Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

John Treacy Dungarvan 10 2014

• 19-09-2013 2:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭

A thumbs up-entries for the January 26th 2014 John Treacy Dungarvan 10 mile road race will open a month earlier this year .the online and postal entries will open on Tuesday October 1st.last year the race filled really quickly and many were disappointed.:)

www.dungarvan10mile.org

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭eliwallach

scout33 wrote: »
    t.last year the race filled really quickly and many were disappointed.:)

www.dungarvan10mile.org

I don't get this kind of message from race organisers/ websites etc.
    It seems like the race organisers are suggesting that the people who actually went to the trouble of registering early effectively take the place of a disappointed/ disgruntled punter?
    Equally there were many who were satisfied that they had registered early and got "in".
    What does the race organiser care who gets "in" as long as the allotted spaces are filled (presuming ther are a number of slots set aside for a competitive race at the pointy end)??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 709 ✭✭✭cianc

Registration opened today. I'm in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭Ross Runner

Fairplay cianc , you can be my wind gaurd on the sub 60 brigade.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 709 ✭✭✭cianc

Fairplay cianc , you can be my wind gaurd on the sub 60 brigade.....

Fool me once... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭Ross Runner

Ah il be going for sub 59 anyway:-) love this race, cant wait for it really....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭mylifetoday

A very fast ten miler with only one hill/drag from 8-9mls... definitely a PB course.

What does it take to break 70mins ie..
    mileage wkly
    lsr pace
    tempo runs pace
    intervals pace

Thanks in advance for any help/advice... please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,821 ✭✭✭blockic

mileage wkly
    lsr pace
    tempo runs pace
    intervals pace

Probably best to open a separate thread for above. As it will only clog up the thread for the event itself.

Great event but can't do it next year due to date conflict! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

mileage wkly
    lsr pace
    tempo runs pace
    intervals pace

Has been asked a couple of times in recent weeks, e.g.:
    here and
    here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭trats

From West Waterford facebook page

As of tonight Thursday we have recieved 1.500 entries for the race.

we have just 500 entries remaining and we expect these to fill in a short few days.If you intend running please get your entry in now.

WHEN ITS FULL ITS FULL NO EXCEPTIONS.

:eek: There has been a large number of entries for this following a reminder to the 600 participants atthe 1st night of the west Waterford winter league on Wed night. There are now about 300 places left

eliwallach wrote: »
    I don't get this kind of message from race organisers/ websites etc.
    It seems like the race organisers are suggesting that the people who actually went to the trouble of registering early effectively take the place of a disappointed/ disgruntled punter?
    Equally there were many who were satisfied that they had registered early and got "in".
    What does the race organiser care who gets "in" as long as the allotted spaces are filled (presuming ther are a number of slots set aside for a competitive race at the pointy end)??

WWAC do care who gets in.... as many as possible from the local area

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭mr.wiggle

:eek: There has been a large number of entries for this following a reminder to the 600 participants atthe 1st night of the west Waterford winter league on Wed night. There are now about 300 places left

298 now !!
    Mr.W + 1 :D

50 places left as of 1pm... will be full before day is out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭LloydChristmas

Has closed now...I could swear the only reason this sells out is because of people posting regarding the number of spots left...It almost drives people into a frenzy thinking they wont get a spot...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Muppet Man

:( ....feck... In anyone's experience, do they ever reopen this for more entrants?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭BrokenMan

Muppet Man wrote: »
    :( ....feck... In anyone's experience, do they ever reopen this for more entrants?

No. But I wonder what they do with postal entries already in the post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭webpal

Wow that filled up quick! Glad I'm in

Muppet Man wrote: »

Seriously dude, how could you have missed the boat on this one!!!!
    The count down begun in earnest about 3 weeks ago!!
    I even "gave up" my spot to accommodate the likes of you ;)

I hope the organisers take note of this and do more next year to warn people...just an idea , but how about counting down the amount of places left to motivate people to sign up earlier ??:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,821 ✭✭✭blockic

mr.wiggle wrote: »
    I hope the organisers take note of this and do more next year to warn people...just an idea , but how about counting down the amount of places left to motivate people to sign up earlier ??:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭groovyg

It's a pretty popular race especially among the Munster clubs and growing in popularity every year. It sold out in early December last year. West Waterford AC had updates on their FB page since the end of October about the number of entries left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 fowler1

Its great to see a well run good value race like this sell out'
    I am from KK and W Waterford organise the best races around.
    A lot of the greedy race organisers could learn something here'

Dude ( as I remove tongue from cheek ) that is exactly what I don't want.
    If the race is selling out so quick why do the organisers feel the need to come on here crowing about it. Seems to me the race will sell out anyway. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭LloydChristmas

Agreed. Counting down the spots is a ploy to rush people into signing up as opposed to just being a helpful reminder.

I believe its called the Ballycotton affect - if people know a race will sell out they are more likely to sign up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭village runner

Agreed. Counting down the spots is a ploy to rush people into signing up as opposed to just being a helpful reminder.

