Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

All Ireland Tickets to schools................

• 17-09-2013 6:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 733 ✭✭✭

Distribution of All Ireland Tickets to schools..............

All schools get TWO All-Ireland Tickets.How are they distributed in your place......or is it hush-hush and you never find out where they end up!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭lennyloulou

first I heard of it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 414 ✭✭SM746

Draw for all teachers involved in extra curricular sports. 100% correct way to do it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 565 ✭✭✭thefasteriwalk

I've never heard of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,554 ✭✭✭dobman88

All depends on who you know

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,343 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

I haven't heard of these in years. I know we used to get them in the first school I taught in, but I thought they had stopped over the years. Never heard a whisper about them in my current school.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Miss Lockhart

Never heard of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 shannonterese

This is absolute rubbish. Schools, teachers, principals DO NOT GET ANY TICKETS FROM THE GAA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,835 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Nurses, firemen and guards get them free too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,705 ✭✭✭✭TheDriver

what a load of horse sh*t, never heard of a school getting them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭Kalimera

Schools involved in GAA are given the opportunity to purchase 2 tickets for each of the football & hurling finals. Not free!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 733 ✭✭✭ethical

really sorry if I upset some people....or did I just stumble upon a wasps nest?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,343 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

The first school I was in was fairly close to Croke Park which is why I thought the Principal was given them. I finished teaching there in 1990 and haven't heard of the 'free tickets' since.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 666 ✭✭✭teacherhead

ethical wrote: »
    really sorry if I upset some people....or did I just stumble upon a wasps nest?

We get offered two tickets each year at face value as we have involvement in both sports. They are applied for before the summer and,raffled among sport teachers first then the general staff. It is often the case that a teacher from say mayo would get them as they are in the final this year. There is great goodwill that way.

Whoever gets the tickets pays for them. No different to a gaa club getting tickets really. The least that the gaa can do to encourage teachers to take teams imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 389 ✭✭unknowngirl!!

Surprised to this reaction.. My first school had this and so does the school I'm in now. Open draw was held in the staffroom the first week back for teachers involved in extra curricular activities.

Tickets came complimentary of county board to thank those involved for encouraging the kids to participate in after school sport. I assumed it was the norm? Both schools based in the midlands btw...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,937 ✭✭✭implausible

SM746 wrote: »
    Draw for all teachers involved in extra curricular sports. 100% correct way to do it

Same in our place, teachers still have to pay for them afaik. We got them in my last school too. I'm assuming it's County Board allocation.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,527 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

In primary a certain number (certainly not two per school) are sold to Cumann na mBunscol in the county and there is a draw for those between the teachers who help and are interested in BUYING one of those. Tickets tend to be in the corner of the Nally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,428 ✭✭✭Powerhouse

Not sure I agree with this as the 100% correct way to do it, though I accept the broad principle of a draw and fair access to tickets.

The problem with an all-comers' draw is that it it assumes that all people are genuinely interested in going to the games and not just passing the tickets on to an outsider, and also that all are equally involved and put in the same time. It won't necessarily always be so.

I coach three teams in my school while another teacher (for example) helps out with one of them occasionally. I would not expect to be on the same footing as that person when it comes to consideration for tickets. Nor would I expect to be or look to be involved in a draw for All-Ireland tickets for the sport that I do not coach simply because I am involved in other extra curricular sports.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭joebloggs32

All second level schools that promote the games can apply for two tickets. In Leinster it is handled by the provincial council, and you send them in a cheque.

