Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How was Ploughing Traffic

• 24-09-2013 8:38am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭

Was there any delays? How long did it take to get there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

looks like twas that bad they can't get on the information superhighway to answer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 FT7

Was there any delays? How long did it take to get there?

my gang reported no delays from limerick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭fiat10090dt

Was ****e u need to Leave three ealier

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭severeoversteer

Was ****e u need to Leave three ealier

where were you coming from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭fiat10090dt

Knock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,491 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Knock

No problem left naghna at 7.15 and in field at 8.45.left for home ar 3.45 home at 5 o clock.great day ,disadvantage money and Sfp both cleared for payement,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭veetwin

Left North County Dublin at 7.30am. Walked into the event at 9.30 including a coffee stop. Probably about a 20 minute delay near the event. Other than that the event was well run. I expected to be delayed longer given the crowds that attended.

mahoney_j wrote: »
    No problem left naghna at 7.15 and in field at 8.45.left for home ar 3.45 home at 5 o clock.great day ,disadvantage money and Sfp both cleared for payement,

where is this naghna place ? have never been there before:confused::P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,161 ✭✭✭crackcrack30

Took about 10min to get out of the brown carpark (tiger) at 5pm.....couldn't ask for better in fairness, guards all the way to motorway in portlaoise keeping it flowing nicely...

did anyone go to the ploughing from galway ?

how long did it take you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

Approaching on the Brown route (from southwest/M7), there was a bit of a holdup getting off the M7 Junction 17 at 8.15-8.30am or thereabouts. Once we cleared the exit though, it was plain sailing all the way into the site.
    I suspect there'll be more Gardaí there for the remaining days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,491 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

where is this naghna place ? have never been there before:confused::P

Nenagh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭kevinm177

Took about an hr and a half to get from cullahill to abbeyleix, Traffic was at a standstill. Once we got through Abbeyleix we flew straight into the carpark with no delays.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭whitebriar

We left around 6 from yellow 13 and flew out,into Stradbally and onto Carlow/Hacketstown with no queues or traffic or delay at all this evening.

Getting in going the same way this morning around 9am was a disaster though,a crawl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭holidaygirl

kevinm177 wrote: »
    Took about an hr and a half to get from cullahill to abbeyleix, Traffic was at a standstill. Once we got through Abbeyleix we flew straight into the carpark with no delays.

We were the same, arrived on site at 9.30, took us nearly 2 hrs 15 mins, git home in an hour less this evening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

Cullahill outside Borrisoleigh, Tipperary? Know the area well if so?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

What are underfoot conditions like up there? Wellies or the auld steel toe boots?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭kevinm177

Cullahill in Laois. Not 20km from Abbeyleix id say.
    Wore the runners this year, ground dry as a bone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 574 ✭✭✭ZETOR_IS_BETTER

What are underfoot conditions like up there? Wellies or the auld steel toe boots?

Steel toe :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Steel toe :)

Heard the traffic was bad if going through abbeyleix but pretty good otherwise. I'd say tomo will be busier but they will probably have any issues tweaked out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭red bull

From Tullamore ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,729 ✭✭✭lefthooker

I spent yesterday watching the wicked witch and her "mini me" proclaim how great the location was with all its access roads. Because last years site was so bad, had nothing to do with the brains society completely overlooking New Ross as a traffic nightmare and the little boss lady falling out with the Gardai, supposedly.

So imagine my disappointment at taking over 2 from Carlow to the site. Chronic:mad: Left wexford at 7.50 and only hit the car park at 10.50. No problems at all coming out tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭veetwin

Steel toes...to avoid getting trampled on by the crowds. Otherwise sandals would have done. Dust was the biggest problem there which makes a nice change from the last few years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

Left home at half 9 from wexford and was there at quarter to 11. Drove straight in and out. Took a different rout home and did it in the hour :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭Lastin

lefthooker wrote: »
    I spent yesterday watching the wicked witch and her "mini me" proclaim how great the location was with all its access roads. Because last years site was so bad, had nothing to do with the brains society completely overlooking New Ross as a traffic nightmare and the little boss lady falling out with the Gardai, supposedly.

