Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Inclement Weather

• 16-09-2013 1:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,295 ✭✭✭

probably a typical noob question but what do people do in the event of inclement weather? Im not talking about a little rain shower but more of a strong gale coupled with some rain?

are threadmills a viable option when trying to build up the mileage in the legs as part of a half marathon training plan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭kit3

I think you can generally get out the door in almost all weathers - it's never as bad as it seems when you are looking out at it. In fact some of the most exhilarating runs I've had have been in stormy conditions. Having said that, I'd be wary if it was very icy.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

I just go out and run, sure its only abit of wind and rain.
    Running against the wind is great training :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,866 ✭✭✭drquirky

slingerz wrote: »
    probably a typical noob question but what do people do in the event of inclement weather? Im not talking about a little rain shower but more of a strong gale coupled with some rain?

are threadmills a viable option when trying to build up the mileage in the legs as part of a half marathon training plan?

You suck it up, HTFU, dress appropriately and head out for your run. Not much to it really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,087 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

No such thing as bad weather, only bad clothing choices.
    Get out there and embrace the change, just can't plan the weather for race day.

Running on the treadmill is no issue, in fact 20% of my mileage is on the treadmill, but don't overuse it or becoming over reliant on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

probably a typical noob question but what do people do in the event of inclement weather?

Embrace it ! Seriously, it can be so refreshing and you'll have the best showers after being out in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭Peterx

ice = run cancelled
    anything else is feasible with the right clothing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 875 ✭✭✭scriba

Yup, like the other posters, just get out there and run it. Occasionally you'll get a battering from the elements but so what? It makes the post-run hot bath/shower all the sweeter. Acceptable conditions for ducking a run: hurricane, blizzard, icy conditions, volcano.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,295 ✭✭✭slingerz

drquirky wrote: »
    You suck it up, HTFU, dress appropriately and head out for your run. Not much to it really.

Whats HTFU?!

Dont have a whole range of running gear unfortunately to cover all weather conditions!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,866 ✭✭✭drquirky

Whats HTFU?!

Dont have a whole range of running gear unfortunately to cover all weather conditions!

Neither do I. HTFU means harden the **** up. I'm not trying to be a d!ck but you're coming off like a bit of a wuss here. Its Ireland- the possible range of weather conditions is like 2 C - 20 C w/ possible wind and possible rain- what "range of clothing" do you need?

Just. Go. And. Run.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Whats HTFU?!

Harden the f*** Up ;)

At the moment it is windy and rainy but not cold. I wouldn't bother with a jacket or longsleeved top for the moment as you will just get too hot and unconfortable. Besides once you are wet you are wet. Just make sure to jump straight in the shower once you get home.

As it gets colder it might be advisable to invest in a running jacket and/or leggings. Keep an eye out on the sales in lidl and aldi as the winter comes in. You can wear any old wooly hat or gloves if necessary- you don't need to shell out big money on those.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭TRR

I can handle most weather but I hate and I mean hate the wind. Ran today and nearly took off a couple of times the gusts were so strong. Got to train in it though, could be windy race day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭28064212

Like, say, yesterday? I got caught in two awful showers yesterday around 12 and 1 in the Phoenix Park. And by awful, I mean gale-force headwinds and absolute sheets of water pounding down. I was thoroughly drenched by the time they passed. And this was in a short-sleeve t-shirt and shorts. That was about 15km into a 35km run.

So? Fair enough, it was a bit miserable at times. But at no stage was I in physical danger. At no stage was it necessary to stop running. So what's the problem? What will you do if you get crap weather on race day?

Boardsie Enhancement Suite - a browser extension to make using Boards on desktop a better experience (includes full-width display, keyboard shortcuts, dark mode, and more). Now available through your browser's extension store.