It is up to each school what it does with them, but in each one that I have worked in they are made available firstly to those who train teams. If they are not taken then, if there is someone from the competing counties they would be offered them. Last in the pecking order would be everyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭Terri26

This is absolute rubbish. Schools, teachers, principals DO NOT GET ANY TICKETS FROM THE GAA.

not true. As has been mentioned all schools get/are offered two tickets. Whoever gets the tickets in my school does not pay for them but there isn't a draw and it seems the principal will chose or keep themselves. Didn't hear a word about the hurling tickets so don't know who if anyone got them but know it wasn't a teaching staff member

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭carraig2

Terri26 wrote: »
    not true. As has been mentioned all schools get/are offered two tickets. Whoever gets the tickets in my school does not pay for them but there isn't a draw and it seems the principal will chose or keep themselves. Didn't hear a word about the hurling tickets so don't know who if anyone got them but no it wasn't a teaching staff member

Not true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭RealJohn

It's the same in our place though you also have to express an interest so no teacher winds up with a ticket unless they ask to be included in the draw. That said, I have yet to be sitting beside a colleague any time I've got one of the tickets which annoys me no end as I would like to be able to offer one to my da so we could go to the game together if the other teacher isn't going to use it for themselves anyway. I highly doubt they pass their tickets on for nothing (the school pays for the tickets in our place and those who receive them get them for free unless it's for a replay).

My understanding was that the school has to apply for the tickets (and there's a row brewing in our place because one of the newer members of staff ordered the tickets for the hurling replay before the teacher who usually orders them got a chance to, apparently to keep them for himself - it hasn't gone down well but the teacher in question seems to be very much out for himself in most aspects of school life - that's another story) and pay for them. It's then up to the school to distribute them as they see fit.
    I know some schools have a policy of only distributing them to people who take GAA teams. Some schools distribute them among the teachers who take any sports (which is the case in our place) and some apparently distribute them among teachers who take any extra-curricular activities.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭carraig2

RealJohn wrote: »
    It's the same in our place though you also have to express an interest so no teacher winds up with a ticket unless they ask to be included in the draw. That said, I have yet to be sitting beside a colleague any time I've got one of the tickets which annoys me no end as I would like to be able to offer one to my da so we could go to the game together if the other teacher isn't going to use it for themselves anyway. I highly doubt they pass their tickets on for nothing (the school pays for the tickets in our place and those who receive them get them for free unless it's for a replay).

My understanding was that the school has to apply for the tickets (and there's a row brewing in our place because one of the newer members of staff ordered the tickets for the hurling replay before the teacher who usually orders them got a chance to, apparently to keep them for himself - it hasn't gone down well but the teacher in question seems to be very much out for himself in most aspects of school life - that's another story) and pay for them. It's then up to the school to distribute them as they see fit.
    I know some schools have a policy of only distributing them to people who take GAA teams. Some schools distribute them among the teachers who take any sports (which is the case in our place) and some apparently distribute them among teachers who take any extra-curricular activities.

Are we talking Primary, Secondary or both here because our school (Primary) does not get tickets

Secondary. Also my understanding is that you have to have GAA teams (which I imagine most secondary schools in this country do). Essentially it's the same as being a GAA club. Every club gets a certain ticket allocation and since schools would make pretty small clubs even if every student played, two tickets is the most the vast majority of schools would be entitled to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭Terri26

carraig2 wrote: »
    Not true

sorry I should have been clearer all secondary schools are entitled (if they have a GAA team which is essentially all secondary schools) to two tickets.

How they are distributed is unfair in some schools including my own. I don't know about primary schools but know of primary friends in 2-3 schools who have gotten tickets through their school. So again, yes all secondary schools get the opportunity of two tickets but in some schools seem to be kept by management.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭solerina

I coached our school football team for many years and never heard about these tickets...is it possible this only happens in certain counties, because I know my principal hasn't a clue about sport and isn't interested in GAA so would have passed along the tickets

I'd say get in contact with the GAA and see what the story is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,404 ✭✭✭✭rainbowtrout

My school gets tickets every year. Usually they are given to staff involved with sport. Only heard this evening that one of the PE teachers got them and is keeping both of them. We have 2 PE teachers and seemingly the other PE would have liked to go. Both do equal amounts in terms of extra curricular teams etc. Personally I think they should have been given one each rather than one getting both and giving the other to an outsider.

