Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

04 VW Bora TDI upgrades

• 22-09-2013 2:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭

Have an 04 vw bora have a good few bits done on it already but changing the alloys was thinking 17s or 18s have 19s on it but getting rid too big was thinking a4 alloys or rs6s or sccirocco alloys any suggestions?and getting new wheels too where can i get good wheels that wont rob me and i know thats hard come by dont mind paying top dollar if there good quality doe,also want to put in a dump valve and get it chipped remapped atm its 100bhp anyone know of a good lad to do this hard get a good lad preferably in the midlands or leinster connacht area looking for a 6cd changer and a sub so trying done deal but hard find any ,any suggestions help appriciated thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Cd changers kinda went out with the flood, integrated iPods are the way people have gone.
    Even a headunit with an SD card will hold tonnes of music.

As for the other stuff, I dunno, maybe try something that hasn't been done to death already. The world doesn't really need another bora with a pigeon valve and the same old felt spec wheels.

Maybe I'm getting old or something..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

No point having a dump valve on a diesel, just a waste of money on an un-necessary part. Looking for the cooooooooooo?

As for wheels, what style suits?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭The Red Lad

Alright Lads,
    Putting new alloys on my bora and need a few others opinions.Firstly had 19s on her and got nothing but hardship (countryside roads) :mad: .Shes white with a black roof was thinking would white rs4s or rs6 look good?or even black ones?or not? 17s or 18s which yis think would be better option i see fk selling 18 scirrocos there quite nice too also looking at wheel size what would fit it and be a smoother ride on the road?opioins lads cheers. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭JimmyCrackCorn

Huge wheels with low profile tyres will make you feel every bump.

As for 19s on a Bora.... I wouldn't but that's personal taste.
    I personally would look for a wide wheel in or close to oem size.

903723_562934327062034_748172987_o.jpg

MOD Warning.
    Anyone who chimes in here and flames is getting an instant 1 week ban.
    I warned you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭Ciano35

Alright Lads,
    Putting new alloys on my bora and need a few others opinions.Firstly had 19s on her and got nothing but hardship (countryside roads) :mad: .Shes white with a black roof was thinking would white rs4s or rs6 look good?or even black ones?or not? 17s or 18s which yis think would be better option i see fk selling 18 scirrocos there quite nice too also looking at wheel size what would fit it and be a smoother ride on the road?opioins lads cheers. :cool:

Personally I wouldn't go over 17's.

OP can you post a pic of the car as it is now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭sean1141

If you want alloys that are less prone to cracking and buckling stick with well known brands and avoid crappy replica wheels. Something like the 17/18s off a seat leon fr/cupra r would look good under a bora IMO and they would be different to the usual rs4/6 replicas going around and stand up to a lot more hardship.
    These are 17s on my old leon
    DSC_0033.jpg

And after spraying them black
    24072010053.jpg
    26032011161.jpg

I drove for 3 years on bad roads with these wheels and never had a problem.

That's her there but alloys had to be took off 3 were cracked badly other was badly welded

If it was me I'd

Get rid of the sunstrip and the light brows
    Fit some fogs
    Get some 17s, OEM but not Audi.
    Maybe octavia vrs wheels, or Cupra as suggested earlier.

I like the colour coding, black roof and the spoiler.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Truckermal

I seen a Bora lately with wheels from a Passat, they are called Road Americas and look very well. Big wheels look stupid anyway, I know where you can buy them too.

Truckermal wrote: »
    I seen a Bora lately with wheels from a Passat, they are called Road Americas and look very well. Big wheels look stupid anyway, I know where you can buy them too.

Those are off the b5.5 passat yeah? They're 16 I think
    Might be a step too far tbh they're very conservative

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Truckermal

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Those are off the b5.5 passat yeah? They're 16 I think
    Might be a step too far tbh they're very conservative

Yes they are and yes they might look a bit conservative allright. Another nice wheel is the ones that came with the 2.5 Passat, they are 17" and look well too but are scarce enough. My pet hate is replica wheels, I seen a 05 B6 Passat yesterday with 18" CC wheels it just looked shoite..

Anyway back to the audio I know of a great guy in Longford who specialises in Audio, Joe Power is the man for a remap.

Cheers lads yeah getting rid of the sunstrip where is this joe power based hardly have a contact for him?

colm_mcm wrote: »
    If it was me I'd

Get rid of the sunstrip and the light brows
    Fit some fogs
    Get some 17s, OEM but not Audi.
    Maybe octavia vrs wheels, or Cupra as suggested earlier.

I like the colour coding, black roof and the spoiler.

The only oe audi wheels that are a direct fit will be off a mk1 A3 or S3 and mayde some older audis. The bora is 5x100 pcd where the A4, A6, A8 and there S models are 5x112. The same goes for the mk5 golf and jetta.
    I think 16s would look a little small under a lowered bora. 17s are ideal.

I would loose the sunstrip and brows too.

http://www.chippedire.com/vms_view.php

Was thinking of buying map file myself online works out alot cheaper anyone know will lads do this and just pay them for labour or is it a tough job do yourself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭JimmyCrackCorn

Was thinking of buying map file myself online works out alot cheaper anyone know will lads do this and just pay them for labour or is it a tough job do yourself?

Leave it to the professionals. Don't put an unknown map on your car unless you have budgeted for a new engine.

As regards for fogs lads was looking at a fog and grill conversion kit on fk performance for coloured fogs would i need to buy a coloured bulb or would the light tint do the same job?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,594 ✭✭✭tossy

I persoanally wouldn't fit anything made by them to a car,i had a set of their headlights years ago and the were complete tat, light out put was crap and the let in moisture.

Hella do a fog light kit for these that would be far superior.

I am a fan of the aul Magherafelt spec :o

Personally if that were my own car I'd leave the most as is but:
    Fit a monoblock style wheel (not AMG ones btw :p) something like a TSW holsten
    Put on a Van Aaken sunstrip
    Backbox delete and replace with straight pipe + twin upswept tips, one per side
    Remap it with and add a popcorn limiter (youtube it :cool:)

Fantastic as is, looks the part :D

My own personal taste, some of the regulars know what my yoke is like..... :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭Scortho

dgt wrote: »
    I am a fan of the aul Magherafelt spec :o

Personally if that were my own car I'd leave the most as is but:
    Fit a monoblock style wheel (not AMG ones btw :p) something like a TSW holsten
    Put on a Van Aaken sunstrip
    Backbox delete and replace with straight pipe + twin upswept tips, one per side
    Remap it with and add a popcorn limiter (youtube it :cool:)

Fantastic as is, looks the part :D

My own personal taste, some of the regulars know what my yoke is like..... :o

When's yours getting a popcorn limiter. Badly needed for town driving!:P

Scortho wrote: »
    When's yours getting a popcorn limiter. Badly needed for town driving!:P

Can't do that to a mech idi ;)

Well lads other then a remap what else can i add to my bora to increase speed and all round performance more hp and torque etc

threads merged. Better to have everything together to avoid duplication.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Well lads other then a remap what else can i add to my bora to increase speed and all round performance more hp and torque etc

Induction kit bigger injectors more free flowing exhaust system bigger turbo bigger intercooler

No don't put one on. Makes naff all difference, cloggs twice as handy and can collapse in on itself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭DuckSlice

Big cost for probably 150 bhp at the most.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

etxp wrote: »
    Big cost for probably 150 bhp at the most.

That engine can do 150 with a remap
    170+ with different injectors
    After that its how much are you willing to spend.

pred racer wrote: »

I thought it was a struggle to get the 100bhp model to 150? I must have been misinformed.

pred racer wrote: »
    etxp wrote: »
    I thought it was a struggle to get the 100bhp model to 150? I must have been misinformed.

Not a hope a pd 100 will make 150 with a remap alone. Id say 130 at a push

sean1141 wrote: »
    Not a hope a pd 100 will make 150 with a remap alone. Id say 130 at a push

So I was right then :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,594 ✭✭✭tossy

I had a 100pd golf years ago and it made exactly 130bhp with a Joe power map and a decent panel filter,it was a good storng engine but not a good base to start from when modding. The general consensous amongst the balck pump brigade is the 130 pd is the best base for modding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭GTE

Ahh, just you wait till I get my VE 90 remapped :pac:

\m/

gdp_overtaking_00.jpg