Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Random question

• 17-09-2013 9:54pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭

Ok kinda looking for a few tips regarding fitness.
    I go to the gym on mondays and do half an hour on the tread mill switching between 10/12km ever 2 mins
    The rest of my session is just an average doing weights for 40 mins
    Tuesdays is where im having my problems, I train rugby and Im fine till we do spints at the end of the session about 8 lengths of the pitch and by the 5th one I go from top three lads to last 6.
    Wendsdays/Thursdays is the same training schedule and well same thing sound till end of it then bam ****ed
    Fridays is my rest day
    Saturday/Sunday is game day which I can easily do full 80.

Just wondering why I go from being ok to smashed at end.
    Like I have asthma which up to a year ago I was working with wrong prescription, but thats been sorted out and well Im easily in the shape of my life fitness wise, still need to lose the aul stomach.

So summary
    Sprints end off training are killing me
    Terrible at Situps/ feel them badly next day
    Same with push ups but getting better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Orla K

I'll freely admit to not knowing much about training, but I'm learning.

My guess why your sprints are poor is because your not training for them, your doing longer runs and you can go for longer times but your not doing short bursts of power.

Let me make sure I've this right
    Monday - Gym
    Tuesday - rugby training
    Wednesday - rugby training
    Thursday - rugby training
    weekend - match

What exactly do you do at the gym and training?
    I doubt anyone can really advise you until we know what your doing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,433 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Drop the treadmill work. Trust that inseason your Rugby training sessions and 80 minute matches will keep you sharp. Do a longer conditioning session on a matchday if your match has been cancelled / not scheduled.

Concentrate on mobility, flexibility and strength (compound lifts for strength progression) in the gym.

When Rugby season ends, spend time doing metcon type training sessions - i.e. 10 - 20 minutes of intense activity with mixed movements and, you know, sprints. This should improve your current weakness for next year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭astonaidan

Orla K wrote: »
    I'll freely admit to not knowing much about training, but I'm learning.

My guess why your sprints are poor is because your not training for them, your doing longer runs and you can go for longer times but your not doing short bursts of power.

Let me make sure I've this right
    Monday - Gym
    Tuesday - rugby training
    Wednesday - rugby training
    Thursday - rugby training
    weekend - match

What exactly do you do at the gym and training?
    I doubt anyone can really advise you until we know what your doing
    Well Wednesday is gym not training
    You see im not exactly sure of the names of the machines in the gym, I was told what to use by one of the other rugby lads and well ive pretty much just been doing that for past year, like strength wise Im happy enough where I am and fitness wise the same
    Its just them fecking sprints at the end of the session

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Orla K

Do the mobility/flexibility stuff that LuckyLloyd mentioned, look up mobility wods for this.
    Move off the machines and onto free weights, get someone who really knows their stuff to show you how to do them. Your mate on the team probably hasn't a clue.
    Basic programme would be
    Push something (bench press/military press)
    Pull something (inverted rows/pull/chin ups)
    Do something with your legs(squat/deadlift)
    Thank Hanley for that one

I'd also follow Lloyds advice on metcon type training.

Main thing is do the mobility stuff so you don't get injured and get someone good to teach you how to lift properly (best bet is to pay a coach, some of the lads around here will probably a good one in your area)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,694 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

If you don't train for sprinting you won't improve in sprinting. Thing is, you might not need them for your position. Across a rugby team you have many different positional requirements in terms of strength, speed etc. If you play in the forwards,you don't need to sprint all that much so what you do in training will suffice.

Orla K wrote: »
    Do the mobility/flexibility stuff that LuckyLloyd mentioned, look up mobility wods for this.
    Move off the machines and onto free weights, get someone who really knows their stuff to show you how to do them. Your mate on the team probably hasn't a clue.
    Basic programme would be
    Push something (bench press/military press)
    Pull something (inverted rows/pull/chin ups)
    Do something with your legs(squat/deadlift)
    Thank Hanley for that one

I'd also follow Lloyds advice on metcon type training.

Main thing is do the mobility stuff so you don't get injured and get someone good to teach you how to lift properly (best bet is to pay a coach, some of the lads around here will probably a good one in your area)
    My friend is involved with Connaught hence why Im happy with his tips strength wise, its more to do with sprinting killing me at the end off training. Regarding free weights, its generally a 20 min wait to get near them so I dont usually bother
    If you don't train for sprinting you won't improve in sprinting. Thing is, you might not need them for your position. Across a rugby team you have many different positional requirements in terms of strength, speed etc. If you play in the forwards,you don't need to sprint all that much so what you do in training will suffice.
    I think this may be my problem, not training specifically towards sprinting and focusing more on stamina, I play on the wing and fullback so the aul sprinting needs to be in check, However during games Im never as fecked as after training

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,694 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

astonaidan wrote: »
    I think this may be my problem, not training specifically towards sprinting and focusing more on stamina, I play on the wing and fullback so the aul sprinting needs to be in check, However during games Im never as fecked as after training
    In that case,drop the treadmill time to twenty mins, but up your speeds, specifically the fast run. If you're a winger or fullback then you can manage faster than 12kph for a minute. Maybe try for a bit longer as well...1 min slow, 2mins fast. You'll be fecked but that'll improve over time.