On the other hand, there are few rewards of this nature that can be distributed among staff who do extra curricular, so should it just be confined to those that take sports teams? There are a few Mayo teachers on staff who do lots of extra curricular who would love to be considered for a ticket but wouldn't have been in the running because they don't coach a team. Doesn't mean they're not giving in other ways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭Pang

There are definitely tickets in my school every year though I thought it was because of my Principal being hugely into GAA. Usually if you come from one of the counties in the final, you get first dibs. I was offered one last year but already had one so a teacher who does alot of hurling after school with the kids was given it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 happyfaces

Had to log in especially to post on this. All girls schools do not qualify for these tickets as we are part of the LGFA which is not officially the GAA apparently. So even though we coach and take teams and promote (ladies) Gaelic football we're not entitled to any tickets. Very unfortunate, that if in a mixed school with both boys and girls teams tickets come and a draw takes place, but all girls schools get nothing. Sickening.

Oh and we don't even get free tickets to the ladies final which I go to, have to buy them too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,245 ✭✭✭doc_17

Tickets in our place are based on a rota between the lads who take the GAA teams. That's the only way we would even think of doing it. I couldn't care less if people from competing counties were interested in them. If they don't promote GAA or take a team they haven't a hope in hell in getting one. I love going to the All Ireland every year an see it as a bit of a reward, even if I do have to pay for it

happyfaces wrote: »
    Oh and we don't even get free tickets to the ladies final which I go to, have to buy them too.
    Just to reiterate, I don't think the tickets are free one way or the other. As far as I know, the school has to pay for them anyway and then it depends on the individual school whether or not the expect the teachers to pay for them.

I realise that wasn't the main point of your post and I agree that it does seem unfair that girls' schools don't qualify but the argument probably is that there's no difficulty getting tickets to the ladies' All Ireland and they have no way of ensuring that tickets to the mens' finals go to those who take boys' teams in mixed schools.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,359 ✭✭✭whiteandlight

I've no idea whether they are available in my school or not but I do think it would be nice if all teachers who were involved in extra curricular were considered. I'm not good enough to coach but I love GAA. I take choir/maths club and other extra curricular so I do give my time to extra curricular.

Given the GAAs refusal to help or support running a team in my school I'm surprised to hear they give anything back to schools. It's a nice idea if it's run fairly.

TYhats strange, they're beating the door of my place down to get in and help with teams. We have a very strong relationship with our local club too so we use their pitches etc whenever we like and they use ours if needs be, use our gym for training etc and keep our pitch mowed. It really helps when the Gaa seem interested in promoting their own games.

We don't really have a proper local club in that there is a big club that serves the whole suburb (huge Dublin suburb, population larger than some cities in this country) but that is actually a few miles from where we are located and there is nothing more specific in the four parishes in our catchment.

They said it would be a waste of resources to get involved in an area like this.

GAA is not very popular here - but then it's no wonder really. This was all in sharp contrast to the supposedly elitist IRFU sending out a coach and equipment to an area where nobody has played a game of rugby in their lives. We now have an up-and-coming team growing in popularity. Likewise the much maligned FAI are heavily involved locally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭clunked

Its really down to the interest of teachers. Help is available from the County Board and the Leinster Council. Has the school contacted the local club who probably has a Games Promotion Officer which would help too.

clunked wrote: »
    Its really down to the interest of teachers. Help is available from the County Board and the Leinster Council. Has the school contacted the local club who probably has a Games Promotion Officer which would help too.

Yes. I am the teacher that was interested. I had a group of girls wanting to do camogie. But we had no equipment and when we asked for even an introductory information session we were refused.

Tbh it doesn't surprise me. I gave up camogie myself due to similar experiences with another nearby club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭clunked

I don't know about camoige to be honest or how it is organised at second level.. Have you tried the National Association at Croke Park? Is the school itself prepared to invest in equipment. How many girls themselves have hurls. Have you tried to get sponsorship or do you just expect others to provide for you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭angelfire9

I'm surprised that your local club doesn't help with camogie
    I do 1 day a week at my daughters (all girls) school doing camogie training

I do it as an official officer for a local club (one of two GAA clubs in the town)

We also do a recruitment drive in all primary & secondary schools in town this month

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

For us, the teachers that train the GAA teams get first preference. Either by draw or splitting of tickets.

