Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The People of the Year Awards - 2013

• 14-09-2013 8:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭

Young Joe Pendergast is a truly inspiration child to have written two books at ten years of age, his mother is blessed to have a son like him.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Is this live ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Lapin wrote: »
    Is this live ?

I doubt it, Aoibhinn looks stunning.

It's nice to see ordinary, everyday people being recognised for their bravery or generosity.

Gráinne looks like she has just stepped off the set of Downton Abbey.

I hate awards ceremonies but I agree that people like this should get national recognition.

Unlike 3 years ago when I last saw some of this event.
    Gerry Ryan (who had died 6 months earlier) received an award.

The evening seemed to consist of RTÉ "stars" competiting with each other to tell us how they and us missed him and loved him.

While I'm sure many do, I failed to see at the time what he had done to be awarded with a person of the year accolade.

Still do. Left a bad taste in my mouth that.

Oh Christ there's Joe Duffy. They must have pre-recorded that clip on one of his rare visits to Ireland in recent months !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

I've always said this, but his daughter Fiona is absolutely gorgeous.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Look at the bolix who is on now.

Just you and me tonight MrsD007.

Staying in on a Saturday saving our pennies for Croke Park II. :D

EDIT: Spoke too soon.

Looks like the cat has dragged the Kildare fecker and the Miser in :D

Just you and me tonight MrsD007.

Staying in on a Saturday saving our pennies for Croke Park II. :D

EDIT: Spoke too soon.

Looks like the cat has dragged the Kildare fecker and the Miser in :D
    Not now, Jonathan is after arriving with some wine and lets hope Jonjo has brought the Aldi steaks from the black cattle.

Staying in on a Saturday saving our pennies for Croke Park II. :D cos we're both miserable west of Shannon feckers..

FYP.

Tom Arnold gets an award, and John O'Shea gets a court case.. how is that fair.. :(

Thought that music performance was very odd.. I guess it always is when you have people fake backing singing and fake playing instruments.. Kind of reminded me of Nirvana on TOTP.

FYP.
    When did ye last win an All Ireland senior title in Kildare? 1928 :D

Good luck JA, ye will need it :p

MrsD007 wrote: »
    Not now, Jonathan is after arriving with some wine and lets hope Jonjo has brought the Aldi steaks from the black cattle.

Those ads have been pulled pending a complaint taken by Global Village..

"......cos we're both miserable west of Shannon feckers......"

Admiring the beautiful and wonderfully talented Grainne Seoige. ;)

Those ads have been pulled pending a complaint taken by Global Village..
    Well done JA, that was kinda funny :D

Here yiz go now ladies.. Rob is a handsome chap, but he's obviously taken the same Presenting For Handsome Chaps course that Nicky Byrne did .. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Someone say Rob Kearney?

Here yiz go now ladies.. Rob is a handsome chap, but he's obviously taken the same Presenting For Handsome Chaps course that Nicky Byrne did .. :)
    Rob is a fine young man but I prefer Munster men ;)

efb wrote: »
    Someone say Rob Kearney?
    Good Evening efb, I hope you're out of hospital and you're on the mend :)

Ah yeah grand watching a movie streaming- just turned on the TV when someone said Rob Kearney... ;-)

When did ye last win an All Ireland senior title in Kildare? 1928 :D

Good luck JA, ye will need it :p

That was the first year the Sam Maguire Cup was presented and they haven't seen it since.

Except in 1998 when they stood on the field to watch our lot lift it. :P

Rob is a fine young man but I prefer Munster men ;)

Donncha? Conor? Simon?

Good Evening efb, I hope you're out of hospital and you're on the mend :)

Staying out of the hospital??? He's staying up til 6am to watch the fight tonight... I havent been in hospital and I'm going to bed after the People Of The Year Awards.. (or after the six cans of Tuborg, whichever comes first)

Nice arse on Rob too

Staying out of the hospital??? He's staying up til 6am to watch the fight tonight... I havent been in hospital and I'm going to bed after the People Of The Year Awards.. (or after the six cans of Tuborg, whichever comes first)

No I'm
    Going to sleep and wake at 4

I can never understand how Fiona's mother stood by her husband (especially after he was found guilty) :mad:

efb wrote: »
    Donncha? Conor? Simon?
    I really like Paul O'Connell, he is handsome and very down to earth.

I really cant stomach this man any more.

Why was she sitting beside Damien from Fair City?

Joe is dressed like a circus ring master.

He's a bit too 'hulk' for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

Are the statues left over from the IFTA's :confused:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Joe is after putting on a few pounds.

Her kids deserve awards of their own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭le la rat

Fair play to her but that's an awful dress

V well deserved award for Ms Doyle.

Love the mad men/pan am vibe dress and earrings she has going on.

amdublin wrote: »
    V well deserved award for Ms Doyle.

Love the mad men/pan am vibe dress and earrings she has going on.
    It's a beautiful colour but the cut is not very flattering.

le la rat wrote: »
    Fair play to her but that's an awful dress

I like it in a weird way! See my earlier post.

Don't like grainne seoiges visible black bra on her back :confused:

Is Joe rehersing for another slot as a medium with Mrs Brown backstage ?

The state of that bow tie and waistcoat.

Joe is dressed like a circus ring master.

I was gonna say quiz show presenter, but ring master will suffice.

Her dress came from last years Miriam Quality Street collection.

So it seems they've used 3 of the ifta's to make one of these - shrunk 2 of them down and stuck them to a regular one.

Hmmm :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭le la rat

I like it in a weird way! See my earlier post.

Don't like grainne seoiges visible black bra on her back :confused:
    I wouldn't have a clue about fashion tbh but it just doesn't look right to me. She looks happy though and that's the main thing

You're right amdub, these are IFTAs but they look very like the people of the year statues.

ifta10.JPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭dcmm

Ah! Leave Joe alone, he's ok, am looking forward to his return to liveline. I thought Adrian O'Connors' wife was very dignified,also Micheal O M, a richly deserved award.Some really great people in our midst.Had to turn off the singer, cringe....Oh!, hears Donal Walsh's story.R.IP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,905 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Tubridy would thrive on the sadness tonight...

One of those lads (white shirt) looks scarily like a young version of Eamonn Gilmore.

That's one he'll of a shiny tux and shiny bow tie on Benny

Brendan is fading away :eek: He has lost a serious amount of weight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 727 ✭✭✭prettygurrly

was just about to say the same thing...he looks great but hopefully nothing sinister is making him lose weight :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,322 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Brendan getting thinner!