I believe its called the Ballycotton affect - if people know a race will sell out they are more likely to sign up

Dungarvan is possibly in the top 3 races of the year behind Dublin marathon and .....I have it at number 2. The spread after it leaves me a happy round bunny going home....value for money 10/10....
    Anyone know the mallow date here for nxt year ?

Dungarvan is possibly in the top 3 races of the year behind Dublin marathon and .....I have it at number 2. The spread after it leaves me a happy round bunny going home....value for money 10/10....

Not sure....., but dont worry, they'll let us know how many places left in the weeks leading up to it !! ;-)

Do you want a place mr wiggle ???

Then you should have signed up in the last 2 months. Lol

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Or maybe they could do something crazy like allow people to transfer their entry to a friend!

---ask and ye shall receive ---

Sunday the 23rd March AFAIK
    ( but I'd wait until its officially announced before making plans )

Now, gotta find a race between Dungarvan and then to keep me on track ...

Meath half 2nd march ?? Or you could do Thr dungarvan 10k end of feb. you could run part of Thr 10 mile course use same showers and eat similar grub. Pb course too. Lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 675 ✭✭✭plumber77

Tralee 10 miler in the middle of February

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 726 ✭✭✭psychozeb

23rd of March is the offical date but probably won't start advertising it till the Ballycotton entry process is finished.

Or maybe they could do something crazy like allow people to transfer their entry to a friend!

Now that's just crazy talk.

psychozeb wrote: »
    23rd of March is the offical date but probably won't start advertising it till the Ballycotton entry process is finished.

Why not ? Ideal Xmas pressie for a chubbie friend along with a pair of runners.
    I had entered this year and missed out at last min. Really looking forward to it and 3 weeks from london is ideal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 726 ✭✭✭psychozeb

Why not ? Ideal Xmas pressie for a chubbie friend along with a pair of runners.
    I had entered this year and missed out at last min. Really looking forward to it and 3 weeks from london is ideal

Some of the others reckon it'd get lost between the other two races,and that if they don't manage to get into the other races that they'll be okay for Mallow.It's only in the last few years we've been getting big fields.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 IntoYourSister

I've registered for this but can no longer take part.

Is it possible to sell to someone else?

Should i contact the race organisers to arrange this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 Doheny2000

I've registered for this but can no longer take part.

Is it possible to sell to someone else?

Should i contact the race organisers to arrange this?
    If this is possible and your place is available I'll buy it off you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭EauRouge79

I dont see pacer details on the race website.
    Are they every 10 mins i.e 60....70...80....etc or every 5 mins?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭viperlogic

Last year I believe there were pacers for 60, 65, 70, 75, 80, 85 and 90

viperlogic wrote: »
    Last year I believe there were pacers for 60, 65, 70, 75, 80, 85 and 90

Sound. Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,189 ✭✭✭Gavlor

EauRouge79 wrote: »
    Sound. Thanks

See you there.... Fancy trotting around with the 60 pace group??

Gavlor wrote: »
    See you there.... Fancy trotting around with the 60 pace group??

Ordinarilly I would have said yes. Hamstring is strained since a race on new years day and at at this stage I dont think ill be be fit enough for 6min miles come race day.

I see your heading for London....Is Dungarvan set to be a big marker as to where you are in terms of preperation?

Ordinarilly I would have said yes. Hamstring is strained since a race on new years day and at at this stage I dont think ill be be fit enough for 6min miles come race day.

I see your heading for London....Is Dungarvan set to be a big marker as to where you are in terms of preperation?

Sorry should have said - My question re pacers was to do with a race buddy system we have in the club where you offer to pace a clubmate to achieve a certain time if your not planning to race it.
    If for instance there were 10 mins gaps between pacing groups, I might have offered to do the 65 min slot for a couple of club mates. But with pacers every 5 mins, im out of job there too.

Just hope I dont lose interest in the Dungarvan race and decide not to travel. All depends on how the leg feels. Mallow 10 is the target this spring so dont want to jeopardise that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,189 ✭✭✭Gavlor

Not particularly. I'm just back to reasonable mileage following the hamstring tear in dcm so it's a case of seeing how I feel over the next 2 weeks. I'm doing mount Juliet half and mallow ten this side of London so plenty of opportunities to gauge fitness then.

Mind that hammer...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 250 ✭✭lachin

Apologies for what is no doubt a silly question.
    I have entered this having only ever done a 5k last march, so no experience at events.
    Started training in November, so nervous I'm worried ill chicken out!! Anyway just wondering re pacers.... How the hell do you find them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭viperlogic

lachin wrote: »
    Apologies for what is no doubt a silly question.
    I have entered this having only ever done a 5k last march, so no experience at events.
    Started training in November, so nervous I'm worried ill chicken out!! Anyway just wondering re pacers.... How the hell do you find them?

typically have balloons tied to them with the pace on them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 SB5

I am signed up for dungarvan 10 but can't participate now unfortunately...does anybody know if I can sell my number or should I contact organisers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,402 ✭✭✭ger664

SB5 wrote: »
    I am signed up for dungarvan 10 but can't participate now unfortunately...does anybody know if I can sell my number or should I contact organisers?

Read the sheet that comes with your number to get a clear answer to this. Basically cant sell it and return it to organisers