Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Saloon v hatchback

• 13-09-2013 8:24am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,876 ✭✭✭

I've been looking at the cars on the road, and noticed that the majority of cars (where there's a choice between the two) seem to be hatchbacks. Looking at car reviews on which.co.UK often says to avoid saloons as they have a lower re-sale value, as hatchbacks are more popular there.

Why is this? To me hatchbacks usually seem to have smaller boots than their equivalent saloon model. Are they cheaper new or is there some other advantage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

A review telling someone to avoid saloon cars is a bit ridiculous considering most people would choose either hatchback or saloon based on their needs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭The Diddakoi

You can get bigger things in the boot of a hatchback, drop down the seats and you have a van :)
    Even got a fridge freezer in my Mini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Ireland has this amazing love of Saloons and it's a love that I've frankly never understood.

Like said above, you can fit a variety of reasonable household items into the back of a hatchback that a Saloon couldn't take. Even TV sets nowadays couldn't be taken home by most Saloons.

Where did you get Hatchbacks having a smaller boot? That's a new one on me!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 843 ✭✭✭HandsomeDan

You can fit more in a hatchback but a saloon looks less council estate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

MugMugs wrote: »
    Ireland has this amazing love of Saloons and it's a love that I've frankly never understood.

Like said above, you can fit a variety of reasonable household items into the back of a hatchback that a Saloon couldn't take. Even TV sets nowadays couldn't be taken home by most Saloons.

saloons are often longer than hatchbacks and thus have bigger boots without the seats folded. See Focus for an example

You can fit more in a hatchback but a saloon looks less council estate.

you serious?:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

For a younger crowd hatches seems more popular.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 843 ✭✭✭HandsomeDan

corktina wrote: »
    you serious?:eek:

Like it or not, a lot of irish people have it in their psyche that saloon=posh, hatchback=pov.

corktina wrote: »
    saloons are often longer than hatchbacks and thus have bigger boots without the seats folded. See Focus for an example

Hardly bank breaking difference though.

The Ford Mondeo Saloon is about two inches longer than the hatch.
    Like it or not, a lot of irish people have it in their psyche that saloon=posh, hatchback=pov.
    They also take out loans to buy brand new cars to avail of cheaper tax and still believe that a Corolla is the best car out there.

It doesn't make it right.

I've also never heard of a Saloon being posh.

ever

i don't like it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,393 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

Uk favour the hatchback.
    Ireland favour saloons,
    never understood it, i always liked the look of a hatchback version of a make,,
    the UK saloons seem to be brought by older people (60+).
    my neighbour just brought a 08 focus, saloon again! (shes nowere near 60 by the way).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

I think the point of a saloon is for the driver to take 3 other adults to the golf course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Hatch has more usable space, although often not as much as the equivalent Saloon. Bulkhead and boot opening in a saloon limits usability often, but in my experience they let in a little less road noise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,470 ✭✭✭JoeA3

I've found it odd how we are so different from our near neighbours in this regard. Small saloons in the UK are generally considered extremely naff and very rare. In the '80's and '90's Irish people bought Corsa / Polo / Corolla / Astra / Escort saloons in their droves! The original Focus saloon was very ugly but the latest incarnation is much much better... perhaps even a little better looking than the hatch IMO.

Saloons may have huge boots (e.g. the VW Passat),. but the boot opening is small, making it a bit unpractical. Hatch / Estate is far more practical even though it may appear to be smaller.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,876 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

Judging by the.numbers of cars I'm seeing, there's a love of hatchbacks.

I drive an astra saloon and it's longer at the rear than a hatchback. I'm thinking that the boot is smaller in the hatchback which means having to fold down the.seats quite often.

If a saloon can fold down the rear seats, where does the hatchback advantage come in? Someone said they're slightly noisier and opening the boot in winter can freeze/soak back seat occupants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

McGaggs wrote: »
    If a saloon can fold down the rear seats, where does the hatchback advantage come in? Someone said they're slightly noisier and opening the boot in winter can freeze/soak back seat occupants.

If you need to get an awkard load in the max height it can be is the gap between the seat opening, with a hatch it can be to roof height. The space is more usable (even though sometimes there may be less).

Judging by the.numbers of cars I'm seeing, there's a love of hatchbacks.

I drive an astra saloon and it's longer at the rear than a hatchback. I'm thinking that the boot is smaller in the hatchback which means having to fold down the.seats quite often.

I was thinking more so along the line of the bigger cars.