So imagine my disappointment at taking over 2 from Carlow to the site. Chronic:mad: Left wexford at 7.50 and only hit the car park at 10.50. No problems at all coming out tho.
    fair play lefthooker she picked the site, the bridge in Ross was always going to be a problem.The traffic was not a problem in previous Wexford visits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

dubes will do:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

What time was that? I went the same route, left Mallow at 10 and was parked in the field at 11.55. There was a backlog from cullahill to abbeyleix but no way would it take an hour and a half as the backlog kept moving. You didn't pull over for a snooze by any chance :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

don't muck things up too much, I'm headin thurs :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

lefthooker wrote: »

You weren't alone there Carlow was a disaster.

Neighbours left near New Ross at 7 am and were in at 9.30. My father left at 8 and was more like 11.15 :(
    veetwin wrote: »
    Steel toes...to avoid getting trampled on by the crowds. Otherwise sandals would have done. Dust was the biggest problem there which makes a nice change from the last few years.

Steel toes because no matter what you will find yourself hitting the edge of the tracks when the legs get tired unless you are only going for a few hours;)

good on way in, we were here around 7.30 or so, living soon now

the auld last hasn't missed a ploughing for the last 20 years straight and we both agreed that this was the best year it has ever been for traffic, 2 hours from galway and the same home, am home since 5 and have seen it all in comfort

from 1 o clock on it became hard to move around, was easy to get around early in the morning

I don't know how ye see it all in a few hours unless you literally walk up and down every row then across the rows from start to finish without actually going into any display. When you go into a few of the stands you could easily end up walking around in circles without knowing it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Traffic from Tullamore was poor thismorning.. I think the detour they sent the traffic on added on 45 minutes for no particular reason...

Once onsite things were good.. parking close to ploughing event and trade stands..

Sam Kade wrote: »
    I don't know how ye see it all in a few hours unless you literally walk up and down every row then across the rows from start to finish without actually going into any display. When you go into a few of the stands you could easily end up walking around in circles without knowing it.

I had a site map and a good sense of direction! that how I saw it all,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭fredweena

Went from Galway yesterday. Pretty much flew in and out. Prob missed most of traffic to be honest in the morning. Didn't leave home till half 8.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,677 ✭✭✭stanflt

Spent the last 2 hrs trying to get 2miles out the rd

Not exactly sure what time we left, but it would have been mid afternoon. It was sluggish getting going, but once off the back roads was grand on the way home. I can see how there would have been delays late in the day.

I had a map too and it spent it's time shoved in my arse pocket, pre-ploughing plan went out the window :D Saw most things I wanted to though.

I had a site map and a good sense of direction! that how I saw it all,
    Did you see RoboCop?
    I had a map too and it spent it's time shoved in my arse pocket, pre-ploughing plan went out the window :D Saw most things I wanted to though.
    Exactly, seeing what you wanted to see not everything that was there :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 Salgud

Up to an hour an half getting out of green car park tis evening.Woman collapse beside me at the ploughing.rang 999 but took ages to get response.should be some phone number at the ploughing for a quick response to emergency,Woman was brought away by the order of Malta.hope she's okay

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

Salgud wrote: »
    Up to an hour an half getting out of green car park tis evening.Woman collapse beside me at the ploughing.rang 999 but took ages to get response.should be some phone number at the ploughing for a quick response to emergency,Woman was brought away by the order of Malta.hope she's okay
    i left around 3 and flew out, missed all that hardship thank god

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

i left around 3 and flew out, missed all that hardship thank god

Yea..
    We left at 3:30 and there was no bother..
    But you could see people were on the move..

bbam wrote: »
    Yea..
    We left at 3:30 and there was no bother..
    But you could see people were on the move..
    ah the crowds were too much at that time i had to go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭hsan

Could anyone tell us the best turn off or color car park to go to tomorrow? Also is there any nice place to eat around there on the way home?

hsan wrote: »
    Could anyone tell us the best turn off or color car park to go to tomorrow? Also is there any nice place to eat around there on the way home?
    you dont really have a choice on the car park mate, its whatever road you travel up on

It depends on where home is :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Where u coming from?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Where you coming from?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 278 ✭✭micky mouse

It depends on where home is :)
    :)We'll start in Sligo so. What is the best route from Sligo direction

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭hsan

Feck it sorry lads.... Limerick