Thanks dude, thats the plan for monday, going to probably do one mins 10 one 16 for twenty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,900 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Pick'n'mix post so bare with me.
    I go to the gym on mondays and do half an hour on the tread mill switching between 10/12km ever 2 mins
    Why are you alternating between 10 and 12? Whats the purpose of this?
    (I know you since said you'll change this but answer anyway. You should know the reason for everything you do)
    Tuesdays is where im having my problems, I train rugby and Im fine till we do spints at the end of the session about 8 lengths of the pitch and by the 5th one I go from top three lads to last 6.
    As others have said, long slow runs aren't going to help you sprinting. if you want to sprint better, sprint more often.
    As for why you fade from top 3 to bottom 6. Maybe the other lads are sprinting at a level they can maintain for all 8 runs, you are going balls out in order to force a top 3 spot, but can't maintain it. Wind it back to a level you can sustain across 8. Realistically you aren't a top 3 sprinter, so don't force it.

My friend is involved with Connaught hence why Im happy with his tips strength wise, its more to do with sprinting killing me at the end off training. Regarding free weights, its generally a 20 min wait to get near them so I dont usually bother
    Involved with connaught how? I doubt its in any sort of S&C capacity.
    If he advised you to do a machine program and not bother with free weights, then he either doesn't know what he's doing or wasn't bother to show you.

Sprinting and strength/power aren't unrelated
    Thanks dude, thats the plan for monday, going to probably do one mins 10 one 16 for twenty
    While its better than 10/12, this is still intervals and not sprint training.

If you really want to improve your training you should look at your gym work as a whole. This idea that "ah, its just a bit of weights, it'll be grand" is not the right approach imo.

Mellor wrote: »
    Pick'n'mix post so bare with me.

Why are you alternating between 10 and 12? Whats the purpose of this?
    (I know you since said you'll change this but answer anyway. You should know the reason for everything you do)
    Well Im pretty much copying what Ive always done in soccer training when we do laps eg run at 50% then run at 70%

As others have said, long slow runs aren't going to help you sprinting. if you want to sprint better, sprint more often.
    As for why you fade from top 3 to bottom 6. Maybe the other lads are sprinting at a level they can maintain for all 8 runs, you are going balls out in order to force a top 3 spot, but can't maintain it. Wind it back to a level you can sustain across 8. Realistically you aren't a top 3 sprinter, so don't force it.
    No realistically, Im the fastest guy on the team.
    The thing is I see no point not going as hard as I can when were let do laps when we think we cant sprint anymore

Involved with connaught how? I doubt its in any sort of S&C capacity.
    If he advised you to do a machine program and not bother with free weights, then he either doesn't know what he's doing or wasn't bother to show you.

Sprinting and strength/power aren't unrelated

While its better than 10/12, this is still intervals and not sprint training.

If you really want to improve your training you should look at your gym work as a whole. This idea that "ah, its just a bit of weights, it'll be grand" is not the right approach imo.
    He did advise me to do free weights, as Ive said I have no interest in them as the wait to use them is too long for the benefits
    I understand strength/power are related
    Im happy with how im coming in my training, its more want to get that five mins at the end. Like when we do sprinting in the middle I can handle them, then again We get a 30 second break rather than 10.
    Hes involved with the Connaught Senior Playing squad. I plan on asking him myself when I see him next what he thinks I should do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,900 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

He did advise me to do free weights, as Ive said I have no interest in them as the wait to use them is too long for the benefits
    That makes a bit more sense tbh. The really are worth the effort if you could get around the wait times. It's the place really under equipped or something?
    I understand strength/power are related
    Im happy with how im coming in my training, its more want to get that five mins at the end. Like when we do sprinting in the middle I can handle them, then again We get a 30 second break rather than 10.
    I really think it's simply a case of going too hard too early and fading. Drop the intensity back a notch, if you complete all 8 at that level then increase it a little, and so on. Find the point were you can only just complete all 8 at the same intensity. As you train more often, with more consistency, the "point" will get faster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,433 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Just because you're making progress doesn't mean you're training in an efficient fashion. You're young and training regularly, so you'll make progress cause everything works to some extent - but you're selling yourself short doing what you're doing.