Mondeo, Avensis etc......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Tea 1000

Lads - whether you think saloon's are posh or not, the car industry backs this up. The 7-Series, S-Class, etc don't come in hatchback versions! You get better cabin sound insulation with a saloon, the rear parcel shelf is fixed so can be stronger for better structural rigidity and insulation from the echoy boot!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,393 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

posh or not ,just like the look of hatchback better, only BMW i dont like look of as a hatchback.

Tea 1000 wrote: »
    The 7-Series, S-Class, etc don't come in hatchback versions!

True, but the current fashion is for luxury SUVs: Range Rover, X5, M class, Q7, Cayenne and and soon Rolls, Bentley and Lamborghini will be in there.

Hatchbacks disguised as off-roaders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭ION08

I was thinking more so along the line of the bigger cars.

Mondeo, Avensis etc......

I'm not sure why you think this, but to me it seems to be the other way around!

Even with cars like Avenisis or Mondeo where there's a choice people seem inclined towards hatchbacks .... Most of the Mondeo's I see are Hatchbacks as opposed to Saloons.

There are even plenty of Saloon variations of cars sold on the continent and in other countries that are not sold here because Ireland as a market seems quite averse to Saloons when hatchbacks are available for the same model.

How many Astra Saloons do you see compared to Astra Hatchbacks? How many Jetta's compared to Golf's? etc

Either way, I definitely wouldn't say that Ireland has an "Amazing Love" for saloons, that's for sure!

ION08 wrote: »
    I'm not sure why you think this, but to me it seems to be the other way around!

Even with cars like Avenisis or Mondeo where there's a choice people seem inclined towards hatchbacks .... Most of the Mondeo's I see are Hatchbacks as opposed to Saloons.

There are even plenty of Saloon variations of cars sold on the continent and in other countries that are not sold here because Ireland as a market seems quite averse to Saloons when hatchbacks are available for the same model.

How many Astra Saloons do you see compared to Astra Hatchbacks? How many Jetta's compared to Golf's? etc

Either way, I definitely wouldn't say that Ireland has an "Amazing Love" for saloons, that's for sure!
    Any Irish reged Avensis I've ever seen has been Saloon. Any Liftback is generally a UK import.

Mondeo, fair enough but a lot of them are also UK imports.

ION08 wrote: »

I don't know about the Continent, but we buy a lot more saloons than the UK do.

We even get saloon models they don't bother selling, like the Nissan Tiida, although that may just be because it's crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,867 ✭✭✭knucklehead6

I think the Avensis hatchback looks fugly
    I think the Avensis saloon is a lot better looking

I think the Mondeo saloon is nowhere near as good looking as the hatchback version.

FWIW my 'big' cars (as opposed to the 2 fiestas i had when learning to drive and the first 'new' car i bought) have all been Mondeo hatches.

So, could it be said the reasons for choosing a hatchback would be fitting in bulky loads and then personal taste?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Would rather have an estate over a saloon. Even though I never owned one.

But Jeep wins by far Thanks very much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,573 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

I've been looking at the cars on the road, and noticed that the majority of cars (where there's a choice between the two) seem to be hatchbacks. Looking at car reviews on which.co.UK often says to avoid saloons as they have a lower re-sale value, as hatchbacks are more popular there.

Why is this? To me hatchbacks usually seem to have smaller boots than their equivalent saloon model. Are they cheaper new or is there some other advantage?

hmm try finding hatchback versions of anything up here, the love of saloon cars amazes me up here (although the only sensible reason I've heard is they are quieter)

the only reason I drive one is I couldn't find a hatchback

looking for a new car at the moment and most of the hatchbacks I can find are Vauxhall vectras

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Victor Meldrew

You can fit a variety of reasonable household items into the back of a hatchback that a Saloon couldn't take. Even TV sets nowadays couldn't be taken home by most Saloons.

A Jetta has a way bigger boot than a Golf. Until you drop the rear seats and remove the parcel tray. Ditto Astra 4door vs 3/5d. I think that is the comparison people mean. Liftback 5 doors 9mondeo, avensis, Mazda 6, this does not apply.

if you really want lack of versatility, buy an Irish BMW. Fold down rear seats is an optional extra in the saloons. The E60 and E90 I've had have fixed rear seats. Irish people will not spend money on extras that others don't see.

I can barely fit the 4 section folding ladder in the boot of the e90, and there is no way in hell it is going in the cabin. I've been surprised by the small size of box that does not fit through the opening as well.

Boot opening in the Volvo S40 sucks too, but you can fold the seats.

Bear this in mind if you only have one car

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

Its simple. Irish people believe hatchbacks are small whereas saloons are big. Even a hatch from the C segment such as an Auris would subconsciously be viewed as smaller than a saloon from the B segment like a Kia Rio for example. I find this mindset particularly prevalent with older generation males from the Country. My old man has always bought small saloons thinking he's getting a bigger car. He'd then see a larger hatch and say "that's a nice little car"!

Can't bate the culchies :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

I have to say I prefer big saloons myself. A hatchback or estate would not be something I'd go for in a car. With the exception of the Focus, there's very few (IMO) that look better in hatchback/estate form (cue torrent of O RLY? pics! :p)
    JoeA3 wrote: »
    Saloons may have huge boots (e.g. the VW Passat),. but the boot opening is small, making it a bit unpractical. Hatch / Estate is far more practical even though it may appear to be smaller.
    Have to disagree. I had a B6 Passat for 5 years and never ran into any problems with the boot - at one point I was fitting several loads of 12 DELL Optiplex mini-tower PCs plus bits in there! :)

TVs I'll admit are a challenge, but any new ones I had delivered and when I moved it went on the back seat strapped in with the belt as I wouldn't want my big expensive flat screen sliding around the boot anyway.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

Speaking of small saloons, there's some that don't look too bad a'tall.

A new Astra saloon went past me today and I thought it was an Insignia until I came up behind it. Grand looking yoke. Then there are the hatches that look like saloons. If someone had never seen an Octy before, they could be forgiven for thinking its a saloon rather than a hatch.

Unfortunately there are many small saloons that have that "tacked on" look, like they designed the hatch and then decided to just slap on a boot right at the end. Some of the old Focuses looked like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭sean1141

Small cars usually look better in hatch form and big cars better as saloons IMO.
    I had a 04 mondeo saloon and my friends sister had a 04 hatch.
    She found the hatch easier for loading the kids buggy/shopping etc but thought the saloon was a nicer drive. When I drove the hatch I thought it was a little bit louder inside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

I've heard some people say they'd never go for a hatchback (or an estate for the same reason) because they're afraid of break ins. They feel more secure in knowing their cargo is locked out of sight behind a steel bootlid. Having driven hatchbacks most of my life I don't let this deter me since most thieves are opportunists (see something, smash & grab). The parcel shelf keeps stuff out of sight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

Where did you get Hatchbacks having a smaller boot?y That's a new one on me!
    The irish love of saloons thing is not really true anymore. Far more Irish people are buying hatchbacks these days. Even if you go to buy a hatchback version of a car(secondhand) you usually have to pay a premium over the saloon version nowadays. An 02-07 corolla is an example of this.

Also a modern tv can be carried in a saloon without any bother. Since tv's have become so thin and light they can easily be put on the backseat even a 40 inch screen etc.

Try doing that years back with an old 28inch crt and you would have run into problems :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Mondeo hatchback looks a lot nicer than saloon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭THall04

Hatchback or Saloon????......why choose when you can get a big saloon car with a hatchback.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hi2WlCwsRpQ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭ION08

THall04 wrote: »
    Hatchback or Saloon????......why choose when you can get a big saloon car with a hatchback.

C'est cool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭The Diddakoi

I thought it was going to be a video of a Jensen Interceptor :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Victor Meldrew

slimjimmc wrote: »
    I've heard some people say they'd never go for a hatchback (or an estate for the same reason) because they're afraid of break ins. They feel more secure in knowing their cargo is locked out of sight behind a steel bootlid. Having driven hatchbacks most of my life I don't let this deter me since most thieves are opportunists (see something, smash & grab). The parcel shelf keeps stuff out of sight.

1. imagine the cost of repairing someone getting into your boot. Think chisels hammers and crowbars...

2.Unlock-able folding back seats negate this percieved security in nearly every salon car.

not the brightest argument in many cases.

I have some time for the risk of "Burst through" in an accident though..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,036 ✭✭✭murphym7

Beat me to it, a very cool system.

I would always have been a saloon man until fairly recently. Moved from a Passat to a Mondeo hatch and loved it. Now just bought an Octavia and dont think I would go back to a saloon again. Especially after just moving house - the Octavia was like a van. Could not believe the amount of stuff this car will fit.

murphym7 wrote: »
    Beat me to it, a very cool system.

I would always have been a saloon man until fairly recently. Moved from a Passat to a Mondeo hatch and loved it. Now just bought an Octavia and dont think I would go back to a saloon again. Especially after just moving house - the Octavia was like a van. Could not believe the amount of stuff this car will fit.

The Octavia is excluded from this debate due to the size of it's boot :pac: