Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I've heard it all now - a 316i is now a 'high powered' car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,106 ✭✭✭SpannerMonkey

bwahahahahaha . i had one years ago , your granny is more powerful than a 316i

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

A 316i's acceleration is the equivalent to trying to set off on your bike already in top gear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭S28382

My old 316 was some yoke for speed ........albeit when i was driving down a very steep hill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,593 ✭✭✭tossy

I would wager the A5 and the Q3 weren't high powered either. It's a great headline though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Truckermal

That crowd in the Indo haven't a clue in all fairness, what would they call an Octavia?? A HGV??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

My insurance company reckons my 1.9 turbo daysul is a sports car:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I remember trying to get insured on parents 2.0 audi 100 years ago. I think it was 120bhp but axa called it a performance car.

mickdw wrote: »
    I remember trying to get insured on parents 2.0 audi 100 years ago. I think it was 120bhp but axa called it a performance car.

You had an Audi car 100 years ago? :eek:how old are you ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Topper Harley

Well they're all higher powered than my 30cc strimmer. It's all relative people. ;)

No it's not, the were called high powered not higher powered cars. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,722 ✭✭✭maidhc

The Audi 100 had a better claim than most to be a performance car with 120hp 20 years ago. If you take things to extremes An Austin Healy is about 120hp, and was something of a supercar for its time!

Still, calling a 316 a performance car is amusing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Topper Harley

tossy wrote: »
    No it's not, the were called high powered not higher powered cars. :D

But they're 'high powered' compared to my strimmer, for example, or a cat.

But they're 'low powered' compared to...eh...an SR-71 Blackbird, among many other things. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭dmc17

What it says: "Gardai recover four high-powered stolen cars"

What it means: "Gardai recover four under-powered stolen cars but decide to call them high powered to make it look more impressive"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

But they're 'high powered' compared to my strimmer, for example, or a cat.

But they're 'low powered' compared to...eh...a decent car:P

Fixed that for ya:pac:

You had an Audi car 100 years ago? :eek:how old are you ?

maidhc wrote: »
    The Audi 100 had a better claim than most to be a performance car with 120hp 20 years ago. If you take things to extremes An Austin Healy is about 120hp, and was something of a supercar for its time!

Still, calling a 316 a performance car is amusing.

Well, this was about 1995 and average enough powerwise at that time. Lovely car though and Id quite like to get an identical one now in perfect condition to keep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

It's the Indo, what do you expect...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,126 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

where would boadsies reckon you wouldnt laugh to a bm being referred to as "high powered", a 3L natutally aspirated say max 10 years old?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭RandomAccess

Sounds like they are breaking the cars. Seen a lot of this in the UK, and there was another case recently of a crowd selling stolen parts of stolen cars, in Kildare I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 815 ✭✭✭Collibosher

One of the cars was taken not too far from where it was discovered after thieves put a brick through glass front door and took keys in early hours of morning. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,122 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

The boggo one was 100bhp, but in fairness to your parents, they went for the multipoint injection one sporting 115bhp :cool: :D

Rear brake drums both of them!

I'm only messin' BTW, my father bought a brand new Audi 80 in '91. It was the 1.6 petrol with a glorious 71bhp :)

unkel wrote: »
    The boggo one was 100bhp, but in fairness to your parents, they went for the multipoint injection one sporting 115bhp :cool: :D

Rear brake drums both of them!

I'm only messin' BTW, my father bought a brand new Audi 80 in '91. It was the 1.6 petrol with a glorious 71bhp :)

Nope. Discs all round. Yes it was multipoint but i think they all were. This was the final model 100. 1991 on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

On next weeks traffic blues , a 320d m-sport supercar outruns gardai in a chase that was said to have involved doing 140km/h on the n7

A 320d would be a "high powered saloon" :D I love when they say that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Wouldn't it be a mae-channikly prrropelled va-he-cle. Plus a mention of sae-fe-ty.

That would make a 325 right into veyron territory then?? :)

YbFocus wrote: »

Noooo it would cause it's a pedril and doesn't go Booooo so it can't be fhester.

Oh tis sum yolk for d crop circles boii :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

YbFocus wrote: »
    Jaysuz then they would run out of superlatives at the 330 level :D

Serious amount of crap in the press regarding "fasht" "high powered" etc cars here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭halkar

Anything above 1L is high powered on my sunny island :D

e60 535d wrote: »
    Jaysuz then they would run out of superlatives at the 330 level :D

Serious amount of crap in the press regarding "fasht" "high powered" etc cars here.

Not just the press. I'm insured with NoNonsense. They won't touch my GF's MX5, because it is a high performance car. My deisel CMax is faster!
    It just goes to show that 90% of people in Ireland are completely ignorant about cars, don't like them, don't care about them and certainly don't know how to look after them, because 90% of what you read about motoring is borne of ignorance, prejudice, lack of research and just parroting whatever everyone else, but mostly the RSA (the worst offenders) says.

Not just the press. I'm insured with NoNonsense. They won't touch my GF's MX5, because it is a high performance car. My deisel CMax is faster!
    It just goes to show that 90% of people in Ireland are completely ignorant about cars, don't like them, don't care about them and certainly don't know how to look after them, because 90% of what you read about motoring is borne of ignorance, prejudice, lack of research and just parroting whatever everyone else, but mostly the RSA (the worst offenders) says.

Double thanks for that one.

Certainly worthy of it if I could :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

Well they're sort of right aren't they? I mean it is a high powered saloon compared to, oh, I don't know, a 316i:D.

(which of course is a totally different thing to saying that a 320d is in fact a high powered saloon.....)

An update on this case,
    http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/four-charged-with-theft-of-auto-parts-29604253.html

I can't help but think all this guff about the indo's idea of a high power car has totally distracted from the main issue here tbh.
    Three Lithuanians and a Russian caught chopping stolen cars is major news, I mean every other week we have a post here about a car going missing and up until recently I think the vast majority of people reckoned they were either being put in a container in one piece or taken for use in a robbery. The sad reality is many of them are ending up being dismantled practically under our noses, scrapped for parts.
    God only knows how many of these little enterprises are operating in Dublin county, and all around the rest of the country!

I can't imagine how this kind of crap can go on here, a nation of curtain twitchers and nobody notices this kind of operation?
    Just like Diesel smugglers on the border, this should be noticed!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

An update on this case,
    http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/four-charged-with-theft-of-auto-parts-29604253.html

I can't help but think all this guff about the indo's idea of a high power car has totally distracted from the main issue here tbh.
    Three Lithuanians and a Russian caught chopping stolen cars is major news, I mean every other week we have a post here about a car going missing and up until recently I think the vast majority of people reckoned they were either being put in a container in one piece or taken for use in a robbery. The sad reality is many of them are ending up being dismantled practically under our noses, scrapped for parts.
    God only knows how many of these little enterprises are operating in Dublin county, and all around the rest of the country!

I can't imagine how this kind of crap can go on here, a nation of curtain twitchers and nobody notices this kind of operation?
    Just like Diesel smugglers on the border, this should be noticed!

A few years ago a farm down the road from me was raided. 12 stolen high performance jap cars in the shed, had been going on for months and months. You'd never suspect a thing :eek:

dgt wrote: »
    A few years ago a farm down the road from me was raided. 12 stolen high performance jap cars in the shed, had been going on for months and months. You'd never suspect a thing :eek:

Just hopped in the GoogleCopter for a look at the area those ***** had the chopshop, loads of farmland, its nearly unpopulated. Makes a mockery of all those people driving halfway to Galway on their way to the 'commuter belt'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Just hopped in the GoogleCopter for a look at the area those ***** had the chopshop, loads of farmland, its nearly unpopulated. Makes a mockery of all those people driving halfway to Galway on their way to the 'commuter belt'.

It goes on right under our noses without even suspecting a thing. A fair few premises around this area were rented for a few months and moved away, makes one wonder what was really going on in the background.....

dgt wrote: »
    It goes on right under our noses without even suspecting a thing. A fair few premises around this area were rented for a few months and moved away, makes one wonder what was really going on in the background.....

The media blather on about the need to stay relevant and sell more papers.
    Then go find us some bloody news, investigative journalism.
    All we get are court reports and garda press office releases.
    Countries going to hell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,515 ✭✭✭arleitiss

I am being refused to be quoted by: Aviva, Axa, Liberty, no nonsense and couple others because apparently in their understanding - 318i (1.9 - 118bhp version) is: "large engine" and "high powered car", makes me really hopeless and bit scared to change car in a year time if I decide to go for 3.0 or 3.5

It's funny. AXA always refuse to quote me directly. Be it on a 3.0, a 1.9 TDI, or a 7.3.

But they were always competitive through brokers. Indeed I will be taking insurance on the 7.3 through them.(classic insurance)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭thecomedian

arleitiss wrote: »
    I am being refused to be quoted by: Aviva, Axa, Liberty, no nonsense and couple others because apparently in their understanding - 318i (1.9 - 118bhp version) is: "large engine" and "high powered car", makes me really hopeless and bit scared to change car in a year time if I decide to go for 3.0 or 3.5

Did you try a brokers yet?
    I just went with the AA yesterday, surprisingly low price. Quote me renewal came back at 670, AA did it for 502.

Did they say on the phone "Ah jaysus, we wouldn be knowin anythin 'bout dem Ferraaaari cars now, shure we wouldn't be inshuren dem at all, now we only do dem Micra cars now so we would!"
    That's why I love Germany. Loads of army surplus vehicles around, so when you ring up the insurance company and say "I want to insure a Russian 1978 armored ex troup-carrier with amphibic capabilities" they will say "Let me just select that from my dropdown, yes, that will be E500".
    To a German insurance company a normal vehicle is anything up to 2.5 litres, over that is bigger and 4 liters plus is starting into high powered territory.
    There is some kind of brain disease in ireland that makes 90% of people think 2 liter is a big engine.:rolleyes:

Did you try a brokers yet?
    I just went with the AA yesterday, surprisingly low price. Quote me renewal came back at 670, AA did it for 502.

Ended up going with First Ireland brokers, AA refused me too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭coolisin

While most people just look at the Badge and go that is a powerful car, so I can understand the indo's take of talking to the normal consumer by saying AUDI and BMW.
    But the nissan cashcow.....high powered :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭Scortho

Ended up going with First Ireland brokers, AA refused me too.

It goes to show how different insurance can be from person to person.
    Quote from liberty on the 156 v6 was 1100.
    quote from first ireland was over 4000.

My cheapest wouldnt even quote you, where as your cheapest was my most expensive

This story really needs two threads..

Scortho wrote: »
    It goes to show how different insurance can be from person to person.
    Quote from liberty on the 156 v6 was 1100.
    quote from first ireland was over 4000.

My cheapest wouldnt even quote you, where as your cheapest was my most expensive

Well I am 19, so Liberty actually told me 5500, while First Ireland - 2500 (which is great compared to the rest) :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭Scortho

Well I am 19, so Liberty actually told me 5500, while First Ireland - 2500 (which is great compared to the rest) :D

I'm 21!
    It's madness but shows that you need to ring around.

Scortho wrote: »
    I'm 21!
    It's madness but shows that you need to ring around.

indeed, but last year I was insured for Opel Corsa 1.2, now it's 1.9 quite a big jump hence the reason of quote by first ireland I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭power pants

unless I had very rich parents that would pay my insurance, I just wouldn't bother paying that type of insurance at that age

or a well paying job off course