw a few hinds and calves.
    We got some half hearted responses to the call. He was so uninterested he'd only give one call at a time. He was either boll#cks'ed from courting or he still had'nt a clue what he's up to:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭welsummer

Rut in full swing in Wicklow. Couple of stags nearly knocked me down coming to the call.

welsummer wrote: »
    Rut in full swing in Wicklow. Couple of stags nearly knocked me down coming to the call.

Can you say what area without givin away to much ?????