Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Planning the dream kitchen

• 17-09-2013 10:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,220 ✭✭✭

Yay !! Finally after many years of impatient waiting I am finally planning to have a new kitchen in before Christmas. I have spent weeks drooling in kitchen showrooms over worktops and gadgets, oh the joy of it all :D
    Anyhow, what I want to know from those of you who already have the dream kitchen, is what you love most and what you wish you did differently.
    What gadget was a total waste of money, do you love your work tops, what are the MUST haves when planning a kitchen.
    I am going for a contemporary handle less style with probably a mixture of two coordinating colours. Should I go glossy or matte ? Will I be driven demented wiping handprints off handle less glossy doors. Any advice or suggestions would be much appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Staplor

I got a range and a mantle in mine, might take up space, but it still looks class and I get a strange sense of pride when I clean the hob part of the range. Got it in January for half price.

Granite countertops because they just look class.

Small under counter fridge, large fridge freezer in utility room.

Have an integrated bin, does the job grand, people tell you they are smelly, they aren't I can get 3 days before there's any whiff.

Corner cupboards with normal shelves are monsters, spinny fancy racks take up that space. Mine is an L shape with glass up high at both ends, I like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,220 ✭✭✭jos28

Thanks Staplor,
    That's exactly the kind of feedback that I was looking for. Practical stuff like the bins/spinny racks etc. Glad to hear you are happy with the granite. I was originally thinking of Corian or quartz but the more I look at granite, the more I like it.
    Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Staplor

Didn't even consider those, horses for courses, depends on the style, pick what you like not what they sell you.

Also for door handles etc i always reckon the best match for your door is the one on display

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 770 ✭✭✭ComputerKing

Granite counter tops love them but defo won't be replacing them again because of the cost but get what you want not what the sales person says. Also when buying granite or marble or any of these stones try to get something without veins as these are week points and can crack easily.

Handles don't just go for the ones on display take home a good few samples and see what you like. I did this and went with a completely different style to what the sales man recommended and they look great.

Also on corner press and on thin deep presses get them pull out spinny things. If you need extra plug sockets or cover up old ones get new ones installed. Get downlighes and under shelf lighting installed they make the place look great.

I have a few more things that I cant think of now will reported back with them later if I remember.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,858 ✭✭✭✭paddy147

My late mother allways used to tell me.......

"when you do buy your house and do it up,allways go for a gas hob and an electric oven."
    "That way you will have a means of cooking and heating food and water,if 1 of the services gets cut off in a storm or during roadworks".

"If both get cut off together,then you are just plain unlucky"...:pac:

Wize words from a wize woman and thats what myself and my girlfriend did when were planning our large kitchen.

Large electric double oven and a large 5 ring gas hob.:)

paddy147 wrote: »
    My late mother allways used to tell me.......

"when you do buy your house and do it up,allways go for a gas hob and an electric oven."
    "That way you will have a means of cooking and heating food,if 1 of the services gets cut off in a storm or during roadworks".

"If both get cut off,then you are just plain unlucky"...:pac:

Wize words from a wize woman and thats what myself and my girlfriend did when were planning our large kitchen.

Large electric double oven and a large 5 ring gas hob.:)

Or do as my mother has and just put in a gas, electric oven and range as she likes to cook different food in each one.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,858 ✭✭✭✭paddy147

Or do as my mother has and just put in a gas, electric oven and range as she likes to cook different food in each one.

I blew the extra money for something like that on a large custom built fish tank and cabinet instead.:pac::D

Looking back now,I kinda sometimes wish I had have gone for the range....ah well.

This is great stuff folks, I'm writing all your suggestions in my BIG new kitchen file :D

OOh, I do love a project :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,529 ✭✭✭BoardsMember

I am incredibly jealous of you. Good luck with your project!

I'd be trying to get some stool seating area in there, to allow you to chat to people closeby as you cook, and ideally have an island/peninsula with either hob or sink in it.

I too have a folder but it is only for future job, not in a position to do the work yet. That said, a couple of things I have picked up from other posts:
    • cabinets should be 18mm not 15mm thick
    • have tall presses with pull outs if you have no utility to store same
    • if you go for granite make sure it drains/feeds down into the sink
    • have plenty of space either side of cooker (and sink)
    • lighting is really important, under and over cabinets

I am incredibly jealous of you. Good luck with your project!

