Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's worth looking at, or impressed you, at the Ploughing?

• 24-09-2013 8:11pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭

Hoping to head to the ploughing on Thursday so what stood out for you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Manoffeeling

The low numbers of cattle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

Ya, I thought no. of catttle on show very poor. Limousin only had commercials. The whole thing seems to becoming less and less about farming. I'd say less than half of stands were directly farmer related.
    Good day overall. People were lying out on the grass having something to eat. Now that's rare for the ploughing. No mud at all.
    The Lely robotic milking was very impressive. I also thought the McHale balers, O'Donnell Engineering products (very well made) and the 420 HP Case Tractor :D were well worth a look. The whole thing very well organised, in fairness. Not easy to get 80,000 people into a field in the middle of the country in a few hours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

pakalasa wrote: »
    Ya, I thought no. of catttle on show very poor. Limousin only had commercials. The whole thing seems to becoming less and less about farming. I'd say less than half of stands were directly farmer related.
    Good day overall. People were lying out on the grass having something to eat. Now that's rare for the ploughing. No mud at all.
    The Lely robotic milking was very impressive. I also thought the McHale balers, O'Donnell Engineering products (very well made) and the 420 HP Case Tractor :D were well worth a look. The whole thing very well organised, in fairness. Not easy to get 80,000 people into a field in the middle of the country in a few hours.

That's gas.
    Anna May was on the radio today saying its the biggest ever show of cattle that the ploughing has ever had ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

bbam wrote: »
    That's gas.
    Anna May was on the radio today saying its the biggest ever show of cattle that the ploughing has ever had ??

is anna may the one that reads out all the lost childern??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 574 ✭✭✭ZETOR_IS_BETTER

The cattle section was very poor :(

jersey101 wrote: »
    is anna may the one that reads out all the lost childern??

She's probably eaten them.
    She's scarey enough looking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

I dropped in for a few hours in the end. Havnt being in about 6 - 7 years so taught there would be some few thing worth seeing.

Well organised, with layout not bad and traffic okay
    Taught the show it self was very poor. Saw nothing of any interest to me. I was realy disappointed. Stands up the top of the slight hill werent worth walking around. Spent about 4 hrs there and got to see everything. Rep on a good few stands were more interest in chatting with themselves than offering themselves to chat, (I probably look like a miserable B, which I am so they probably sused that right). Lakill was busy in his stand so I didnt drop into say hello as I wanted to get everything seen. Missed a couple of guys I wanted to meet as was still walking around at 6pm. Stopped to get batteries on the way down for the camera as I taught I would have loads of interesting things to photo. Took one photo, of an animal.

The talent there was also gash

I dropped in for a few hours in the end. Havnt being in about 6 - 7 years so taught there would be some few thing worth seeing.

Taught the show it self was very poor. Saw nothing of any interest to me. I was realy disappointed. Stands up the top of the slight hill werent worth walking around. Spent about 4 hrs there and got to see everything. Rep on a good few stands were more interest in chatting with themselves than offering themselves to chat, (I probably look like a miserable B, which I am so they probably sused that right). Lakill was busy in his stand so I didnt drop into say hello as I wanted to get everything seen. Missed a couple of guys I wanted to meet as was still walking around at 6pm. Stopped to get batteries on the way down for the camera as I taught I would have loads of interesting things to photo. Took one photo, of an animal.

In fairness bob if your reduced to talent spotting atthe ploughing, it must be dire :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

..also, Watson make the strongest calf/weanling creep feeder I've ever seen.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭Pat the lad

Priced a few meal bins.
    Belmac all to look at trading in slurry tank.
    Priced a pel fencer

Really disappointed with the limo cattle, only commerical cattle there.
    Aurbac were interesting and impressed enough with them, especially the x breed calf after culard char bull. Parthenaise were ok, didn't get a great look as most of them were lying down at the time.

Like the new 5 series Deutz and the new 5600 series masseys. The same 120 virsto looked nice too.