Firefox: https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/boardsie-enhancement-suite/

Chrome/Edge/Opera: https://chromewebstore.google.com/detail/boardsie-enhancement-suit/bbgnmnfagihoohjkofdnofcfmkpdmmce

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

agree with everything that's been said above. When I started running I said to myself that I was never going to use the weather (exept ice) as an excuse not to run and I stuck to that 100% and some of my most memorable and best runs have been in crazy weather. Samsung race last year was one of the worst days of the year weather-wise which just went to prove you have to be prepared for racing in the worst possible weather in this country. Yeah it's very windy out there at the moment but you're not gonna cancel yer target race just cause it's windy. Get out and enjoy:) or move to milder climes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,907 ✭✭✭woody1

practical advice..
    get a good well fitted light waterproof ( resistant ) jacket or gillet.. this will cost you but is an investment, you could get one in lidl or heatons but i find them to be baggy and therefore catch the wind something shocking , a bit like running with a parachute attached.. last one i got was in bike shop and was 50 something quid..and was perfect til i left it tied to a gate and some bollix robbed it ..
    base layer.....i have a heavy under armour one and unless its really raining its enough on its own, without the jacket ..also have a really light north face one and its unbelievable how warm ,again the penneys , dunnes, cheaper ones arent great, ive tried a few and none are even close
    i personally dont like tights and if its cold out il run in tri-shorts with running shorts over that..
    lgiht gloves and a light hat or buff ( for november december january cold weather )
    oh and htfu :D
    edit..most of the problem is in getting out the door, this gear is not essential for running in bad weather,as has been said above a bit of rain wont kill you, but the right gear makes it easier to face into it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,849 ✭✭✭Cartman78

Would echo all of the above pretty much....in my experience, you will only really notice the conditions for the first couple of minutes and then, when you get into your stride/into the zone, it just melts into the background.

It's worth investing in a half-decent running jacket too.

And I always find a certain level of smugness/satisfaction/superiority being out running in sh1t weather, being happy as bejaysus and seeing people staring out the window of their house/car with bemused looks on their faces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,288 ✭✭✭crisco10

Must be said, for the bemused looks you get off people in their cars/on buses etc, it's completely worth getting out there in the wind and rain. It also adds variety to the training, sometimes a short run where you're getting buffeted by the wind can provide a stern work out that it is different from a racing the clock session.

When it's genuinely cold, I usually leave the house with an extra layer on. Then do a small loop (~2.5km) warmup back to my house which gets me warm, then deposit afore mentioned extra layer in the porch and then embark on whatever run I have planned oblivious to the cold.

TRR wrote: »
    I can handle most weather but I hate and I mean hate the wind. Ran today and nearly took off a couple of times the gusts were so strong. Got to train in it though, could be windy race day!

Funny how that wind is always stonger when you are running against it - it never seems to blow you home quite as strongly !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭nerraw1111

kit3 wrote: »
    Funny how that wind is always stonger when you are running against it - it never seems to blow you home quite as strongly !

I always get the opposite. First half of a run and I'm feeling great, hitting x pace without any trouble. Turn for home and bam, mad head winds. "Oh that's why it felt so easy."

Earlier this year there was a period of v strong winds. I opted for the gym in order to get sessions done as the wind made it impossible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

For easy paced runs any weather (other than ice) is doable. But for speed sessions, personally I wouldnt waste my time fighting against winds the likes of which we've been having lately. Nothing to do with getting soft or a lack of HTFU, just more about training smart and enjoying your what you're doing. Theres nothing more horrible than trying to hold a fast pace against a a monster wind and I think if the winds are that strong its best to leave the session to another day or to hit the treadmill.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 477 ✭✭brutes1

Hardest thing is getting out. Proper gear is essential rain jacket etc, also meeting a running buddy makes it easier.
    very easy to get sick/colds from not being ready and armed for bad conditions.
    as tunguska says, you need to postpone or tailor or adjust sessions if the weather is going to interfere badly...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 806 ✭✭✭woodchopper

drquirky wrote: »
    You suck it up, HTFU, .

Not all female runners want to go outside and suck it up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

brutes1 wrote: »
    very easy to get sick/colds from not being ready and armed for bad conditions.

You won't catch a cold from being wet and cold though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,594 ✭✭✭frash

Just stocked up on some base layer stuff
    http://www.sportsdirect.com/mens/mens-base-layer

My first winter approaches!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,035 ✭✭✭HelenAnne

Not all female runners want to go outside and suck it up

What do you mean? Are women more likely to melt like the Wicked Witch of the West in a little rain?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

HelenAnne wrote: »
    What do you mean? Are women more likely to melt like the Wicked Witch of the West in a little rain?
    I'm hoping it was a joke... or just to rile us womenfolks...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,821 ✭✭✭blockic

TRR wrote: »
    Got to train in it though, could be windy race day!

Especially if you are behind digger! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,035 ✭✭✭HelenAnne

Ososlo wrote: »

Well we can take comfort in this picture showing a little wet and cold doesn't put the ladies off running!

http://corkrunning.blogspot.ie/2013/03/photos-of-world-cross-country.html

Ososlo wrote: »

Thought the same - best ignored on both counts - don't give in and get wound up or if it's a serious comment then it definately deserves to be ignored ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭nerraw1111

HelenAnne wrote: »

More likely to meet a troll.

Probably belongs in gear but anyone recently buy any decent rain jackets? Looking for a new one and the range is incredible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Condo131

Stuff that will stop you:
    Lightning
    Fog
    (Maybe) Ice

Worst conditions I've run in:
    (along with many others) ran away in the ice & snow of recent years. Great to be striding past cars crawling along. :D
    Floods, knee height, during Hurricane Charlie ?? 1987
    Going out in very cold weather, wearing two tracksuits (late 80's again), gloves (with mittens over them), a balaclava (with a wooly hat over that). - wasn't a sinner out that night...pedestrian motorist, or runner. Mid way thro' the run, blizzard-like conditions blew in.
    Monsoon downpour ...running hard, and collided with another guy doing same in the opposite direction....boy did that hurt.

Condo131 wrote: »
    Stuff that will stop you:
    Lightning
    Fog
    (Maybe) Ice

Worst conditions I've run in:
    (along with many others) ran away in the ice & snow of recent years. Great to be striding past cars crawling along. :D
    Floods, knee height, during Hurricane Charlie ?? 1987
    Going out in very cold weather, wearing two tracksuits (late 80's again), gloves (with mittens over them), a balaclava (with a wooly hat over that). - wasn't a sinner out that night...pedestrian motorist, or runner. Mid way thro' the run, blizzard-like conditions blew in.
    Monsoon downpour ...running hard, and collided with another guy doing same in the opposite direction....boy did that hurt.

The only thing that might stop me would be ice (afraid of falling & doing damage !). How do you manage in ice - head for grass ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Condo131

How do you manage in ice - head for grass ?
    1. Run with a forward lean and, at all times, have your hands/arms spread somewhat, so that you can protect yourself in the event of a fall - you *don't* want to fall backwards.
    2. (Obviously) use areas where ice/snow has disappeared.
    3. Stay off the smooth shiny stuff.
    4. Crunchy ice/snow is grand - pedestrians seem to stay away from that stuff - prob because it's rough, but it gives you grip.
    5. Be exceedingly careful and expect the unexpected.

During the bad snow/ice two/three ? years ago, I ran away all through ~60 MPW, with no problems. Then on Christmas Eve, after my run, I walked around to the local shop - I figured the road was too much hassle, for driving, in those conditions. On the way back, I had a bad fall on ice.:rolleyes::o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

The only thing that might stop me would be ice (afraid of falling & doing damage !). How do you manage in ice - head for grass ?

Heading for grass is one option, or even the treadmill.

For the road there are things like Yaktrax, but they basically require that the entire length of your run will be covered in ice. You can't use them if only parts of your route are icy, which makes them almost useless in Ireland (though they would have worked during the big freeze 2 or 3 years ago).

What I did during the big freeze was heading for the main road. At 6 am there was no traffic on it, and it was the only ice-free road anywhere near me. I still managed to run my usual 80ish miles per week, no problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,932 ✭✭✭huskerdu

Had my first "wintery" run of the year this morning. I never let the cold, wind and rain stop me, but I will admit that I felt that I had gone soft over the summer and head out fully kitted out in long tights, long sleeves, a hat and gloves. Obviously, I was too warm once I got going, but it felt great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

How do you manage in ice - head for grass ?
    Head for higher ground. I find that even 100m climb is enough to get you up into snowy conditions, instead of ice. As mentioned, the hardest part is when transitioning between the two (e.g. coming back down). Snow is great as even in darkness, you don't really need a head-torch. Looking forward to the snow. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,295 ✭✭✭slingerz

didnt think id start such a discussion! am heading out this evening for a run so its my first steps to HTFU as people have been saying.

does sound like more gear is needed though so must hit the shops for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,932 ✭✭✭huskerdu

didnt think id start such a discussion! am heading out this evening for a run so its my first steps to HTFU as people have been saying.

does sound like more gear is needed though so must hit the shops for that.

Go for it. You will not regret it.

Don't buy too much gear, you can buy as you go along, when you find out what you need and how hardy your legs and arms are to cooler conditions, and how warm you get, once warmed up.

I hear the weather will be back to sunny with highs of late teens for the rest of the week anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 612 ✭✭✭Rantan

you dont need to spend a lot to stay warm and comforatble and almost dry,,,,I dont wear tights in cold weather...even found them too warm in teh big freeze...in cold i have a few long sleeves..the long sleeve DCM finishers tops generally do for cold weather(free) with a light running jacket that cost €40 I think.

Lidl running hat for a few quid and branded running gloves(addidas I tihnk) for about €20, which I prefer to the lidl ones..anyway o generally take gloves off mid way unless its seriously cold.
    I do have a long sleeve thermal Asics running base layer that was about €60 which for me was a big spend - thats kept for extra cold days and generally does on its own if its dry...I use it up for hill walking too so great value overall

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Rantan wrote: »
    you dont need to spend a lot to stay warm and comforatble and almost dry,,,,I dont wear tights in cold weather...even found them too warm in teh big freeze...in cold i have a few long sleeves..the long sleeve DCM finishers tops generally do for cold weather(free) with a light running jacket that cost €40 I think.

Lidl running hat for a few quid and branded running gloves(addidas I tihnk) for about €20, which I prefer to the lidl ones..anyway o generally take gloves off mid way unless its seriously cold.
    I do have a long sleeve thermal Asics running base layer that was about €60 which for me was a big spend - thats kept for extra cold days and generally does on its own if its dry...I use it up for hill walking too so great value overall

For a man who doesn't like to spend a lot; you have spent a lot ;)

For me, Lidl jacket and tights (optional) are less than a tenner. Pennies gloves cost about €1 for 2 pair, any old wooly hat will do if you need a hat.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,047 ✭✭✭Itziger

Thing about running gear is it lasts for years. I have a few long-sleeved tops and I haven't bought any now for ages. I went on a bit of a spree a while back and I have a great 'wardrobe' now. Was thinking of this thread on this evening's run. Mucky, wet and windy. At times felt great and invigorating and at times I thought, Hmmm, this is a bit miserable.

I think the OP maybe started in nice weather, say around May or so. I often give thanks that it was a November when I got into the running caper. After the first Winter nothing really phased me. In snow/ice I head into the woods. Very, very lucky to be about 200 mts from woods. Now that is fun. An inch or two of fresh snow. Looking forward to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

As Noel Carroll famously said "there's no such thing as bad weather, only weak men!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 612 ✭✭✭Rantan

menoscemo wrote: »
    For a man who doesn't like to spend a lot; you have spent a lot ;)

For me, Lidl jacket and tights (optional) are less than a tenner. Pennies gloves cost about €1 for 2 pair, any old wooly hat will do if you need a hat.....

not really - a (decent)runing jacket for €40 is relatively cheap and a very good thermal base layer for €60 is also good value - these items are the only expensive running things I have....spose I didnt say.. I have both for over 4 years now and will get another year or two out of them...€100 - €120 spent over 5+ years on specific winter gear is not expensive.
    I have used lots of various lidl bits and ppieces and like most cheap gear find you get what you pay for....ie. its great for a while but falls apart or seriously deteriorates after a short while

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭MisterDrak

Head for higher ground.

Or head for the Beach !

The combination of salt and sand, makes it pretty difficult for any snow / ice to stick.

Iv run on Portmarnock beach in the worst of the cold weather a few years back, its not ideal, but does get the miles in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭thewolf_ie

I did an interval session last night in the lashing rain and wind while topless. Might put my barefoots on next time my toe looks like it was slashed with a knife due to the wet. The snow is a different story. But I'm looking forward to it.