I'd be trying to get some stool seating area in there, to allow you to chat to people closeby as you cook, and ideally have an island/peninsula with either hob or sink in it.

I too have a folder but it is only for future job, not in a position to do the work yet. That said, a couple of things I have picked up from other posts:
    • cabinets should be 18mm not 15mm thick
    • have tall presses with pull outs if you have no utility to store same
    • if you go for granite make sure it drains/feeds down into the sink
    • have plenty of space either side of cooker (and sink)
    • lighting is really important, under and over cabinets

It's a LONG overdue project - my drawers have been held together with duct tape for months :D:D
    Thanks for the sound advice, never really thought of the lighting so I will add that to the electrician's page !
    I plan to have an island/peninsula so stools are a great idea.

[*]if you go for granite make sure it drains/feeds down into the sin

Based on this make sure your draining board is indented into the countertop so the water doesn't run everywhere as well.

jos28 wrote: »
    It's a LONG overdue project - my drawers have been held together with duct tape for months :D:D
    Thanks for the sound advice, never really thought of the lighting so I will add that to the electrician's page !
    I plan to have an island/peninsula so stools are a great idea.
    Forget about ur drawers and focus on ur kitchen..I'll get my coat....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭hipdoobloon

With regards 2 you're kitchen finish , did you think of a sprayed or possibly a hand painted kitchen . admittedly the handpainted is a premium bespoke product that costs a bit more but you can have that new kitchen look as often as u like . As far as you're hob is concerned i would definetly recommend a induction hob for convenience and speed . I have all Bosch appliances personally and still going strong after 6 years .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭Cork selfbuild

Been think about this and some features, here are a few I like...

That last one is great so ur regular use heavy mixers etc are easily and quickly accessed and tidied up. Another alternative to that is a metal roller blind the full height of the wall cabinets.

How do those corner ones work??!!

That last one is great so ur regular use heavy mixers etc are easily and quickly accessed and tidied up. Another alternative to that is a metal roller blind the full height of the wall cabinets.

How do those corner ones work??!!

Ya I really like the hidden area of the worktop... and its all on the level...

The corner drawers? Just normal drawers but corner shape!

Dont think I would use/waste such a deep drawer on utensils. A second shallow wide drawer under the hob might be a better use of space but each to their own. Two shallows and a deep heavy duty for pots and pans below the hob seems to be popular and keeps things near where u want them.

Totally agree on the one deep one and the shallow ones, just liked the utensil holder as in my drawer at the moment they just seem to take over everything, possibly because ive too much crap or or the drawer just isn't big enough in our house we are in at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,048 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Definitely granite worktop - I have a tiny kitchen, but splurged on plain black granite with cream cupboards - and I love it, gives a touch of luxury! Having the drainer inset into the worktop was extra, so I didn't opt for it, and it's never been a problem. I just have the four (or five maybe?) draining fingers carved into it.

Double sink is an absolute must! (sorry if that's stating the obvious)

Also agree with electric oven / gas hob combo - definitely a winner in my book.

I have lower and upper corner cupboards without spinny/magic roundabout innards, and they're a complete nightmare :mad: Big lesson learned there.

I also filled a smallish gap with a full-length larder cupboard, with a full-length pullout insert of wire trays. If I was doing it again, I'd split that in two (either the insert or possibly the cupboard as a whole). Despite being narrow, so not carrying a whole pile of weight, it's just too unstable and wobbly when full. Having said that, the pull-out larder tray idea for filling in gaps is brilliant.

And one last tip, that was given by an electrician to my sister who passed it on to me.... think of the number of sockets you think you might need, and then double it. You can NEVER have too many sockets in a kitchen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,838 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Gloss kitchen is going to show streaks and paw prints, especially as the sunlight changes.... My mam put in two tall pull out larder units either side of a double oven,all yr spices cans ect. to hand, definitely spinny things in the corners...
    Work out a flow chart for your kitchen, as in where everything is, in relation to everything else ie. Cooker/sink/fridge/storage . I took out an island unit as it was between cooker/storage/prep and the sink ... Kitchen was a bit small for it really....
    Been in some huge kitchens where everything was miles apart ,anything more than 2 or 3 steps is annoying...

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭Ectoplasm

To me the absolute most important thing when getting a dream kitchen is getting the 'hidden' bits right. Quality fittings are vital. You can have the most beautiful kitchen to look at but if it doesn't work well (doors sag on hinges, runners jam, pull outs wobble) it will drive you demented. Finish is important obviously but honestly, if it comes down to a choice of where to spend your money, put it into the working elements. Make sure that anything with moving parts is up to the job you want it to do (weight capacities are important). Check guarantees.

I'd echo what another poster said about flow in the kitchen. The work triangle is a little dated but try and spend some time thinking about how you use your kitchen, for example if you are not that into food preparation, then maybe you don't need to blow the budget on an oven with 20 programs. Think too about the stuff you have in your kitchen now - where will you store it? Are there some things you use all the time and others that are really only for occasional use? The Dynamic Space website is good for thinking about these kind of things.

You mentioned that you are planning on going handleless. Consider what mechanism you are going to use for this. Is it the kind that will also work if you decided in five years that you want to put handles on? If not, is it easily removed/turned off?

Get multiple quotes and don't be afraid to haggle. Best of luck with it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

For corner presses I have these, they just turn and glide out. No stooping and pulling things out so you can find a pot at the back.

lemansmil.jpg

Slide out presses are great, especially for storing food. You can get access to everything without having to root.

7big.jpg

My favorite thing in the kitchen is the induction stove. It uses 25% less electricity, you can put the pot or pan down wherever you want on the rectangle parts and it only heats what is sitting on it, doesn't get hot to touch and heats things up very quickly. I have this one which comes with a removable dialer, as greasy fingers and touch controls can be problematic.

mcsa048789_t45t97x0_def_1_1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭tanka006

Hi Guys,

We have just gone through this process. I must agree totally with the comments above - especially:

The large slideout presses - fantastic
    Sockets, sockets & more sockets!
    The induction Hob - the "boost" function is superb
    The under counter lighting

The only thing I recommend that has not been mentioned already would be a boiling water tap! - www.quooker.co.uk

This was expensive, but its the one item we would miss most!

(no connection whatsoever to the company - just happy customer)

Enjoy your planning

Tanka

Forget about ur drawers and focus on ur kitchen..I'll get my coat....
    :D:D:

I think I am going to need a bigger file !
    So many ideas and I love so many of them. I love the pull out stuff for cupboards. I had seen the roller shutter press at one of the showrooms and decided that I HAD to have one. I love the idea of having the coffee machine etc hidden away but plugged in and ready to use. I was veering towards a ceramic hob mainly because induction meant getting rid of my stainless steel pots but reading the posts from the induction fans I might have a re-think. I'm going to the Neff demonstration in City West to suss it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭mel.b

Great thread :) I am also in the early stages of planning a kitchen reno. What is the consensus on corner units - pull out thingies or not? Unfortunately to get more cupboard space and a more useable kitchen I am going to end up with two corner units :(

mel.b wrote: »
    Great thread :) I am also in the early stages of planning a kitchen reno. What is the consensus on corner units - pull out thingies or not? Unfortunately to get more cupboard space and a more useable kitchen I am going to end up with two corner units :(

In our plans unfortunately we will have 2 corners also...

One will be like this...

55b08e7f93d78a3a8daed36f3ff0bfc8.jpg

The other will probably go for something like Jester77 posted above...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,601 ✭✭✭cerastes

where are people looking to source their kitchens?
    I looked a few years ago but the quotes where pretty steep and that was just standard stuff.
    Not in a position to do it now, but I'd like to have a look around and see whats available, especially for tidy storage for small spaces, prefer to have as much stored away out of sight instead of all over the worktops.
    Not sure about the full length storage pull out storage as they always seemed wobbly and too flexible and that was without anything in them on display.

cerastes wrote: »
    Not sure about the full length storage pull out storage as they always seemed wobbly and too flexible and that was without anything in them on display.

Full height pull outs often function better when they are loaded than when they are empty. They are designed to carry weight. There is also a big difference in quality - the European manufacturers vs cheap replicas from China.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,838 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Get the pull out /spinny things, they haven't quite as much space as the plain corner units but way more useable space....

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

Markcheese wrote: »
    Get the pull out /spinny things, they haven't quite as much space as the plain corner units but way more useable space....

