Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone have the new GTI?

• 12-09-2013 7:56am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭

Is anyone lucky enough to be driving the new GTI? What's it like to drive? Is it as quiet and refined as the Mk6?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,470 ✭✭✭JoeA3

Yep, I have one. In terms of refinement and quality it's in a different league to the MK6. It feels a much more substantial car inside and out. Interior quality and detailing is fantastic. Much less road/wind/tyre noise on the move than I had in my MK5 and 6.
    In terms of driving, it pulls significantly better than it's predecessors. A friend of mine with a mapped Edition 30 reckons it's a match for his. Very slick gear change. Great roar from the exhaust into the cabin when it's floored.
    MPG is a fair bit better too. It'll average in the high 30's or even low 40's if you take it very handy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭Elessar

JoeA3 wrote: »
    Yep, I have one. In terms of refinement and quality it's in a different league to the MK6. It feels a much more substantial car inside and out. Interior quality and detailing is fantastic. Much less road/wind/tyre noise on the move than I had in my MK5 and 6.
    In terms of driving, it pulls significantly better than it's predecessors. A friend of mine with a mapped Edition 30 reckons it's a match for his. Very slick gear change. Great roar from the exhaust into the cabin when it's floored.
    MPG is a fair bit better too. It'll average in the high 30's or even low 40's if you take it very handy.

Nice man well wear. How about handling? One complaint I had of mk6 golfs was there was too many turns of the wheel required to turn the car, I'm used to more sensitive steering. Heard they changed the rack in the mk7...

Elessar wrote: »
    Nice man well wear. How about handling? One complaint I had of mk6 golfs was there was too many turns of the wheel required to turn the car, I'm used to more sensitive steering. Heard they changed the rack in the mk7...

Can't say I had any big issues with the handling in my MKV GTI other than a bit of tramping (wheel hop) from quick starts at roundabouts or lights. My MK6 GTD was definitely a bit wallowy in the bends and the MK7 is a huge improvement over this, it is very planted - hardly any body roll... my housing estate is like the Monaco GP circuit, so I have plenty of opportunity to test it in tight chicanes :D
    They have indeed put some trickery into the steering rack so that from lock-to-lock it is much tighter than before... the steering does feel very "focused". The ride is a bit on the firm side though, I think it's a tad stiffer than my MK6 was and I have the same rim size (18's). VW do offer dynamic chassis control as an expensive option whereby you can select different damper settings but from what I read it's hard to tell the difference between the comfort/normal/sport settings.

Here she is...

null_zps0c18da65.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭larchill

Fellow I know has a 2010 GTi with DSG, Dynamic chassis, & leather. Local Volkswagen dealer had a new 2013 demo model which he looked @. It was 'Paddy Spec' compared to his own! To get the 'full spec': DSG, leather, & performance pack brings the price to €45kish! The UK model has a better spec = Paddy whackery again :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭cpoh1

Elessar wrote: »
    Is anyone lucky enough to be driving the new GTI? What's it like to drive? Is it as quiet and refined as the Mk6?

You've got your priorities all wrong if you are looking for these things in a hot hatch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,594 ✭✭✭tossy

cpoh1 wrote: »
    You've got your priorities all wrong if you are looking for these things in a hot hatch!

I agree a hot hatch shouldn't be quiet at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,056 ✭✭✭Tragedy

In fairness, who wants to listen to windscreen noise and tyre roar? A car can be quiet and refined while still having a throaty induction roar and burble from the exhaust under heavy acceleration.

Tragedy wrote: »
    In fairness, who wants to listen to windscreen noise and tyre roar? A car can be quiet and refined while still having a throaty induction roar and burble from the exhaust under heavy acceleration.

Yes, that's what I would have understood by refinement and quietness too. My MK6 was pretty bad for wind noise around the doors at motorway speeds. Irritating!

larchill wrote: »
    Fellow I know has a 2010 GTi with DSG, Dynamic chassis, & leather. Local Volkswagen dealer had a new 2013 demo model which he looked @. It was 'Paddy Spec' compared to his own! To get the 'full spec': DSG, leather, & performance pack brings the price to €45kish! The UK model has a better spec = Paddy whackery again :rolleyes:

Depends on how you look at it, I wouldn't want leather (in a GTI) or DSG so neither of them would have any effect.

Spec isn't the be all and end all especially in a car like a GTI which is being bought for its looks and for its performance, especailly as the base spec is actually quite good to begin with. I spec'd up a new one recently on the VW website and picked most of the extras I'd be interested in and I think it came to 36k all in.