No probably with traffic in and out in minutes. Powerful land

i also spent alot of the day looking for hot sales reps to talk to :D found about 7 before the father copped on ha

Priced a few meal bins.
    Belmac all to look at trading in slurry tank.
    Priced a pel fencer

Really disappointed with the limo cattle, only commerical cattle there.
    Aurbac were interesting and impressed enough with them, especially the x breed calf after culard char bull. Parthenaise were ok, didn't get a great look as most of them were lying down at the time.

Like the new 5 series Deutz and the new 5600 series masseys. The same 120 virsto looked nice too.

No probably with traffic in and out in minutes. Powerful land

the deutz was a sexy bit of machinery if I ever saw one. 118hp TTV, price was probably eye watering.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

Called into the killeshin on the way home...huge crowd...good crack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭vermin99

Going tomorrow ,go every year without fail , does anyone actually watch the ploughing ,have a uncle in the senior category should be interesting :) in all fairness it is some show!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭Pat the lad

the deutz was a sexy bit of machinery if I ever saw one. 118hp TTV, price was probably eye watering.

Yeah its a fair nice machine alright bob- couldn't bring myself to ask the price, as a didn't want to end the dream :)

how many work lights were on the front of it, from memory there was at least 16:eek:, we would never see bed around here

the 120hp one was like a spaceshio inside with all the buttons and switches

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

They should divide it into two sections 1 for all the farm related stands and the rest for all the novelty rubbish.

bbam wrote: »
    That's gas.

Of course they will always say it's bigger and better than any other year to draw the crowd. I went into the farm relief services stand and your man was more interested in straighting up the leaflets instead of asking what I wanted :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

jersey101 wrote: »
    i also spent alot of the day looking for hot sales reps to talk to :D found about 7 before the father copped on ha

I hope you've arranged follow up consultations :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Alltech seem to employ a lot of honeys!!!

So guys and girls? It might be worth a visit!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,161 ✭✭✭crackcrack30

vermin99 wrote: »
    Going tomorrow ,go every year without fail , does anyone actually watch the ploughing ,have a uncle in the senior category should be interesting :) in all fairness it is some show!

I went out to see the ploughing for I think the first time in memory.....
    out of the 81,000 people there, there was about 100 looking at the ploughing at 10.30.......

There were more people (seated) in the RTE tent watching hector ,dathi ect ect............:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

Good bit of a tat there alright.

Didn't really get down to see the cattle and thought the stands for them were small.

Ploughing itself was very poorly advertised.

Didn't really see anything of interest to our situation at present but got a few bits and pieces that needed sorting done.

Met lakill's business partner but lakill himself was very busy.

Massive crowds, no muck and a decent day.

The legs are feeling it today though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

nashmach wrote: »
    Good bit of a tat there alright.

Didn't really get down to see the cattle and thought the stands for them were small.

Ploughing itself was very poorly advertised.

Didn't really see anything of interest to our situation at present but got a few bits and pieces that needed sorting done.

Met lakill's business partner but lakill himself was very busy.

Massive crowds, no muck and a decent day.

The legs are feeling it today though!

What's Lakhills stand called?

I saw a repeat of the 6 1 news on rte, New Holland sold 3 tractors yesterday then they ask a kerryman would he buy one :D He spun all the gloom and doom about sfp cuts and said milk price will be cut next year and said he couldn't afford one :( In spite of all that he was wearing some fancy duds :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

delaval wrote: »
    What's Lakhills stand called?

Y144 or Y114 - can't remember which now :D - Probooks;)

nashmach wrote: »
    Y144 or Y114 - can't remember which now :D - Probooks;)
    Y 447 Your head is as good as your legs :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭Dozer1

same as most lads thought the limo stand was shocking.
    was impressed by the CH and Aubrac's as mentioned already, anyone see the 2 heifers at the back of their tent some fella selling out from Boherbue Cork, two lovely stock.

thought the Aldi stand was by far the best in the show, well laid out and we got in before the big crowds hit it, i know it was all the suppliers having to do all the work but it was a good stand all the same.