Anyone know if the snazzy pully-out spinny things can be retro-fitted to a (bog-standard) corner cupboard? I've a want on me now, after reading this thread and seeing the pictures :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,601 ✭✭✭cerastes

EMF2010 wrote: »
    Full height pull outs often function better when they are loaded than when they are empty. They are designed to carry weight. There is also a big difference in quality - the European manufacturers vs cheap replicas from China.

Where are good places to get quality components?
    Most places I have been, didnt seem to have even the range of fittings/door sizes like the corner units Ive seen on this thread, only ordinary stuff.

Can you get rotating carousel for high mounted corner units?

Id like to see what kind of fittings/hinges/door sizes are available first, then make a plan as to what Id like,want,need.
    I'll probably do a google of kitchen fitting products but if anyone has any links to shops online or bricks and mortar in Ireland.

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    Anyone know if the snazzy pully-out spinny things can be retro-fitted to a (bog-standard) corner cupboard? I've a want on me now, after reading this thread and seeing the pictures :D

Yes you can once the doors and cabinet measurements match, this is a kit online from the UK, I'm sure you could pick up similar in IKEA?

27ade7576df11e8ff32b7debd8328937.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 aparnajohn22

Thank you for this post, actually I was looking for such a type of kitchen interior designs. I found a site related to home decors I will pm you , i think this website will helps you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,781 ✭✭✭clappyhappy

Been think about this and some features, here are a few I like...

Really love all of these, plan to redo our kitchen next year, great ideas here.
    Great thread op best of luck with yours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭Emcm

I am in the middle of doing up my kitchen it's all ordered and awaiting delivery I am so excited. My one piece of advice is in relation to an island is make sure you mark out the size of the island on the floor and make sure you have plenty of working and walking space around it remembering that cooker doors and fridge doors etc have to open. The minimum space they recommend is about 42 to 48 inches and you do really need that to make the space comfortable. We spent a few days with masking tape on the floor to get used to the idea of it being there. My husband kept teasing me because I kept walking through the island forgetting the masking tape was there. It's definitely a good thing to do if you don't already have one.

As regards the corner units I ended up going for an ordinary press that opens out fully as we knocked our utility room into our kitchen to give us more space and I felt I would need the space in that cupboard to keep things that were normally kept in utility things I don't often use. I thought the spinny things
    might leave less space but that may not apply to you

My big splurge was my dual fuel Rangemaster it's something I have always wanted and cant wait to get back to cooking with gas.

Good luck and enjoy it's so exciting

Thank you for this post, actually I was looking for such a type of kitchen interior designs. I found a site related to home decors I will pm you , i think this website will helps you.

Is this a big secret?.....The idea of this thread is to share ideas!!!!! Maybe you could post the URL for us all to see. Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭mel.b

Is this a big secret?.....The idea of this thread is to share ideas!!!!! Maybe you could post the URL for us all to see. Thanks.

I think a mod edited the post / recommendation as it was that boards member's first post and a recommendation in a first post is always a bit sus

Aha!

cerastes wrote: »
    Where are good places to get quality components?
    Most places I have been, didnt seem to have even the range of fittings/door sizes like the corner units Ive seen on this thread, only ordinary stuff.

Can you get rotating carousel for high mounted corner units?

Id like to see what kind of fittings/hinges/door sizes are available first, then make a plan as to what Id like,want,need.
    I'll probably do a google of kitchen fitting products but if anyone has any links to shops online or bricks and mortar in Ireland.

To get a full idea of what is available you may have to look at kitchen fitting suppliers. Kitchen retailers are often limited as to the amount of display space they have and as such, will display only the most popular layouts/fittings/finishes. The fittings suppliers will often have more space or include a greater range of products on their websites. Flanagan Fittings, Hafele, KAL are probably the biggest suppliers to the kitchen industry and they all have websites.

I think Hafele do a mix of European manufactured fittings and cheaper alternatives. I'm fairly sure the other two stick to Euro brands but don't quote me on that. It's worth noting that these three sell to the trade and as such are best used to source ideas rather than for pricing - a kitchen maker can often buy the products they sell for cheaper (based on bulk buying and repeat business) and also, if they are putting in your kitchen, I think they can charge you a cheaper rate of VAT (not 100% sure on that).

It is possible to get a carousel type unit for a wall mounted cabinet, but as wall cabinets tend to be smaller, they tend to be less popular.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 juniorballyc

Insinkerator!!!