What you are describing above is any 6 cylinder or above audi, bmw or jag. Refined and quiet with a nice throaty roar when the foot is down and a bit of go too.

For me the key ingredients of a hot hatch are noise and feel! I want to hear my tyres screech and gets loads of feedback from the road. Engine, exhaust and induction noise should all come to the fore too, you want to feel like you are going fast. Hot hatches were intended to be stripped out versions of their everyday equivalent, sharp driving tools with a wee bit of practicality to carry the shopping.

Modern golf gtis for me are fat, boring to look at and dull to drive. Hop into a 205gti and take one for a spin, it'll be much slower than a mk7 golf gti but it wont feel it when you are in there and it'll by x10 more fun! Just as a hot hatch should be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,056 ✭✭✭Tragedy

What you are describing above is any 6 cylinder or above audi, bmw or jag. Refined and quiet with a nice throaty roar when the foot is down and a bit of go too.

For me the key ingredients of a hot hatch are noise and feel! I want to hear my tyres screech and gets loads of feedback from the road. Engine, exhaust and induction noise should all come to the fore too, you want to feel like you are going fast. Hot hatches were intended to be stripped out versions of their everyday equivalent, sharp driving tools with a wee bit of practicality to carry the shopping.

Modern golf gtis for me are fat, boring to look at and dull to drive. Hop into a 205gti and take one for a spin, it'll be much slower than a mk7 golf gti but it wont feel it when you are in there and it'll by x10 more fun! Just as a hot hatch should be.
    Again, who wants to listen to windscreen noise and tyre roar? Screeching tyres, exhaust and induction noise have nothing to do with refinement.

Do you think windscreen noise and tyre roar contribute to a car feeling like a hot hatch? In that case, you'll love the 03 Kia Rio I used to own. Terrible to drive, but the engine was intrusive (without sounding good), windscreen and wing mirror noise was atrocious and even though it was on skinny tyres, they still somehow contributed to the din.

There you have it, Kia Rio 1.3 lx, one of the best hot hatches of the last decade!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

Again, who wants to listen to windscreen noise and tyre roar? Screeching tyres, exhaust and induction noise have nothing to do with refinement.

Do you think windscreen noise and tyre roar contribute to a car feeling like a hot hatch? In that case, you'll love the 03 Kia Rio I used to own. Terrible to drive, but the engine was intrusive (without sounding good), windscreen and wing mirror noise was atrocious and even though it was on skinny tyres, they still somehow contributed to the din.

There you have it, Kia Rio 1.3 lx, one of the best hot hatches of the last decade!

ohhh christ, now you're just talking boll0X Tragedy.

Tyre, road noise and constant engine or exhaust noise will get old pretty quick if you are on a long drive or just want to drive normally listening to the radio.

I have a mk5 GTI and it handles, gives feed back and as you say it has "feel". You also get the engine, turbo and exhaust noise when you are pushing the car but when you are cruising on a motorway or driving easily its extremely refined and comfortable which is very important if you do long drives, passengers have commented on how comfortable a car it is to travel in, yet they are just as surprised how the thing moves and handles when pushed.

I understand where cpoh is coming from but the reality is that the 205 GTI / MK1 Golf GTI are 30+ years old now and things have moved on quite dramatically. If you are looking for a stripped out no frills edge of the seat go-cart then a modern "hot-hatch" is probably not what you want. A new Polo is bigger than the original Golf GTI. I'd love a MK2 GTI though!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I understand where cpoh is coming from but the reality is that the 205 GTI / MK1 Golf GTI are 30+ years old now and things have moved on quite dramatically. If you are looking for a stripped out no frills edge of the seat go-cart then a modern "hot-hatch" is probably not what you want.
    +1000. If you're coming from a modern hot hatch stepping into a 205 Gti or similar of that era would be a shock. Cars have gotten bigger(though mostly on the outside, cabin space can be daftly cramped in some) heavier and fatter and more powerful with lots more extras we take for granted these days. They're also safer. They tend to grip, rather than handle, a distinction lost on many. Many's the time I've been a passenger in some sporty yoke or other and the driver was "see how she handles!!". Eh no, that's mostly how she grips, wait until she loses grip and then you'll find out how she handles.