No interest in the lely robot.

like bob said it was tough work to get one of the reps to talk to you, if fairness when u have every kid in the place looking for biros its a pain in itself.
    the deutz tractors did look well, couldn't believe the displays of cars, like alot of people I bypassed that section

people were in good form, traffic was grand, hadn't been in 3 years, wouldn't see a reason to go back for another 3.

changed back to the ESB from eirtricty, got a free carbon monoxide dector from bord Gais, some minx was there with Diarmud "muppet" Bannon and got a deal on delivery for wood pellets.

and back home for 6pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭Enderol

Three things I thought were good.

1. Slurrysafe. If anyone has an open slurry tank and a slurry pump, you'll know exactly what I mean if I say you are hanging over the slurry as your adjusting or changing the direction of the outlet. A couple for Waterford are doing cages that can be mounted onto the wall of a slurry pit with a grid in the floor for a pump to go through. There is also a smaller slot for the pipe to go through when sucking slurry out. Not just for your own safety but kids as well. cost about 3700 i think. some people will say thats expensive but if you or worst yet, someone else gets hurt or worse, it really isnt that much. Www.slurrysafe.ie

2. Farm Hitch. One of the quick link for tractors and implements. These ones have Points for PTO, hydraulics and electrics so no reason to get out at all. Its all hot dip galvinised, and there is room to add extra hydraulic links, and electical points if you change tractor or replace an implement. Can't find the website at the mo.

3. The lely robot. Come on.... It's takes balls for a company to give a live demo like that considering how many people want it to fail.

Impressed by how many parlour companies were there. Fullwood pako, dairymaster, and GEA (Westfalias mother company) were on show as always accompanied by Pearsons, Milfos, ATL and a few even newer companies that I can't remember right now. Obviously there to make an impression now for 2015.

Lots of tractor brands I never heard of. Hat-tat, a Turkish company which sounds more like a type of space-ship from Star-trek. Yes, sci-fi farmer here.

Anyone have any experience with this last crowd?

Enderol wrote: »
    Three things I thought were good.

1. Slurrysafe. If anyone has an open slurry tank and a slurry pump, you'll know exactly what I mean if I say you are hanging over the slurry as your adjusting or changing the direction of the outlet. A couple for Waterford are doing cages that can be mounted onto the wall of a slurry pit with a grid in the floor for a pump to go through. There is also a smaller slot for the pipe to go through when sucking slurry out. Not just for your own safety but kids as well. cost about 3700 i think. some people will say thats expensive but if you or worst yet, someone else gets hurt or worse, it really isnt that much. Www.slurrysafe.ie

2. Farm Hitch. One of the quick link for tractors and implements. These ones have Points for PTO, hydraulics and electrics so no reason to get out at all. Its all hot dip galvinised, and there is room to add extra hydraulic links, and electical points if you change tractor or replace an implement. Can't find the website at the mo.

3. The lely robot. Come on.... It's takes balls for a company to give a live demo like that considering how many people want it to fail.

Impressed by how many parlour companies were there. Fullwood pako, dairymaster, and GEA (Westfalias mother company) were on show as always accompanied by Pearsons, Milfos, ATL and a few even newer companies that I can't remember right now. Obviously there to make an impression now for 2015.

Lots of tractor brands I never heard of. Hat-tat, a Turkish company which sounds more like a type of space-ship from Star-trek. Yes, sci-fi farmer here.

Anyone have any experience with this last crowd?

Indeed...
    the slurry safe was good.. as was the quick hitch..
    Spent about 30 minutes watching the Lely Robot, very good indeed..

One of the machine suppliers I was shocked at was ALfa Laval, their stand was small and poor... Looked like a real second rate company..

Stock at show was interesting but by no means a great display..