EMF2010 wrote: »
    T Flanagan Fittings, Hafele, KAL are probably the biggest suppliers to the kitchen industry and they all have websites.

Thanks for those names, LOVE the Hafele site - just found lots of lovely things I want

No worries...just bear in mind that your kitchen maker will often have a preferred supplier (better deals, better products) so it is worth taking their advice on board too. Don't get too attached to a particular product in advance.

Also, if it is at all possible, try to see the products you like 'in person' and get a sense of them working. I know Flanagan's have a big showroom that is open to the public and I think Hafele have one too but I can't be sure. It may take a little more time but I'd say it's worth it for the 'dream' kitchen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭flahers

When we did our kitchen we put in some open shelving on one wall, looks great with all my white dishes etc on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭Rosy Posy

I'm in a similar position to the op and wondered if anyone has an opinion on a spray rinse as an add on to a kitchen tap? I can't decide whether it would be great for blasting baked on dirt, or prerinsing for the dishwasher, and filling pots; or if it's just a gimmick that the kids are going to use to trash the place...

Rosy Posy wrote: »
    I'm in a similar position to the op and wondered if anyone has an opinion on a spray rinse as an add on to a kitchen tap? I can't decide whether it would be great for blasting baked on dirt, or prerinsing for the dishwasher, and filling pots; or if it's just a gimmick that the kids are going to use to trash the place...

I'd say gimmick, and unless you spend a bit of money on it you might find it brakes. It won't have any different pressure than the tap, or if it does it would make a complete mess, so blasting dirt off is probably fanciful. Pre-rinsing is much easier with two hands available, rather than one holding/directing the spray. And, <insert innuendo here>, it might get droopy over time....:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Rosy Posy wrote: »

I have one, to be honest, it is rarely ever used. There is a little button on the back of the tap and once there is enough pressure it will stay in the spray mode. It wouldn't be powerful enough to removed baked on or burnt food and anyway the dishwasher will do a much better job without the need to pre-rinse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 chunkyboy

I fully intend to get one of those taps Rosy Posy!! gimmick or not I WANT one.. I might even go as far as to say I NEED one!!!! yep!! I have been cooking/eating/living in the worst kitchen for the past 3 years and 5 months.... there was always a light at the end of the tunnel and we are soo close I can taste it!!!!
    old kitchen gone and new one almost ready for measuring woohoo.... getting an inbuilt bin under the sink... cos I want it!!
    getting a pop up power unit in the island cos I need it and glass illuminated base shelves in my glass cabinets cos I loved them!! good luck to all posting on here... I hope you all get what ye are hoping for!!

My big indulgence, which I forgot to mention before, was a three-way tap which includes an under-sink filter.

Now, some may scoff - and away with ye - but I hate the taste of the tap water where I live and had always used filter jugs, which are just a PITA really. Having filtered water on tap is the business (apart from the time that I'd left it so long to change the filter that I'd kinda forgotten how, and wound up flooding the whole kitchen.....)

The builder/kitchen-fitter nearly had a heart attack when he heard the price of it, but to me it was worth every penny :D

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    My big indulgence, which I forgot to mention before, was a three-way tap which includes an under-sink filter.

Now, some may scoff - and away with ye - but I hate the taste of the tap water where I live and had always used filter jugs, which are just a PITA really. Having filtered water on tap is the business (apart from the time that I'd left it so long to change the filter that I'd kinda forgotten how, and wound up flooding the whole kitchen.....)

The builder/kitchen-fitter nearly had a heart attack when he heard the price of it, but to me it was worth every penny :D

What make is it? Does it have to be replaced or incur any recurring costs? I'd be on for something like that. If it chilled the water, all the better.

It's this one http://www.franke.com/content/kitchensystems/ie/en/home/products/byinstallationtype/filterflow_taps/sink_worktop/corinthian/swivel_spout/120_0184_666_detail.html

Like I said, it cost an absolute bomb, but I don't regret it.

It doesn't chill the water - which is fine by me, I prefer room-temperature water.

The third tap on the front is drinking water that's fed through an under-sink filter - the cartridge is supposed to be changed every six months, but I usually leave it about a year. The branded Franke cartridges are very expensive (ca 50 quid each, I think?) but I've found other ones online that do the job just fine, about 50 quid for a pack of 3.