Golf Gti's are a lovely car. I had a fairly extensive drive(s) of a Mk5(and previous marks). I'd be less inclined to call it a hot hatch, more as OSI notes a refined car all rounder, kinda smaller beemer, though small is relative, the golf is pretty big. And heavy. They feel very planted, though you can feel the weight of them if "pressing on". I'd not like to test the limits of handling. I'd run outa talent and end up in a ditch.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 843 ✭✭✭HandsomeDan

Wibbs wrote: »
    Many's the time I've been a passenger in some sporty yoke or other and the driver was "see how she handles!!". Eh no, that's mostly how she grips, wait until she loses grip and then you'll find out how she handles.

Pitch dive roll and grip are inextricably linked. You don't need to loose grip to appeciate a car's 'handling'.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

+1000. If you're coming from a modern hot hatch stepping into a 205 Gti or similar of that era would be a shock. Cars have gotten bigger(though mostly on the outside, cabin space can be daftly cramped in some) heavier and fatter and more powerful with lots more extras we take for granted these days. They're also safer. They tend to grip, rather than handle, a distinction lost on many. Many's the time I've been a passenger in some sporty yoke or other and the driver was "see how she handles!!". Eh no, that's mostly how she grips, wait until she loses grip and then you'll find out how she handles.

Golf Gti's are a lovely car. I had a fairly extensive drive(s) of a Mk5(and previous marks). I'd be less inclined to call it a hot hatch, more as OSI notes a refined car all rounder, kinda smaller beemer, though small is relative, the golf is pretty big. And heavy. They feel very planted, though you can feel the weight of them if "pressing on". I'd not like to test the limits of handling. I'd run outa talent and end up in a ditch.

Very good post there although I would disagree with the Golf being pretty big and heavy.

The Golf is a small car for sure.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Jesus. wrote: »
    Very good post there although I would disagree with the Golf being pretty big and heavy.

The Golf is a small car for sure.
    By todays standards maybe, but the idea of small has changed a lot over the years J. The current Golf is a full half tonne heavier than the mark 1 and a couple of feet longer. One thing that stands out if you go to a classic car show is how bigger and more bulbous cars of the last decade or so have become.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

By todays standards maybe, but the idea of small has changed a lot over the years J. The current Golf is a full half tonne heavier than the mark 1 and a couple of feet longer. One thing that stands out if you go to a classic car show is how bigger and more bulbous cars of the last decade or so have become.

Agree with everything you say. But why would I use anything other than today's standards?!!

People have gotten very big too. Not just taller but very fat as well. A lot of them wouldn't be able to squeeze into the cars of yore.

You're right mate, cars have gotten bigger in Europe although they've gotten smaller in America. Everything is indeed relative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

The Mk2 GTI 16v is the one car i really want to own again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,795 ✭✭✭Neilw

One thing that stands out if you go to a classic car show is how bigger and more bulbous cars of the last decade or so have become.

Very true, I've a mk2 golf gti and a new mini is bigger than it:D
    The Mk2 GTI 16v is the one car i really want to own again

A mk2 with a 2litre 16v is even better :)

Some good debate here!

Would agree entirely that the hot hatch market has moved on from the mk2, 205gti stage, technology has developed, safety and inevitably weight have increased and peoples expectations of fast also.

But there are still hot hatches out there that buck the trend set by the Golf GTI. Anyone who has driven a Megane RS variant will attest to that. Sure the golf is refined on a motorway, quiet around town, is nippy when driven on and offers plenty of grip, but to say that it will having you grinning ear to ear everytime you push her on? It just doesn't cut it for me.

Any time ive had a spin off one it just doesn't encourage me to sink the boot and push into the next corner grinning like a maniac, not like some . It wasn't designed or marketed for that either.

Jesus. wrote: »
    Agree with everything you say. But why would I use anything other than today's standards?!!
    Well it would depend on what you enjoy about driving J. You might be the type that prefers a "raw" car, a direct connection between you and the car and the road. One that doesn't have 15 PC's in the boot driving the car after you make a control input. Me for example, I can't abide throttle by wire. I've yet to find one that didn't irritate, or yet to find one I couldn't tell wasn't attached to the engine by a greasy cable. I'm sure they exist on Ferraris and such, but I've not driven a modern one of them. In fairness I'm as odd as two left feet so...
    Neilw wrote: »
    Very true, I've a mk2 golf gti and a new mini is bigger than it:D
    Remember the scene in the original Italian Job, where they escape by driving the minis into the back of a truck? Today you could shoot that again by driving the original minis into the back of the new mini. :D
    Would agree entirely that the hot hatch market has moved on from the mk2, 205gti stage, technology has developed, safety and inevitably weight have increased and peoples expectations of fast also.
    +1.
    Any time ive had a spin off one it just doesn't encourage me to sink the boot and push into the next corner grinning like a maniac, not like some . It wasn't designed or marketed for that either.
    Agree here too. I found it's weight and size felt bigger than it was when pushing on. Hard to explain. Beautifully screwed together car though. The fit and finish was amazing. Real luxury feel to it, a feel you wouldn't get in a mark 2. :) Actually that's one thing that has improved beyond all recognition over the years, fit and finish(in most cases).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