It really is becoming like a huge car boot sale in many respects and it spoils the whole day...

Its time to segregate the tat and home goods from the farming stalls.. then we could visit what we want and avoid what is clap-trap !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭case885

Went into fullwood about putting in a 16 unit parlour and tank, very angry with their service. Didnt seem very interested and when he offered me tea i said yes he didnt even bother after, couldnt believe it. Very impressed with westfalia nice salesmen/woman. Seems like a good parlour too up their with fullwood.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

I went to the Greenbelt forestry stand, and I have to say I was very impressed with the West Limerick rep I talked to. There was no hard sell, or pushiness, he was to the point and honest, if he didn't know something he said as much. Rather that than someone promising the Sun, Moon, and stars. Got to talk through the issue I had in mind and went away with a clear path to progress the idea on.

I think they were the stand out stand of the day for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭dar31

case885 wrote: »
    Went into fullwood about putting in a 16 unit parlour and tank, very angry with their service. Didnt seem very interested and when he offered me tea i said yes he didnt even bother after, couldnt believe it. Very impressed with westfalia nice salesmen/woman. Seems like a good parlour too up their with fullwood.

same sort of experience with delaval (milking equipment, not the lad on here)
    went in inquiring about milk tank, want to do anything but, spent the time looking around the place, asked me did i do the milking much, told him feck all this weather, he then asked had i just finished collage, told him ya, 15 years ago, and left him at it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Manoffeeling

Got the diabetes test.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

The ground. Wow... never seen so much clover.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 693 ✭✭✭slippy wicket

Muckit wrote: »
    The ground. Wow... never seen so much clover.

Very true. Was exceptional.

The Belgian blue tent was hopping, very fine stock on display.
    Those hoors selling the pipes for 'moving' diesel were unfortunately there again this year.
    The bloody crowds were a bit much at times.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭sasta le

Has these became an event junkie thing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

sasta le wrote: »
    Has these became an event junkie thing?

I hadn't been for 7 or 8 years so no for me. I doubt I'll go there next year, unless something catches my eye in the pre ploughing journal - though there were some stands advertised that didn't show up!

I do agree with bbam again, they need to split out the commercial BS from the Ag (BS) :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭road_high

What time did they stop charging in at? We went in after two and luckily enough friends leaving gave us their passes. Guy on gate checking them goin in- so I assume if we hadn't them it would have meant having to pay €20. Which for that amount of time it most definitely wouldn't have been worth it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Saw some good stuff. The cormac equipment stand was good and the sales reps were helpful and quick to give info.

I think a few stands must face been reading our thread on what annoys u at the ploughing. Good few stands with prices up on stuff. Was very useful .

The jeninkond stand sheep equip was good but the salesman was ****e.

Dept of AG stand was good and helpful. Got 2 things sorted very quickly.

The sheep tent was poor enough. Surely they can come up with something a bit more imaginative than stalls is sheep with the society members sitting on chairs as if there at a match. Why don't they do a few demonstrations. Talk about the sheep. Sheep Ireland should do a demo on the star rating.

Rancher were u at the Vendeen stand. Ye had one real nice ram. The second lad wasn't the best as a showcase.
    At least ye're stand was talking. The lad at the Charolais stand didn't know how to run a stand. Was content to talk to the one lad for 30 mins despite several people waiting to ask a question.

Overall a very enjoyable day out though and got out of the car park handy enough, I hear it is being held here again next year.

dar31 wrote: »
    same sort of experience with delaval (milking equipment, not the lad on here)
    went in inquiring about milk tank, want to do anything but, spent the time looking around the place, asked me did i do the milking much, told him feck all this weather, he then asked had i just finished collage, told him ya, 15 years ago, and left him at it

Funny isnt it how they snob younger people, nice machine but that doesnt go down well with me. Westfalia impressed me very helpful and seems to be well built machine. If you are going to invest 50,000 + in their equipment then the least you would expect is a friendly salesman.. Good day out anyway overall huge crowd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,534 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Will vouch for gea(westfalia)top class milking equipment,back up .the addition of Milfos into Gea was a good move,you now have a company flogging a top end machine for high yielding cows and one for the low cost grass man

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

Funny isnt it how they snob younger people, nice machine but that doesnt go down well with me. Westfalia impressed me very helpful and seems to be well built machine. If you are going to invest 50,000 + in their equipment then the least you would expect is a friendly salesman.. Good day out anyway overall huge crowd.