All tickets are paid for.

I was at a first year blitz yesterday in the cold wind and rain, I feel I deserve something from it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭joebloggs32

For us, the teachers that train the GAA teams get first preference. Either by draw or splitting of tickets.

All tickets are paid for.

I was at a first year blitz yesterday in the cold wind and rain, I feel I deserve something from it.

Well you might get to put away the rain gear for a while now as it seems the ASTI have rejected the HRA. That will collapse the S&S roster by Monday week making it very difficult for schools to release staff for trips/sports

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,381 ✭✭✭✭km79

Well you might get to put away the rain gear for a while now as it seems the ASTI have rejected the HRA. That will collapse the S&S roster by Monday week making it very difficult for schools to release staff for trips/sports
    S and s will continue as it is now I'd imagine. For a few more weeks anyway.....sure if it collapses the school won't be open anyway!!!!

clunked wrote: »
    I don't know about camoige to be honest or how it is organised at second level.. Have you tried the National Association at Croke Park? Is the school itself prepared to invest in equipment. How many girls themselves have hurls. Have you tried to get sponsorship or do you just expect others to provide for you?

Nobody would have hurls. The school would be willing to invest some money if it was sure it would take off but money is tight so they would not spend much if the local club wouldn't even offer any support.

It's not about expecting others to provide, it's not about the money. It's about expecting the GAA to offer some guidance and support for someone setting up a team instead of writing off the area as a "waste of resources". I couldn't be bothered dealing with the attitude at this stage tbh. They're delighted with their rugby team and the basketball and football.

Anyway, it's nice to hear that involved schools can get access to tickets - a nice reward for those who give up so much time in support of the organisation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭angelfire9

Nobody would have hurls. The school would be willing to invest some money if it was sure it would take off but money is tight so they would not spend much if the local club wouldn't even offer guidance .

if you want to pm me details of your local club & school I can try and organize something ??

angelfire9 wrote: »
    if you want to pm me details of your local club & school I can try and organize something ??

Thanks very much for the offer but I'm afraid the interest is gone for both students and teacher at this stage. (And with acceptance of HRA today I think voluntary extra-curricular is something I'll have to seriously reconsider).

I hope anyone who got tickets for Sunday enjoys their well deserved treat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭NoelleTh

We got two tickets in, one went automatically to the teacher who looks after the GAA in the school and the second one was raffled between any staff members who had an interest in going because as my principal put it we all cover his classes when he is out at matches. The tickets were paid for by the teachers.

No word about them at all in one of my local schools,even though the Pr and Dep.Pr are very well connected and had 'their own 'tickets!!! Definitely would not have been depending on the school tickets but then again they are 'paid-up' members of' Ireland Corrupt PLC'! Another school used the tickets to fund raise,sold lines in the neighbourhood and 2 'line buyers' were lucky and won....the way it should be!

Those principals, up to no good as usual....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 166 ✭✭Bananatop

No word about them at all in one of my local schools,even though the Pr and Dep.Pr are very well connected and had 'their own 'tickets!!!

Maybe they got them somewhere else? I wouldn't begrudge a principal getting a ticket. The job of principal is one hell of a responsibility-you're responsible for the children in your school, the staff in your school, and you're the go-to person for the parents of the children in the school. You're also responsible for the grounds of the school. They don't get perks of a corner office in a high rise building, health insurance, company car or yearly bonuses. An All Ireland ticket worth about €80 is hardly the stuff of mafia style connections!

openess and transparency would be nice!!!! Not saying for 1 minute that the job of Pr.is not tough but trust is a very important virtue.Do not treat staff like mushrooms and feed them sh1t!!!!