I was having a look between the standard equipment for UK vs Ireland.

the previous poster wasn't wrong, to spec the Ire version the same as UK your adding around 10k!

Jaysus Spanky the biggest shock is that you appear surprised. :D

Some good debate here!

But there are still hot hatches out there that buck the trend set by the Golf GTI. Anyone who has driven a Megane RS variant will attest to that. Sure the golf is refined on a motorway, quiet around town, is nippy when driven on and offers plenty of grip, but to say that it will having you grinning ear to ear everytime you push her on? It just doesn't cut it for me.

Well my one has me grinning from ear to ear every time I push it on and judging by how much petrol I'm putting into it I'm certainly being encouraged to sink the boot.

Yet I can drive cork to Galway in total comfort in between bouts of overtaking etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,017 ✭✭✭lomb

Hmm the VAG 5 valve 1.8 turbo of up to 2006 pushed out 225bhp from the factory, have VW detuned their engines due to front wheel drive only?
    The poor Irish spec is a total turn off for me but good luck to anyone purchasing new here. The GTI was always the golf to own.

lomb wrote: »
    The poor Irish spec is a total turn off for me but good luck to anyone purchasing new here. The GTI was always the golf to own.

The Irish spec looks mean - when compared with the UK. The UK though is infact a total outlier. VW UK for whatever reason decided to spec the cars out, most other countries don't. It's not all roses there though. Waiting / lead times of 6-8 months for a new GTI in England seems to be the accepted norm!

The German standard spec is even lower than ours and its the same story across the continent. Of course the German's pay much less for the standard car - 26/27k ish. VRT is our problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Bit of perspective folks

http://www.volkswagendanmark.dk/pdfgen/vw-pdfgen_person.aspx?strModel=Golf%20GTI&orientation=l

In Denmark, the golf gti STARTS at €61000 for a manual 3 door and goes to €69000 for the performance version with DSG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Bit of perspective folks

http://www.volkswagendanmark.dk/pdfgen/vw-pdfgen_person.aspx?strModel=Golf%20GTI&orientation=l

In Denmark, the golf gti STARTS at €61000 for a manual 3 door and goes to €69000 for the performance version with DSG

So we should be thankful ?

Im sure the Danish tax system is balanced in other ways unlike our own "make it up as you go along" or " shurre these other lads in XXX are getting people to pay tax on it so we might aswell too"

Also wages in Denmark are pretty high (As are taxes) as i know afew Danish people.

Just a different take on taxation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

How does it fare against its direct competition spec for price?
    Its not a section of the market I ever took any interest in so I have no Idea.
    If it doesnt fare well then buy the competition, if vw dont sell any you might a few free add ons next year.
    But if everybody still buys them and just whinges, nothing is ever going to change :rolleyes:

People aren't buying them though thats the thing.

pred racer wrote: »
    How does it fare against its direct competition spec for price?
    Its not a section of the market I ever took any interest in so I have no Idea.
    If it doesnt fare well then buy the competition, if vw dont sell any you might a few free add ons next year.
    But if everybody still buys them and just whinges, nothing is ever going to change :rolleyes:

The most obvious competitior, the Focus ST, retails at a higher base price (36k ish) and the spec is poor enough. You have to go up to ST2 or ST3 to spec it out. It's also in a much higher tax / VRT band.
    In the UK the GTI gets compared to the BMW 135i a lot. There's about 2-3 grand between them over there. Here the BMW is over €50k!!!

People aren't buying them though thats the thing.

They are. Not in the same numbers as the MK5, we won't see that again, but there is reasonably strong interest in the MK7.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

The most obvious competitior, the Focus ST, retails at a higher base price (36k ish) and the spec is poor enough. You have to go up to ST2 or ST3 to spec it out. It's also in a much higher tax / VRT band.
    In the UK the GTI gets compared to the BMW 135i a lot. There's about 2-3 grand between them over there. Here the BMW is over €50k!!!

Thanks for that, but I was more thinking of the astra, megane, octavia, leon, civic, etc. hot hatches of that size. Maybe not direct comparisons but you know what I mean!

They are. Not in the same numbers as the MK5, we won't see that again, but there is reasonably strong interest in the MK7.

I agree completely and with its new tax bracket and downright civilized mpg the mk7 GTI im sure will buck the trend, just that Hot hatches are seen as a luxury now by the diesel brigade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

So we should be thankful ?

Im sure the Danish tax system is balanced in other ways unlike our own "make it up as you go along" or " shurre these other lads in XXX are getting people to pay tax on it so we might aswell too"

Also wages in Denmark are pretty high (As are taxes) as i know afew Danish people.

Just a different take on taxation.

Indeed, but we're not in the uk either but a lot of people reckon cars should be the same price here and that registration tax is an 'only in Ireland would they get away with that' sort of thing

Agreed. It's completely pointless comparing our specs/prices to those in the UK. There are so many variances and differences in taxes between us and the general market is completely different to ours. The Focus ST I mentioned is cheaper than the GTI in the UK. Here it's the opposite. The GTD is also cheaper than the GTI over there. Here it's 2k more. BMW UK discount the 135 so much that you can have one for GTI money. Here there is a €15k difference. The dealer sales allocation is hopeless there too.... Order a GTI in the UK now and you'd be lucky to have it by Easter.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 843 ✭✭✭HandsomeDan

Bit of perspective folks

Ah, but in Denmark you get to live in a socialist paradise, which makes up for the fact you can't own nice things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭MisterDrak

Some fuel stats from the last 3 months of Driving the Mk7 Gti V the old Mk6 Gti. All of my driving is in city conditions, and mainly short trips (10-20mins)

Mk6 - 9.78 L/100km average (1 year period)
    Mk6 - Worst fill 10.99 L/100km (last fill before trade-in)

Mk7 - 9.35 L/100km average (3 Months period)
    Mk7 - Worst fill 9.91 L/100km

Most of the Mk7 driving has been in Eco mode :(.

28 mpg? Jesus Christ, Mister Drak, that's bad!!

I’ve been pretty meticulous inrecording each fill-up v odometer on the phone app.??

I was expecting petter performance from the Mk7 ???

I usually have the "Stop Start" on, so that adds a slight saving, but overall in real driving it rubbished the official VW claims !

Mine is similar. I do a lot of short-hop city driving too and if I were to do that type of driving exclusively, then I'd never see higher than 27-28mpg. Maybe 30mpg at a push. However I've seen 40mpg+ on a few occasions when taking a leisurely Sunday spin :) I stuck close (ish) to the speed limit between Galway and Dublin recently and it did 38mpg on that run.

Basically - if you're doing a lot of city driving, what you're seeing is the norm. VW obviously completely exaggerate the figures but so do all the other manufacturers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Given the size and performance of the car I'd be happy enough with 28mpg on a run, never mind around town.

My long term average of the trip computer is 9L/100km (just over 31mpg) in my Mk5 GTI. The trip computer is accurate before its questioned.

Most of the miles I put up are on long trips, with city driving dragging it down badly. Absolutely eats petrol around town.

To be honest I was expecting vastly better from the MK7 as the figures quoted for it are much better than those quoted for the MK5. Yes I know quoted figures are to be taken with a pinch of salt but I was expecting a decent difference between them even if the absolute figures are exaggerated for both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

To be honest, 38mpg isn't bad. I'm driving a 2 litre diesel and it isn't all that much better on a motorway run, maybe 43-45 way. Small price to pay for being able to drive a decent petrol tbh.

38mpg is very decent I think, but as I say, that's motorway mpg and driving sensibly! Short city spins does really hammer the mpg and I don't think the stop/start tech makes much difference.
    Having said that, my diesel GTD wasn't brilliant around town either. 35mpg maybe.

Another small gripe is the size of the tank on the MK7, from empty I only get 48L, the MK6 I seemed to see 50L on a regular basis.

Don't get me wrong still love the car, and the sons friends all want a go in it:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

Wow, a thread praising VWs and only yesterday I seen pages and pages of VW bashing.

This forum is strange. :pac:

Personally I love the GTI. Iconic car that you can use everyday to drive the kids to school in comfort and safety, then drive like Sebastian Vettel on the way home. I don't know if the rumours about build quality slipping are true or not(not been in a new one) so can't comment on that.