Same as that now. Went to the claas stand to enquire about a disco mower and the rep handed me a brochure and said ah yeah, you'll find it all in there. Went to Kuhn stand for thesame job and got the vibe that he didn't believe that a young guy would be buying a mower and then to the lely stand, found a rep mad to talk about the mower and knew his figures inside out. Now I will probably try to find a good s/h one but if going new it will probably be a splendimo after talking to that rep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭dar31

The look on his face when I told him I was looking for a 18,000 l tank as I handed him back the brochure
    Priceless

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Will vouch for gea(westfalia)top class milking equipment,back up .the addition of Milfos into Gea was a good move,you now have a company flogging a top end machine for high yielding cows and one for the low cost grass man

Have you the top of the range one or the more basic model? They are set up well i was asking him about the dump line and they're not a fan of it, id believe i read somewhere a man had to pay for lorry load of milk as dairymaster diversion line was faulty and they never compensated. I do like their higher spec one but would be costly.

Same as that now. Went to the claas stand to enquire about a disco mower and the rep handed me a brochure and said ah yeah, you'll find it all in there. Went to Kuhn stand for thesame job and got the vibe that he didn't believe that a young guy would be buying a mower and then to the lely stand, found a rep mad to talk about the mower and knew his figures inside out. Now I will probably try to find a good s/h one but if going new it will probably be a splendimo after talking to that rep.

I dont know how salesmen that arent bothered or too interested survive in the job, i didnt know too much about GEA before yesterday was always looking at fullwood and dairymaster but the ploughing is great for that get to see all in the one day and your opinion changes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,534 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Have you the top of the range one or the more basic model? They are set up well i was asking him about the dump line and they're not a fan of it, id believe i read somewhere a man had to pay for lorry load of milk as dairymaster diversion line was faulty and they never compensated. I do like their higher spec one but would be costly.

Yep with all the bells and whistles,acrs,feed to yield ,vacume gates,p21 milk meters. stand alobe dump libe serious piece of kit and pleasure to milk In.there dump line is 100% safe ,separate line ,pump,reliever jar and cluster.wouldnt be without it.well worth the money .only other machine to come close was full wood.they also have a serious robot,the mi one.one robot arm can serve 5 boxes unlike lelys where is is one arm one box for 70 cows.not for sale in this country yet but think when it dose it cod blow lely away

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Yep with all the bells and whistles,acrs,feed to yield ,vacume gates,p21 milk meters. stand alobe dump libe serious piece of kit and pleasure to milk In.there dump line is 100% safe ,separate line ,pump,reliever jar and cluster.wouldnt be without it.well worth the money .only other machine to come close was full wood.they also have a serious robot,the mi one.one robot arm can serve 5 boxes unlike lelys where is is one arm one box for 70 cows.not for sale in this country yet but think when it dose it cod blow lely away

Yes those two look the best around alright didnt see gascoigne melloite but heard there not too bad. Your parlour sounds impressive seen the p21 up there alright and it looks the business great for one man operation i bet.Out of interest Was there much of difference price wise between GEA and fullwood when you were pricing? Wouldnt be mad for the robot tbh seems like paddocks and grazing routine would have to be spot on then again i havent read much about them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Something new that I'd never heard of before:

http://www.derrydufffodder.ie/index.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭agriman27

just do it wrote: »
    Something new that I'd never heard of before:

http://www.derrydufffodder.ie/index.html

Now that is unusual :pac: